FB Twitter

Elastic Cottage

Elastic Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 80 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Elastic Cottage is a fabulous single storey stone cottage that sits within the hamlet of Camasnacroise, a picturesque bay that opens out onto Loch Linnhe. Simply one of the finest locations in the West Highlands!

The cottage sleeps up to four in a double and twin bedroom, both of which look out to Loch Linnhe. The living, dining and kitchen area is open plan with an open fire being a great feature in the room. There is a shared family bathroom with a bath and overhead shower unit. Further to this, a fantastic wooden deck sits prominently in the enclosed garden – the perfect place to watch the sun rise and set over the Appin Hills and Castle Stalker.

As for the unusual name of this cottage, in years gone by when the McDougal family lived in this cottage during times of celebration and a gathering of friends took place under the roof, Mr McDougal would bring out his accordion and it felt like the rooms stretched like elastic!!

Up to three dogs welcome, charged at £24/pet. A stone wall surrounds the garden with railings and wire on top of the wall.

Wildlife Haven

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a fantastic location. It was exactly what we were hoping for when we booked. Great for wildlife, walking and cycling.



A highland retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our 2nd visit to Elastic Cottage and fourth on the Kingairloch Estate. A little piece of heaven not too far off the beaten track. The cottage itself has everything you need and is comfy with the log fire burning on a wet and windy day. When the sun comes out the views are breathtaking, not to mention the random wildlife that will happily keep your camera finger busy.



The most wonderful location

Review submitted on Tue, 10 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We fell in love with this cottage. It’s location is stunning, a nice wee enclosed garden for the dog, decking with views out over the water towards Lismore and the mainland. The porch is so handy for coming in wet from walks and storing coats and boots. The kitchen is pretty well equipped, only short maybe a gratin / lasagne dish. It has a cosy, comfortable and compact open plan kitchen, dining and living area. We only used the double room, which was very comfy, and loved having a bath for after long walks. We only used the car one day, every other day we walked from the house, the roads are quite and there are lots of walking options, with route ideas in the house. The locals from the estate are so welcoming and friendly. We saw otters, eagles, pine martins, wild goats and lots of deer and that was just from the house.



Excellent get away

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location and a lovely cottage, right on the loch side with plentiful wildlife. Stunning all round with lovely folk who look after the cottage itself.
Wood burner, dish washer but no washing machine and the boat house restaurant currently closed. Minor issues as the location is brilliant just stock up ahead of your visit, order a beer delivery, and relax.
The White House restaurant at lochaline excellent, small food shop there and at Strontian.
Lots of good walks on the estate




Fantastic Location

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Mar 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great holiday, ideal location for us, remote, beautiful scenery and abundance of wild life.
Can’t wait for our third visit




A haven of tranquility

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Mar 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A wonderful week in a very comfortable, well equipped cottage in a beautiful spot. Scottish wildlife in abundance right on the doorstep and good walks close by. All that we could have wanted and more.



Fantastic place and great cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect quiet get away. Amazing scenery, great walks and lots of wildlife to spot. The cottage is comfortable and cosy and the people are lovely and helpful.



Lovely cottage just a couple of improvements needed

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely, well fitted out and warm. In our opinion there were 2 crucial things lacking. One was a drying room/area as we had dripping wet clothes every day, and the lack of wi-fi/internet. Obviously had we had good weather these things would have mattered less, but as it's west Scotland there are a lot of rainy days.
The booking process was easy and any queries were dealt with quickly, so overall a positive experience, only let down by the terrible weather.




Beautiful

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the most beautiful and peaceful place we have ever been. The estate is amazing for walks or just sitting and watching the world go by. Absolutely stunning !!



Fantastic

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything I had hoped for. I organised this for a group of 12. The location is stunning, the accommodation spacious, clean, comfortable, warm, well appointed.
Susan is wonderful, she did everything she could to make our stay simply perfect.
My only disappointment was having to go home
I can’t recommend this highly enough




A comfortable cottage with a fantastic location

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week. The location is perfect with an ideal seating area to observe the local wildlife.
There are some lovely walks on the estate.




