FB Twitter

The Gate Lodge

The Gate Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 96 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


The enchanting lodge to Kingairloch House, this property has one of the finest views on the estate and is unique by being constructed from cut granite. Positioned at the head of Loch a’Choire; Castle Stalker, the Argyllshire hills and the glens and hills of Kingairloch can be enjoyed from all aspects.

Downstairs the house comprises of a large lounge and kitchen, both with stunning views of Loch Linnhe. The lounge has a large wood-burning stove and comfortable sofas. Additionally, there is a large utility room and downstairs shower room. Upstairs there are two large bedrooms (one double, one twin) with loch views and a large bathroom with a bath and separate shower. The bathroom is adjoined to the double bedroom, however there is another door for shared access for guests in the twin room. The house is fenced in traditional iron railings and has a patio area with outdoor furniture.

Up to three dogs welcome, charged at £24/pet. Iron railing fenced garden and outdoor kennels.

The Gate Lodge, Kingairloch

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first stay at Kingairloch, but won't be our last. We loved the remoteness, the peace and quiet, the view from the house and the wildlife. There were deer near the house every day, plus visits from a pine marten. Lots of birdlife too, especially liked seeing the Jays. No otters or eagles - maybe next time.
We only ventured off the estate once, as there was plenty to see and do. Seems like there's still more to explore.
The house was really comfortable and felt like home almost instantly. Sitting on the patio, watching the yachts and the view could be a hobby in itself! Overall, we loved Kingairloch, a great place to escape and to relax.




Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most scenic location offering tranquility and adventure. We enjoyed kayaking (brought our own) around the loch and exploring the walks around the estate- waterproof boots a must for the peat bogs at the foot of hills!



Blissful location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning views in all directions. Lovely spacious and comfortable house with big rooms upstairs and down. Loved the little porch which enabled us to sit outside even if it was drizzling. So peaceful and lots of wild life. A really unique place!



Lovely comfy stay at the Gate Lodgr

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every comfort provided! Thanks for providing a base for a great week. Location excellent for walks, lochside, and wildlife - lots of deer, and pinemartens. Hope to be back soon.



A totally relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view from the cottage was amazing with wonderful wildlife all around. A truly relaxing time for all of us.



No title

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a great week, such a stunning location and we were blessed with beautiful weather. The walks on the estate are great and provided breathtaking views. It would be great if the new owners of Kingairloch could address the lack of Wi-Fi as a matter of urgency.




Stay at the Gate Lodge Kingair loch.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely stay in the Gate Lodge on the Kingair Loch estate.
Comfortable, spacious and warm accommodation.
Amazing location with wildlife at every turn.




Returning customers

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Can't remember how many times we have visited this place as we love it so much, and we got married here 14 years ago.
This place is our heaven on earth!!
First time staying in the Gate Lodge fantastic views and we have never seen so many stags as we did this past visit!

Think the only negative is that from next year it appears you can only book a 7 day stay??




Calming Paradise

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3rd time here, we live 10 hours away and wouldn’t ever go anywhere else for a relaxing holiday. Location is brilliant, would 100% come again and will!



GATE LODGE

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely warm and comfortable house for winter holiday Views out of every window keep changing with the light Stars at night are amazing



The Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage as are all the other properties on the estate, spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable,wildlife all around you won’t be disappointed



Excellent as always

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent as always staying at Kingairloch. We have stayed 3 times each in a different cottage, and we have loved every one of them. Always the same care and attention to detail. They show and genuine desire to make your stay and holiday the best it can be.



Stunning

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent 4 nights in this most amazing location and really didn’t want to leave.

The Gate Lodge was just perfect with the views down the Loch, large garden and immaculate both inside and out. To see wildlife at such close proximity made all the difference.

We ate at The Boathouse and the food was excellent with more than enough choice. Very tastefully decorated with spectacular views over the Loch from the small decking area.

Would certainly go back but for a longer time




A perfect week of sunshine in The Highlands

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our week in Kingairloch couldn’t have been better- beautiful weather,stunning scenery, abundant wildlife. Unforgettable walks, swimming and SUP boarding in the loch. Successful mackerel fishing and a guided hike with Craig was an absolute highlight. 2 delicious meals in the Boathouse too.
Thank you Susan and Team Kingairloch for such a wonderful week . This is a truly special place.




Beautiful

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always our stay was excellent, everything from the cottage to the people and not forgetting the beautiful deer. We love going to Kingairloch it never disappoints. We will be back soon.



