FB Twitter

Greendale Lodge

Greendale Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.6
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


The smallest of our three properties, Greendale Lodge comfortably sleeps 4 people in pure luxury and tranquility. With it's own private secluded garden, you won't want to leave!

Short break

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful surroundings, easy access to all routes. Lovely big garden , fabulous for the dog also. A generally nice stay.



A lovely country retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a delightful property tucked away in a country setting but handily close to the A1. It was beautifully furnished and very comfortable and had everything we needed for our three nights away there was even a welcome hamper awaiting us which was a lovely touch this would be a perfect spot just to chill, But we actually used it as a perfect base. exploring York to the south one day and Durham to the north the next day. We were a family of 4+ a golden retriever and we had more than enough space. We really enjoyed our stay I would happily come back





A great short break

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Helen was very helpful answering questions and with the booking . Greendale lodge was of a very high standard , very clean and well presented. The enclosed garden is great for small children . The comprehensive welcome pack was a nice touch. Located close to the A1 which made days out easy . The only improvements I could suggest are , it needs a mirror closer to a plug for hairdryers & in our experience the chop shop recommended in the folder wasn’t worth a visit .



Superb accommodation with breathtaking views

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a happy 3 nights at Greendale Lodge earlier this month. A very convenient location (close to the A1 but not near enough to be troubled by its noise) and handy for beautiful walks and local eateries. We very much enjoyed some relaxing down time at the house - all needs catered for (excellent hot shower, comfy beds, coffee machine!) - and the stunning views from the living area will last long in the memory. It's a very well-appointed holiday rental and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. Thank you, Helen.



A lovely cottage but quite challenging for wheel chair users.

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Green lodge certainly lived up to the description of a stylish, luxury ,2 bedroom cottage . We had a really enjoyable week there. We arrived very late and were delighted to find a wonderful hamper awaiting us, with milk , coffee, chocolate biscuits and everything for a full English breakfast in the morning-a really thoughtful gesture. The large garden was very peaceful and we enjoyed sitting and relaxing on the patio .
My mum ,who is disabled and in her 80s ,did enjoy her stay but found the accommodation quite challenging at times . Helen is very obliging and has tried to make it disable friendly by providing a shower stool , raised toilet seat , hand suction grips . However, the controls for the shower are at the opposite end to the shower head and therefore cannot be operated independently once sitting on the stool . The entrance to the cottage is along a gravel path which is very difficult to push a wheelchair along . The patio and door entrances are raised and have a lip which my mum found difficult to get over . We found solutions to these problems by using the other property ‘s entrance , placing a block in front of the door and basically paddling in the shower with mum ! Maybe Helen can find permanent solutions to some of these issues ,as it would be a shame for disabled visitors not to fully appreciate this lovely property.




As good as it gets

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was exactly as described and is very spacious. There is a large kitchen/diner/seating area with patio doors on to the garden together with a separate sitting room, both with TV's. The bedrooms are good sized doubles and the shower is extremely efficient. My wife is disabled so the provided stool and suction hand holds proved very useful. The owners have provided a fenced in dog walking area to the side of one of their fields together with a dog waste bin. A useful welcome pack with bread, milk, eggs and meat from the farm was provided. The location is ideal for access to the Yorkshire Dales and the list of eating establishments provided in the property notes proved very useful. All in all one of the best self catering establishments we have experienced.



Great property and great location

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Greendale Lodge. We absolutely love it here. Very comfortable, great views and location and beautiful dog secure garden with dedicated dog walking area. Great welcome pack including sausages and bacon from the farms own butchers shop. Helen and Megan so helpful and friendly. Fabulous having the cows, calves and sheep looking through the fence. Everything about this place is fantastic. So relaxing. We will be back.



Fabulous getaway post lockdown

Review submitted on Wed, 19 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with the accommodation of Greendale Lodge! Everything about it was perfect, from the lovely bathroom to the comfortable bedrooms .
Our two dogs also settled in so quickly with the large well appointed kitchen that opens up onto a
a patio and a safe fenced garden with established trees . This was perfect for us all to relax and enjoy the views and see the well cared for livestock after a day out walking in the surrounding countryside.
You will not be disappointed!




