FB Twitter

Granary

Granary

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


The Granary is a sweet cottage overlooking the fields and meadows to the south and the River Wye which borders the farm. A private hot tub in the garden is great for relaxation and a good body massage. You can watch the farm activities from the garden deck and pet the friendly animals. Birdlife surrounds the cottage and woodland beyond. Great for outdoor activities, walking and cycling.

A restful getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a week's stay in the Granary at Nannerth, and will certainly be staying again. The hosts are accommodating and friendly, and the overall situation and layout is lovely.

There's good walking from the door, including a nice drop down to the Wye, and any resulting aches can be eased out in the hot tub, nicely situated for a good view across the valley.

There's a very good hide at the bottom of the field for watching badgers in evening, and there's plenty of wildlife around the grounds.




Wonderful views in the heart of Wales

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really impressed with Nannerth in so many ways. We stayed in The Granary which had fantastic views of the valley and the farm livestock from its own decking area. Our twin boys really enjoyed being able to interact with the goats and help bottle feed the lambs. There are also a great variety of walks around the farm which we also enjoyed and the opportunity to view badgers too. We only stayed a week but wished it had been much longer! Alison and Andre are the perfect hosts and we would fully recommend Nannerth to anyone.



Alison replied 49 days ago
Dear Michelle, Many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are pleased you all enjoyed your holiday here. Best wishes Alison and Andre

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it, the place, the people, even the weather was on our side! Lovely people, absolutely beautiful views and spot on cottage to stay in. Absolutely glorious. Our son thought it was amazing seeing the tractors and the animals and mountain has quickly become his new favourite word! Hes never brushed his teeth quicker than when we said the farmer was waiting to show him the tractors! Haha. We will be back next year and will be bringing the extended family. Thanks so much for having us.



Alison replied 70 days ago
Dear Kristi, Thanks for writing such a lovely review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves staying here and that Walter loved seeing the tractors. Hoping to see you again sometime. With best wishes Alison and Andre.

Beautiful, child-friendly accomodation in stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at the Granary with our toddler, I can't rate it highly enough. The accomodation was smart and comfortable, but the highlight was all the extras around the farm and the stunning views from our balcony over the valley and hills. Our toddler absolutely loved seeing all the farm animals and exploring the play area/fort which surrounded our cottage. Alison and Andre were extremely welcoming and helpful! Can't wait to go back.



Alison replied 70 days ago
Dear Rosie, Thank you for sending such a lovely review. It is great to know what guests particularly enjoyed and that the farm and animals were so popular with your son. Best wishes, Alison

Lovely farm retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely place to stay, fantastic view from the lounge and deck. Enjoyed using the hot tub - I was pleased to find that the water is changed between each stay, as I have a low immune system.
I gave only 4 for location - it is lovely once you are there, but there is a single track road from just outside Rhayader, which made me anxious about meeting an oncoming car. Luckily, this happened only once, on our last day.
I also gave only 4 for condition - overall very good, but the controls on the oven are worn off and settling the correct temperature is guesswork. Even a printed diagram stuck to the kitchen wall would be helpful.
Walks around the farm property are great, with access down to the River Wye. Try to include an evening in the treehouse hide to watch the badgers feeding - this was a wonderful experience.




Alison replied 70 days ago
Dear Brenda, thanks for your review of the Granary. We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday and loved the environment and hot tub. You will be pleased to know we replaced the oven soon after your stay with a brand new one, so hopefully no difficulty in operating it now. With best wishes, Alison.

Amazing wildlife, walks, and views

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you like walks and wildlife then this is the perfect spot. Highlights of the stay were of course the incredible badger hide, and watching red kites, ravens, and buzzards from the hot tub. The local meadows were wonderful for butterflies - clouds of common blues, also small coppers, walls etc. Lots of lovely local walks - eg it’s just a short hop across the fields to beautiful Gilfach nature reserve. And not far to drive to the Elan Valley. Kids enjoyed the friendly goats on the farm too. Midges not super bad but we were glad we brought a citronella candle and some insect repellent so we could eat dinner outdoors looking at the wonderful view. Already looking forward to returning next year :)



Alison replied 225 days ago
Dear Carrie, thank you so much for the review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday here. While it's quiet we are in the process of planting more trees and improving other habitat. I have only just explored the reply options, so apolgies for the slow response. With best wishes for 2022, Nannerth Country Holidays

Perfect escape

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week in The Granary. The house had everything we needed and Nannerth is the perfect place to stay with Primary aged kids. They adored the goats and other farm animals, the playground, games room and especially the hot tub! The view and surrounding farmland and countryside is beautiful and we hardly needed to leave the area as the kids were happy exploring the woodland and skimming stones in the river. To top it off Alison and Andre were the perfect welcoming hosts. It was a wonderful holiday, thank you!!



