FB Twitter

Riverside Cottage

Riverside Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 41 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Riverside Cottage is a high quality, 2 bedroom self-catering holiday cottage nestled on the banks of the river Dryfe in the small, peaceful rural village of Boreland, a few miles north of Lockerbie in Dumfries & Galloway, Scotland. With a cosy wood burning fire, electric heating and a large, bright sunroom Riverside Cottage is the ideal place to relax, unwind and enjoy the peace and quiet of south west Scotland.

An ace place to stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is absolutely brilliant. The views over the field, the sheep and other animals...
It has everything you could possibly need during your holiday. We were given a lovely welcome parcel. The ownermade a wonderful afternoon tea as well on request, she has her own catering company.
Give Riverside Cottage a go, you won't be disappointed.
Also, try the community café in nearby Eskdalemuir. Brilliant.




Stunning!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Even better than photos showed! Such a lovely area and the accommodation was 1st class even down to some treats left by owners. Only downside is some of the B roads you take to get there are not in good condition so be careful if potholes!



Happy days

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful accomodation, hosts and location made this a perfect week in the Scottish borders, thankyou.




Perfect break in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely and the photographs do not do it enough justice, it is much larger than it appears and there is plenty of space. As a previous review has said it is in a stunning location; who needs other entertainment when you can sit in a window seat watching horses in the field opposite and a huge variety of birds in the garden. At night you can sit in the garden or sun room watching birds come to roost in the trees surrounding the fields and due to no light pollution, watch stars twinkle into life.

The cottage was spotlessly clean and had everything needed - a kitchen full of equipment and very comfy beds. The location of the cottage means it is easy to explore the surrounding area but there are a number of walks that can be done directly from the cottage, Kate and Max provided information, as well as a few within a few miles drive if you don't want to go too far.

Kate and Max were great hosts - they live next door if you need anything but were not at all intrusive. They left a few treats for us when we arrived, the cake and meringues were greatly appreciated by all! Thank you, we cannot recommend this place enough!




A weeks break

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent and beautifully maintained cottage with excellent hosts. A relaxing and peaceful week in beautiful surroundings.



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful holiday. Max and Kate are really friendly and helpful, they left us delicious welcome treats. The cottage was lovely and spotlessly clean. The scenery was stunning and we were there at the right time to see the lambs and baby rabbits, which my daughter loved! Wonderful stay, wonderful place, would highly recommend!



A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful place to stay, the cottage itself is beautifully presented, comfortable, warm and full of light. Dryfe Water flows past the door, the garden feeders were visited by an array of birds (+ dipper in the river) and the quiet setting surrounded by trees and a fine view made such a welcome break from a year of having to be at home.
Boreland is an excellent centre for local walks and for exploring an often overlooked part of Dumfriesshire.
Thank you Kate and Max for providing a home from home, we were so taken with Riverside Cottage that we have booked again for next year.




Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Riverside cottage was immaculately clean with everything we needed. Very comfortable with lovely views and a riverside walk on the doorstep.



Positively Perfect In Everyway!

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There are not many cottages that you arrive at and find they are exactly as described on the website but this one is. The location is stunning. It’s lovely watching pheasants strutting around the garden, horses galloping in the field across from the stream adjacent to the property and woodpeckers and birds feeding from the bird feeders in the garden.
Kate & Max the owners who live in a cottage close to the property couldn’t be more helpful but without being intrusive. They had left cheese, biscuits, home made cake, tea coffee for our arrival.
There is an abundance of hot water & a really powerful shower. The beds are also extremely comfy.
There are lots of walks from the door, Kate & Max offer advice on these & other easily accessible walks.
The cottage is immaculately clean with every amenity to hand. Kate offers guests the opportunity to purchase meals she has made & I can highly recommend the chicken lasagne & rhubarb crumble!
We had a perfect week in a perfect cottage. Thank you!




Superb cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This holiday cottage was perfect!
Very comfy large sofas, spacious accommodation with panoramic views from the open plan kitchen and lounge.
Bonus of a sun room which was just gorgeous.
All fixtures and fittings are high spec with plenty of good quality utensils for self catering.
Welcome goodies on arrival with friendly and helpful owners.
This was the best self catering cottage in Scotland that we have ever had.




An Idyllic Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed at Riverside Cottage and everything was so perfect that we wished we had booked a longer time there. Everything about the cottage shows the great care that Kate and Max have put into it.
The cottage setting was especially peaceful and we spent hours in the sun room, reading and watching the sheep, horses and the many birds. Every room was well thought out: the kitchen was very well equipped; the bedroom and the sitting/dining area were so comfortable; the bathroom with its extra large shower was another treat.
The welcome package should be noted because it was so delicious and varied.
We loved the location because it was easy to drive to all of the places we wanted to see. There is a lot of information in the cottage about what to see, where to eat, and hikes in the area...and books and DVDs and games for children.
Kate and Max have thought of everything to make a very special holiday cottage, one we will return to soon!




