FB Twitter

The Botanist Apartment Edinburgh Old Town

The Botanist Apartment Edinburgh Old Town

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


In the heart of Edinburgh’s historic Old Town, in a lovely quiet spot with views to Arthur’s Seat, the two bedroom Botanist Apartment (previous name Parkgate Residence) is your perfect designer holiday home from home. Built on the site of the 17th Century formal gardens of houses on the Royal Mile, everything that Edinburgh city has to offer is a few minutes walk from here, and a selection of tasty eateries and cafes are on your doorstep. It’s spacious living areas are flooded with light, and the flat has the convenience of a lift/elevator and private parking space. Pure white 200 count Egyptian cotton bed linen and top of the range memory foam with pocket spring mattresses provide the ultimate in comfort for a great night sleep.

Location and arrangements were first class, thank you.

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb location minutes from the main areas for tourists. Good local facilities. Free secure parking in Edinburgh is great and rare in this city. All arrangements were dealt with professionally. Thanks for making this an easy stay.

Guest from Norwich stayed at The Botanist Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 3 nights in October 2021


Edinburgh Old Town break

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable. Coat hooks in hallway and on the bedroom and bathroom doors would have been useful.

Allan from Llandudno Junction stayed at The Botanist Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 4 nights in September 2021


Edinburgh Old Town Holiday Apartments replied 59 days ago
Thank-you for leaving your review, I'm glad that you found our apartment comfortable. We will add your suggestion to our work list for our annual maintenance! We hope to host you again at some point!

September 2021

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay. Place was clean, plenty of room and kitchen had plenty of utensils. Excellent locatin, short walk from all main attractions

Steven from Glasgow stayed at The Botanist Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 6 nights in September 2021


Edinburgh Old Town Holiday Apartments replied 59 days ago
Dear Steven, many thanks for leaving your review. We're very happy that you enjoyed our apartment, finding it clean, comfortable and well equipped. We hope to host you again at some future point!

shock

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Aug 2021
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
surprised at some of the things found, dirty pans in oven, bin smelt vile, grout in ensuite dirty, pat testing not to date,one dining chair stained,Now tv no contract, tv small, no salt and rinse aid in dishwasher, all though some of these things are minor, we still had a good time,

Brian from Heanor stayed at The Botanist Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 7 nights in July 2021


Edinburgh Old Town Holiday Apartments replied 109 days ago
Thank-you for your review, I am very glad that you had a good time in the Botanist Apartment. We do email all our guests on the day of arrival to encourage them to report any housekeeping issues on arrival and also the host encourages this on check-in as well. It is easy for the housekeepers to pop round to fix any issues at the start of your holiday, if we are informed about them - I'm sorry that we weren't made aware of your concerns at the time. Anyway to respond to the points you made: -PAT testing in the apartment was carried out in 2020 I have the certificate here, it seems that some of the new labels on a few of the appliances have been removed since, possibly by a previous guest's kids, but they were still on many of the items, and I can assure you they have all been tested as required. -No salt and rinse aid is provided for the dishwasher because this is not required as the water in Scotland is very soft. -Now TV - there is indeed a contract in place, but it seems that Now TV have made their own set top box obsolete and this is why the system did not work. Thank-you for letting us know that. The full set of all terrestrial channels were available to you, however a replacement set top box has since been ordered. -Your review came in a week after your checkout, so I could not see things for myself at the apartment straight after you left, however on receipt of your review, I went straight round there to at least get an idea of how the same housekeepers had prepared the flat for subsequent guests. We are often complemented on cleanliness, so your observations came as a surprise to me. I did find the flat to be fresh smelling and clean. I checked the pans in the oven and found them to be clean with a little ingrained marking from cooking - perfectly clean though. Also the bin smelled fresh to me. As I say, this was a week after your departure so unfortunately I was not able to check things at the time of your stay. -I did find that, as you say, there was some of the grout in the ensuite shower area starting to develop a few dark marks, and this should have been picked up by our housekeepers and remedied. However the shower and tiled area had been freshly cleaned for you. I did also find that previous guests had clearly spilt a drink on one of the dining chair seat pads and that this had not been informed by them or picked up by our housekeepers so I appreciate you informing us of this, and it is being cleaned now. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and would look forward to welcoming you again.

Mr William Hazel

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The main bedroom toilet taps were difficult to turn off. The television sound very poor!!!
Overall good location.not easy for buses main location canongate, uphill .not easy if you have limited walking ability.


William from Carluke stayed at The Botanist Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 4 nights in May 2021


Edinburgh Old Town Holiday Apartments replied 187 days ago
Many thanks for leaving your review, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and gave the Botanist Apartment high review scores. I happy that you found the location good - Edinburgh is built on seven hills, so there is a bit of a slope wherever you are in the Old Town! There is a regular bus service that goes along the Canongate and also the tour bus leaves from Dynamic Earth - a 5 minute walk from the apartment, I do hope you were able to make use of these. I have checked the taps and they seem to be working fine, I'm sorry that you found them less easy to operate. We do hope to host you again at some point in the future.

Our stay in Edinburgh

Review submitted on Fri, 21 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our booking was made by a recommendation by my daughter, who had stayed with you last year, the booking was easy, and finding the apartment was also easy, a short walk from the station, your rep. Emil was there to greet us, and show off the flat,it was warm and cosy. Edinburgh is a very walkable city, as I've been many times before, and was eager to show it off to my friend. ..Arthurs seat, and Salisbury craigs, the New parliament, a day at Britannia Yacht, not to be missed, Botanic gardens, and being a fan of Alexander McCall Smith, we wander the New town, and the Cumberland Bar, and the haunts of Ian Rankin.....a few days doesn't do the city justice, we will be back.

Edward from Stonehouse stayed at The Botanist Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 5 nights in May 2021


Edinburgh Old Town Holiday Apartments replied 187 days ago
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in The Botanist Apartment - great that it was recommended by your daughter! We look forward to welcoming you back at some future point!

Perfect stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not recommend this apartment highly enough. The apartment was spotless, cosy and in a great location. Already looking forward to our next trip to this wonderful city.

Maria from Southport stayed at The Botanist Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 2 nights in April 2021


Three night break in Edinburgh, 5*

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location, close to the royal mile, Arthur’s seat, pubs, restaurants with bonus of free secure parking. (Tesco express literally next door). Apartment was lovely, comfortable, very homely, nicely decorated to a high standard & well equipped. Would highly recommend. Host however as nice as he was needs to improve his knowledge on Edinburgh or a folder or guest recommendation book needs to be made available. I appreciate difficult atm with covid19. We had a few lovely meals out but The pipers rest pib was amazing. Nice ambiance, fab staff & food delicious. A walk upto Arthur’s seat was a must 360 view at the top was amazing, very busy. A visit to the kelpies & Falkirk wheel is a must. Car needed as 40 minutes away. Trip to the old town to the shops. Plenty of open park spaces just to sit and people watch and take in the historic sights of Edinburgh. A good first visit, will return.

Zoe Boniface from Morecambe stayed at The Botanist Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 3 nights in September 2020


Fabulous apartment in ideal location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
You will not be disappointed with the location of this apartment which is situated within easy walking distance of the Royal Mile and Arthur's Seat, plus other attractions. The apartment wss clean and comfortable. Tastefully decorated with all mecessary appliances. It was a bonus to have off street secure parking.
Booking the apartment was easy anlittle confusing at times, but Jo and the team responded quickly to my querieis. Entry to the the apartment was efficient. A very good find and I would book again if in the area.


Janice from stayed at The Botanist Apartment Edinburgh Old Town for 5 nights in September 2020