FB Twitter

The Barn

The Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 47 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Recent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week staying in The Barn. Great location and very peaceful. Ideal for a family as close to fantastic beaches as well as not being far from towns.
Accommodation was ideal and great hot tub for relaxing at end of the day.




Excellent accommodation in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 5 (+ dog) stayed at The Barn within Clauchan Holiday Cottages and had a wonderful time. The location was great and allowed us to see many of the lovely beaches and forest areas. Would definitely recommend.



Highly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 01 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third break here but first time in The Barn. As with the other properties it is immaculately clean. Ian and Jackie are very hard working hosts. The areas around the properties are very well kept and each one has a fenced area where little folk and dogs can play safely. The Barn is very spacious with a good size kitchen equipped with everything you need. Good powerful shower in the bathroom. Spacious rooms. Good TV.
There are many walks nearby. Close to beaches woodland and hills, there's something for everyone. We love this part of Scotland. These properties are just off the A75 so are perfectly located for access to the whole area. On a clear night get out there and look up at the stars, you'll be amazed! Loved the hot tub after a long walk, brilliant!
All in all a great place to stay and a credit to the owners. We will be back very soon we hope. Thank you Iain & Jackie (and Poppy)




Quiet & Relaxing with lovely views.

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in "The Barn". The property was very clean and all instructions were clearly given in the guide the owner had provided both in a handbook and e-mail prior to arrival.

The kitchen was well equipped with lots of cooking utensils, cutlery, crockery etc.

The fencing around the property is secure allowing both children and dogs to play safely.
We loved the hot tub, the location and the views and would definitely return if we were to visit Dumfries and Galloway again.




Short stay

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After changing our booking three times as the wedding we were going to was postponed due to COVID, we eventually made it to Galloway and Clauchan Cottages. Although we were only there a short time we loved the location and the accommodation was great- lots of room and very clean. We would definitely use this as a base for exploring Galloway.



Relaxing break.

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely to be back. A lovely relaxing break and plenty to do locally with no need to travel far by car. Welcoming and friendly hosts and very clean and comfortable accommodation.
We look forward to a return visit soon.




Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family celebrating an important anniversary we all had a fantastic time ,barn was beautiful and spotless ,loved the walk up to the derelict Kirk .
Just a beautiful place with fantastic views .thank you




The goats are posers!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay here. The Barn was lovely and cozy, with everything we needed. The hot tub was a big hit as were the super friendly goats and pigs. Great place, great location, would absolutely recommend.



Fantastic mini break

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic find this place is. We stayed in The Barn, everything about it was brilliant. We were in a group of 4 adults, 2 children and a dog and there was plenty of room. Great kitchen with everything you need to self cater. Lovely living room with Netflix on the tv which is a great bonus especially for the kids. Very powerful central heating which will be needed in those Scottish winters and the Hot tub was amazing. Always warm and always topped up. Great location with plenty to do in the surrounding area. The owners were brilliant, they leave you well alone but are always available if you need them for anything. We will definitely be back. Thanks for a great stay, if you could sort the weather out for us next time that’d be great



A pleasant week at the Barn at Claucan Holiday Cottages.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good location with local attractions and a good selection of nearby shops and supermarkets. Enjoyable stay.



Another great holiday.

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great holiday at Claughan farm. First time staying at the Barn and I would really recommend it. It's a very comfortable cotttage, well equipped with everything you need for a happy holiday. It's in a good location for touring Galloway and has lovely woodland walks close by if you don't want to take the car. Plenty of interesting wildlife to see and goats, pigs and cattle on the farm.
A warm welcome as usual from Iain. Hope to be back next year !




Yet another excellent holiday here

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are repeat guests here and wouldn't consider anywhere else at this point. The properties are all immaculate and as soon as residents depart at 10am on check out day the cleaners are straight to work. We have never had a problem with any of the properties being unclean. The owners are amazingly accommodating they are always available if anything is needed although we have not ever had to ask. I dont keep well with chronic illness and this little gem in the countryside literally keeps me going for our new years and summer holidays. There isnt a down point that I can even think of except the fact that we have to go home. There are 5 different properties onsite for all budgets 2 of which have luxury hot tubs and there is one that is catered to mobility challenged holidaymakers. There's a trampoline basketball nets football goals all for the kids on a grassed play area. Wedd equipped kitchens with all utensils and crockery /glassware. The master bedrooms beds are the best nights sleep ive had in a long time. Id recommend this little gem to anyone without a doubt and the prices are amazing .



Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely barn in a lovely location.very clean and offered perfect value for money. Lovely owners too! Lots to do nearby, favourite being the kite feeding at bellymack farm and the red deer trail!



hot tub heavan

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location and view, the accomodation was so clean and tidy and the service was impeccable. So quiet and peaceful, sitting in the hot tub at night watching the stars is priceless! A well organized buisness and a very enjoyable holiday.



