FB Twitter

Hopping Hare Cottage

Hopping Hare Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


This gorgeous cottage is conveniently situated in the picturesque countryside near Warkworth Village. One of a row of five historic former farm-workers cottages, Hopping Hare Cottage provides a very cosy holiday retreat in the perfect location for exploring the stunning Northumbrian Heritage Coastline. In a peaceful and pretty location with beautiful views over open fields towards the sea. Three miles from Warkworth village and eight miles from Alnwick. Sleeps up to 4, up to 2 dogs welcome. Free Wi-Fi and Digital Guidebook.

lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent situation. Clean cosy cottage. Lovely welcome package for humans and dogs!
Downstairs spacious, upstairs quite compact.




wonderful stay at the cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant stay at the cottage, would absolutely stay again. The welcome hamper, and free toiletries, as well as milk, and butter, were lovely touches. Couldn’t recommend more.



Beautiful cottage in a very quiet location. Warm, comfortable and well equipped.

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely. It was warm and welcoming when I arrived. The basket of goodies was well thought out. Everything worked as expected.
The location is very quiet but wasn't difficult to find.
I was only staying for a long weekend but would love to go back for a longer stay sometime.
It was nice to receive a courtesy call to make sure that everything was ok.




Lovely home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2024
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really well appointed cottage, comfortable with everything we needed. We all really enjoyed our stay.



We love this property

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third new year at Hopping Hare cottage, which should give a good guide to our view of the property.

We were also impressed with the refitted shower room which has been completed this year. A real plus to an already lovely cottage.





Christmas 23

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Dec 2023
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very pleasant weeks stay but a few things could be improved upon;
The utility room attached to the garage - the only way to turn the power and lights on to here was by flicking the trip switch on the fuse board which involved standing on a chair to access the unit above the kitchen door (the trip switch was off when we arrived) clearer/easier instructions and possibly a safer way would be useful in this respect this did not seem right ? The utility room looked like it had not been used for weeks and the heating was non existent but the info said it was an ideal heated drying room.
The only heating in the bathroom was underfloor heating but this seemed to be very low and could’ve done with increasing in temperature, it was almost non existent.
Although the middle of winter, the outside of the property was tatty and clearly the garden had not been touched for some months. The outside table and chairs were filthy and needed a face lift (we would normally sit outside to remove walking boots etc) and the overall area was untidy. There is also ivy growing in the gutters.
The windows needed a really good clean on the outside and it appeared two of the double glazed panels have failed ?
We have stayed with Coquet cottages for about ten years now and this was not to the usual standard.




Natalie replied 170 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our services. We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. As soon as we received your feedback, we attended the property to address the issues mentioned. Had we been made aware of the issues during your stay we would have arranged to attend the property as we are open 7 days a week. Your continued support over the past ten years means a great deal to us, and we are committed to making improvements based on feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future and provide an even better stay. Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts, and we look forward to helping you book your next holiday in Northumberland.

A cosy retreat - a home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Dec 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful cottage in a beautiful area with excellent quality of furnishings and all home comforts.
The cottage had everything we needed; however the guide said there was a smart TV but it only had Freeview and not Netflix, iPlayer etc etc.





Natalie replied 209 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hopping Hare Cottage. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful area, excellent furnishings, and home comforts. I apologise for any confusion regarding the smart TV. As advertised, the property is equipped with a smart TV with Freeview, DVD player, radio, and music system. Additionally, we offer free unlimited Wi-Fi for all our guests. We understand that having access to streaming services like Netflix and iPlayer would enhance the experience, and we will take your feedback into consideration for future improvements. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at Hopping Hare Cottage, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

A tranquil week at Hopping Hare cottage.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Nov 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A second visit to Hopping Hare cottage near Warkworth. A lovely welcoming pack for both humans and dogs, a comfortable week’s holiday and an ideally situated cottage – easy to get to the fabulous beaches of Northumberland and the historical towns of Alnwick and Warkworth. Despite some inclement weather, we were still able to enjoy ourselves and relax with our dogs in the cottage.The utility/drying room is ideal for wet dogs and days!
Would certainly recommend a holiday at the cottage.




Perfect short break

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage, nicely placed for exploring but a little "off the beaten track" Warm and cosy even with Storm Babet blowing in! Would recommend. Fantastic welcome hamper, contents were delicious.



Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a long weekend and wished we could have stayed longer.
Perfect cottage in a perfect location.
Thankyou.




Charming cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is well equipped, comfortable and very clean. Good welcome hamper for us and our dog. Surrounded by fields but with a view of the sea, it made a relaxing base for visiting Warkworth, Amble and Alnwick and the amazing local beaches.



Our stay at Hopping Hare cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage in a peaceful location. As soon as we entered the cottage we felt at home. Warm, very well equipped and furnished to a tastefully high standard.
We would certainly return again to this rural location. Yes, we had to drive a little more than a town or village location but the peace and quiet and wildlife made up for this.




Short break

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb short break after having 2 holidays cancelled. Coquet were amazing and sorted this out at short notice.
Lovely relaxing weekend, cottage was well equiped and had a lot if charm. Superb new bathroom as well. Would be great to stay here in winter and get the log burner going.
We will be coming back.




Delightful hidden gem

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage tucked away in the Northumbrian countryside (even with a sea view!) The area was very pet friendly, with many pubs and restaurants offering a dog-friendly table after a walk. The cottage had everything you could need to make you feel relaxed during your stay, including shower products and comfy furniture. It was a great base for Alnwick, Warkworth and Amble - which were only a few minutes drive. Will stay again!



Mini coastal break with Millie and Betsy

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely short break with our spaniels Millie and Betsy.
On arrival we were met with a lovely hamper full of goodies for us and our dogs!
Beautifully clean, the cottage is a short drive to the beach. We visited Warkworth (Bertram’s cafe is not to be missed)!
Also enjoyed visiting Bamburgh, Alnmouth and Seahouses.
Fantastic service from Coquet cottages.
Thank you!




Lovely cottage, beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage exceeded expectations in all ways. Welcome Hamper was fantastic- loved the local produce. Extremely helpful and friendly but non-intrusive neighbours. A week of beach walking and historic castles. We’ll be back!