FB Twitter

Benson Cottage

Benson Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Benson Cottage is a wonderful double-fronted Cotswold stone holiday home located within the picturesque village of Paxford, close to both Chipping Campden and Moreton-in-Marsh. Benefitting from three ensuite bedrooms, two sitting rooms and a generous sized garden at the rear, this spacious home provides an idyllic retreat that combines town and country.

Long weekend in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous holiday cottage in the Cotswolds - we stayed for a long weekend at Benson Cottage (2 couples) and had a lovely time. The cottage is a perfect size, warm, and with high quality fixtures and fittings. The decor is calm yet cosy. Benson cottage is well equipped with everything you could need for a weekend/week away.

Only downside was the local pub being closed (due to a fire) so there was no restaurant or pub within walking distance - but not really a major issue!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 9 days ago
Thank you for your fabulous review of Benson Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay, and that the cottage had everything you needed for your long weekend in the Cotswolds. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Family get together

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very comfortable stay in Bendon Cottage fitted our family perfectly with a visit to Cheltenham races and a very good Sunday lunch at the Bakers Inn Broad Camden
it was well equipped and warm would highly recommend we will return many thanks xx

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





Stay Cotswold replied 15 days ago
Thank you Pauline for your review of Benson Cottage. We are delighted you found the property to be well equipped, comfortable and in a good location for your visit to Cheltenham Races. We hope you will be back to stay again soon!

Benson Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely stay with high quality fixtures and fittings which were much appreciated- as well as the Victoria Sponge thank you .

A couple of small things ( didn’t spoil our enjoyment but thought we’d mention) - music system in the lounge , we couldn’t get a radio station tuned in ( and had no tapes or CDs or ability to blue tooth ). The beds were super comfy but would suggest pillow protectors for good measure if possible.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 23 days ago
Thank you for your great review of Benson Cottage. We are glad you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the sponge cake, and we will be sure to pass your feedback regarding the music and pillow protectors on to the owner. We hope to welcome you back with StayCotswold again soon.

reunion

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Benson Cottage proved an ideal place for a reunion with friends. The house was clean, comfortable and very well equipped. The only thing missing was instruction on what could be recycled . As it varies so much across the country we took ours home rather than use the recycling containers.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 78 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are happy to hear that Benson Cottage was an ideal place for your reunion and thank you for your feedback regarding the recycling. We hope to welcome you back with StayCotswold in the future.

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is lovely, its in a nice quiet spot and got plenty of space.
We all had a great time staying here. We are keen to come back again

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 83 days ago
We're thrilled you had an excellent stay at Benson Cottage, thanks for sharing your review Daniel. We hope to see you again soon!

Beautiful New Build Property

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a wonderful 2 week break at Benson Cottage. Lovely modern house with spacious double bedrooms all with en-suites which is a bonus. Kitchen well equipped, although not much cooking was done. Unfortunately the local pub suffered a fire earlier in the year so we had to venture further out for meals. Would recommend The Howard Arms at Ilmington.
Our first week was during a heatwave and a patio umbrella would have been most welcome.
Lovely base for touring the Cotswold.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 90 days ago
Thank you for the lovely review, Frances. We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay at Benson Cottage and found the location to be an excellent base for exploring the Cotswolds. We hope to see you again soon!

Benson cottage is lovely but a bit noisy next to the road

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Benson cottage had everything we needed, the Master bedroom was beautiful and huge! Two living rooms was very luxurious and the kitchen was well equipped and furnished to a very high standard, the garden was private with nice views. The wifi was good enough for us to remote work successfully. The only negative was that the front bedrooms (the Master is at the back) were quite noisy when the traffic started early in the morning as the cottage fronts onto the road.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 114 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review of Benson Cottage. It really is a beautiful property and we are delighted to hear that overall you had a lovely stay in the Cotswolds. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Lovely stay with friends

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Benson cottage. The house is modern, clean and well equipped. It has a lovely light kitchen with plenty of good quality crockery and cooking utensils. We appreciated the welcome cake and pint of milk too.
We chose it because each bedroom had an en-suite and these were all modern and of a good size. A few small gaps with only back of the door hanging in one room and only a mirror in the bathroom in another, but these were minor points.
Parking was good. The off road area at the back wasn’t big enough for two of our cars but there was plenty of parking on the road in front of the cottage as well.
We had a couple of questions with the owner and these were all managed easily and quickly.
Shame the village gastro pub has suffered a fire, which hopefully they can recover from, but we had some great meals in nearby Chipping Campden as well as Vegetable Matters for lunch which was even closer.
Our weekend stay included the Sunday night at no extra cost which was an added bonus.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 135 days ago
Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Benson Cottage and are pleased everything worked out for you. We hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds sometime soon.

Superb house in the heart of the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here last minute as unfortunately our original house had a flood so was cancelled. I was a little concerned as I knew my elderly parents would need to climb a staircase but they said they could manage. The house was clean (apart from a few cobwebs which is to be expected in the country) and well equipped. So much space and the furniture was high quality. All three rooms having an en-suite was ideal! Paxford was ideally located for reaching many of the popular must visit towns. Unfortunately my Mum managed to trip up the 3 steps in the hallway! It’s a beautiful stone tiled floor which can be easily misjudged by the elderly and young so do take care. Other than that, it was a lovely comfortable stay and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We would definitely recommend and I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.
Thank you to Caroline at StayCotswolds for all of your care and attention. You’ve been a superstar

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied 148 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review Elizabeth. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope your mother is now fully recovered from her fall. Thank you for your recommendation of Benson Cottage; we hope we can welcome you all back to the Cotswolds soon.