Great stay, lovely location and the hosts are very welcoming and accommodating.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kate and Max are great hosts and made us very welcome.
The cottage was very clean and tidy with everything you need for a comfortable stay.
The treats when we arrived were very well received and delicious.
The location was ideal for travelling around the area and idyllic in its setting.
Would definitely return.




A relaxing and queit

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a relaxing and quiet week at Riverside Cottage.
This is the second time we have stayed.
The cottage is excellent and Kate and Max are fantastic hosts.
Hoping to go back next year.




Idyllic, peaceful & immaculate

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idyllic peaceful location with stunning views across fields & hills with grazing sheep and hills. Spacoius cottage with all amenities including cosy log burner.Lovely hosts - highly commended



Highly recommend staying ar Riverside cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Riverside cottage is in an idyllic location next to a river. Quiet and secluded for the perfect get away yet close to Lockerbie if shopping required. The owners are warm and helpful, available if needed and appreciate guests privacy. Lovely surprise goodies on arrival. The accommodation is beautiful, immaculately clean and finished to a high specification. All home comforts catered for and more. Helpful guides of places to visit and walks supplied. Perfect place for getting back to nature, enjoying the outdoors, bird watching or simply relaxing in the sun room or on the patio. WiFi is not ideal in the cottage but it’s lovely to take a break and it’s only a short walk up the lane to get fast connection.



A peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Riverside cottage was a beautiful quiet well eqipped cottage.The location was wonderful and we felt totally relaxed away from the pressures of life.
Kate and Max(the owners) were a lovely couple who were kind informative and willing to help.
We will certainly visit the cottage again and we will tell our friends about this little piece of luxury.




Definitely somewhere to revive your batteries

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kate and Max are really nice people and they go that extra bit to make sure everyone that stays have a great and comfortable time nothing is too much and they are at hand if you need them.
Marion and myself had a really good week and we would recommend it to anyone and we are looking forward to going again.




Relaxing Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property in peaceful location. Property is of a very high standard. Owners helpful and friendly.



The perfect Riverside Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfectly positioned and appointed cottage. Me and my wife spent an idyllic week relaxing and walking in the Moffat borders. Not only was it a perfect base but a perfect cottage too. The hosts were superb and very hospitable. Their extra treats were an extra luxury and the lemon marmalade was lovely. There were also sharp knives which was a novelty as it was the first time in twenty years that has happened.



Another Great Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Riverside Cottage and standards show no signs whatever of declining. A warm welcome, clean and well equipped accommodation. A fabulous holiday home from home. We'll be back!





5 star cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great week. Brilliant cottage in an amazing setting. Very welcoming hosts. Kates teas a must. Would love to return.



Just the place to relax and unwind!

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, beautifully decorated with everything thought of. The welcome pack was a very nice touch. We would have no hesitation recommending it for a relaxing break in very picturesque surroundings. The owners live next door and are very helpful.



Excellent stay at this very well equipped cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Riverside Cottage on a trip to find a new house in the area. The trip was a success in that we will be moving into a new home in the next few weeks. The cottage was a very good base to do our house viewings from has it had everything we needed to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The location is superb with views over the river to field and hills which during our stay had a number of horses running around. We had two visits from a Red Squirrel, a first for us, as well as flocks of different birds. The cottage is ideal for anyone who enjoys peace and quiet in a wonderful location with a very well equipped and excellent cottage.



Winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Riverside Cottage for 4 nights in November. Cottage very clean and cosy and arrival instructions given to ys well in advance.

Did not meet Kate and Max during our stay due to them being on holiday buf Kate kept in touch with us before, during and after our stay to make sure we were comfortable.

Good location for exploring and would recommend.




So comfortable, relaxed and cosy

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a lovely fortnight in this beautiful holiday cottage, so comfortable, relaxed and cosy. Kate, your food has been spectacular: as well as the main meals, the soup was wonderful and afternoon tea was out of this world, so good we had to order an extra one.

We have had a great time exploring the area. We would particularly recommend Dawyck Botanic Gardens, the Wetland Centre at Caerlaverock and walking up past Grey Mare's Tail to Loch Skene. Thank you, too, for the suggestions of local forest walks: the walk around the Black Esk reservoir was our favourite, although Forest of Ae, Castle O'er and Mabie Forest were also very good.

Above all, Kate and Max, your welcome was so warm and friendly - thank you for a lovely holiday.




First class accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We often stay in holiday accommodation, this rates as one of the best .Renovated to a high standard and tastefully furnished and decorated.Kate and Max are very hospitable and Kate provides some delicious homemade treats on arrival .Will definately book again .