Another amazing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic holiday at Clauchan. Can't fault anything about the accommodation, great customer service from Iain and Jackie again this year. Beautiful area, stunning views - perfect.



Cute little cottage...

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a family wedding at GGs yard. Great location, especially if your visiting GGs. Only a short drive from Gate House of Fleet.
Cottage is clean/tidy with all the essentials needed for your stay. And Iain the owner was really friendly and so helpful during the lead up to our stay. Would definitely stay again.




Beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our family holiday, lovely cottage beautiful location, couldn’t have asked for more , we shall be booking again xx



We loved it

Review submitted on Sat, 01 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Will definitely be back hopefully soon hot tub is great boys loved feed the goats and seeing pigs it safe for kids Ian and Jackie were lovely



1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was lovely and peacefull . The hottub was amazing very well maintained .The cottage was lovely very well equipped would highly recommend



Another great holiday at Clauchan holiday cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the min.we stepped over the doorway we felt at home. Its also pet friendly which is a massive must for us. Well behaved dogs are welcome but nit to be left alone in the property but we didn't feel like it hindered us doing ehat we wanted and going where we wanted. The Barn like all the other properties in enclosed so the dogs could be outside i the garden without leads as they ciouldnt escape. There's parking in the gate for 2 possibly 3 cars so you are literally from car to door No carrying luggage or shopping any great distane While there are other cottages nearby you don't feel like your being overlooked or your privacy in any way compromised. We stayed during covid restrictions and the cottage was immaculatly cleaned. very homely and large. The kitchen is huge and even with a table that seats 6 you could have easily fit another one the same size and still had lots to spare. It has its own washing machine and dishwasher so no doing lots of dishes and no piles of washing to do when you get home either . Livingroom is equally large with a large lcd TV with Netflix included as is your WiFi. 3 bedrooms 2 twins and one double . The master is large with a very comfortable king-size bed the 2 twins are average size twin rooms with very comfortable beds. You also have your own private hot tub which was lovely to relax in at night under the stars as your in a dark sky Park everything is vivid on a clear night due to no light pollution. Ian and Jane were easily contactable if needed not that we needed to. The hot tub is cleaned every day and even then we were not disturbed. We love it here and have preciously stayed in the bothy. We are are staying in the middle byre this new year for a week and have already booked next summer for the barn and also.next new year as we could not risk.the chance if it becoming booked. The fantastic value for money is reason alone to book and with so.much on your doorstep to see and do its hardly surprising. Plenty of local places to visit cream of Galloway ice cream farm shop is literally 10 mins from.the cottages with a large outdoor play area for the kids. Your not far at any point from a beautiful beach of which there are a few. So if you were in any doubt about whether or not to book please don't take ny word for it. Book and see for yourselves. You will not be disappointed. Theres a property for every size and budget. The best holidays I've had have been nspent here. My partner and i will.be coming here for many years to come




Weekend Away

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time. Very Clean and Very comfortable. Brilliant in the hot tub at night looking at the stars.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I had a weeks holiday and are looking forward to coming again, it was a perfect place to stay with a very warm welcome.



Another Great Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at Clauchan Holiday Cottages and once again we had an amazing time. The house was forensically clean and so was the hot tub. The only downside was that the holiday was over all too quickly. We are looking at dates for next year as we speak.



Short break

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a few days in this lovely part of the world. Clauchan Holiday Cottages were ideal for this. Property was very clean and we felt precautions had been taken in line with COVID regulations. Hot tub was an added bonus. We have booked again next year as a base for a family wedding.



Relaxing break.

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd stay, 7 weeks after the first as we enjoyed it so much. Great hosts, there if you need anything, but they have the right balance of being friendly and helpful without intrusive. Great location. Hot tub the cleanest we have used, we feel at home straight away here. Lovely having the goats, pigs and donkeys around. Very calm and peaceful place within easy reach of woodland and beaches. Will definitely be back.



Late August stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the middle byre, Really spacious. Great hot tub. Lovely farm with animals around for the kids to see. Incredible views from living room and garden. Great access from A75. Loads to do in the area. An hours walk from the sea (or a 6 minute drive) for fantastic coastal walks. Would definitely stay again.



Fab holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent for children and adults. Everything spotless and very well managed re covid. Very peaceful. The owner is helpful, keeps hot tub well cleaned. Hot tub great for adults, kids loved the goats and pigs and trampoline. The beaches are fantastic here, lovely walks in the woods. Booked again for next year



Great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, good location near to forest, beach and villages. Rebooked for next year. Host made us feel very welcome.