A special place

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at this beautifully located property. Kingairloch always provides magic no matter what season you visit and we were very lucky to get a last minute availability trip in late May. The weather was kind, and the wildlife sightings fantastic. Enjoyed exploring some parts of the Estate we'd not previously walked and seeing the gardens in bloom. Would continue to thoroughly recommend Kingairloch to anyone wanting to unwind and relax in nature.



A fantastic week in a superb cottage with fantastic surroundings

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For those looking for a quiet location with fantastic surrounding scenery, Kingairloch is for you. The Gate House cottage is very spacious and is exceptionally well equipped. Red deer roam within twenty yards of the cottage, we saw eight plus most evenings. There are plenty of interesting walks on the estate. Remember to take a good pair of binoculars with you!



Lovely to be back at Kingairloch.....

Review submitted on Wed, 05 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing week in a beautiful, comfortable cottage. The weather was kind and the wildlife did not disappoint.
Wonderful walks in the stunning surroundings.
We have been staying at Kingairloch for many years and keep returning. That says it all!






Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had 2 glorious weeks at Kingairloch staying in Gate Lodge. We could not have been more comfortable it has everything you need and more. Beautiful location with fantastic views and wonderful wildlife. A big thank you to all involved with this beautiful estate you always make our stays special.



Another amazing stay

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most amazing holiday in the most tranquil and spectacular surroundings. We took one of the guided walks with Craig from the estate and would definitely do this again! Saw stags, eagles and also a seal in the loch on our final night. Already counting down the weeks until we go back next year. A place of magic in Scotland that Susan and team welcome you to.



One of the best kept secrets

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd stay, beautiful cottage, location idyllic (maybe less so in a harsh winter). Took our dog with us. Lots of walks, the silence is deafening. We were lucky to see a pair of Stags and a golden eagle (September). Not guaranteed, but possible.
A perfect get away, we will be back.




Thank god for places like Kingairlock

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent a week at the Old Post Office Kingairlock where the weather was exceptional, the area and wild life beautiful and Susan looked after us royally ,so sad to leave but going back soon so something to look forward to.



Fabulous get away from it all location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very fortunate to enjoy a 7 day stay at The Gate Lodge having previously stayed at Kingairloch House for 2 nights last year. The views are absolutely stunning. The house is well equipped. The owners and staff are so welcoming and friendly. The estate and surrounding area is conducive to a relaxing time, even the stags are laid back. We will return :-)



Amazing Christmas break at Kingairloch

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in the Riverside cottage twice before, the Gate Lodge was exceptional and I can’t wait for our next visit.




November escape

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 6th visit to the beautiful Kingairloch Estate, and booked another for next spring whilst there. Never tire of our stays and experiences in this magical place. Blissful surrounds, wildlife aplenty and comfort in a gorgeous property. Kingairloch inspired our relocation to Scotland. Would 100% recommend



Wonderful stay at Kingairloch

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay in the most beautiful place. Yes it is remote, but so worth it. Scotland at its best. The Gate Lodge was in a breathtaking location and was a perfect cottage for our needs. Clean, well furnished and a welcome home from home.



Perfect tranquility

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we had hoped for and more. Wishing we had booked for a longer stay . Hope to return in the future.



Excellent. ..as usual!

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we enjoyed a fantastic week at Kingairloch in The Gate Lodge with our 2 Labradors. The weather was kind to us ...for the most part! We were lucky enough to observe White Tailed and Golden Eagles, Pine Martens and Red Deer all from the cottage as well as wonderful night skies.
Thanks again, Gary, Judie, Alan and Alisa ( and Bramble and Rolo! )




Breathtaking scenery in a remote but accessible location.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most perfect holiday to relax and unwind. Friendly and welcoming locals who went out of their way to help. Gate Lodge is comfortable and well maintained , surrounded by a stunning landscape. The local wildlife is almost tame and there are places to walk in abundance. Wish we had found Kingairloch sooner .



The Gate Lodge Aug 2019

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another very relaxing holiday at Kingairloch even though the weather was very changeable! Very well appointed accommodation, gorgeous views, hardly any people to be seen, perfect! A visit to The Boathouse for lunch or dinner is a must.



Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kingairloch has the most magical situation and is beautifully maintained. We felt so well looked after and the house was so comfortable and cosy even rainy indoor days were great! Although it feels remote and secluded there are also great day trips to mull within easy reach - we only wish we could have stayed longer!



