FB Twitter

Valley View

Valley View

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


A fab relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A brilliant well laid out property for a relaxing get away.
Fabulous peaceful location.
Excellent enclosed garden space ideal for the dogs.
Beautiful area




Comfortable stay at a good price close to some lovely places.

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable stay at a good price close to some lovely places. The kitchen was new, clean and well stocked with utensils etc. just a little small but no complaints. Everything we needed. Exceptionally clean regarding COVID-19, we had no concerns at all about staying here.



So good we wanted to stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Iain and Jackie were lovely hosts. House and location was perfect for us and our dogs. Very dog friendly. This was our second trip this year here and will probably stay again as we’re looking to move to the Dumfries and Galloway area.



Lovely cottage for family break

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place to stay. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Valley View was spotlessly clean and well equipped. The location is excellent with lots to do. Being on the farm and having the pigs and goats nearby provided entertainment for the children. We had a great time. Thanks to Ian and Jackie for welcoming us.



Family Get Together

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired 4 of the properties as the same time for a family get together. We all really enjoyed our stay. Lots of space for the kids to play out. House was really nice. Would stay here again.



Family break at Valley View

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Valley view was very easy to find just off the A75, a well presented complex of renovated farm buildings. Our accommodation was clearly signed as was our allocated parking space. The surrounding area of paddocks and fields had a selection of curious and very sociable pigs, goats and donkeys.

Valley view was very clean and neatly organised. A useful information welcome pack was waiting for us on the coffee table.
Both bedrooms had a selection of towels on the beds, towel rails would have been handy for after use including in the bathroom. The rooms were cosy and warm with plenty of hanging space in the master bedroom, and sets of drawers in both rooms.

The kitchen was well equipped, very clean and practical. All appliances were easy to use. You do need bring your own dishwasher tablets and extra tea towels. Liquid soap in the kitchen and bathroom would be a valued extra.

The bathroom was clean, compact and tidy. I would advise to replace the cord pull switches for the bathroom lights to an alternative that is easier to keep clean.

The availability of wifi was an important bonus for our teenage daughter and the choice on Netflix for a wet and windy evening!

Both Jackie and Iain the owners were extremely friendly and helpful including their extended family living close by as well as their adorable pets. There was a safe and visible play area for younger children.

Our daughter was able to feed the Kunekune pigs, goats and one of the cheeky donkeys. Lady P the elusive goat was a real character. Surplus windfall apples were supplied by Jackie from her farmhouse kitchen for the outdoor pets.

The location was great. Close to Gatehouse of Fleet, Kirkcudbright, beautiful beaches and the delicious/ ethical Cream of Galloway ice cream farm.

I would definitely love to visit again. Great location and accommodation for a small family/ couple.

I




Very Peaceful.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 5 nights in Valley View and had a very relaxing stay. The house was warm and comfortable and was very well equipped. The woodlands which are right beside the farm were fantastic for walking the dogs as were the nearby beaches. We would love to return next summer. Thanks for a great stay.



Brilliant October Break

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little house. Beautiful are with lots to do. Sparkling clean. Animals on site great. Would definitely stay here again.



Our stay

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a pleasant stay. The play was a little small for us. Our stay was alright loved the fact the animals were there



Iain Clark replied 297 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review Valerie. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to host you again in the future. We have two larger properties called The Barn and Middle Byre that would suit your needs perfectly if you found Valley View a little small for your liking. Hope to see you again soon. Iain.

Short break

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi I stayed at clauchan with ny wee dog for 3 days. The cottage certainly was a home from home. It was clean, comfortable,cozy, nice and warm. It had everything you would need. Ian was on hand at all times if you had any queries. It was a short drive to gatehouse of fleet which is a most gorgeous place. I would definitely stay at Ian’s cottages again. Thank you Ian for making me and Millie welcome although she was terrorising the goats ha ha



Clauchan cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely family break in valley view cottage. Clean,fresh and homely cottage . Plenty space outside for children to run .trampoline and basketball net supplied ! Staff are very friendly and welcoming . Location is perfect not to far from shops yet private and spacious . Look forward to visiting again !



Cozy Little Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really clean and well equipped little cottage. Perfect for our needs and the host were very friendly and helpful.



Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our holiday excellent location great people fab cottage certainly recommend it loved it



Stay for our first Wedding anniversary

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 4th stay at Claughlan holiday cottages, our hosts Ian and Jackie and Jock and all the family always are very helpful and friendly and make you feel very welcome. We look forward to our next holiday on the farm so see you all next year
Aidan and Carole Widdowson




Well worthit

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peacefully atmospheric pleasantly situated. Very dog friendly and welcoming. Would strongly recommend. Seemed to be quite a lot about for families too. Do go and visit the Red kite feeding station for a fantastic display.



Great family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in Valley View. Just the right size for us and our 2 young boys. The kids really enjoyed petting the animals and having the freedom to run around in the playing field. The house had everything we needed. Booked another short break in the Autumn.



Great property, great location

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay in these wonderful cottages, comfortable, compact, perfect for dogs and close to so many beautiful areas to explore. Iain is a very helpful and welcoming host.



Brilliant Little House For Mini Break

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented this house along with Middle Byre for a family mini break. It had everything we needed and is very well equipped. Loved that netflix was included in the price. Really nice area to stay and we loved feeding the animals on the farm. Iain very kindly let our youngest walk the goat which he absolutely loved. We would stay here again without question.