Dog friendly holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Return visit to 'the barn', had a great week, friendly hosts and good dog walking on your doorstep.
Would recommend host tries to add a very small en suite toilet and sink to main bedroom as one toilet/bathroom in 6 berth accommodation not enough in my opinion.




The ideal break to get away from it all.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are so thankful that we managed to book this gem of a place within days of lockdown restrictions easing. This was a much-needed sanctuary away from every day life.
The location is perfect, far enough off the main road to feel like you’re away from the world but close enough to neighbouring towns, beaches and woodland walks to be able to explore, unwind and exercise.
The accommodation was better than expected. Three cosy bedrooms were more than enough for our group of 5. The kids loved the thick walls and the ceiling windows and thought they were staying in a castle!
The kitchen is great. The perfect size for cooking and dining. It was so nice to be able to have the whole family around one table and enjoy a meal together. It was equipped with everything you would need for a stay away from home, including washing machine and dishwasher.
The hot tub was an absolute bonus! It was spotlessly clean, surrounded by a privacy screen/fence. It’s true what they say - there’s no such thing as bad weather in a hot tub! It absolutely melted away the worries and stresses of the last few months.
The surrounding farm is peaceful and charming. We enjoyed our daily trips to visit the goats and pigs with some snacks and treats. I’ve never seen a pig run before but when they see you with an armful of veggies, they’re like small tubby racehorses! The goats are gentle and funny and love a sneaky digestive biscuit.
Iain and Jackie was such lovely lovely hosts. They were so helpful with any questions, explained all necessary requirements due to COVID-19 and made sure we were as comfortable as possible. The Barn is immaculately clean when we arrived which was such a comfort in these times.
Within a short drive you can reach several little beaches and coves as well as the town of Gatehouse of Fleet (the local Spar is well stocked and the hotel provided takeout meals). My kids particularly enjoyed a trip to Cream O’Galloway dairy farm - a morning spent in their huge adventure playground, followed by a woodland walk and a picnic. And their ice-cream is divine!
We also visited the Threave Estate which has just reopened. Beautiful garden walks and scenery and space for picnics.
Finally, it was great to know that Morrison’s, Tesco and Asda all deliver to the Barn. We arranged a supermarket delivery for the evening we arrived so we didn’t have to travel into larger towns to stock up.
I cannot thank Iain and Jackie enough for this break and hopefully we will be able to return soon.




Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hosts were fab kids loved the animals the barn and the hot tub nothing was disappointing definitely be back soon



Splendid time had by all

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The stormy weather might have deprived us of our internet but it didn't stop us from having fun. The first night of our holiday was spent in the hot tub looking up at the stars in amazement. The animals on the farm were so much fun to interact with and we really enjoyed walking our dogs in the woodlands. The cottage was nice and clean for us arriving and. The only downside was a lot of the local attractions were closed for the season but we plan to come back in the summer to fully enjoy all that the area has to offer.



Family Get Together

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired 4 of the properties as the same time for a family get together. We all really enjoyed our stay. Lots of space for the kids to play out. House was really nice. Would stay here again.



Relaxed very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would highly recommend. Lovely accommodation with beautiful peaceful surroundings with the added bonus of a lovely hotub. Will deff be back.



Very Chilled Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a couple of nights in The Barn during January. The weather was awful but we had a great time just relaxing in the house. We cooked up some nice food in the kitchen which was super well equipped, It had everything we needed and more, and chilled in the lounge watching netflix. We also spent our time hopping in and out of the hot tub which was private and really relaxing. The house was super clean and really nice and warm so the horrible weather didn't matter at all to us. We would love to come back later in the year. Thanks for a great stay.



Great Place, Great Price.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Clauchan Holiday Cottages in January 2020. The house was fantastic. Really clean and warm despite the freezing cold and stormy weather. We got a really good deal on the price due to it being the low season. We loved all the animals on the farm and the hot tub was really good fun. The unexpected bonus of a Netflix subscription was fantastic at night time. We would most definately stay here again.



We had a lovely time.

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a nice relaxing break after the christmas and new year period. The house was lovely. Very clean and nice and cozy. We loved the hot tub and the display of start on a clear night are stunning due the remote location. no light pollution at all.



Festive Fun

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Clauchan Holiday Cottages over the festive period and we had a smashing time. The house was nicely decorated and the heating was roasty toasty for our arrival. We loved the hot tub which was private for our exclusive use and was spotlessly clean as was the house. The animals on the doorstep were a real treat and the children loved feeding them carrots and apples. The playing field was a real plus as the kids could run in and out as they pleased which they don't really get to do at home. Great value for money and the owners are close by if we needed them for any reason. We plan to return in the new year. There are lots of things to do nearby but a lot of them are weather dependent so a summer trip is in order for us. Couldn't recommend this place highly enough.



