FB Twitter

Loudon

Loudon

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.3
Location
4.3
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.3


Loudon Cottage offers everything a cottage getaway should; tucked away from the road among 4 acres of woodland but still within view of Loch Fyne.


Weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely wee cottage in a lovely location, we all loved it and would like to return. Not far from Inveraray

Maggie from Kilmarnock stayed at Loudon for 3 nights in October 2020


Very fine cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage in beautiful quiet grounds and with everything you could possibly need for a few relaxing days.

Uli from Manchester stayed at Loudon for 4 nights in July 2020


Excellent location and cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location for a vacation, lovely cottage, everything good. Super-friendly and helpful care takers. We enjoyed the stay very much.

Guest from stayed at Loudon for 4 nights in July 2019


4 nice Nights in a lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice cottage with a lovely garden,
All rooms are perfectly clean
We would be very happy to come again


Ssndrine from Meudon stayed at Loudon for 4 nights in April 2019


A short comment of our stay in Halftown Cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A nice and comfortable cottage with attention to detail. Unfortunately due to the low ceiling of the bathroom the using of the shower is a little bit difficult for taller people. But all in all we enjoyed our stay in the pretty accommodation.

Olaf from Koln stayed at Loudon for 6 nights in August 2018


Nice

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great few days in Loudon cottage, it was clean, comfortable and very quiet place. We loved it

Inge from stayed at Loudon for 3 nights in June 2018


Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hillwaking. Nice clean house. Nice place. No trafficking noice. Inveraray on the Othello side of Loch Fyne.

Kristen from Bredsten stayed at Loudon for 5 nights in January 2018


Fantastic value for money cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage in a brilliant location. Just remember insect repellant for the midges when out and about in the summer. The log fire is a great inside the cottage to keep cosy at night. There is also a dishwasher and washing machine in the kitchen which is an added bonus.

Natalie from Dunfermline stayed at Loudon for 3 nights in July 2017


A comfortable, cosy cottage, with woodland views

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Halftown cottage. We picked the key up at the Thistle B&B just down the road with very friendly owner. The cottage itself is very cosy, with wood burning stove and also very comfortable, there are two rooms, one with twin beds and one with double bed (we preferred the twin bed mattresses). The kitchen is well equipped and the tv is a good size, with dvd player. The cottage is situated in woodland, up a track off the main road, so is quiet and peaceful, there are outside sitting areas but unfortunately the weather wasn't good enough to use on this stay! We were a bit further away from Inveraray than we expected, however Strachur (4 miles away) and Cairndow are close enough for evening meals out (Inveraray is about 17 miles away). The cottage is a good base from which to visit Inver (well rated restaurant there too) and Lachlan castle (very pretty), and Kilchurn castle, plus the 'hollow mountain' at Ben Cruachan, which was an interesting visit on a rainy day, and only an hour to Oban and onwards to Port Appin, which has brilliant views of the paps of Jura. I think its highly likely we'll stay there again.


Karen from stayed at Loudon for 3 nights in June 2017


A confortable cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage très confortable, douillet, calme et reposant.
L'environnement est très agréable, en retrait de la route dans un espace boisé. Sur les rives du Loch Fyne.
Propriétaires très accueillants.
Nous recommandons chaudement cette adresse.


Nolwenn from Macon stayed at Loudon for 4 nights in April 2017


Family with 2 children.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice cottage with wonderful suroundings. It was very cosy and we were feeling very good there. All was clean. The weather not very good but doesn't matter. Excelent stay at Luddon Cottage.

Claudia from Gravesend stayed at Loudon for 4 nights in April 2017


It is an ideal venue for a couple or family to stay and we are returning and have pre-booked already

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best review is to pre-book another visit before you were asked by anyone to review your last stay. That is the best answer to how we enjoyed our stay in a beautiful venue and wonderful facilities.

Neal from Greens Norton stayed at Loudon for 5 nights in February 2017


New Year

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We used this cottage as a place to stay for working in the area. The Cottage was very nice and was very comfortable. It is located in a quiet place and the gardens were very well kept. Good Value for money.

Dorota from stayed at Loudon for 5 nights in December 2016


very enjoyable week

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage was very cozy and inviting. We had a lovely week's stay. Good base to explore the peninsula and surrounding area. Owners have been very thoughtful about meeting the needs and comfort of guests.

Jean from Alexandria stayed at Loudon for 5 nights in October 2016


Very good

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good, very comfortable the only down side is it is a long way (5 miles) to pub and shops. But on the other side the isolation gives a great view of the local wildlife ie we saw red squirrels in the garden

Stephen from Nottingham stayed at Loudon for 5 nights in September 2016


perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage ideal for 2 adults and 2 teenagers attending cowal games .would definately recomend a stay here great location close to many places of interest fantastic scenery we hope to return .

John from Northumberland stayed at Loudon for 4 nights in August 2016


very nice place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the cottage will far exceed your expectation. very nice location. excellent grounds. you wake up to the sound of the small birds singing and the sound of the little stream running next to it. The location of the cottage is 20miles from Inveraray by road.

Peter from stayed at Loudon for 3 nights in August 2016


The Perfect Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Louden Cottage is situated off the road in a wooded area of great beauty. The cottage itself is well maintained, comfortable with all the amenities needed to enjoy your holiday. Well-equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge area, twin bedroom downstairs and the master bedroom upstairs. There is a sitting area outside this very pleasing cottage. There is also a woodland walk and plenty of wildlife. It is near Inveraray and central for most of the Trossachs area. Just down at the end of the drive is Loch Fyne, very beautiful. The cottage is "dog friendly". Try the Loch Fyne oysters on the way to Inveraray. I would strongly recommend Louden Cottage for anyone wishing a peaceful holiday in great surroundings.

