FB Twitter

The Old School

The Old School

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 60 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


The Old School is a recently built cottage set on a beautiful bay overlooking Loch Linnhe on the Kingairloch Estate.

Property Description:

Single storey building. Open plan living room and kitchen with wood burning stove. Double en suite bedroom. Twin bedroom. Shower room. Utility room. Enclosed garden.

Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This our fifth visit to Kingairloch and it is just as wonderful as our first visit. We did miss the restaurant at the boathouse.



Perfect Cottage in a perfect location

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first visit to Kingairloch but not our last.

Excellent accommodation super clean ,warm and comfortable and equipped with everything you might need for a self catering holiday.We were unlucky with the weather but managed to complete some of the walks on the estate despite the rain and were lucky to see deer and pine martins almost daily.

Weather notwithstanding we had a wonderful stay at Kingairloch and will be returning next year.





A heavenly break away from the city

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Old School was just perfect for a little a little family holiday. My wife and grown-up daughter loved the views as did I and our dog couldn't understand why it was so peaceful, he was very relaxed. Inside the house there was everything you could want, the home itself was very clean and comfortable, a real home away from home. If I had one little complaint it's that we had no internet for a few days and I specifically booked a place with internet for my daughter (young people need access to internet no matter how lovely the scenery is) I called and called and eventually got someone to send me out a box. All in all a beautiful place, everyone around was very friendly and we would love to come back.



Old School, holiday in May.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've been coming to Kingairloch for a number of years but this was our first time at the Old School. The house is in a fantastic, quiet location with superb sea views. It is warm and comfortable, the kitchen is very well equipped, comfy beds and large towels all adding to a positive experience. The weather wasn't very kind but provided ever changing sea views and lots of rainbows. Wildlife included otters, eagles, pinemarten, bats and unidentified marine life. 



Beautiful location,stunning views, luxury accommodation,peace and tranquility.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old School House has been wonderfully renovated to provide a truly unique holiday let. Comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, open plan living area, two bathrooms, all resulting in a first class holiday! Situated in a stunning location,remote and peaceful, with wildlife on the doorstep. Hard to beat!



Lovely week in beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying at Kingairloch for many years and hopefully will keep returning. The Old School provides very comfortable and warm accommodation with stunning views over the Loch. We enjoyed many enjoyable walks around the estate, and the wildlife never disappoints.The warm welcome from everyone on the estate makes our vists very special and memorable.



Spring getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a fine location. Clean and tidy and well equipped. The smoke detector was beeping when we arrived, so phoned the estate and they had someone round to sort things within a couple of hours. Take plenty of bird peanuts with you - the local pine martens love them!!



Amazing location

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first visit to The Old School, although we have been to other cottages at Kingairloch on several occasions. The cottage is spacious, cosy and well equipped. The views from every window are wonderful. Weather was mixed, but it didn’t stop us from enjoying walks all round the estate. Wildlife was in abundance. Stags, pine martens, foxes, otters, hen harrier, sea eagles and golden eagles. Numerous wading birds and garden birds. Susan was very helpful and we highly recommend her supper club. Looking forward to returning next year.



Another exceptional visit

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always look forward to coming to Kingairloch, a magical estate managed by friendly, considerate hosts. It is a gem for anyone looking for quiet, nature, and a stunning location within easy reach of Fort William. The Old School has a view out to Loch Linnhe that is beyond compare, with very comfortable, modern accommodation.



An amazing 2 weeks

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay in the Old School on the estate an it exceeded our expectations. We had two weeks of swimming in the river as it joins the sea right outside our front door, two weeks of amazing walking and exploring the hills surrounding, of kayaking and boating. And most of all just staring and absorbing the landscape, the wildlife and the silent stillness.



Magical !

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old School offers very comfortable first class accommodation, in a stunning location.
We enjoyed watching the deer right outside the house, the golden eagles circling above and the otters playing in the bay and we had a visit from a pine martin most evenings.
A couple of evenings fishing in Loch Uisige provided some good sport with a few small brown trout, making for a very memorable and restorative holiday, we are already looking forward to our next visit to Kingairloch.

