FB Twitter

The Wing

The Wing

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.3
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.7


Pekes Edwardian Wing is a comfotable self-contained single-storey extension of the main house with its own garden that sleeps up to 6 people.

60th Burthday

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning historical building with great facilities
Everything from booking to departure top notch x


Jacquie from Hailsham stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in April 2022


An unexpected delight

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the main house before but never hired the wing preferring to hire Tudor View cottage for families that needed a bit of peace away from the larger gathering. On this holiday the cottage was not available so we reluctantly took the Wing and were delighted when we found it gave us the same quiet evening facilities plus a wonderful area to sit and work in. The extra loo was accessible to the house which was useful too and the garden provided us with an eggsalent location for our easter chocolate hunt.

Philly from London stayed at The Wing for 4 nights in April 2022


A wonderful weekend break, stepping back in time

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous weekend with our daughters, 6&8. The wing was spotlessly clean and well maintained. It was a real treat to wander the grounds and spend time in the historic house. The girls loved the pool and play area. I loved the peace and birdsong. I do hope we can come again soon, thank you

Laura from Tonbridge stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in February 2022


Chill out.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a short break staying in the wing. It was a stunning location. Set in acres of countryside. Accommodation was excellent. The pool is set in a separate building with plenty of pool toys available. Very warm & clean. Hot tub a lovely way to relax. We are a family of 4 with 2 children 11 & 8 & there was plenty for them to do in a very safe setting. Staff were very helpful throughout.

from stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in August 2021


The wing

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely place for our mini Hen. Beautiful garden and views, very clean with excellent covid precautions.

Guest from London stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in July 2021


lovely break

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect place for a retreat with friends or family, lovely surroundings and everything you need to entertain yourselves (pool, outdoor games, BBQ). We had a fantastic bank holiday. I would recommend if you are planning to spend most of the time outdoors! We stayed in the Wing and each individual 'cottage' is fairly separated from the others and gives you some privacy

Line from Hove stayed at The Wing for 3 nights in May 2021


Lovely stay in the heart of the Sussex countryside

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Mar 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a month here in February. We stayed in the Wing which provided very comfortable accommodation with a wonderful wood burning stove. The grounds are delightful and there are plenty of walks around ( muddy at this time of year!).
Kildare was very helpful and responded very quickly to any queries.
We had a very peaceful and restorative time and would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a country retreat.


Kate from Teddington stayed at The Wing for 30 nights in February 2021


Beautiful getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just what we were looking for, beautiful quirky getaway surrounded by lovely walks, spacious comfy accommodation.

Dawn from Burham stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in September 2020


Relaxing haven for friends and family

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thank you Pekes for opening your home to visitors. We really enjoyed having a beautiful home to stay while enjoying the company of our friendship group. Your home is welcoming, interesting and unique.
Having Covid change the rules around the use of the pool is a positive change in my opinion. Sharing such a peaceful space with our group alone was a privilege, thank you.


Guest from Brighton stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in September 2020


Late summer break

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stated at the Manor House previously and with a smaller group stated at the wing this time. Pekes has excellent facilities and is in a good location. We really enjoyed being in the Wing, it has lots of character and a great fire, comfy beds well arranged for our family group. We will definitely be back

Howard from Enfield stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in September 2020


Lovely Christmas at Pekes

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely Christmas at Pekes (in the Wing of the manor house). It is a beautiful building with beautiful grounds and very peaceful. Well maintained but full of character. The Wing was very comfortable and had all facilities you could require; the team got a beautiful Christmas tree for us which made it very special. We loved the open fire and all the interesting pictures and information about the house and the family. We did find it a little cold, particularly in the bedroom. Our only other quibble would be the location of the toilet, which is adjacent to a room in the main house, so didn't feel all that private.
We used the jacuzzi and sauna and swimming pool a few times and really enjoyed it. It might have been useful to get some more info about this prior to coming so that we knew we'd have to wait for the sauna to heat up.
It's a lovely area with lots of good walking (muddy at this time of year!) and a very useful village shop in Muddles Green nearby.


Lydia from Rochester stayed at The Wing for 5 nights in December 2019


Great family getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a WONDERFUL time at Pekes. It's a great one bedroom place to stay. It has atmosphere and a lot of personality.