Review by the Mason Family, July / August 2019

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at the Gate Lodge and had great fun as a family. The accommodation is excellent value and the chance to order food for the freezer or eat at The Boathouse means that everyone can have a break. In terms of peace and quiet, the Estate is exceptional and our children had the opportunity to explore safely and with minimal supervision. Being somewhat off-grid, it also allowed us to have a screen-free break and lots of interaction in the form of board games and long walks. We will return!



Amazing stay at the Gate Lodge Kingairloch Estate

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had two fabulous weeks staying at The Gate Lodge Kingairloch. The house was perfect, it was clean and spotless on arrival and had a warm welcoming feel to it. It is furnished to a very high standard and decorated with flair and such attention to detail. Nothing is overlooked and the clean fresh bedding was sheer luxury, so was the huge bath and shower.
We had come for wildlife and we certainly got that in abundance in and around the estate and we filmed a visiting pinemarten with our Bushnell Trophy camera. He came every night for peanut butter sandwiches.
The view looking down the loch from the house is lovely. In an evening as darkness fell we sometimes saw a yacht anchored in the bay with it's lights twinkling. This and the wonderful log burner full of crackling logs added to the magic that is Kingairloch.
David and Anne Pollard and Bothy - Cairn Terrier. Waddington near Clitheroe Lancs.




Pure bliss

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Kingairloch for one week and had the pleasure of staying at the Gate Lodge. It was our first visit to the estate. What a treat to be here. The surroundings are magical and so peaceful. Deer were grazing around just outside around our cottage... just amazing to be amidst so much beautiful nature and wildlife. We had lovely weather so that sure made our stay extra special! The Gate Lodge is a very comfortable and cosy cottage to enjoy your holiday. The kitchen was well equipped indeed and the beds are very comfortable. We went to The Boathouse (currently open on Wednesday /Thursday afternoon 11 - 15 hour ) for a lovely light lunch and took some chocolate cake with us to the cottage. It was delicious! We were so sad to leave and definitely hope to return soon. Many thanks to all at Kingairloch for making our stay so wonderful and one to remember.



Gate Lodge is a superb cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are returning visitors to Kingairloch. Our first stay though in the Gate Lodge and it is everything as stated in its description and more. Beautifully furnished, warm and welcoming. An excellent location for the many beautiful walks on the estate. We received a very warm welcome from everyone on the Estate. Cannot recommend highly enough. We will be returning again soon.



A good holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent holiday with the extended family, blessed with wonderful weather. Only problem was working out how to control the heating and lack of hot water on the last day (possibly user error?)



Another excellent stay at kingailoch.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay at The Gate Lodge,warm,cozy accommodation ,decent Springtime weather and wildlife. Helpful friendly staff. We are looking forward to our next stay at Kingairloch.



Fantastic place to get away for a while

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, everything was right - location, cosy, setting, views, walks, plenty of wildlife. Took our dog with us - he loved it too, lots of easy strolls along the loch or some more adventurous walks if you want. Kitchen well equipped and cosy sitting room. Intermittent mobile reception, meant I got the odd email update but couldn't reply, perfect. Absolutely brilliant place.



A fantastic place !!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent time at Kingairloch. The whole experience was a delight !!. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We spent the week on the Estate hiking on the hills surrounding the Gate Lodge then back in the evening to a log fire and the comforts of the cottage. Curled up on the comfy sofas with a book was a perfect way to end yet another lovely day. We would highly recommend a stay on the Kingairloch Estate, it's a gem !!!



Another Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not long returned from our 3rd stay at the Gate Lodge, our 4th at a Kingairloch and can’t wait to go back again.




A jewel

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic week at Kingairloch. Stunning views and wildlife. Lovely, friendly people. Even more stunning in the snow.



Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a break away that was different to our usual holidays. Excellent location in a beautiful area



Wonderful cottage in stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is a real get away from the hustle of daily life. It has been decorated beautifully and is really well equipped. The walks around the estate are well marked and you go all day without seeing another car. This was our second visit to the Gate Lodge and we can't wait to again next year.



Fantastic stay in an awe inspiring location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family stayed in 2 of the cottages and in the B&B so we could be together for my sister’s 40th birthday celebrations. I stayed in the gate lodge with my husband, 2 young children and 2 dogs. The location was spectacular and the accommodation beautiful and comfortable. We couldn’t have asked for a better setting for our celebrations. Susan was an exceptional host, even allowing us to use her own kitchen and dining room for our celebration dinner. Though accessibility is quite tricky, it is certainly worth the (beautiful) trip to get there.
Claire and family




A week at the Gate Lodge.