Stunning

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay, the location, the views are simply stunning. The cottage was cosy and the outside space was great for our dogs.



Perfection

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect cottage in a perfect location. Susan and Tracy are lovely.wish we could stay forever. The whole area is stunning. No need to leave the immediate beach , but if you do, go to sanna sands and the beaches to to north. Amazing.



The best location

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overlooking the Loch, Elastic Cottage has the best location imaginable. The scenery is stunning and the wildlife amazing. A pine marten came to feast on peanut butter sandwiches and red deer wandered along by the road. In good weather sitting out on the deck is just perfect. A couple of extra mugs in the kitchen would be useful, but it's a fairly small cottage and quite adequate for a small family.



Elastic Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is in an amazing location and is the ideal place to find peace and quiet. A great view and plenty of wildlife to spot from the windows. The property was clean and had everything we needed.



Definitely a piece of heaven in the highlands of Scotland.

Review submitted on Tue, 25 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can’t recommend this estate highly enough. When you come off the main road the views just get better and better. Elastic cottage is a very well set out cottage. Impeccably clean and comfortable and the views from all windows never disappoint. Whether it’s deer outside the living room window or just the amazing backdrop of loch linnhe right outside your gate with what seems like your own private beach. Definitely a little piece of heaven and can’t wait to go back



Wonderful Kingairloch

Review submitted on Fri, 14 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at wonderful Kingairloch, our first at Elastic Cottage. We loved everything about it. A fantastic holiday filled with beautiful scenery and incredible wildlife. Thank you again.



A perfect place to relax and unwind

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful week at Kingairloch. It is a beautiful place with great walks which are well documented. The scenery is amazing and the wildlife is wonderful, we had a great variety of bird life from eagles soaring overhead to many different finches at our feeders. Deer, feral goats were seen daily and almost every night a pine martin visited the back of the cottage. They like eggs, peanut butter and jam. Our cottage was in a beautiful location and was very clean and comfortable with the exception of the sofa, it needs to go. Susan and her staff are very friendly and helpful. Overall it was a wonderful week and we were very sad to leave. We have been to many different locations around the Highlands self catering and have never went back to the same one twice but we are already planning our next visit to Kingairloch.



Our stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing, peaceful. A step back from the weirdness of the world at present. Our dog didn’t want to leave either.



Wonderful week

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th visit to Kingairloch and our 2nd to Elastic Cottage. Every care had been taken to make our holiday safe, during the current situation. Once again we had a wonderful holiday with lots of wildlife, pine martens, foxes, golden eagles and otters. Red deer stags were roaring around the cottage during the night. A seal pup in the bay and lots of birds, too many to name. We recommend a meal from Susan’s supper club, which was excellent..Even the weather was kind to us, with beautiful night skies. Had lovely walks around the estate. We are already looking forward to our holidays at Kingairloch next year.
Ann and Steve, Wigan




Perfect location!

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Elastic Cottage and Kingairloch and can’t wait to return for a another visit. I could write an endless list of excellent comments but struggle to find any negatives - the best I can do is that we could have done with an extra toilet roll! :-)
For us the highlight is obviously the location and wildlife.




Absolutely stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Within the one week stay we saw stags, dolphins, sea eagles wild goats along side the more usual finches, seagulls and ducks.
The view alone is stunning without the wildlife and the walks are great too.
The customer service was brilliant too. We ordered meals from Susan’s kitchen which arrived at the specified time and were delicious.
This is one special place and we will be returning for our third time next year.




What a wonderful place

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
More peaceful than I could ever have imagined and in a stunningly beautiful location, I hope to return to Elastic Cottage again and again.



A fantastic place to stay our second visit and are ready to go back again

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This has got to be one of the most stunning locations we have ever stayed at. We had amazing weather which just added to holiday. Tha estate has fabulous walks varying on difficulty so something for everyone and wildlife galore. We saw Red Deer. Porpoises from the cottage garden, sea birds and Buzzards.
We had a trip to Mull and saw white tailed sea eagles and dolphins too.
The cottage has everything you need and Susan the owner of the estate is fantastic she was so helpful, a must is her supper club which she makes supper and delivers it to the cottage and tasted delicious. A fabulous place will be back.