Absolutely amazing fantastically clean put a smile on my wife's face!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only thing missing was a red carpet.
We arrived to find the heating switched on, lights left on, table laid, Xmas tree decorated, Xmas lights put up, crackers left for us and the house was all decorated!
Absolutely delighted with the property and the attention to detail. The house was pristinely clean, the heating and hot water was toasty, beds comfortable, cozy living room with Wi-Fi and Netflix fire stick, plenty of clean towels and a pretty well specced kitchen too.
We'd been left all the essentials to cook and clean with even a single use roasting tin! Needless to stay we were able to cook a full roast dinner with all the trimmings. Things like can openers and all the little things were all provided. Hot tub was privately screened off and was brilliant for kids and mom & dad too!
Would wholeheartedly recommend and most likely it's going to be a regular booking for us.
The host Iain is a cheerful, happy and jolly bloke. Never needed extra from him but I'm 100% he would bend over backwards for his guests.
We wanted to extend our 4 day Xmas break but unfortunately it was fully booked - I can see why now!
Thanks once again Iain from Iqbal, Jasmine, the twins and the lad!




Iain Clark replied more than 1 year ago
Wow Iqbal, thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be delighted to host you again in the future. All the best for the new year. Iain and Jackie.

An amazing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks again for everything. We had a great stay and loved the added touches of a Xmas tree, wreath etc.
The animals were amazing and a beautiful setting.
Would definitely return.




The Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A family of 4 adults and 2 children all enjoyed our stay. The Barn was spotlessly clean, warm and really well equipped. Iain provided all the information we needed and was so helpful. The hot tub was so enjoyable and well used by us all. The location is quiet but within minutes of the A75 to nearby towns and beautiful scenery. The Castle Bistro in nearby Kirkcudbright was excellent. We will definitely be returning and highly recommend the cottages, the area and the hosts.



A truly relaxed weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Barn as a family weekend break with the intention of relaxation. We were not disappointed. The accommodation was ideal, clean, tidy and the kitchen was a dream to cook in. The kids loved the hot tub, especially at night (with the location being a dark sky location) watching the night sky so full of stars, shooting stars and even a regular passing over of the space station.
We took our rescue springer spaniel (Milly) who is very nervous around other dogs as we find it hard to walk her at home in a more quiet area, but here she was within minutes of some fantastic walks for both her and ourselves where she could be herself. She enjoyed her walks so much running free and being able to be true self.

We will most certainly will be going back for another holiday. Thank you Iain and family for a warm welcome and a great weekend.
Caroline, Jon & Family + Milly




Iain Clark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for such a fantastic review Caroline. It was our pleasure to host you all and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Iain.

Happy days at Clauchan Cottages.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottages are in an ideal location for walking, cycling and exploring Gatehouse of Fleet, Kirkcudbright which are both very pretty and have plenty of varied eateries. A trip to Carsluith smoke house is a must for beautiful sea food. We also visited Threave Gardens which are lovely.
We had a very enjoyable stay with everything to hand. Particularly appreciated the small boxes of tea and coffee etc. for that first Cuppa on arrival.
The Barn was very comfortable and well equipped with everything to hand and Ian was on site for any assistance required.
Children will love goats and pigs. Keep an eye open in the evening for the bats.
Had a lovely holiday and will be back again next year.
THE WRIGHT FAMILY.




Great for kids, comfortable accommodation, what more could you want?

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
2 adults and 2 little ones who hugely enjoyed our time at Clauchan. Accommodation was very sufficient and comfortable; lovely cosy double bedroom and good kitchen with amenities - we had most of our meals in and didn’t feel the need to eat out. The hot tub outside was a real treat for the adults and kids!

Nice gated area outside property so the children could be outside without wandering off. Beyond that, great sized grassed area which children loved; especially trampoline and swing ball. They also enjoyed feeding goats and pigs. Bike storage was also a convenient plus.

Iain was very friendly, helpful and a great host.

The area in general has so much to offer, in two weeks we couldn’t do everything we wanted.

We really enjoyed our stay at Clauchan. Thanks Iain.




Iain Clark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review James. It was our pleasure to host you all. Hope to see you again soon. Iain.

Another Great Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the fourth time we have stayed at Clauchan Holiday Cottages and just as with our other holiday's we had a great time. The house was spotlessly clean for our arrival as was the hot tub. Iain and Jackie always provide a warm welcome and are always on hand if we needed anything. Our children love feeding the goats and playing on the trampoline. We have booked another trip for the Autumn and are counting off the days until we return.



Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay at the Barn in July. Wonderful location with enough to do with kids for a week nearby. The owners were on hand if needed and even unloaded my Tesco delivery for me when it arrived early. Highly recommended



2 day stay

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect
Everything we needed
Stayed as attending a wedding
Would visit again for longer stay
Highly recommended