Thank you,
The Moore’s




Another fabulous holiday at Kingairloch

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit at The Old School and the our third to Kingairloch. We also stayed next door at Elastic Cottage. We absolutely love it here. The house is lovely. The scenery wonderful. The dog's love it. Peace and tranquillity. Fabulous wildlife and plants. Not too far from Fort William which is good for a stroll round the shops and exploring Nevis. Not far from Mull. Great location for exploring the Morvern and Ardnamurchan peninsulas. We had two wonderful meals at The Boathouse. Great food. We absolutely love it here and will be back in the new year.



Peaceful, comfy with unbelievable views

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old School is our second visit to Kingairloch. It's a beautifully tranquil place which stayed with us in all the years that have followed. Finally we made it back, this time with a 2 year old in tow.

Amazing as our first stay was, this time was better in every respect. The Old School is absolutely first-class: huge, spacious, warm, comfortable, fully equipped with an ever-changing view of Loch Linnhe which never fails to take your breath away. The lochside location works brilliantly: you can watch the cycle of the tide across the day and see how different parts of land are revealed or covered, bringing a different selection of wildlife each time. In the distance the mountains around Appin are variously covered with mist or highlighted by stray beams of sunlight. Whatever the weather does it always looks beautiful and we spent a lot of time just sitting in the quiet taking it all in.

Aside from the obvious fact of its setting there are two other points which are particularly worth noting: the place is very well equipped and has ample storage, it's somewhere you could hole up for a very good period of time in great comfort. There's no wi-fi but there's enough 4g for it to be tolerable. The kitchen has everything you could want - we cooked and baked pretty much every day and never wanted for any equipment.

Secondly the wildlife: we saw almost everything we'd heard of here - an otter, pine martens, stags galore, all sorts of water birds, buzzards and an eagle or two. It's part of the magic of the place that you will just be idling about and these guys will pop up unexpectedly.

Absolutely no question if you want peace, tranquility, seclusion and the beauty of nature but still want comfort and convenience this can't be beaten. Just make sure you pack as much midge repellent as you can lay your hands on!




Iain from West London

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly peaceful in a beautiful highland landscape. All guests are totally stress free, such a delightful experience.

Can’t praise it highly enough




Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2020
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The property was fabulous and in a most stunning location. Very quiet and peaceful. We really enjoyed the walks from the doorstep as well as driving further afield. I’ve never been to the Morvern Peninsula before, it’s a hidden gem. Perfect to get away from it all. We were advised to take food for a week which we did. We would happily return and hope to.



Amazing secluded getaway with the dogs

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a wonderful time staying at the old school in kingairloch
The house was beautifully done out and immaculately clean. It had a large utility room which is perfect for drying clothes after a walk and for the dogs to chill in. The main living space was lovely and the kitchen had all the things we could ever need
Location is like none other, I couldn’t believe the views and tranquility of the place
We will be booking again soon! ThNk you




Another great week

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to Kingairloch and the first in School House.
It is a long trek to Kingairloch but worth every mile for the seclusion and peaceful atmosphere you experience from arrival.

To watch otters whilst having an evening glass of wine is surreal.
Red deer looking over the wall and the occasional eagle in the mountains are all memories to treasure.

Our Labrador is still sulking and missing his daily treks up the glen or his swims in the river and sea.

If its peace and quiet and a break from the fast pace we all live at nowadays, Kingairloch cant be beaten.

Just hope these reviews don't make it too popular.

Paul and Denise




Our Piece of Paradise

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Kingairloch so much. Its a wonderful peaceful place to stay, with beautiful walks and wildlife. We will continue to visit when ever we can. We stayed in the Old School house this time and it is excellent, very comfortable and has all you need.



Best holiday resort I have been to.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to holiday. Everything was fantastic. Accommodation, helpful staff and setting all 5 star. This was the second time I have holidayed in kindairloch and would love to return.



The old school house

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the old school house for 4 nights and wished it could have been longer, the cottage has the prefect mix of modern yet traditional. The space is fantastic and the owners have evidently thought of everything you could need. We can’t wait to book again x



My kind of paradise

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to spend Christmas and New Year. We were very fortunate with the weather and enjoyed some marvellous walks. I would highly recommend to those who are looking to get away from it all.