A truly fantastic experience, that will live long in the memory.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the 'Elastic Cottage' was fantastic. Booking was easy and straightforward, communications were delivered in a friendly and professional manner. With the ongoing Covid situation we could not have been put more at ease at the level of detail and care the Estate had gone to ensure our and their staffs safety, without compromising on the holiday experience. The property is spacious, fabulous views, great facilities, a fantastic bed, and is set in spectacular surroundings. We are already planning our next trip, and wish the Estate has the very best of seasons given the current difficulties. Many Thanks




A wonderland of nature, peace and tranquillity. .

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best experience booking this cottage we couldn't of imagined how beautiful it was going to be. The cottage itself was immaculate and the beds extremely comfortable . The views on the doorstep out of this world.
Otters, stags, and all our favourite sea birds almost in the garden of the cottage the stags particularly liked to graze in the immediate surroundings.
I would definitely recommend the kingairloch estate as a holiday destination and the cottages are a true credit to the owners, thank you for a wonderful holiday




A lovely post Christmas rest

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There aren’t words enough to do this place justice! A perfect place to see the New Year in. Loved it.



Beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage set in beautiful scenery. The cottage is well equipped and cosy and the neighbours are kind and helpful.
As we stayed over Christmas, the only thing that would have made our stay more pleasurable would have been a few Christmas decorations.




Autumn paradise

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an amazing time there! Beautiful cottage ! Cosy, immaculate, stunning views! We would definitely stay there again especially if they got a nicer settee there! Will book again very soon!



A little piece of Heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 6th visit to Kingaire Loch, for wildlife lovers it is wonderful. We saw pine martens, otters, golden eagle, sea eagle, deer, and many different birds and waders. Kingaire Loch is a little piece of Heaven



Wonderful location

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third visit to Kingairloch, the first at Elastic Cottage. In a wonderful location, with ever changing scenery, day and night. Weather was very kind to us, from blowing a gale on arrival to days of wall to wall sunshine. Wildlife amazing, pine martens, Fox, red deer stags, and otters in the bay. Also saw a sea eagle crossing the bay, as well as a kingfisher. Numerous waders in the bay in front of cottage. Golden Eagles seen whilst walking on the estate. Had a wonderful lunch at the Boathouse. Thank-you to all the lovely staff at Kingairloch. Already booked the Old Post Office for next year, and will hope to return to Elastic Cottage in the future.
Ann and Steve from Wigan.




A wondeful location

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at Elastic Cottage so we obviously like it. It is a wonderful location facing the loch with lots of wildlife to look at and very quiet.



Perfectly perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The setting is idyllic, right on the shore of the loch. Breakfast and tea on the decking. Perfect...



Magical and peaceful

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted to spend some time away from people and closer to the nature and we chose the perfect place. The cottage is amazing and the area is just so peaceful and magical. The perfect location for your soul, mind and heart. We will be definitely back.



A wonderful relaxing stay in beautiful surroudings

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our first visit to the Kingairloch Estate but it wont be the last. We had such a lovely stay here and the weather was amazing so we were extremely lucky. We did four lovely walks on the estate one of which was a guided walk with Craig, this was quite a tough walk lasting just over 3 hours. We had the reward of beautiful views and deer sightings. We also did a trip off the estate one day to visit the castle that we could see in the distance from the cottage. We ate in the boathouse one lunch time which was a treat. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Elastic Cottage, so lovely to get away from it all. I managed to get some great photos of the pinemartins as well as seeing the deer outside the cottage each evening. Susan was very kind and helpful to us and all in all it was a memorable week which we hope to repeat next year.



What a wonderful place

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had a fantastic time at Kingairloch in Elastic cottage, what a perfect place in a stunning location.
Fabulous wildlife with red deer, pine Martin and a vast amount of birds.
Cottage was very clean with everything you need and a fabulous lunch at the boathouse on the kingairloch estate.




