FB Twitter

McHugh

McHugh

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 46 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


One of two historic cottges at Halftown, McHugh Cottage has a rich history and an idealistic setting in Argyll Forest.

another nice stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd visit to McHugh Cottage and again we had a lovely stay. Cottage is in a lovely out of the way location perfect for a relaxing stay yet close enough to get around the area. Has everything needed and the owners Jenifer & Alistair are very warm and welcoming.

Margaret from Glasgow stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in September 2019


Short break

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 3rd year we have stayed and we will be returning next year. It is a perfect location ideal for the cowal games .The cottage has everything we need as a family of four even wifi a must for teenagers apparently

John from Northumberland stayed at McHugh for 4 nights in August 2019


Very nice located cottage, very close to Loch Fyne and surrounded by nature

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has everything that’s needed for a comfortable holiday. It is spacious. The surroundings are faboulus with a small waterfall in the front and a big backgarden with a lot of birds. The host was very friendly.

Guest from Sleeuwijk stayed at McHugh for 6 nights in July 2019


There from 28th june to 23rd July as paying guests

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you wish a place which is secluded cottage with wild life and flaura in abundance outside; and clean linen,facilities for log fires,beautiful water colours and modern comforts set in an historical area then I believe this is the place to stay.I do have a personal interest in the cottages as well but that does not in any way affect my honest and objective assessment of the quality of these cottages as is shown by many other reviews done of the cottages


Robert from stayed at McHugh for 25 nights in June 2019


Visit McHugh

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location is great. The house is to, the service is top.
Only tip. Low table in the kitchen and normal chairs. People with disabilities have difficulty sitting on the high chairs and eating at the high table. Nothing but praise.


Irma from Tilborg stayed at McHugh for 7 nights in May 2019


Marvellous!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice comfy cottage - well equiped and new renovated. Definitly worth the money.
Very friendly Landlords.


Jurgen from Steinach stayed at McHugh for 4 nights in September 2018


Mchugh cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third time we have stayed here and have reserved for next year . Ideal location for us as we attend cowal games .our party is two adults and two teens this cottage has everything we need looking forward to next year

John from Northumberland stayed at McHugh for 4 nights in August 2018


3 Nights of Tranquility

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice Cottage and great location - great place to base yourself if exploring the area.

Would use again if in the area.


Stuart from York stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in August 2018


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage x we will come and stay again sometime x very peaceful x the owners at thistle house are very nice people x

Jane from Normans Bay stayed at McHugh for 7 nights in July 2018


A superb property.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A marvelous cottage. Everything catered for. Superb private location but close to all you would want. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly.

Terry from stayed at McHugh for 6 nights in April 2018


cosy cottage in de schotse highlands

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay in the cottage. All we needed was present, lots of kitchenware. Very quiet. Good wifi (for the kids).

Paul from Lendelede stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in October 2017


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay here. Perfect for family. Stream close by was unexpected and lovely. Hosts were very kind and helpful. Downstairs bedroom perfect for elder family members.

Rekha from London stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in October 2017


Halftown Cottages 1sr class

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 1st stay at Mchugh cottage, very impressed with overall standard. Good layout and very comfortable - particularly liked the size of upstairs bathroom. Excellent location for a quiet relaxing time, peaceful and restful.

Margaret from Glasgow stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in September 2017


A good place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
McHugh Cottage is a lovely place to stay. We had the bad luck with the weather (each day rain) but to stay in the cottage made it eaysier.

Andreas from stayed at McHugh for 8 nights in August 2017


McHugh review

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mc Hugh was a comfortable property in a quiet and scenic spot. We chose a wet and midge ridden time which was unfortunate but the house had everything we needed. Wi fi worked well and heating and equipment were good. We found the dining chairs in the kitchen rather uncomfortable but otherwise everything was fine.

Jane from Bury St Edmunds stayed at McHugh for 7 nights in June 2017


Central location for day-trips to Argyll & Ballachulish

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a clean and peaceful place to stay at a reasonable price with a central location if you want to explore Oban, Glencoe, Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park.