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to kingairloch.The gate lodge is a really comfortable cottage,very clean and well equipped. Most definitely the perfect location to experience the estate. Our two dogs enjoyed many wonderful walks. The wildlife was amazing, we saw a Sea Eagle on the sea wall road,two Golden Eagles following the stalkers on the hill and Otters in the bay and river next to the cottage.The boat house restaurant is excellent, the whole estate is a credit to the Larson family and their team. Hope to visit again soon.



None

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Detailed written review provided both in guest book and on separate paper so unwilling to write a third review



Stunning Location

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely comfortable & spacious house beautifully decorated & furnished, with stunning views down the loch which were constantly changing. Very friendly & helpful staff on the estate.
It is remote though so take plenty of supplies. Having said that the venison products available from the estate, eggs & veggie box were fantastic. Local wildlife stags, pine martins & fox liked to visit the garden early mornings & evening.




A fantastic retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to the Gate Lodge and it was equally as good as our first! The location and scenery are stunning and you never tire of looking at the view up the Loch from the kitchen windows. The property is welcoming and homely, with everything you could possibly need. We were lucky enough to see 2 pine martins one evening and a fox on the lawn, also an otter in the river. Kingairloch is a very special place and once you have visited you will be enchanted too!



Fabulous whatever the weather

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous house in a simply stunning setting. You can, and we did, spend hours simply staring out of the windows at the beautiful views on all sides. The visiting wildlife included an impressive stag, fox and 2 pine martens! Have already looked at availability for next year.



Tranquil Location

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again a fabulous stay on the Kingairloch Estate, although our first time in The Gate Lodge. Everyone you meet on the Estate is friendly and happy to pass the time of day with you.

The spacious property is situated in a stunning and peaceful location where it is not unusual to have deer appearing In your garden. Fabulous views from all windows and great walks from your front door.

The property is cosy and comfortable with everything you need, and more. The large fenced garden is perfect for dogs and children alike. Comfortable outdoor seating area.

The Boathouse is an absolute must if you stay on the Estate, with locally sourced food and great staff.







Beautiful Week

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had another beautiful week at Kingairloch at the Gate Lodge the weather was great this the 3rd year at Kingairloch and the second stay at Gatelodge.

The reason I said Poor for Comfort was the 2 & 3 Seater Settees were so uncomfortable and we did tell Susan during our stay so hopefully when we visit next they will have been changed .

My other suggestion would be to have a couple of fans that can be used in the bedrooms, it was a very hot week and we did not open the windows of a night due to the amount of Midges outside the rooms were so hot it was uncomfortable.

We did however have a lovely stay and would definitely come back again we did see plenty of wildlife this time and managed to video the Pine Martin




Katrina replied more than 1 year ago
I'm glad to hear that you had a lovely stay, however I'm sorry to hear that you found the sofas uncomfortable. This is the first time that we have had a guest comment on these sofas, they do have lots of cushions so I do feel that they are perfectly adequate. As one has to be a sofa bed, perhaps this one was firmer than the other? We do take comments from guests seriously, so will endeavour to look into getting replacement sofas in the future. As for providing fans in the rooms- sadly this is something that we cannot provide.

Absolutely amazing !

Review submitted on Thu, 24 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an incredible place and could not fault a thing. Stunning location and the cottage was absolutely beautiful. Had a wonderful few days fishing, walking, drinks in the boathouse and such a warm welcome. We will most definitely return soon.



Idyllic Kingairloch

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always we had a great week in Kingairloch. We never fail to see a pine marten and red deer which makes our holiday all the more enjoyable. We have been visiting Kingairloch for the past 6 years staying in the different cottages but the Gate Lodge has always been my favourite with its spectacular views down the loch and peaceful setting. There are plenty of walks around the estate and dogs are always welcome.
All the estate workers that we have come across have always been friendly and helpful. We can't wait to come back at the end of September.




Another outstanding visit

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment you see The Gate Lodge you realise that you are not staying in any old holiday let, you are coming “home”.

We have just got back from Kingairloch and despite the 13 and 3/4hr trip we are already planning and dreaming of the next opportunity to walk through those doors again.

The property has everything you would want from a home away from home including all the comforts that you would expect only with the wonderful addition of the most amazing views, whatever the weather.

Wildlife is in abundance and the walking routes are plentiful and challenging for all levels of fitness and experience.