Out of this world

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sometimes in life you cannot put into words about something well this is one of those times simply put it everything about Kingairloch is out of this world you feel you been took back in time just breathtaking



Perfect place

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely house in a perfect location. Clean, spacious and comfortable. Wildlife and views both superb. The owners very nice and helpful.



Our week in kingairloch beyond words fantastic thank you

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for a wonderful week the wildlife the wilderness and outstanding beauty of kingairloch was beyond words I hope to return in the very near future this experience will live with me forever



Simply Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely, superb position, quiet and peaceful, surrounded by nature and the local wildlife all too happy to visit. Pine Martin came each night - Feeding Tip: Likes grapes cut in half, peanut butter, whole raw egg, but NO strawberries! We put the food out on the boulder in the parking area and the front wall - marvellous to see such a creature up-close and completely unphased by us watching from the lounge windows! Fox, deer also visited during our week and we were lucky enough to see pair of golden eagles "sky-dancing" just down the road that leads to Strontian!
Kingairloch estate has some lovely walks so you can leave the car and walk from the door. We also did some interesting walks further afield and even braved quite rough seas to visit Staffa and the Puffins!
Can recommend a stay at The Old School which is extremely comfortable, decorated beautifully and equipped with everything you could need. We did not want to leave!




For lovers of nature and peace and quiet.

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

The Old School House, couldn't be in a better location. Much more spacious than the photos suggest. So comfortable and well equipped. We will certainly be going back.






A peaceful and tranquil location which can feasibly be described as a little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to stay at Kingairloch during which we booked our third visit on 2020, perfection!



Another fabulous holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our forth stay at the Kingairloch estate and again had A fabulous holiday,the cottage was in excellent and clean condition.



Magnificent

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most idilic setting you can imagine.
Peace and tranquility. The accommodation was excellent and done to a very high standard.

I will return.




Stunning location whatever the weather!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to Kingairloch and our first to The Old School. The outlook from the property is spectacular, the combination of tide, weather and wildlife creates a moving landscape that never disappoints. There is plenty to explore locally on foot and by car, we will return and stay longer next time. Thank you Susan for sharing this special place with us, you and your team are doing a fantastic job.



An outstanding location

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to The Old School since it opened less than two years ago and we stayed three weeks. We have already booked for a whole month next year. The house is very comfortable and well-equipped and the location by the sea is outstanding both for its views and for wildlife - red deer, wild goats and pine martens are regular visitors to the back door.



Heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All I can say is wish I was back everything you could ask for and so much more great place only problem is time passes to quick we’ll be back even went to church met some wonderful people
X




A winter wonderland

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful, light, breathtaking views, great log life and such a well thought out space. We had the best week and thank you to the Larson/Yeoman Family for making Kingairloch such a great place to be. We'll be back (of course!)



A perfect winter visit

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect location on the Loch side, especially to witness the sunrise. Spotted otters and plenty of stags. We also had late afternoon visits from the pine martens.
The house was warm and comfortable and we were very happy to return to the log burner after a day’s walking.
We’ll be returning very soon.




Idyllic retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Kingairloch Estate is a beautiful place and the The Old School is a lovely cottage and so peaceful. Very cosy with lovely views and everything you need (except WiFi - but who needs WiFi when you are watching the Pine Martens!). The staff are very helpful and deliver wood to the back door when you need it. There are excellent walks straight from the cottage, from easy to very challenging. Our dog also loves it there. We had a wonderful 2 weeks in January. It’s a great place to base yourself as it’s not too far to get to Fort William and Mull, and explore the rest of the Morvern and Ardnamurchan peninsulas. We were very sad to leave. This was our second trip to the Kingairloch Estate and we will be back again.



Chilling in Kingairloch!

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old School is perfect, its comfortable, clean and warm...especially with the lovely wood burner fired up! There are numerous walks from the doorstep and if you keep your eyes peeled you can spot all sorts of wildlife, the highlight of our week was spotting otters in the loch on the coast road and having the friendly, inquisitive Pine Marten come visiting for his jammy treats!
Its a perfect idyll and we will definitely be back!