Stunning

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location stunning. Wildlife stunning. Cottage as described, very comfortable bed, everything you need provided. Don't forget your essentials (bread, milk etc) as it is a LONG way to stock up! Friendly resident team at the end of the road. Don't forget eggs, jam and peanut butter for the pine martens!



Perfect Getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning location where the view changes every time you look out over the Loch from front window of a fantastic warmly cottage which has everything you need for a truly relaxing break. Wildlife all around and highlight has to be the Pine Marten who turns up looking for dinner every night. The cottage is perfect and the owners have ensured you won't want to go home after staying in their warm well equipped hideaway in beautiful surroundings. Will definitely return one day.



Heaven on earth

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful cosy, comfortable and warm cottage set in a stunning location with fantastic walks and wildlife in abundance. Despite mixed weather we had a brilliant time and will return soon and have already recommended to friends.



Birthday stay

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Elastic cottage is situated in the most beautiful setting where you regularly see stags, pine martens and loads of other wildlife. The view from the front is just stunning. The cottage provides all the comforts necessary for a relaxing stay. This is our 4th visit and we already cannot wait to return



For those with a wild heart this is a dramatic location.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I hope to return in a different season, as it was wet and wild end of November limiting the benefits of the location.What we did see brought peace and relaxation. It is a very quiet lovely location. Opportunities to see such wildlife as eagle, deer, pine martin. We slept well in the extremely comfortable beds and soft pillows. I liked the open plan of the kitchen and living room and of course everything on one floor for my elderly mother who almost had an en-suite. The caretakers could not have been any more helpful, bringing us wood for the open fire and offering help. A wonderful holiday destination which I fully recommend.



Escape for head space

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I needed to escape for a little while and Elastic Cottage was the perfect choice. The peace and quiet was lovely, walking with the Labradors was relaxing and stress free. Everywhere there are stunning views and pictures. It doesn't matter what the weather is doing - it's still stunning.
The cottage was so well equipped, warm, comfortable - you felt at home immediately. The Estate team were on hand if you needed anything.
I love this little little haven and will be returning as soon as I can.
Beautiful and the perfect escape.
Thanks you.




A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our 2nd visit to Elastic Cottage and everything was as good as our first visit. The cottage was excellenty equipped with everything you could need including all gadgets in the kitchen.
Whilst I cooked our supper my husband photographed the pine martens at the back having first laid out their supper of eggs, peanut butter on toast and grapes and then we watched whilst they ate.
Mornings we watched otters on the rocks .... what more could you wish from a holiday in the middle of nowhere.
The day before we were due to leave our car decided not to start and the help we received from our neighbour and concern from Mrs Larson was above and beyond.... what more can you say except hopefully we will be able to return next year






for remoteness from people, proximity to wildlife, this is the place

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Off beaten track (there are VERY few paths in the hills, this is real wild country), few people, no litter, lots of wildlife. Pine Martens and Eagles ( Golden and white-tailed) all easy to spot. The cottage itself was very well presented and equipped, very comfortable for family of up to four. The welcome and advice was first-class. The Boathouse restaurant was very pleasant, food was good. It's about a mile and a half down the road from Elastic Cottage, which sits in Camas na Croise, a pebbly beach. Strontian is about a half-hour drive away, got shops, bars, tea shops, the like. Can recommend the Arundle centre, v good value cofee and snacks, does evening meals too. About a mile out of Strontian. An excellent woodland walk, good path, great and varied views, is there too.



A Beautiful Place

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went on our honeymoon to Kingairloch and we stayed in Elastic Cottage. The cottage was modern and very comfortable. The surroundings were absolutely stunning. A peaceful paradise which we didn’t want to leave. It is a haven for wildlife. If you want to truly get away from it all I would definitely recommend a stay here.



A great week at Kingairloch

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay at Kingairloch. After the ferry at Corran the real holiday started. The stay at Elastic cottage was wonderful. The cottage itself contains everything you need. The wildlife is stunning at Kingairloch. We saw the Red Deer in front of our cottage, the Pine Martens in our backyard and the otters in the loch! Also the help from the Hillmans was enormous. Our son fished all week and also the clay pigeon shooting was a great experience. Thanks for the wonderful week!!