You simply must visit The Boathouse Bistro where Aimie and her team will take perfect care of you whilst offering meals using the very best of local and seasonal produce.

For us, a stay at Kingairloch means the opportunity to create lasting family memories and we can’t wait to go back or recommend these properties enough.




Relax and enjoy at a hidden gem in one of Scotland most beautiful locations

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay in the gate lodge cottage surrounded by a lovely loch, glens and wildlife. Spent a week relaxing and visiting the fabulous boathouse for a lovely meal. We’ve stayed at kingairloch many times and it never fails to please.10/10



Amazing location

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kingairloch is a very special place. Once discovered we just keep coming back. Perfect in every way for a memorable holiday.



The beautiful, accessibly remote Kingairloch Estate.

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Mar 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We arrived at Kingairloch Gate house on a bitterly cold afternoon in early March. To our joy it was lovely and warm, spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed. The log basket was full and we soon had a fire going in the comfortable lounge.
We went on many long walks around the Estate and the luxurious bathroom with its large bath was very welcome at the end of the day.
We have stayed in many properties throughout Scotland, this is by far the best both for location and accommodation. We will definitely be returning.





Stunning Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow everything a family could want for for their first stay in Scotland. Fantastic house, stunning surrounding's even snow to make snowmen.Truly unforgettable for all of us.



paradise .

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third visit to the gate lodge, another fabulous time, the lodge is perfect with everything you could want and the location is spectacular with uninterrupted views in every direction, kingairloch is the most peaceful place you could wish for,
it all feels very exclusive, just us and the deer, a very special place indeed.




Beautiful Kingairloch

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 7th time staying in the Gate Lodge and our 9th in Kingairloch. My husband and I love the area and Kingairloch especially. It has everything you could possibly want. It is peaceful and the wildlife are amazing. We always see deer and a pine marten. It has lovely walks around the estate and just sitting watching the birds is lovely. We never tire of staying here and never want to return home.
Mrs Larson and Katrina are always helpful and make our stay absolutely perfect.




A lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jan 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, comfortable cottage, nice people, we will definitely visit again. Outstanding scenery and wildlife.



Kingairloch again!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th visit to Kingairloch, our 4th stay at the Gate Lodge. As always the Lodge was warm and welcoming. Plenty of variety for walks with the springers while my husband was stalking hinds (a new estate stalker this year but as always, excellent). The Lodge has the best possible view of the loch and although we keep saying we'll try another cottage, when it's just the two of us this one is ideal. Aiming to book for next year very soon.



Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in the total peace and quiet of Kingairloch. The Gate Lodge has stunning views down the Loch and the garden is dog (as well as deer) friendly. The underfloor heating downstairs meant the cottage was always warm and the utility room cupboard is fantastic for drying wet clothes. Cannot wait to go again next year.



Wonderful Kingairloch

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After many years of visiting Kingairloch on business trips I decided to spend a week on holiday at the Gate Lodge with my family. It was the most wonderful and relaxing week that you could ever imagine. Fantastic scenery and walks in amazing tranquillity. The kids revelled in the outdoor environment away from the world of internet and wifi.



Everything was perfect, we could not have had a better experience. Thankyou.

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay, made all the more special with the help from Sarah .
The accommodation was perfect, the décor beautiful and even the weather was good.




Fantastic house in perfect location

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic break for all the family, the kids especially loved the rope swings at the river and playing on the beach. Lots to do on bike and foot! We'll be back!



Perfect peace

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at The Gate Lodge and was as perfect as the first time. Though he weather was a bit mixed it didnt stop us getting out and about and loving the beautiful scenery.
Kingairloch has to be one of the most beautiful unspoilt holiday destinations ,a real heaven.
We ate at The Boat House twice and the food is superb with a lot of local produce.
We love the place so much that we have already booked to return in 2018.
Thank you Susan, Katrina, and Margo.




Glorious stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in this property, location was idyllic. Weather was changeable, but that's Scotland! Super trips out and about. The property is remote so take food before you go!



Beautiful

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the most amazing week with family could of stayed another week already looking to book for next year. We did a bit of touring round but would of been more than happy to just stay at the property and chill. Spent one evening watching a stag right in front of the kitchen window just beautiful.......



A complete get away from it all

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for great, welcoming, luxurious accommodation away from the stresses and strains of the bustle of life go to the Gate Lodge. We didn't leave for the week, other than to go for walks or a little fishing. Views up the Loch at the changing weather or listening and looking out for birds of prey are just part of your daily routine. The location is stunning and off the beaten track. Stock up for the week before you get there and let the charm of the area sink into your soul.