Return visit to the Old School House for a relaxing, wildlife experience in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautifully appointed, with every comfort and in a glorious, isolated location. Wonderful.



Another Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place really is home from home. Great cottage in a superb location with all the amenities you require when staying away.

Can’t wait for our next visit




Old school house. Kingairloch.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in the old school house with typical 'Scottish' weather! The cottage and the estate are quite simply superb.



Stunning

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Kingairloch but the first time of staying in The Old School, the cottage was perfect, superb quality of furnishings and so comfortable. The views were stunning, our dogs loved being able to go straight from the cottage to the loch. The walks direct from the cottage were amazing. We had mr pine marten visiting every night , usually around 6.30 pm so we had fabulous views of him on our window sill and outdoor table. We also saw red deer and actually were lucky enough this visit to spot an otter when we were walking round by Sea view cottage. We had two fabulous evening meals and a super lunch at The Boat House, a must for anyones visit. We just so love Kingairloch we have already booked for next year. See you then!



The Old School

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second wonderful holiday at Kingairloch Highland Estate. So much to see and do, straight from the doorstep. Bountiful wildlife, fabulous walks, excellent food at The Boat House restaurant. A very special place. We will be back!




Peace Perfect Peace

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As ever Kingairloch is the perfect place to stay and re-charge your batteries. The Welcome is BRILLIANT, the accommodation is FIRST CLASS and the location is WONDERFUL where nature comes to you. This year we saw stags, hinds, pine martins, herons and may other birds just from the windows of The Old School.

This is the second year staying at the newly built Old School which is has all the features you could ever want to make your self catering getaway holiday a holiday you'll remember for ever





Peace and quiet. Wonderful views. Wildlife and walks.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fifth visit in as many years. That says it all. It is the King of the Lochs. Oh and the Boathouse is excellent too.



The Old School at Kingairloch offers exceptional accommodation in a perfect setting.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at the Old School and have been staying at Kingairloch for 12 years. This says it all really as we keep returning. All the properties we have stayed in do not disappoint in any way, but The Old School is exceptional - beautifully furnished, warm and welcoming, in a perfect setting. The views from the cottage are stunning and wildlife is abundant . We are always made to feel very welcome by all at Kingairloch and we are already looking forward to our next visit.



Beautiful!

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a stunning location with every home comfort; so peaceful. An ideal location for lovers of the countryside and wildlife.



Blissful

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve stayed in various Kingairloch properties over many years, now. The Old School was everything we could have wished for in terms of comfort, interior design and location.



A lovely cottage in a stunning location.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We liked the cottage a lot - it was well laid out and had all the essentials for a lovely holiday let. It's very warm and snug, and 'user friendly'. It is a tricky spot to get to so making sure you have information on the last bit of the journey would help. After a couple of runs you get used to the single track road and to look out for wildlife both on and off the track! The wildlife is one of the highlights of the stay - it would be possible to have a holiday just looking out of the window of the cottage at the wildlife in the area and enjoying the views and the every changing colours of the scenery. There are interesting places to visit within an hour's drive of the cottage and if you like the sea the various boats and ferries add to the excitement. The dog friendliness of the cottage attracted us and there are lots of dog friendly places around. The cottage does have a pleasant garden but it's not secure especially if your dog likes wildlife as our terrier does - and the wildlife tends to wander into the garden! We would certainly go again.



Amazing!

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, cottage so comfortable and warm especially after a long walk in the snow! That was out 3rd visit to Kingairloch we’ll be back for a 4th!



Old school house

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is the best we have stayed in all the years we have been coming to Scotland very warm and cosy excellent location wildlife out of this world will we be coming again in September and Feb next year in fact can’t see us going anywhere else simply the best



Perfect for peace and quiet

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Old School, the property is beautiful, cosy and warm, fantastic views from different rooms and the wildlife is abundant, a lovely garden for our dog and great walks, it is a pleasure to stay here and we will be returning.



The Old School in the snow

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cottage in beautiful location. The snowy mountain scenery was amazing, with walks on the doorstep and abundant wildlife. The cottage is very well appointed and spacious, being warm and cosy.



