FB Twitter

Valley View

Valley View

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Wonderful Autumn stay

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Clauchan this Autumn. Beautiful location, lovely views, friendly hosts and so much to explore nearby. We’re already looking forward to our return.



First stay at this property. Highly recommend.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great week at Valley View. All the basics provided. Very comfortable bed. The owners work very hard to keep the properties clean, immaculate! We were blessed with brilliant weather for October and enjoyed the little seating area every afternoon watching the sun go down. Also were out later to see the night sky. Perfect location. Lots of walks nearby to beach, countryside or woodland.



Relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and comfortable. Lots of walking on beaches and woods. Lovely area and we will book again soon.



Brilliant walks and Beaches All Around

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came for a weekend break with our dog and had a lovely time. There is a large woodland straight across the road from Clauchan holiday Cottages where we walked both mornings and the beach was 5 minutes away by car. We loved the close proximity to the Galloway Forrest Park and The Big Water Of Fleet Viaduct is a must see. The house was perfect for our needs and was very reasonably priced. This was the first time we had visited Dumfries and Galloway and we will definitely return.



So Nice To Get Away

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay in Valley View. It was so nice to have a change of scenery after all the drudgery of lockdown. The cottage was absolutely spotless and when we arrived there was a checklist which had been filled out by the cleaner highlighting all the steps that had been taken to adhere to Covid-19 guidelines which was most reassuring. The cottage was very well equipped and was the perfect size for our family of 4. We loved being able to feed the goats and pigs and the children loved the trampoline. It was so nice to let the kids run free while we relaxed on the patio. It was brilliant to have the Cally Woods right on the doorstep and we thoroughly enjoyed walking the dog through the forest to the beach, the views over the bay were absolutely stunning. We also loved that netflix was included and we enjoyed watching a few movies at night time once the kids were tucked up in bed. We would 100 % stay here again.



Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good cottages, a lot smaller than imagine and quite a squeeze for 4 adults. Nice location, quiet and good space outside cottages with grassy area.



Iain Clark replied 176 days ago
Hi Florence and thanks for the review. We are glad you liked the cottage. Your absolutely right that the cottage is tight for 4 adults and it is for this reason we advertise it for couples or 2 adults and 2 small children. This is also highlighted during the booking process to make it quite clear that the cottage is not suitable for 4 adults. We'd love to host you again and we have 2 much larger properties, The Barn and Middle Byre that would be a much better fit for you and your friends. Many thanks and hope to see you again soon. Iain and Jackie.

Much needed family getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely four night break in Valley View before our teenage family returned to school/college after the extended Covid19 break.
The accommodation was spotlessly clean, comfortable and very well presented.
The property is advertised as being suitable for couples or a family, and it is compact but we found it perfectly adequate for our family of four (children 13 and 16). It was a perfect base for use to be able to enjoy the Seven Stanes mountain bike forest parks nearby.





Iain Clark replied 179 days ago
Thank you very much for the lovely review Hazel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Iain and Jackie.

Valley View Cottage Stay Gaz, Tracey and Loki

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cottage with stunning views. It’s clean, has all the amenities you require, very comfortable and very peaceful. Easy access to local shops and Galloway national park is on your doorstep. Highly recommend staying and Iain and his family make you very very welcome... will go back again.



Valley View

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Valley View for 5 nights in August. The property was lovely and clean and the kitchen was well equipped with everything you would need. Iain was very friendly, our kids (14 and 10) loved the animals and taking the goat for a walk. Well located for attractions and the beach. A very beautiful location in a lovely part of the world.



A wonderful sunny weekend!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend stay at Valley View, it was a perfect base for us to visit the beach at Sandgreen and the ice cream factory. The weather was glorious too! We are already looking to book a week for next year!



A fab relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A brilliant well laid out property for a relaxing get away.
Fabulous peaceful location.
Excellent enclosed garden space ideal for the dogs.
Beautiful area




Comfortable stay at a good price close to some lovely places.

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable stay at a good price close to some lovely places. The kitchen was new, clean and well stocked with utensils etc. just a little small but no complaints. Everything we needed. Exceptionally clean regarding COVID-19, we had no concerns at all about staying here.



So good we wanted to stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Iain and Jackie were lovely hosts. House and location was perfect for us and our dogs. Very dog friendly. This was our second trip this year here and will probably stay again as we’re looking to move to the Dumfries and Galloway area.



Lovely cottage for family break

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place to stay. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Valley View was spotlessly clean and well equipped. The location is excellent with lots to do. Being on the farm and having the pigs and goats nearby provided entertainment for the children. We had a great time. Thanks to Ian and Jackie for welcoming us.