A must to relax

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time at gate lodge , been many times before stayed in many of the cottages and been a visitor since just after 2006 also seen many changes to the estate and all for the good , so keep up the good work and see ya when were back again soon 10/10



Been going since 2003!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love the open spaces and remoteness. " full of no people"
Accommadation excellent, only 430 mile door to door.always worth the drive.




Perfect Week

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Kingairloch we had a mixed week with the weather a couple of sunny days and we made use of the lovely garden furniture it was a very restful holiday with plenty of walks. My dogs absolutely love it the funny thing was Beau one of my Labs started Air scenting out of the car window when we got on the Corran ferry she got so excited on the drive down to the estate and went mad in the large garden once we arrived it was like she was a pup again . We have booked again for next year we couldn't think of a nicer place to stay.



Our second stay at Kingairloch

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We previously stayed at Kingairloch House about 2 years ago with family & friends & decided then to come back again in the future. We stayed this time at the Gate Lodge (sleeps 4+2) which looks straight down the loch & has great views of the mountains in the distance. The Lodge is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need & is warm & cosy. Even if the weather is not pleasant the accommodation makes up for it & you can always watch the rain from the comfort of a warm house. We had three excellent sunny days during the week & some not so good weather. Overall a comfortable & restful holiday with plenty of walks to be had without needing to take the car if you don't want to. No doubt we will be back again to one of the properties in the future.



Beautiful cottage and wildlife and so peaceful.

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All of the Kingairloch Estate is just perfect. We never fail to see pine marten, deer and even an otter. It is just so peaceful and the views are second to none. It is just such a magical place, I have lost count of the times we have stayed there.
The food at the Boat House is superb.
There are plenty of walks round the estate and it is easy to venture further afield if you wish to do so.
I can't wait to return but it so hard to find a vacant week, that is how popular Kingairloch is.




Amazing week in Kindairloch.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place was pure heaven. The house the scenary and wild life were perfect. A real retreat from the world.



A Beautiful retreat.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at The Gate Lodge was really wonderful - it is a beautiful cottage right on the lochside, absolute peace and quiet, very well equipped and decorated. We had red deer grazing a few yards away - didn't see the pine marten which does visit the garden sometimes - but just before we left we had a brilliant sighting of a sea eagle - amazing. Highly recommended but do take all provisions as no shops nearby.



A winter week with spring weather

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you enjoy solitude and perfect scenery then the Kingairloch is for you, we have just returned from a January week with friends in The Gatehouse the weather was superb and the accommodation was equally as good. Be prepared to take provisions for the week as a round trip to the nearest shop is around 15 miles but if you do run out the shop in Strontian has just about every thing. We enjoyed feeding the Pine Martin who turned up around 8 p.m each evening for his peanut butter and custard cream fix and a couple of stags who managed to trash the bird feeders to get to the peanuts.The house was perfect for four and extremely well furnished for a comfortable and warm week, a small problem with the water supply was quickly fixed by Bobby the estate's Jack of all trades. The restaurant was closed for winter but we already knew this so we were prepared, Kingairloch is certainly out on a limb but if you enjoy walking and wildlife in winter this place fits the bill, we would certainly recommend a stay.




Christmas in 'The Gate lodge'

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit to the property and we wanted to make it extra special by relaxing over the festive period. It never fails to impress us as the area is stunning and so peaceful. Christmas Eve and there was a stag just on the outskirts of the property that night as well... will book again for sure as the gate lodge really has got us hooked for a place to visit time and time again.



Cosy cottage Ina stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a gorgeous cosy little cottage, nicely laid out with nice comfy beds.
It's situation is stunning. Located at the foot of the surrounding hills and on the edge of the loch, with no one else in sight.
We had a small problem with our boiler which was fixed within 10 mins of calling the number provided, so excellent service.
We had a lovely, relaxing, snuggly family break.




December visit to the Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay here at the Gate Lodge. The house is very comfortable and we enjoyed the stove in the living room. It has one of the best views on Ardnamurchan. Thank you



A short stay at the estate

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed on the estate many times at the gate lodge ,the old post office and riverside cottage and all the cottages are very comfortable and very clean , a little piece of heaven .



A beautiful location.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our only recommendation is to perhaps better equip the kitchen. For instance some scales would be useful.