Heavenly

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We only stayed for a few days of which was nowhere near enough time at this fabulous location.
Definitely be back soon.




superb cottage in remote beautiful location; among the best we have used.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage; cosy, modern, well equipped, ideal for wild-life watching and relaxing - recommended.



very cozy, quiet, with great scenic views

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
wonderful for a home away from home and a relaxing stay. clean, comfy, and cozy. great opportunity for long walks in beautiful scenery.



A wonderful stay in an extraordinary location

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week at the Old School with our Spanish Water Dog Rio.

The location and property were even more spectacular than the website shows. In particular there was a lot more space in the Old School than we expected. The property was very warm and comfortable, we didn't need to use the log burner at all. The views and peace and quiet were also even better than we had hoped - the perfect place to switch off, and get out and enjoy all that this part of Scotland has to offer.

We did amazing walks right from the doorstep and our water-loving dog was in his element the opportunity to swim in river, sea and reservoir and be off-lead the majority of the time.

Also, we managed to tick off all but one of my wildlife wishlist while we visited - pine martens & stags in the garden, wild goats on our drives around the peninsula, otters in the loch in front of the house, and white tailed eagles on mull. Just the golden eagle remained elusive!

The only downside - the midges in the mornings and evenings, we were fully prepared for that so it didn't spoil the holiday - but it might be nice to have fly screens up in the house so you could still have the windows open at those times.

Apart from that it was fabulous, and we left wishing we had booked to stay longer. We would definitely stay at Kingairloch and the Old School again, and don't hesitate to recommend it to others.





Perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in Kingairloch on many occasions at several different properties. We have watched the renovation of The Old School with interest and were very pleased to be able to stay there. It surpassed all our expectations. Absolute comfort to a very high standard.
The estate provided us with excellent walks, and we observed an array of wildlife. As always we were warmly welcomed by Susan and her team. Have booked for next year, that says everything!




One week was not enough..

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When you board the Corran Ferry & cross Loch Linnhe you feel like you've left the hustle & bustle behind,your holiday starts here! Single track roads,barely any other traffic,stunning scenery & an abundance of cattle & sheep. We arrived at The Old School and we were all so blown away,the pics could never do it justice,the high ceiling,beautiful light fitting,cosy feel.. but the view!! you could never tire of it,the ever flowing tides,the wildlife.We saw deer,eagles,herons,grebes & the Pine martins were a joy to watch,pinching the food we'd put out for the birds! On a practical note,I brought the kitchen sink with me when it came to food,the nearest shop is at least a 40 minute round trip.We were lucky enough to sample the venison from the estate,the strip loin was amazing along with the fresh produce from the walled garden.We pre booked Sunday lunch at the boat house bistro,a beautiful setting and the staff are so welcoming & helpful with any questions so much so we booked for an evening meal on our last night,venison & fish platters plus the venison pie were a delight! During our stay we had lazy days,we took out our kayak,did some unsuccessful fishing,took a lovely day trip to Mull,easily accessible,and Sanna Bay where the silver sands and blues of the sea are a delight to the eye.The weather wasn't very kind,but,it didn't matter.. This place has already left a special place in our hearts,digital detox,never felt the need to switch the TV on,comfortable beds,spacious and lovely bathrooms,thoughtful kitchen equipment..I need to shut up now lol .. just go !!



A Wonderful Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent the most wonderful relaxing holiday in The Old School. Despite the name, it's a new building with ALL the creature comforts of home and more in the idyllic setting of Kingairloch. Who could ask for more.



The Old School House, Kingairloch, Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at the Old School House on Kingairloch Estate. The cottage has been beautifully renovated, it's spacious and homely. The fittings and furnishings are of a very high standard and has extremely comfortable beds. The views from the cottage are breathtaking across the small bay. We had a lovely time and I would highly recommend this charming cottage.



The Brand New School House ~ Amazing location to see the local wildlife p

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Regular guest to the Kingairloch Estate and first time staying at the beach front location ~ Amazing property and surrounded by the local wildlife mainly deer and stags just a few feet from the garden fence......
Highly recommended..!!