Nadine from LEIDEN stayed at The Wing for 4 nights in December 2019


Family wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation on well maintained site. Very well equipped. Layout not ideal as everyone has to go through the living area were 4 beds also situated to get to the bathroom. Step up to toilet. Ramp provided on request for outside step. Furniture I poor state of repair, desperately needs new mattresses, not one comfortable armchair/ sofa as cushions old and flat, very threadbare. No where to sit if you have a bad back.

Wendy from Woodplumpton stayed at The Wing for 3 nights in June 2019


Kildare Bourke-Borrowes replied more than 1 year ago
We have had numerous inputs from Wendy and her family how much they enjoyed and appreciated Pekes for their Wedding weekend - 'Stunning' 'Special' 'Magic' 'Incredible' 'Fabulous' 'Wonderful Memories', etc. That is very pleasing. I have corresponded with her since her stay, and she has said: 'I would like to emphasise that we did really enjoy our stay and would recommend you to others', so things can't be quite as bad as portrayed. Nobody else has ever made these complaints in decades. In any case we are Changing one double bed for a new one, and changing two single beds for new ones. Removing 2 old armchairs that are surplus. Evaluating changing one of the sofas. Evaluating converting the bathroom into a shower room with toilet (difficult). I personally have sat in all the Wing furniture, I suffer from a bad back, and have never found them the slightest bit uncomfortable. So this is a matter of opinion and circumstance.

great houses, great garden, great pool and great service

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pekes Manor is uttery lovely. Our kids especially enjoyed the lush (conservatory style) warm indoor swimming pool, our dogs loved roaming around, and we loved the spacious accomodation (after our first night we moved from the Wing to the Oast House as we required more room, and we were very thankful that that was possible at that short notice. The rooms are lovely, the kitchen well equipped, towels were plenty. We had a great holiday, thank you for that.

Michael from Kreuzweingarten stayed at The Wing for 5 nights in April 2019


The Beautiful Wing

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Wing is a lovely part of the main Manor house with stunning carved archways and and small private garden. We loved staying in the Wing and can't wait to return back soon.

Emma from Bristol stayed at The Wing for 3 nights in March 2019


Unique experience

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our stay in Pekes. A vanishing beauty of it. And most charming host Mr Kildare Borrowes.

Edward from London stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in March 2019


Great surroundings, fantastic region, beautiful house. Long walks are to be recommended.

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was perfect for the two adults, with two small children. It has all the equipment needed to have a family life abroad.

Guest from Gent stayed at The Wing for 5 nights in December 2018


Fridge/Freezer - Cooker

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay and enjoyed every minute.

The only thing that was not adequate was the fridge/freezer - it wasn't big enough to cater for 6 people for 5 days.

There was a problem with the cooker (an existing problem) where it tripped out on the board in the manor house. We did ring as the information booklet told us to but the person on the other end wasn't very helpful. We then went to the manor house luckily enough (on Christmas morning) someone was in who was not surprised about what had happened. We did receive another call later that day to find out how we got on. Quite stressful on Christmas morning.


Kenny from West Drayton stayed at The Wing for 4 nights in December 2018


Unexpected

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a last minute booking, due to being let down by our original accommodation. We were attending our daughters wedding at Blackstock. The owner was so helpful, we could not believe our eyes when we walked into this amazing place with it’s original features and furnishings it blew us away. It sleeps 6, but would better serve a family than couples. Having the seating was a plus enjoying our breakfast in the morning sun. I was concerned as there was a large party occupying the Manor next door, these could be heard from the bathroom singing, but once you left the kitchen you could not hear a sound. Idyllic and peaceful stay. We will definitely be back :)

Lesley from Huntingdon stayed at The Wing for 3 nights in October 2018


Unique experience

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pekes Manor is a very unique place, feeling miles away from anywhere. The children loved the freedom to go from the property to the play area. We felt very safe. The communication at all times was amazing. We had a very special time.

Sarah from Hounslow stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in September 2018


A grand yet cosy home

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 3 nights at the Wing for our wedding for which we rented the whole of Pekes. It could not have been nicer, tucked away a bit from the rest of the estate with its own garden. It was fully equipped with everything we could have needed and with a huge comfortable bed, endless sofas, a cosy feel to the house, it was perfect for us and our two boys

Anya from Hove stayed at The Wing for 3 nights in September 2018


Loved it!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most gorgeous hideaway - loved the separate garden, the quirky features and the fact that the kitchen had absolutely everything we needed. We stayed at Pekes manor house for a friend’s birthday celebrations and couldn’t have asked for anything more - loved it!