Guaranteed to make you feel tearful when you leave...

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just come back from a week's stay at The Gate Lodge in Kingairloch and as usual, we're feeling glum. It's our 4th consecutive year and we're not usually travelers who go back to the same place so I guess that speaks volumes already. It was recommended to us by friends that live in the same village and have also been to Kingairloch for 4 years on the trot. They go in May, we go in October.
The Lodge is a wonderfully traditional, solid, cosy home with the most exceptional views. Did you notice I said home? It's comfortable without being flash and it makes you feel at ease as soon as you walk in and start unpacking. Some might say it has a good vibe or positive energy.
We go in autumn as we love the turning of the leaves with the colours they bring. It's amazing how many shades of green, grey brown and blue nature can produce.
Let's not forget the wildlife. It's the time when the stags are rutting so you will always hear them surrounding you in the mountains by day (sometimes lower) or you will most definitely hear them at night when they come down and graze/chat the ladies up/fight amongst themselves about the property. In addition to the deer we've seen otters, golden and sea eagles, porpoises, seals, wild goats and a slow worm crossing the road! Haven't seen one of those in years and years. There are toads, frogs, caterpillars and bats too. There is a pine martin who comes to feed at the front of Gate Lodge (apparently honey and plain peanuts?) but we have never seen him/her. Of course plenty of cattle and sheep who, if you're lucky, will block the long, narrow road for you when you're trying to access the estate!
Days out include taking a ferry across to Mull and visiting Tobermory for some fabulous fish & chips, travelling from Fort William to Mallaig on a train for even more views or going to Glennfinnan to see the famous steam train used in the Harry Potter films (The Jacobite) pass over the viaduct. There's obviously the haunting Glen Coe to visit along with many other little treasures.
You can hire a boat and be taken by a local to places that are abundant with wildlife or you can simply walk, walk, walk and walk.
Or indeed, you may like to sit at the front of the Lodge and watch the water come in and then go out again.
I know I may have lost a few of you to the length of my review but there's one more thing. You won't see lots of employees around Kingairloch as they like to let you get on and just be. However, if you need help, Sue or Bobby are always to hand and are very friendly and helpful. It's lovely getting to know them more and more each year. Last but not least, the Boathouse restaurant. Having being used to the original couple running it the first couple of years it was strange not to see them but the new couple that are now running it are very friendly and do a good job with the food. Too good I'm afraid as I believe I have just that little bit more weight to lose...
P.S If you're wondering why I've only put good for the condition of the property don't worry, there's nothing to worry about. The Lodge is loved and I believe is one of the favourites for visitors so no wonder that sometimes it can have a couple of knocks or small niggles. As expected, some visitors are just harder or dare I say it, clumsier than others therefore it can't always be 100% perfect. But who wants that anyway?




One word to describe Kingairloch " perfect"

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just come back from our first visit to Kingairloch,we stayed in The Gate Lodge and found everything about the house, location and people absolutly perfect. The weather was kind to us to, only one bad day. If its peace tranquility and fabulous countryside you are looking for then look no further. We had preordered some home produce which was in our Lodge when we arrived, we can highly recommend the rock cakes, lemon drizzle, whiskey marmalade not to mention the homemade ice cream, so if you are planning a visit make sure you contact Margo to place your order. We ate at The Boathouse twice which was lovely good food good wine and walking distance from our Lodge.
We met Susan and would like to thank her, again, for allowing us and all our dogs the pleasure of staying at Kingairloch, what a charming lady.
We were so impressed with the holiday that we booked for next year as we left and feel this will be an annual holiday location.
What a gem of a find, thank you Kingairloch!




Gets an A+ if you want to escape in comfort for a while

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our 3rd time at the Loch and it never fails to disappoint

The location and scenery are absolutely stunning, the changes in light, shadows and tide mean that you never tire of the view

Add to this the diverse bird and wildlife that abounds and you have the perfect getaway for nature lovers

I have no doubt that we will return again




Amazing place

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cottage in the most amazing location with a great view or the loch and surrounding mountains. 8 miles from the road but the most amazing 8 mile drive ever, could do it over and over again each day. Love the cows and the sheep that roam, and the wild deer in the garden at night.
The cottage a lovely building very clean, excellent décor and furnishings, well equipped with washer, dryer, cooker microwave dishwasher etc, everything provided from linen and towels down to kitchen roll, washing up liquid and cling film just makes the holiday much less stress free. will go back again and will recommend