What a location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful remote and scenic location with superb views from the cottage (and from the hot tub!). We loved the stunning and lonely hill walks, the walks through ancient woods along river Wye and cycling on the tiny road right from the cottage. The children loved the resident goats, dogs and pigs, the badger watching from the tree house and the games room. Very friendly and welcoming owners.



Family Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, plenty of activities in area. Owners very helpful. Hot tub a luxury. Would definitely visit again.



Quaint cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for a week in june after our holiday abroad was cancelled.There are 4 properties on the farm , each relitively private. The owners stay in one so are on hand if you have any issues. We stayed in the Granary . This was once an old barn that has been renovated to a good standard. It still has some of the old features and some of the walls and floors arent even. But this just adds to the charm. We had glorious weather so spent most of the time sitting out the back looking over the fields. I enjoyed watching all the animals .There wasnt the typical farm smell either which i was suprised about. There were alot of midges ( so mind pack some repellent). The hot tub was a bonus , so relaxing. The cottage is well equipt , the only thing it didnt have was a mop and bucket.It is self catering so you have to mind to bring every grocery item youll need ( ie - sugar , milk , salt , oil ) we had for got the sugar but the owner gave us some until we got to the shop which is in town . The cottage is up a nearly 3mile single track road , which the farm sits at the end off . You do hear some traffic noice from the road thats way across from the farm but its easy to ignore ..This is a little hidden gem and its a pity thats its so far away from us or we would return regulary.



Fabulous stay in beautiful mid Wales

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a fabulous week at Nannerth. What a beautiful spot. We spent ages sat on our balcony admiring the view, animals and birds not to mention the fields full of wild flowers. Hosts very friendly and welcoming and let us help with the animal feeding one evening including two bottle fed baby goats. The walks around the property are beautiful with the river at the bottom on the fields. We visited the badger hide, but sadly didnt see the badger. I dont think I will ever find a hot tub with a better view and was a great way to unwind after our activities. We did a half day canoe trip on the river wye with Black Mountain Activities which was great fun and very well organised. We also hired e-bikes from Clive Powell Bikes in Rhayader and cycled up the Elan valley which was brilliant fun. Other great places to visit is the Small Breeds farm and Devils Bridge Falls. The route to the falls is via the mountain pass which is amazing, well worth a drive for the spectacular views and thrilling road.

We dont often re-visit a place but I can see us going back to Nannerth as there is so many more places to explore and just loved the whole week there.




The Granary

Review submitted on Thu, 27 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming here for over 25 years and the experience never fails to please. The cottage is perfectly situated on the hillside with a deck for amazing bird watching. The walks are varied and can all be completed from start to finish from the cottage - so no driving involved. Really handy to be able to walk to The Gilfach Nature Reserve. Andre and Alison are the perfect hosts and make you so welcome and are so knowledgeable about the area. The accommodation is superb and you want for nothing. The hot tub is brilliant after a long walk to soothe aching muscles. The livestock on the farm is always wonderful to observe especially in Spring when there are lots of youngsters about. A year in our lives would not be the same if we didn't have a stay at Nannerth.



A Great Week in The Granary

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great cottage in a wonderful location. Very well equipped and comfortable. Welsh cakes and shortbread on arrival were delicious and lovely surprise. Walks from the door through the beautiful countryside, badger watching from the tree house and a hot tub with a view! Hosts were lovely. I would definitely recommend staying here and can’t wait to go back again!



A Covid Country Break

Review submitted on Tue, 11 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to this superbly positioned working farm in spring, welcoming, comfortable and a real sun trap. Covid restrictions and a cold wind limited our choice of activities but well worth the effort for a relaxing break.



The Granary

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Apr 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a truly wonderful family week staying at the granary. Idyllic surroundings especially enjoyed the baby lambs and goat kids. Just what we needed after a very strange year. Thank you very much for your hospitality