Wonderful peaceful escape.

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage with everything you need.
Fantastic views over the loch.
Wildlife on your doorstep/ window sill!
Great food at The Boathouse.
We even had some lovely weather so we could eat out on the decking and got clear views from Ben Nevis.
Thank you!!




Perfect escape

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a place!!!!! I can not fault this in anyway!! Beautiful view, beautiful cottage, wonderful neighbours? Pine martins, deer, sheep, otters, herons, slow worms and the occasionally friendly human! Booking for next year DONE!



Elastic Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Elastic Cottage was a perfect retreat and in an incredible location to spend our annual holiday. Would highly recommend the location and accommodation to others. And would not hesitate to return one day.



A fortnight of peace and tranquillity staying in a superb location on the West Coast of Scotland

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kingairloch is the perfect place to stay to re-charge batteries. Peace and tranquillity at its finest. We were able to walk with our dogs and observe the fantastic wildlife. Ideal location for visiting Mull, Iona and other small Islands off the West coast of Scotland. Food in the Boat House restaurant on the Estate was superb and the staff friendly and very obliging.
Elastic Cottage has sea loch frontage where we could sit on the balcony and watch the wildlife at all times of the day. The cottage has central heating and is fitted with all mod cons for self catering purposes. We had a fantastic holiday and are looking forward to returning next year.




Wonderful location

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Mar 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage would be more suited to a party of 2 or 3 adults or a family of 4. Having seen the more spacious new school house next door we would choose that in preference in the future.



A very special place

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very special place. Red deer peer in through the back windows, pine martens come to be fed in the garden. Looking out over the loch at the front we saw an otter, a seal and a sea eagle. This is our third holiday at this or the next door cottage in the last year so we obviously like them. Our only criticism of Elastic Cottage is that it would be even better if a washer could be squeezed in - perhaps in the front hallway.



Four days of bliss

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit. The cottage was just as we remembered it, small and cosy and comfortable. To hear only nature’s sounds and look out onto a pristine cove is something special and increasingly hard to find. No internet, almost no mobile signal - perfect!
If I had one tiny grumble the sofa is not quite squishy enough to sink into and the wood was damp so starting the fire was a bit challenging.
The price to pay for such beauty is the distance we have to travel to get there and that thank goodness ensures that the traffic is light and so well worth the effort, we will be back if we can, thank you.




Perfect Christmas and New Year break at idyllic cottage and location.

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, excellent wildlife, lovely comfortable cottage, very helpful staff. Idyllic Christmas break. Peace and tranquility guaranteed. Perfect.



Fabulous Kingairloch!

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just absolutely love Kingairloch and usually refer to it as Paradise! This was our first stay at Elastic Cottage "down in the bay" as we have for the past twelve years enjoyed visits to Kingairloch House, Riverside Cottage, The Gate Lodge, Pier Cottage and The Old Post Office - all our favourites for different reasons. Elastic Cottage is also now a favourite having provided us with a much needed slice of tranquillity with stunning sunrises, the usual abundance of wildlife including daily visits from the Pine Marten and stags at our front door. Great accommodation and a lovely open fire to gaze into while sipping a wee dram. Perfect!



Perfect escape

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location to get away from it all in a comfortable, relaxing cottage. The people there couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.
We'll be back soon




Stunning location. Absolute peace & serenity.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
KIngairloch is a stunning hidden gem. We have stayed here a couple of times before & been to numerous places in Scotland over the years but the location of Kingairloch takes some beating.



No better place for a getaway holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was situated in an idyllic situation overlooking the Loch. It was peaceful and with a view that you could not tire of. The cottage was well equipped and comfortable. The estate owners were extremely helpful both before and during our stay. All communication was personal and informative. The estate has many places to walk and take-in the beautiful scenery. The fishing on the estate was excellent.We didn't need go far afield to see all we wanted to, including abundant wildlife. I'm sure we will return.



second time here and hope we come back

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Family with 2 young boys - exactly what we needed. Tranquility, nature, tech free, wildlife, isolation and just down the road from Abernethy outdoor centre. Excellent facilities could not have asked for more.