Sharman from Mumbai stayed at McHugh for 5 nights in May 2017


Magical beautiful cottage with wonderful amenities.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful place of retreat where the magic of Loch Fyne and the hills drift through the windows of the cottage. McHugh Cottage was complete with everything that was needed...a home away from home...warm and nurturing...

Jennifer from stayed at McHugh for 4 nights in May 2017


Lovely little Cottage ☺

Review submitted on Thu, 11 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned back within the same month to stay at McHugh Cottage. Very peaceful location and lots of nearby places to visit and enjoy! I'm still mesmerised by the Glens, Bens & Lochs near St Catherines. The cottage is located in a beautiful spot, very clean and maintained to high standards. I wouldn't hesitate to visit again in a few months time. Full credit to the landlords :)

Rajasekar from Nantwich stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in April 2017


We are due to move to the area and Halftown Cottages are the best example of the comfort acheivable

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best review that can be given is that this is the second time we have stayed at Halftown Cottages and the odds of having an excellent stay twice in a row is rare and a good recommendation for future customers.

Neal from Greens Norton stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in April 2017


Home away from home!

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in the middle of nature. A warm and cosy place to relax completely.
Jenifer & Alistair are the best hosts we ever met - helpful, polite and always very friendly.
We came as guests and left as friends.
A stay in Scotland can't have a better base!


Udo from Gundelfingen i.Brsg. stayed at McHugh for 15 nights in March 2017


Delightful homely cottage in a delightful setting

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself, my wife and my 2 young children stayed in the McHugh Cottage for 3 nights. It is a lovely cottage with everything you need along with some nice touches which make your life easier such as fire materials for your 1st night. It is well equipped to cater for your holiday and family. Rather than having a holiday let feel it has a cosy homely feel which adds to your enjoyment and experience. The cottage is also well situated for amenities, sightseeing and scenery with it being only a stone throw from Loch Fyne. The couple who manage the cottages are lovely and couldn't be more helpful and if you do need anything they are only a couple of houses down the road. We will be back, we just don't know exactly when yet! I can recommend this cottage to any family of 4.

Chris from Linlithgow stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in February 2017


R&R

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I took the wee grandson to Flamingo Land the week before, he's only 2 lol so we needed a bit of quiet. We can't wait to come back. Everywhere you look it's stunning and the cottage, we wanted to just stay there lol so hopefully see you soon and would well recomend. Oh and listen fur the red deer at night not that you miss them.

James from Strutherhill stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in October 2016


nice scottish cottage in a worderful place

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It´s a nice scottish cottage in a worderful place. Everything it´s perfect and confortable. Great!!!--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Roberto from 20 Jun stayed at McHugh for 6 nights in August 2016


A time to relax

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful time we had at halftown cottages and would recommend anyone to stay there for a relaxing break away from it all .
The cottages are hidden away from the main road with parking spaces and a garden , behind the house there is a area of land where deer often are seen and to the front a footpath through a area of woodland.with top restaurants a Loch across the road we had a time to remember




Michael from Edinburgh stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in July 2016


Very nice

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable warm, modern cottage in Saint Catherine's. Lovely owners who were very helpful. The cottage is surrounded by a wood of very mature trees and plants and is well away from the road and any other property. Very tranquil. 20 mins to Inveraray and just over an hour to Oban. We enjoyed our three day stay.

Janet from Glasgow stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in June 2016


June stay

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are seeking a secluded highland cottages,surrounded by natural woodland(beech,birch,oak,ash),which are both historical and yet have modern conveniences then Halftown cottages are made for you.They are beautifully looked after by professionals-comfortable,tastefully decorated,and situated besides a burn overlooking Loch Fyne .
Lots of places of historical interest to see in the vicinity too and only 54 miles from Glasgow.


Robert from stayed at McHugh for 7 nights in June 2016


McHugh Cottage June 2016

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We felt right at home in this lovely cottage, however a few things need to be addressed if we were to rate it 100%
The weather was very hot during our stay , not that we were complaining about that, however with an upstairs bedroom it definitely needed a fan to cool the air as with the lights on we had to keep the windows shut to keep out the midges.
There was another bedroom downstairs that was lovely and cool but the friends staying with us were using that. On the plus side it was fantastic to fall asleep to and awaken to the magnificent bird life.
The kitchen had the basic equipment needed, the frypan needs replacing and some spare rubbish sacks would have been appreciated.
Probably the most frustrating thing was trying to come to grips with the hot water systems, we Kiwis and Australians don't understand the mysteries of Scottish plumbing!....some more written explanations please.
All in all though a lovely cottage in a magnificent setting.
Thank you.