Simon from East Molesey stayed at The Wing for 3 nights in July 2018


Fairy tail setting, perfect for magical moments ...

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing house - tonnes of personality, fantastic setting and great for midnight swims!

We stayed in the wing - quirky, loads of original features,, with our private little garden, but access to main grounds. Kids loved it.

Main house looked great for big parties, and other properties cater for different sized groups.

The staff really care about the place and the history that surrounds it. They were all really friendly and helpful and the grounds are highly maintain... we felt like we where on a period drama set! Just magical!

Would highly recommend.


Michelle from Leeds stayed at The Wing for 7 nights in June 2018


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ours was a brief visit on local family business but we found the accommodation clean and comfortable and a very attractive location with excellent facilities. Recommended.

Rupert from Sherborne stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in June 2018


Great venue

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
50+ of us stayed at the manor, wing and other houses for a 50th. Can't fault the place... everything you need was there. Had an amazing weekend in a fabulous property. Communication before arrival was very helpful. Stunning scenery. Well equipped properties with crisp bed linen and towels provided. Thank you Pekes for a wonderful venue....

Natalie from Weymouth, stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in February 2018


Booking for 40th birthday party

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kildare and his team provided an excellent service. His communications prior to my arrival were clear and friendly. The property was spotless when I arrived, and he popped over to check that we had everything we need. The property and estate are both beautiful and unique. My friends were suitable impressed and I think he will get many follow up bookings from them as a result. We may make it an annual event! Thank you Kildare!

Emily from Brighton stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in January 2018


Overflow accommodation for a family event in the main Manor House

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely lounge area and side garden to the house, with a modern kitchen but unusual bathroom arrangement.
Main bedroom is gorgeous, but a long trek to the toilet!

Would recommend this area for a family booking, as the 6 beds include 2 singles, with no privacy.


Guest from Maidstone stayed at The Wing for 3 nights in September 2017


Group Trip at Pekes

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very nice gathering with a large group. The Wing and the main house were great for accommodating a large number. There were lots of amenities which we enjoyed -- especially the pool, jacuzzi, game room (with ping pong) and the large yard. There were plenty of hiking trails surrounding the area, and we were able to make several bike trips straight from the house. The Wing was able to accommodate a lot of people, although there was not much privacy for the guests staying there. I would say it is most comfortable for around 4 guests. The main house seemed to offer more privacy. The kitchen was large and there were many fridges (great for feeding lots of people). There was one 'normal' stove, which was easy to use. The other option was an old AGA -- very cool, vintage! But a little challenging to bake with.

Overall, the property was incredibly charming. The staff was friendly and attentive and the communication was good. At every turn, we (non-Brits) just kept saying, 'wow, it's so British.'


Sara from Potsdam stayed at The Wing for 5 nights in September 2017


A countryside retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I've been staying at the Wing at Pekes for two nights, together with my family. It is a spacious and well-organized accomodation, embedded in a rich countryside. I enjoyed enormously the old oak trees looking over the property, although the experience was disturbed by substantial noise from a neighboring mechanical workshop. My family did not appreciate the lack of broadband internet connectivity. I saw it more as a feature than a bug of a countryside retreat, but it would be fair to mention it in the presentation of the facilities.

Ivan from stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in August 2017


Kildare replied more than 1 year ago
We now know that the Wing Broadband has ceased to function, and have already ordered a complete replacement of line, Router, etc. Very unfortunate, but will be up working again soon.

A lovely countryside stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The wing at Pekes is lovely! Old fashioned cosy furnishing and lots of space. The garden is lush for evening drinks and enjoying the end of the sunshine. We used public transport and cabs and it was easy enough to get to, there's also some nice pubs a walk away. Plus the owners were really helpful and got back to us really quickly with any random queries.

Sophie from London stayed at The Wing for 2 nights in June 2017


Kildare replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad that Sophie and her friends got to enjoy Glyndebourne in plenty of time, and had a relaxing time in the Wing. They were a very nice and appreciative group. Hope they will do it again!

We had a wonderful time at Pekes

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family with 4 children and we had a wonderful time at Pekes. We stayed in the wing. The gardens and surroundings are so beautiful and we loved the tennis court and swimming pool. The whole atmosphere is perfect. The location is great to explore East-Sussex. We were sad to leave and we definitely want to come back!

Gwen from 1181 RB Amstelveen stayed at The Wing for 7 nights in April 2017