Happy holidays

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful clean comfortable with a amazing view the estate was breathtaking we went to the wall garden and the boat house twice once for a Sunday lunch and called in for a bacon sandwich both delicious we saw all kind of wildlife but the ones for me were the pine martins which came to the rock out side the kitchen window at night between 7pm-8.30 they were five three young and two adults have some wonderful pictures of them I would just like to say a big thank you for keeping the church unlocked in this day and age it was beautiful to be able to go in. Had a wounderful holiday xxx



A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fifth visit to Kingaire loch, it's a wonderful place, we saw 3 pine martens most days, otters, deer a variety of ducks, waders and birds, we can't wait to go back



A blissful week in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Tue, 23 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
To be fair being in Scotland with a week of glorious weather, it is difficult to say anthing but good things about this holiday. Sitting by the lochside, enjoying the evening sun as the deer walk past on the beach. You have to tweak yourself to make sure you're not dreaming. My own 'complaint' was that the good weather did mean that the wood basket had been taken away, and a blazing fire is always a bonus when the temperature drops in the evening.



Peaceful and quietly beautiful

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our second stay at Kingariloch (previously Riverside cottage 2010) with happy hours spent watching bird life deer and feral goats roaming around the bay.Our highlight of the week was the privilege of observing Pine Martens from the sitting room window.We left with fond memories of sunny skies and starry nights fully rejuvenated!



Stunning location, totally relaxing in warm, comfortable cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying in Kingairloch for over 10 years, at various cottages, and keep returning.
The scenery is stunning, whatever the weather! We spend much of our time walking, and experience the beautiful glens, challenging hill walks and the beautiful lochside. Many of our visits have been with our grandson, who loves the freedom to explore, and is fascinated by the plethera of wildlife.
We have been very happy in every cottage we have stayed in, all warm and very comfortable, and each one has its own character.
We will keep returning and my only wish is that we could stay longer.
A wonderful, peaceful escape from our everyday world.




Heaven on Earth

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit to Elastic Cottage, we love the peace and quiet, the cottage is situated in an Amazing location and dog friendly as well, also a good place to explore the highlands of Scotland with easy boat trips to the Isles Mull and Skye. Can recommend you visit the "Silver Sands" of Morar just outside of Mallaig when the sun is shinning you could easily think you are in the Caribbean, on the way to Mallaig you pass the "Glenfinnan Monument and Glenfinnan Viaduct( Harry Potter train bridge", go the other direction and you pass Fort William and head on up to Spean Bridge to see "The Commando Monument" or a little bit further and you get to Loch Ness.





Elastic Cottage Review

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was absolutely spectacular, otters and stags at the front, pine martins and birds at the rear.
Cosy cottage with all you could need for a weeks holiday. Peaceful bliss.
If you like to be remote this is for you, just make sure you take all your provisions, even the pubs 30 mins away.





Perfect location.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Kingairloch estate is one of the most beautiful places you could imagine. Magnificent Glens, lakes, forests and abundant wildlife. Elastic cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. Good quality bedding added to the general feeling of high standards. The location is incredible with views from the front porch worthy of picture postcards.
Would visit again without doubt.




A special little place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed over the New Year and it was perfect, we wouldn't change a thing. The cottage is so cosy and the views are fabulous, we saw lots of the wildlife that call it home, we will always remember the stag on the top of the hill walking majestically on the summit, he saw us and looked down towards us amazing sight !! Sue was lovely, there when you need her, we didn't only for firewood, a great place for peace and quiet, hope to return again.We all enjoyed it so much especially our dog, thank you so much, memories to treasure.



A lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Elastic cottage is in a stunning location with lots of lovely walks direct from the cottage. The cottage was very comfortable and the open fire made for cosy evenings. Secure garden for the dogs. A great place to "recharge the batteries!"



Our 6th visit

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want peace, beauty, wildlife galore, walks and comfort, you would have to go a long way to beat Elastic Cottage, Excellent location, excellent cottage - would thoroughly recommend



Absolutely perfect.