Paul from Melbourne stayed at McHugh for 5 nights in June 2016


Jenifer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time out to review the McHugh cottage. We take on board your comments... thank you !...constructive ideas always appreciated Most definitely sorry you suffered in silence regarding the water heater, we sincerely didn't realise there was a problem as we would have come along immediately to explain its workings. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

Lovely cottage, perfect for our needs

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in McHugh Cottage for a weekend when attending a wedding in the area. The cottage was very clean and perfect for our needs as we could book for less then a week which many other self catering houses in the area would not allow.

Ailbhe from Dublin stayed at McHugh for 2 nights in May 2016


January stay

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was most comfortable and the new flooring in the sitting room,wooden tops in kitchen and new paintwork a joy to behold.
Nice and warm even without the fires on.
Also excellent bed covers.


Robert from stayed at McHugh for 8 nights in January 2016


Basic accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2015
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Accommodation was very basic with minimal amount of accessories especially in the kitchen. We were looking forward to long walks in the woods with our dogs, but found it impossible as there were no natural paths. The garden was open and at the bottom of the lane was the main road, so we had to keep the dogs on a lead (next door Loudon cottage had an enclosed garden). Didn't really feel like a dog friendly place - more that they would tolerate dogs. Was a bit put out by the sign saying that we had to be METICULOUS about picking up all dog hairs.

Jean from Preston stayed at McHugh for 7 nights in September 2015


A quiet relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week at McHugh cottage, it was very relaxing and remote. The cottage was in excellent condition and we particularly enjoyed sitting in the sun in the garden. The surrounding area has a lot to offer.

Guest from Glossop stayed at McHugh for 7 nights in August 2015


It was a fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mc Hugh cottage contained everything we required, we even used the washing line. The cottage is in a great location in a beautiful part of the country go check it out.

Guest from Santa Cruz stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in July 2015


Mc Hugh cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With Jenifer and Alistair Patterson I know the cottages will be even better than ever before.I know everyone who stay there is pleased and now we have proven experts looking after them.

Guest from stayed at McHugh for 7 nights in May 2015


very relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sat, 16 May 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very relaxing stay at McHugh cottage. It was very clean and comfortable. The location was very good for us as we wanted to do some hill walking. The cottage was very warm especially when we lit the open fireplace with logs or coal. It was everything we wanted and we will probably return for another lovely break in a lovely place.

Guest from Ongar stayed at McHugh for 7 nights in May 2015


A homely and comfortable home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in McHugh cottage for three months and absolutely loved it. It was comfortable, homely, vey clean and very well-equipped with everything you could want. The setting was beautiful and peaceful and we saw roe deer in the garden, a red squirrel on the peanut feeder and, as we fed the birds, saw many different kinds. The managers, Charmaine and Derek, were extremely helpful and kind - above and beyond the call of duty! We would have no hesitation in recommending the cottage to anyone and we'll miss it. We would definitely stay here again if we weren't coming to live nearby.

Guest from Banksia Beach stayed at McHugh for 21 nights in November 2014


Not as expected

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Oct 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is lovely and not in a bad place but with the building at the bottom of the lane and neighbours talking loudly in the garden -not peaceful

Guest from Liversedge stayed at McHugh for 14 nights in September 2014


A real gem

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The adventure began on the winding driveway up the wooded hill to the cottage. Such a calm and peaceful setting for us all yet, for my 7 year old boy, there was the excitement of seeing a deer or red squirrel at any moment, the freedom to run around and play on the tree swing and venture outside at night to star gaze. He had never seen so many stars! The loch was just down the hill where he learnt to skim stones on the water's surface and appreciate God's beauty. A real gem of a place. Thank you!