A relaxing holiday in a five star cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very well equipped and spotlessly clean cottage set in a quiet and peaceful location for a relaxing holiday. Kate and Max gave us a warm welcome on arrival and were on hand if needed for information about places to visit etc. A great "starter pack" of local treats awaited us and we would definitely recommend Kate's catering service (order from her menu two weeks before you go). This is a five star cottage with great attention to detail and would highly recommend a holiday at Riverside cottage.



Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Awesome location and such a fabulous cottage where we had a relaxing holiday. Thanks to Kate & Max for their hospitality! Definitely recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to have a relaxing holiday and also Kate's catering service. Broadband is patchy as described in their website and there's no phone network which wasn't an issue for us.



Our holiday at Riverside cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Max and Kate gave us a very warm welcome and were on hand if we needed them. The cottage was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. Situated in a quiet rural location. An ideal base for exploring the Dumfries and Galloway area and The Southern Uplands. The welcome pack was excellent and consisted of treats for those with a sweet tooth and essentials of tea, coffee and milk to name a few. To set this apart from others the owner runs her own catering business and from a menu can supply a range of meals including afternoon tea. We would give this a five star rating and would highly recommend a holiday at Riverside cottage.



Great Cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely Cottage in an Idyllic setting next to the river. Very clean and modern and there’s plenty to do nearby.
Really peaceful location to escape and unwind. Would recommend as a perfect place for a break.




Excellent Place To Unwind

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owners very friendly and helpful and provide great welcome pack. If arranged in advance the owner can provide an excellent 3 course meal for you to warm in the oven upon arrival which we thoroughly enjoyed. We also took advantage of ordering a cream tea for the Sunday afternoon while we waited for our pre-ordered on-line grocery shopping to be delivered. After a long journey it meant we could instantly relax and unwind taking in the fabulous views from the cottage watching the abundant wildlife and enjoying the calming sound of the nearby river. Being not far from the motorway meant we could explore not only the attractions nearby but also further afield.



Fabulous cottage in a quiet village. Great location from which to explore.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very warm welcome on arrival. Cottage is warm, comfortable, spotless and has everything you need. We were here for the mountain biking and the location is close to 4 of the 7 Stanes. It's also reasonably close to Kielder and the Lakes. We will be returning soon...



Excellent spot And lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
V impressed by the cottage. It is very well equipped - Max and Kate have thought of everything.

We loved the regular visits of the red squirrel and the beautiful views. It makes an excellent base to visit the area from Edinburgh to Kirkcudbright.

I’d highly recommend it.




Riverside Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked as a bit of a last minute 1/2 term panic and were so pleased when we arrived! Beautiful cottage finished to a great standard. The location is perfect, remote with beautiful views but still close enough to amenities. We loved it and our boys loved it. Will definatley be booking again.



Cottage with everything

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we received a warm welcome from the Kate, who was very friendly and showed us around the cottage explaining how everything worked.
the cottage was warm and immaculate throughout, with everything we needed and beyond.
would highly recommend.




Beautifully presented and fully equipped cottage in rural location.

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet and peaceful location next to a fast flowing river with views from all windows of farmland and hills. Fully equipped with great attention to detail. A warm welcome with a selection of local produce. Cosy log burner. Overall first class.



Lovely cottage by the river

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an excellent holiday cottage that has everything for a truly relaxing holiday and is worthy of 5 stars. Kate and Max are excellent hosts who will make you feel most welcome. Driving is an absolute pleasure in this area and we look forward to repeating our experience.



Would highly recommend

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our time at riverside cottage and would highly recommend. The cottage is lovely, having been refurbished to a high standard, it is very light and spacious. We were made to feel very welcome by Kate & Max and they have thought of every little detail. There are nice sitting areas in and outside to enjoy the peace and quiet of the surrounding countryside and river. A great location with lots to see and do in the area and some lovely walks nearby.



Riverside Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Riverside Cottage is in an idyllic location for peace and quiet.
Accomadation is excellent and Kate and Max are excellent hosts .




Our short break at Riverside Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage’s location is not only a great base for visiting local attractions, cycling and walking it is also perfect if you just want to relax, unwind and enjoy the peace and quiet. We managed to fit in a bit off everything.

The inside finish and outdoor space is very impressive and certainly on par with many five-star accommodation cottages we have stayed in across the UK.

We always look for that little bit extra and comfortable self-catering luxury accommodation in a quiet, rural location. To get this at a riverside spot was special. It’s been a busy year for us so the cottage was perfect to relax, enjoy some fresh air, recharge our batteries and cosy down in the evening with a few gins and box set!

Overall, Riverside Cottage was perfect for us and we’ll certainly be visiting again






A very well equipped cottage in a stunning location.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cottage is very well equipped and located on the edge of the river Dryfe is a wonderful location to enjoy drinks on the patio. I highly recommend this cottage