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it here. The cottage is welcoming and feels like home, with everything you could possibly need. The bed was amazing - so incredibly comfy. The location is exquisite! We saw an otter the first night and were visited by pine martens every evening. We saw a pair of golden eagles. The boathouse restaurant looks lovely but we didn't get a chance to eat there. It can be a bit tricky on the road into the property. It's one car wide and is frequented by sheep, cattle and wild goats. For us it was a novelty and not a nuisance. Just be sure to take all your food with you so you don't need to negotiate the roads just for a loaf of bread.

We would come back again in a heartbeat. Thoroughly recommended.




Excellent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent locatin lots of wild life very peaceful we loved it and would definitely return remote location may not be to every ones
liking but it really is a bit of heaven




A little piece of heaven........

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we have stayed at Kingaire Loch 4 times now, it`s a wonderful place, we saw pine martens, otters, deer and numerous bird and waders. We were welcomed most warmly by the owner Susan Larson and we ate twice at the Boathouse restaurant which was excellent. we will be back to Kingaire Loch soon.



Wir haben Fuchs und Hase beim Gute-Nacht-Sagen zugeschaut

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Zu zweit haben wir eine Woche im Elastic Cottage verbracht. Fern aller Hektik, in wunderschöner Landschaft und mit allem nötigen Komfort. Elastic Cottage war Ausgangspunkt für unsere Tagestouren etwa auf die Isle of Mull oder den Leuchtturm bei Portuairk. Viel Zeit verbrachten wir in der Nähe, wanderten oder beobachteten Schafe, Vögel und Rehe, die sich ohne Scheu um das Cottage bewegen. Es war für uns eine ruhige und schöne Zeit. Ein Rätsel konnten wir allerdings bislang nicht lösen: Warum ist das Cottage elastisch? :-)



Beautiful position, comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our fourth stay at Elastic Cottage with our two dogs and as happy as ever. We were a little concerned that the cottage building site nearby would disturb the peace but this turned out to be unjustified - they were waiting for the concrete foundations to dry.



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming here for years and it's like staying in a 5 star hotel and home too. Perfect surrounding s great wildlife and also fab to have boat house too.



A little bit of Heaven on Earth

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of Elastic Cottage is about the finest place to wake up. Right next to the water and with so much wildlife to see. The peace and quiet makes for a very relaxing holiday where you can enjoy a stroll along the waters edge or up among the hills or indeed to the top of the hills.
My mother lived in Kingairloch in the 1920's and, because the owners of this Estate have so carefully kept its character, I think much of it is the same today. Thank you.
A visit to the Church service was rewarded by a tea party with the local folk who are very welcoming and make very good cakes.




Quiet comfortable holiday cottage in a superb tranquil location

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely holiday, children enjoyed the freedom to explore the beautiful surroundings, and to observe wildlife on the doorstep!
Have stayed in Eladtic cottage on many occasions. It is warm, cosy, well equipped and spotlessly clean.
Wonderful walks from the cottage, to suit all abilities.
Hope to return soon.




Katrina replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay. It's lovely that you keep coming back to Kingairloch, we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Wintery Kingairloch

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Second time, lovely setting and warm welcome.
Special moment: 20 minute encounter with a seaotter from our doorstep.
Note: on cold days the heating during daytime does not reach a comfortable temperature in the cottage, eventualy with lightning open fire it is ok.




Katrina replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay, what a joy it must have been to see the otter. We are planning to change the radiators in the cottage this year, so it will be lovely and toasty coming into the next Winter.

Elastic cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Second time to Elastic cottage and third time to Kingairloch which is one of the most amazing places on this earth. It gives me a huge hug every time I drive around the corner and see the bay in all its beauty. Elastic cottage is situated in the best place and you can do some wonderful walks. Cottage itself is extremely comfortable and well equipped although a little cold so we really needed to make use of the extra heater.



Katrina replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Regarding the heating, we're actually in the process of gathering quotes to upgrade the current night storage heaters.