Guest from Burbage stayed at McHugh for 4 nights in August 2014


A nice stay at McHugh

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent two nights at McHugh. It was such a nice place to stay, and the kids loved the surrounding area with the tree swing and the garden. Great for us adults to spend the evening at the garden table while the kids slept. Everything was satisfactory! I just thought I'd mention that we found a tick on our youngest child after he had been playing outside. It was easy to remove, and no problems afterwards, I guess there are ticks in the weoods in the Argyll area, just be sure to check the small ones carefully.

We can surely recommend this cottage to others seeking accomodation in the area.


Guest from Trondheim stayed at McHugh for 2 nights in July 2014


Great cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean, comfortable, well maintained cottage. Great location...
Cottage has all amenities, although no Wifi, and limited phone signal.
I would suggest instructions on using the heating system (water/heaters) and best places to buy coal/wood is made available,


Ros from Glasgow stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in July 2014


Away From It All

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jul 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We booked a 2 week holiday at McHugh Cottage due to the location and on the strength of previous reviews. We were not disappointed. We very much needed to get away from it all and have a relaxing break with plenty of fresh air and walking. We loved the seclusion of McHugh Cottage and considered ourselves fortunate that we didn't have to share the seclusion with any neighbours as the next door cottage remained empty whilst we were there. The only downside - which is through no fault of the owners - was that we didn't see any red squirrels or pine martins around the cottage (or at all) which other people had seen even the week before we arrived.

Guest from stayed at McHugh for 13 nights in June 2014


perfect place for a quiet family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jul 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a lovely week at the cottage. Weather was surprisingly hot and sunny ! Perfect moments spent sitting outside for meals - even the midges kept away most of the time. Excellent location - lovely walks along the shore. Our children loved the outside space.

Small niggles - kitchen could have been a bit better equipped - blunt knives, worn out pots etc. , rug in living room coated in dog hairs - we don't have a dog.

All in all a well priced, good sized cottage ideal for a break with a young family.


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at McHugh for 7 nights in June 2014


escape to McHugh

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jun 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay. The location close to Loch Fyne amongst beautiful scenery was lovely and quiet
The cottage was well equipped but more importantly it was comfortable and clean. We even saw a red squirrel


Guest from London stayed at McHugh for 5 nights in May 2014


Easter break

Review submitted on Sat, 10 May 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely stay as usual, place was lovely and clean. Only two things that might spoil the stay is the dogs and the state of the property at bottom, and the beds might need renewing. They were very uncomfortable.

Sarah from Lichfield stayed at McHugh for 7 nights in April 2014


McHugh family stay at McHugh Cottage St Catherines argyll and Bute

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We phoned on the 31st january to stay for 25 days spoke to the agent who was very friendly and helpful. The agent Charmaine took the details for the period we required and sent us an e mail as to the cost looked at the cost asked for a slight amendment which we agreed to immediately and booked the holiday. On arrival found the cottage clean and warm and very welcoming. All kitchen utensils were supplied. as were all the bedding and all towels in the bathroom. you could say just bring your food and clothes to have a really enjoyable holiday.
We are looking at going back for another holiday later in the year. Would recommend the cottage to any of our friends and family.
From the cottage you can see over Loch Fyne to inverary it is half an hour to Dunoon or 55 minutes to Dumbarton.


Guest from stayed at McHugh for 14 nights in February 2014


January stay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nothing but praise on all counts.
Going forward I think like all good businesses we need add ons each year of some kind.
Since the cottages are on the south side of loch fyne their attraction is peace and solitude.However,since it is the quieter side of the loch and the St Catherine's hotel has closed down we probably want to give visitors some local options-mussel collection,boating,woodland walks and nature excursions,perhaps pony trekking,guided tours.
In the cottages themselves maybe in time some drying facilities,given the climate but I was impressed by the CDs on show-for those of us who are from overseas and not up with technology a bit of advice on TV and video controls would be useful.


Guest from stayed at McHugh for 14 nights in January 2014


Cosy cottage in a good location for touring and walking

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jan 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the cottage during a wet autumn week. Despite that, the cottage was warm and homely. It had everything we needed. We particularly enjoyed the real fire. We found it a good base for touring the area. We also enjoyed visiting a number of Forestry Commission walks. I would like to stay there again and would definitely recommend to others.

Guest from stayed at McHugh for 3 nights in October 2013