FB Twitter

The Barn

The Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


The ideal break to get away from it all.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are so thankful that we managed to book this gem of a place within days of lockdown restrictions easing. This was a much-needed sanctuary away from every day life.
The location is perfect, far enough off the main road to feel like you’re away from the world but close enough to neighbouring towns, beaches and woodland walks to be able to explore, unwind and exercise.
The accommodation was better than expected. Three cosy bedrooms were more than enough for our group of 5. The kids loved the thick walls and the ceiling windows and thought they were staying in a castle!
The kitchen is great. The perfect size for cooking and dining. It was so nice to be able to have the whole family around one table and enjoy a meal together. It was equipped with everything you would need for a stay away from home, including washing machine and dishwasher.
The hot tub was an absolute bonus! It was spotlessly clean, surrounded by a privacy screen/fence. It’s true what they say - there’s no such thing as bad weather in a hot tub! It absolutely melted away the worries and stresses of the last few months.
The surrounding farm is peaceful and charming. We enjoyed our daily trips to visit the goats and pigs with some snacks and treats. I’ve never seen a pig run before but when they see you with an armful of veggies, they’re like small tubby racehorses! The goats are gentle and funny and love a sneaky digestive biscuit.
Iain and Jackie was such lovely lovely hosts. They were so helpful with any questions, explained all necessary requirements due to COVID-19 and made sure we were as comfortable as possible. The Barn is immaculately clean when we arrived which was such a comfort in these times.
Within a short drive you can reach several little beaches and coves as well as the town of Gatehouse of Fleet (the local Spar is well stocked and the hotel provided takeout meals). My kids particularly enjoyed a trip to Cream O’Galloway dairy farm - a morning spent in their huge adventure playground, followed by a woodland walk and a picnic. And their ice-cream is divine!
We also visited the Threave Estate which has just reopened. Beautiful garden walks and scenery and space for picnics.
Finally, it was great to know that Morrison’s, Tesco and Asda all deliver to the Barn. We arranged a supermarket delivery for the evening we arrived so we didn’t have to travel into larger towns to stock up.
I cannot thank Iain and Jackie enough for this break and hopefully we will be able to return soon.




Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hosts were fab kids loved the animals the barn and the hot tub nothing was disappointing definitely be back soon



Splendid time had by all

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The stormy weather might have deprived us of our internet but it didn't stop us from having fun. The first night of our holiday was spent in the hot tub looking up at the stars in amazement. The animals on the farm were so much fun to interact with and we really enjoyed walking our dogs in the woodlands. The cottage was nice and clean for us arriving and. The only downside was a lot of the local attractions were closed for the season but we plan to come back in the summer to fully enjoy all that the area has to offer.



Family Get Together

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired 4 of the properties as the same time for a family get together. We all really enjoyed our stay. Lots of space for the kids to play out. House was really nice. Would stay here again.



Relaxed very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would highly recommend. Lovely accommodation with beautiful peaceful surroundings with the added bonus of a lovely hotub. Will deff be back.



Very Chilled Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a couple of nights in The Barn during January. The weather was awful but we had a great time just relaxing in the house. We cooked up some nice food in the kitchen which was super well equipped, It had everything we needed and more, and chilled in the lounge watching netflix. We also spent our time hopping in and out of the hot tub which was private and really relaxing. The house was super clean and really nice and warm so the horrible weather didn't matter at all to us. We would love to come back later in the year. Thanks for a great stay.



Great Place, Great Price.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Clauchan Holiday Cottages in January 2020. The house was fantastic. Really clean and warm despite the freezing cold and stormy weather. We got a really good deal on the price due to it being the low season. We loved all the animals on the farm and the hot tub was really good fun. The unexpected bonus of a Netflix subscription was fantastic at night time. We would most definately stay here again.



We had a lovely time.

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a nice relaxing break after the christmas and new year period. The house was lovely. Very clean and nice and cozy. We loved the hot tub and the display of start on a clear night are stunning due the remote location. no light pollution at all.



Festive Fun

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Clauchan Holiday Cottages over the festive period and we had a smashing time. The house was nicely decorated and the heating was roasty toasty for our arrival. We loved the hot tub which was private for our exclusive use and was spotlessly clean as was the house. The animals on the doorstep were a real treat and the children loved feeding them carrots and apples. The playing field was a real plus as the kids could run in and out as they pleased which they don't really get to do at home. Great value for money and the owners are close by if we needed them for any reason. We plan to return in the new year. There are lots of things to do nearby but a lot of them are weather dependent so a summer trip is in order for us. Couldn't recommend this place highly enough.