Family Get Together

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired 4 of the properties as the same time for a family get together. We all really enjoyed our stay. Lots of space for the kids to play out. House was really nice. Would stay here again.



Family break at Valley View

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Valley view was very easy to find just off the A75, a well presented complex of renovated farm buildings. Our accommodation was clearly signed as was our allocated parking space. The surrounding area of paddocks and fields had a selection of curious and very sociable pigs, goats and donkeys.

Valley view was very clean and neatly organised. A useful information welcome pack was waiting for us on the coffee table.
Both bedrooms had a selection of towels on the beds, towel rails would have been handy for after use including in the bathroom. The rooms were cosy and warm with plenty of hanging space in the master bedroom, and sets of drawers in both rooms.

The kitchen was well equipped, very clean and practical. All appliances were easy to use. You do need bring your own dishwasher tablets and extra tea towels. Liquid soap in the kitchen and bathroom would be a valued extra.

The bathroom was clean, compact and tidy. I would advise to replace the cord pull switches for the bathroom lights to an alternative that is easier to keep clean.

The availability of wifi was an important bonus for our teenage daughter and the choice on Netflix for a wet and windy evening!

Both Jackie and Iain the owners were extremely friendly and helpful including their extended family living close by as well as their adorable pets. There was a safe and visible play area for younger children.

Our daughter was able to feed the Kunekune pigs, goats and one of the cheeky donkeys. Lady P the elusive goat was a real character. Surplus windfall apples were supplied by Jackie from her farmhouse kitchen for the outdoor pets.

The location was great. Close to Gatehouse of Fleet, Kirkcudbright, beautiful beaches and the delicious/ ethical Cream of Galloway ice cream farm.

I would definitely love to visit again. Great location and accommodation for a small family/ couple.

I




Very Peaceful.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 5 nights in Valley View and had a very relaxing stay. The house was warm and comfortable and was very well equipped. The woodlands which are right beside the farm were fantastic for walking the dogs as were the nearby beaches. We would love to return next summer. Thanks for a great stay.



Brilliant October Break

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little house. Beautiful are with lots to do. Sparkling clean. Animals on site great. Would definitely stay here again.



Our stay

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a pleasant stay. The play was a little small for us. Our stay was alright loved the fact the animals were there



Iain Clark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review Valerie. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to host you again in the future. We have two larger properties called The Barn and Middle Byre that would suit your needs perfectly if you found Valley View a little small for your liking. Hope to see you again soon. Iain.

Short break

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi I stayed at clauchan with ny wee dog for 3 days. The cottage certainly was a home from home. It was clean, comfortable,cozy, nice and warm. It had everything you would need. Ian was on hand at all times if you had any queries. It was a short drive to gatehouse of fleet which is a most gorgeous place. I would definitely stay at Ian’s cottages again. Thank you Ian for making me and Millie welcome although she was terrorising the goats ha ha



Clauchan cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely family break in valley view cottage. Clean,fresh and homely cottage . Plenty space outside for children to run .trampoline and basketball net supplied ! Staff are very friendly and welcoming . Location is perfect not to far from shops yet private and spacious . Look forward to visiting again !



Cozy Little Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really clean and well equipped little cottage. Perfect for our needs and the host were very friendly and helpful.



Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our holiday excellent location great people fab cottage certainly recommend it loved it



Stay for our first Wedding anniversary

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 4th stay at Claughlan holiday cottages, our hosts Ian and Jackie and Jock and all the family always are very helpful and friendly and make you feel very welcome. We look forward to our next holiday on the farm so see you all next year
Aidan and Carole Widdowson




Well worthit

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peacefully atmospheric pleasantly situated. Very dog friendly and welcoming. Would strongly recommend. Seemed to be quite a lot about for families too. Do go and visit the Red kite feeding station for a fantastic display.



Great family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in Valley View. Just the right size for us and our 2 young boys. The kids really enjoyed petting the animals and having the freedom to run around in the playing field. The house had everything we needed. Booked another short break in the Autumn.



Great property, great location

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay in these wonderful cottages, comfortable, compact, perfect for dogs and close to so many beautiful areas to explore. Iain is a very helpful and welcoming host.



Brilliant Little House For Mini Break

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented this house along with Middle Byre for a family mini break. It had everything we needed and is very well equipped. Loved that netflix was included in the price. Really nice area to stay and we loved feeding the animals on the farm. Iain very kindly let our youngest walk the goat which he absolutely loved. We would stay here again without question.