Our Holiday in Paradise

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best holiday we've had, the location and the people even with the drizzle, a nice welcome from Susan the owner. The Gate Lodge was perfect for us and our 2 labs Ruby&tedxxx. Also a trip on the Jacobite Steam Train. So quiet and tranquil you never get bored the wildlife we saw beautiful Red Stags a otter and eagle, we will definitely be going back, the only downside is that we couldn't stay longer, many thanks to everyone involved with Kingairloch X Mary&Ray



Amazing time at the Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just got back from a short break, staying in the Gate Lodge. Lovely cottage, would definitely go back there. Surrounded by amazing scenery, loads of wildlife, lots of walking right there on your doorstep, just wish we didn't have to leave. I can highly recommend this cottage but infact all the properties on the estate looked gorgeous.



A remote slice of tranquillity and wonderment...

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well what can I say, the Gate Lodge is one of thee nicest properties I've ever stayed in. The views are spectacular from every window, especially the kitchen. The remoteness of it makes it feel special, I like the fact you have to be prepared before boarding the ferry at Corran.
The Gate Lodge is decorated to a high standard and well equipped kitchen, with a bonus of a utility room and downstairs shower.
Deer roamed freely, a pine marten gave us a nightly visit, a greater spotted woodpecker sat on the outdoor table, there is a constant stream of beautiful birds and always the sound of a cuckoo.
We stayed for 7 days, had a wonderful time wish it could've been longer.
There is plenty to do and see, and really 7 days is just not enough! We're totally relaxed and refreshed, and would be extremely smug if we lived here.
Mrs Larson (Owner) was very friendly too, we will be back.




Perfect stay

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect getaway location with stunning views. The Gate Lodge was a lovely home from home and had everything you would need. Very clean and comfortable with lots of enclosed outside space, perfect for those with young families or dogs. Can't wait to return!



Great Easter break at Kingairloch with Spring unfolding before your eyes.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kingairloch is a place to keep going back to, as I have done now for some years. It is a tranquil oasis filled with amazing scenery and wildlife that draws experienced enthusiasts and enthralls and captures the interests of everyone else. The Gate Lodge is perfect, not just as a warm, comfortable and friendly place to stay, but as a wildlife watching centre as well. With a river to one side that is home to dippers and grey wagtails, a loch in front that draws in waders, sea-ducks, divers and grebes, and mountains all round hosting eagles, buzzards and ravens for starters, what could be better? And we mustn't forget the visiting pinemartens, the otters, the red deer, feral goats and the rest of the furry gang. The house is a perfect centre for walkers as well, not only because of the beautiful walks around the estate and up into the mountains, but because the house facilities cater for dealing with muddy boots and wet clothes!
P.S. Prepare to be broken-hearted as you leave.




Another fabulous stay at the Gate Lodge!

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Gate Lodge is simply wonderful....perfect views and superb accommodation. The house is warm and the main bathroom is huge. The layout of the house is perfect when staying with a dog, with both the utility room and boot room. Kingairloch is a wonderful estate with lovely walks and although there is no internet with the property, this could be considered a good thing when trying to escape from it all. Andy and I were travelling with 26 family members, all staying in 5 of the properties on the estate, but we particularly love the Gate House and chose that for ourselves. We got married in Kingairloch House during our stay and so a perfect week away!



Easter at Kingairloch

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th holiday at Kingairloch staying in the Gate Lodge. Gorgeous house in a stunning location. Has everything you need. A wonderful get-away and much needed rest. Lots of walks close by, stunning scenery, beautiful beaches nearby. We've seen Golden Eagles, otters, seals etc and even have a Pine Martin who visits the patio at night. I've no doubt we'll be booking for a 5th visit!



Katrina replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Gate Lodge. Our repeat customers mean a great deal to us, and we hope to see you at Kingairloch in the not too distant future.

Kingairloch heaven

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stopped at kingairloch a few times now and it just gets better, beautiful scenery, peace and quiet, fantastic views deer otters pinemartin. Will be back



Katrina replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Gate Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

The Sound of Silence

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Kingairloch estate is so peaceful and the scenery is stunning. The Lodge was spotlessly clean, spacious and well equipped. The views from the Lodge were beautiful and some days we never saw another soul. You need to be quite organised with your shopping as the nearest shop is a 25 min drive away. I wanted to live there! We took our Lab who thought he was in doggie heaven. We will definitely return.



Katrina replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay in The Gate Lodge. To not see another soul is bliss in this ever increasing busy World.