What an absolutely fabulous place

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I together with our little cockerpoo dog Dollie stayed at Greendale Lodge for two weeks in November. My expectations were very high after seeing the photographs and reading the reviews. However my expectations were very much surpassed!! This lodge is truly magnificent in every way. Great location, quiet with great garden view, garden fantastic - large and fully enclosed (Dollie loved it). The interior had everything anyone could want. Warm and cosy, beds so comfy, bed linen and towels first class quality (all John Lewis). A very nice and very spacious kitchen, seating and dining area which had patio doors leading to the patio and garden. There was a second snug type room with large TV and this was very comfortable too. Ideal if one wants to watch tv and the other read, listen to music etc. I cannot recommend this place enough. Helen who is the owner is lovely. Nothing was too much trouble and although she leaves clients to have their own peace and quiet she is very very helpful if you need anything or any advice. There is also a dedicated dog walk which is all secure and a magnificent idea. We could let Dollie off the lead and she was totally safe and she loved being free. We loved it so much we have booked a 12 night stay for the end of March. There are quite a few apple trees in the garden and the blossom should be beautiful. Oh and yes the welcome pack was very welcome to say the least. Tunstall Farm have their own butchers in Richmond selling all their own reared animals meat. Their sausage and bacon were included in our pack. Everything just tasted so good. We called at the shop on our way home and stocked up. And will defiantly place an order on line when we've finished our stock. A wonderful wonderful holiday and experience and at a time when lockdown came in five days after we arrived. It could have all felt so different. Thank you and well done Helen and team. You are offering something very special there.



Lovely short family break

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very lovely and comfortable stay at Greendale Lodge. With two under 4 we also found plenty to do within 30 mins drive. The play tractor in the garden was a lovely touch and the girls really enjoyed running about collecting the apples.



Lovely cottage in a lovely area

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage is situated in a lovely tranquil area. Lovely touch of welcoming hamper. Would love to return one day



A a great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easy to access. Fixtures and fittings all yo a very high specification. Comfy beds lovely welcome pack
I would especially recommend Greendale Lodge for young families
Big enclosed garden ideal for little people to run around




A lovely lodge for a lovely weekend.

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would highly recommend Greendale Lodge for anyone looking for self catering accommodation with plenty of space. Nice addition of a welcome hamper on arrival was really helpful! Location as described, giving great views of the animals from pretty much every window which was nice. Large open plan kitchen/living room area is perfect for entertaining and the added bonus of a bbq in the garden. Will definitely return.



Outstanding

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent the New Year at this beautiful property. When we arrived our jaws hit the floor. It’s absolutely the most beautiful property we’ve stayed in.
We took our 2 dogs with us as it’s doggy friendly. The garden is ideal for dogs. It’s completely secure and the views are quite simply stunning.

The only downside is it’s not within walking distance of a pub. However, having said that, we had the best time regardless. We went out somewhere different every day. There are some beautiful destinations close by.

We loved our stay so much we both said we want to go back again in the summer.

I highly recommend this property. It’s ideal for walkers, doggy owners, families or couples looking for somewhere private.




Weekend suprise break for my Wife and two dogs

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The journey from home was 300 miles to get to the Cottage and when we drove into the car park area, we had reserved parking for our cottage which was great. From the moment I walked into our garden I knew it was going to be perfect, the garden was dog proof from the road and fields adjoining and the gates closed securely.
Once my wife opened the door we were welcomed to a very clean, spacious cottage, which was superbly furnished with sofas, chairs, coffee tables, and a dining table. The Kitchen had everything you would need and all was clean with a welcome hamper of some milk, bread, bacon, sausages (from the farm) and a bottle of fizz in the fridge.
The main test of any great accommodation is the shower, and this shower has some power, heat and was as clean as the rest of the property.
Main supermarkets are just 10 minutes away and easy to get to and back with no traffic issues, the location is just brilliant, we also had amazing views across fields with woods in the distance.
So, if you are looking for that quiet great escape then this is for you, it is also for you if you want something well positioned for exploring.
Just to say if you are not a dog lover, you would never know dogs had been in the property before us as you get charged for a special clean if you have dogs, so this is also brilliant if you want something safe with the children.





Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Andrew Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Presenting a clean and well-kept space while also welcoming dogs is a top priority of ours. Please do come again!

Stunning

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a stunning location. Would go back again, teenagers happy with Wi-Fi and Netflix, love the cows and sheep that came up to the garden fence to say hello. Dog was very happy with the large garden. Very high standard.



60th birthday

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a lovely stay we rented the farmhouse and green dale as there was a few of us.
Everything was wonderful from beginning to end the accommodation was so impressive on the Saturday we got a taxi into Richmond which only worked out for a taxi of 4 £3 each . Thank you so much.




A great break away from it all

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This accommodation has to be in our top five - and we do use self-catering a lot. It was roomy, well designed and an extra TV room was great! And being on a working farm just topped it all, my wife being a farmer's daughter.



Lovely weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful lodge booked as a guest for hen do.

Helen kindly discounted price as last minute booking.

Complimentary food left for breakfast.

Very comfortable. Would definitely recommend.