John from Merthyr Tydfil stayed at Loudon for 5 nights in May 2016


Jenifer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the Loudon cottage. We are delighted that you had a wonderful relaxing stay and hope that you may return sometime in the future.

Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We found the cottage comfortable and as we had dogs were glad it had a homely feel. The beds were very comfortable. The situation right by the woods was ideal and as the weather was warm and sunny the garden was lovely to sit in but you need the midge spray!

Guest from Devon stayed at Loudon for 4 nights in June 2015


A lovely holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jun 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Despite the weather ,we had again a lovely time
at Halftown cottages.Argyll is a magnificent area with mystical woods,
stunning waterfalls ,Lochs and Glens.
The cottage itself is warm and cosy and very peaceful in a secluded location.
Hope we come back soon

Sabine


Guest from Obernheim stayed at Loudon for 14 nights in May 2015


4night stay in October 2014

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Oct 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were a party of four and a small dog. The open fire would be cosy in cold weather but we did not need it. The weather was sunny and dry and the cottage was an ideal base to explore the stunning area.

Guest from stayed at Loudon for 4 nights in October 2014


Loudon Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Sep 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived early and were welcomed by the owner who allowed us to occupy the cottage early. The children loved crabbing in the loch opposite off the small jetty. The cottage was secluded and well insulated from adjoining cottage, we didn't hear them at all. It would be improved further if fenced area of garden was a bit bigger and immediately accessed from the back door rather than just round the corner so it was simpler to let the dog out without going with her! Especially as we had a lot of rain.

Victoria from stayed at Loudon for 7 nights in August 2014


A slight slip

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Sep 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The position is good well off the road, nice and quiet this is a second visit however stayed next door last year.
A couple of points need to be raised:- smoke alarm did not work, needs a slight freshen up, some of the kitchen implements require a clean.
Compared to last year there seems to be a slightly lower attention to detail this time round and that is a pity as these cottages are nice.
These cottages are off the beaten track and that is their appeal, please keep the attention to detail at a high standard.


Guest from stayed at Loudon for 7 nights in August 2014


Peaceful location, comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was lovely and in a beautiful, tranquil location. The loch is a 10 minute walk away. The cottage is spacious with books, DVDs & a log fire.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Loudon for 2 nights in August 2014


So disappointed!

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jun 2014
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Could be a lovely wee cottage but obviously being left to run down.The smell of soot from fire was so strong that we had to sit with our tops over our nose at night. The bed was very uncomfortable, toilet door didn't lock, garden not enclosed as led to believe, halogen heaters didn't work, walls needed painted, cobwebs. So disappointed we only stayed 2 of our 4 days booked.

Guest from Fort William stayed at Loudon for 4 nights in June 2014


Well worth a visit

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very clean, very well equipped, with an open fire (sticks and logs were supplied). The double bed is hard, though, but still gives a good sleep. Most of the garden is not secure but wandering dogs can't get up to much so they can have a great holiday as well (although there is a fenced area so you can give secure garden access if you need to). Red squirrels, deer, and lots of birds come right up to the house and the location means wildlife can be seen wherever you go. The cottage is semi-detached but is in a very quiet spot with good access and parking. For the money this little place is an absolute gem for the dog lover or walker (or one who wishes for both). There are two shops about 5 miles away (in Strachur) that sell everything you can want but they do shut earlier than we expected. This is a great place to go with excellent walks, a really good pub 4 miles away (we cycle it), and easy access from Glasgow.

Guest from Dinnington, Sheffield stayed at Loudon for 14 nights in May 2014


A Week nr Lock Fyne

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jun 2014
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location for exploring the area. Beautiful location but wish the owner would respond in action to numerous comments in the guest book regarding the extremely uncomfortable double matress...it is well past its day and if future guests are goind to enjoy their stay then a new matress is needed!!


Guest from Keighley stayed at Loudon for 7 nights in May 2014


Very relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was spotless, with excellent facilities and contained everything you could need for a holiday. The owner called in to welcome me and made it clear that if I had any problems they were on hand to help. It is very dog friendly, the location is wonderful and I had a very relaxing short stay. Definitely recommend it!!

Guest from Furnace stayed at Loudon for 3 nights in April 2014


Louden - December 2013

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jan 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in a secluded, wooded setting and is approached from the road by a short but steep track, so as it had been raining heavily for a few days prior to our visit we were glad to have been in a 4x4, however, it is accessible with a standard car. The cottage is generally very well equipped particularly so the kitchen. Outside there is a large private garden and seating which, given better weather, would be a pleasure to use.

We had several walks with our dog down to the shore however at the bottom of the drive is a flatpack church that was guarded by two very ferocious dogs and we were glad the Heras site fencing was well built! Hopefully the work will be finished soon and a permanent fence or barrier put in place in the next few months. Other than the small shore across the road, we could not see much in the way of dog walks accessible on foot from the cottage which was a disappointment. Luckily, we are familiar with the area and were able to drive to different dog walking spots.

One point we had noticed in the visitors book was the problem with a hard double bed in the top bedroom. Preferring a firm bed ourselves we ignored the comments in the book, but how wrong we were! I actually checked there was a mattress under the sheet as the bed was torture giving a truly painful night. After three nights we were glad to be leaving which is a shame as other than that, the stay was pleasant and relaxing and the break welcome.

I would recommend Loudon cottage but check that that mattress has been changed!


Guest from Campbeltown stayed at Loudon for 3 nights in December 2013