Absolutely amazing fantastically clean put a smile on my wife's face!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only thing missing was a red carpet.
We arrived to find the heating switched on, lights left on, table laid, Xmas tree decorated, Xmas lights put up, crackers left for us and the house was all decorated!
Absolutely delighted with the property and the attention to detail. The house was pristinely clean, the heating and hot water was toasty, beds comfortable, cozy living room with Wi-Fi and Netflix fire stick, plenty of clean towels and a pretty well specced kitchen too.
We'd been left all the essentials to cook and clean with even a single use roasting tin! Needless to stay we were able to cook a full roast dinner with all the trimmings. Things like can openers and all the little things were all provided. Hot tub was privately screened off and was brilliant for kids and mom & dad too!
Would wholeheartedly recommend and most likely it's going to be a regular booking for us.
The host Iain is a cheerful, happy and jolly bloke. Never needed extra from him but I'm 100% he would bend over backwards for his guests.
We wanted to extend our 4 day Xmas break but unfortunately it was fully booked - I can see why now!
Thanks once again Iain from Iqbal, Jasmine, the twins and the lad!




Iain Clark replied 217 days ago
Wow Iqbal, thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be delighted to host you again in the future. All the best for the new year. Iain and Jackie.

An amazing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks again for everything. We had a great stay and loved the added touches of a Xmas tree, wreath etc.
The animals were amazing and a beautiful setting.
Would definitely return.




The Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A family of 4 adults and 2 children all enjoyed our stay. The Barn was spotlessly clean, warm and really well equipped. Iain provided all the information we needed and was so helpful. The hot tub was so enjoyable and well used by us all. The location is quiet but within minutes of the A75 to nearby towns and beautiful scenery. The Castle Bistro in nearby Kirkcudbright was excellent. We will definitely be returning and highly recommend the cottages, the area and the hosts.



A truly relaxed weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Barn as a family weekend break with the intention of relaxation. We were not disappointed. The accommodation was ideal, clean, tidy and the kitchen was a dream to cook in. The kids loved the hot tub, especially at night (with the location being a dark sky location) watching the night sky so full of stars, shooting stars and even a regular passing over of the space station.
We took our rescue springer spaniel (Milly) who is very nervous around other dogs as we find it hard to walk her at home in a more quiet area, but here she was within minutes of some fantastic walks for both her and ourselves where she could be herself. She enjoyed her walks so much running free and being able to be true self.

We will most certainly will be going back for another holiday. Thank you Iain and family for a warm welcome and a great weekend.
Caroline, Jon & Family + Milly




Iain Clark replied 313 days ago
Thank you so much for such a fantastic review Caroline. It was our pleasure to host you all and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Iain.

Happy days at Clauchan Cottages.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottages are in an ideal location for walking, cycling and exploring Gatehouse of Fleet, Kirkcudbright which are both very pretty and have plenty of varied eateries. A trip to Carsluith smoke house is a must for beautiful sea food. We also visited Threave Gardens which are lovely.
We had a very enjoyable stay with everything to hand. Particularly appreciated the small boxes of tea and coffee etc. for that first Cuppa on arrival.
The Barn was very comfortable and well equipped with everything to hand and Ian was on site for any assistance required.
Children will love goats and pigs. Keep an eye open in the evening for the bats.
Had a lovely holiday and will be back again next year.
THE WRIGHT FAMILY.




Great for kids, comfortable accommodation, what more could you want?

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
2 adults and 2 little ones who hugely enjoyed our time at Clauchan. Accommodation was very sufficient and comfortable; lovely cosy double bedroom and good kitchen with amenities - we had most of our meals in and didn’t feel the need to eat out. The hot tub outside was a real treat for the adults and kids!

Nice gated area outside property so the children could be outside without wandering off. Beyond that, great sized grassed area which children loved; especially trampoline and swing ball. They also enjoyed feeding goats and pigs. Bike storage was also a convenient plus.

Iain was very friendly, helpful and a great host.

The area in general has so much to offer, in two weeks we couldn’t do everything we wanted.

We really enjoyed our stay at Clauchan. Thanks Iain.




Iain Clark replied 350 days ago
Thank you for the lovely review James. It was our pleasure to host you all. Hope to see you again soon. Iain.

Another Great Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the fourth time we have stayed at Clauchan Holiday Cottages and just as with our other holiday's we had a great time. The house was spotlessly clean for our arrival as was the hot tub. Iain and Jackie always provide a warm welcome and are always on hand if we needed anything. Our children love feeding the goats and playing on the trampoline. We have booked another trip for the Autumn and are counting off the days until we return.



Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay at the Barn in July. Wonderful location with enough to do with kids for a week nearby. The owners were on hand if needed and even unloaded my Tesco delivery for me when it arrived early. Highly recommended



2 day stay

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect
Everything we needed
Stayed as attending a wedding
Would visit again for longer stay
Highly recommended