Great location for touring Cotswolds

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property was excellent for three couples and was a good base for touring the Cotswolds. Good facilities. Lovely tv room

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 167 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review Lesley. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Benson Cottage and found it to be a great base for exploring the Cotswolds. We hope to welcome you back with StayCotswold in the future.

Bensons Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, well appointed cottage. Great location for exploring The Cotswolds. The cottage was very clean with the exception of a few cobwebs. It would be nice to have a television in both sitting rooms as the corner sofa was not ideal for 4 people. All in all a great week in a lovely property.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 184 days ago
Thank you, Angie for your review and feedback. We are glad you had a great week and found the cottage lovely and well located for visiting the Cotswolds.

New cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage had all the equipment we could have wished for especially in the kitchen.
We would have welcomed some information on the local area and maybe a visitors book where other guests could share their information.
Unfortunately the local pub mentioned in the details had had a couple of weeks before our visit and so was not open.
We had a good week and enjoyed ourselves.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied 225 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you found it to be well equipped for your stay and that you enjoyed your time at Benson Cottage.

Great find!

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious house, ideal for 3 couples due to every bedroom having its own en-suite. Kitchen very well stocked with everything you require although could have benefited from a larger frying pan/wok. Beds were extremely comfortable however all 3 bedrooms were lacking in mirrors. 2 of the 3 only had a mirror in the en-suite and the 3rd had a dressing table but no mirror over it. However I am being picky here because overall it was a great property and we had a lovely relaxing week. The local pub is only a few minutes walk away as well.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your lovely review Rachel and for your useful feedback which we will share with the owners. It's great to hear that you had a relaxing week and we hope to see you again sometime soon!

Perfect for friends

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A new property, perfect for three couples or a family. Good location for exploring and short walk to super pub which serves food.
Fully equipped kitchen/ eating area. Good size double bedrooms, all with lovely en-suite. Small but useable garden and parking at rear and on road. We used the log fire as first day couldn’t work out central heating controls. Easy to get going and quickly heated the room. Lounge is so very comfortable with high quality furniture. Separate TV lounge ideal for quiet getaway or TV/gaming. Again quality furniture. We assume board games not provided due to Covid. We took our own games
We three couples would like to return in future and hope all guests continue to treat the cottage respectfully.
Booking and follow up questions was easy and staff friendly and helpful.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback, Susan. We're pleased your group enjoyed staying at Benson Cottage and very much hope to see you again sometime in the near future!

Great stay in a wonderful property!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would thoroughly recommend both this property and the Costwolds. Paxford is an idyllic village. Benson Cottage met all our expectations - and more! Clean and comfortable with many facilities, our party had a great stay!

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes





StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for the fantastic feedback from your stay at Benson Cottage - we also think it ticks all the boxes! We look forward to hosting you and your family again soon in one of our lovely Cotswold Holiday Homes.

Lovely property in beautiful area but a couple of improvements needed .

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyable stay in glorious weather . However there was little shade in the garden and no parasol for the seating area. We stayed in the master bedroom with plenty of storage but there was an absence of hanging space in the other two bedrooms. As we were only there for four nights this did not detract from our holiday too much but might prove a problem for longer breaks. All the popular Cotswolds villages were in easy reach as was Stratford . The transport museum in Coventry was good value for money. There are walks from the village but not enough time to take them sadly.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Roy for your review on Benson Cottage, we are glad you had an enjoyable stay and found the property to be ideally situated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ideal location for exploring the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was comfortable, but a little stark and not particularly homely. It was an ideal base for exploring the area and thankfully we had done our homework and knew which places we wanted to visit. Unfortunately the Welcome Folder did not contain any information regarding local attractions, or even the nearest supermarket or hospital in case of emergency. One minor irritation was the lack of bedside tables - only one per room, which was surprising given the house sleeps six. On a positive note, a couple of issues we reported to the housekeeper were resolved within 24 hours, for which we were very grateful.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your lovely review David and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We always welcome constructive feedback, thank you very much. We look forward to you booking with us again soon.

Fine overall but not a luxury stay

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Benson Cottage is tricky to review. On the surface of it there’s little to complain about. It’s a well presented new Cotswold stone house in a pretty location. The pictures are completely accurate. It really depends what you’re looking for. If it’s a good quality base to explore the Cotswolds from and you’re just after modern, clean and simple base Benson cottage is perfectly good. However, for us the quality and luxury of the house is a big part of the holiday. I feared upon booking it might be a little sterile and, frankly, it is - there’s a soulless and empty feel to it. Beyond that we were also surprised at the quality of some fixtures and fittings and furnishing, thought it was lacking in a few key items and the garden is both empty and could be better maintained (lots of weeds). Overall the house is perfectly fine but probably not one for you if you’re looking for a luxury holiday stay.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes



StayCotswold replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave Benson Cottage a review. Your review is valued and well noted and we would agree that our photos of the cottage and description accurately represent the holiday home. We are pleased to hear you found the location a great base to explore from and hope many other guests will also enjoy this aspect. Warm wishes, The Team at StayCotswold

Luxury Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a week at Benson Cottage in Paxford. The house was clean, modern and had some lovely touches. The standard of the kitchen, bathrooms and overall accommodation is excellent. “Starter essentials” such as dishwasher tablets, toilet rolls, soap etc were all provided which was very welcome. There is adequate parking in front of and to the rear of the property. I would definitely recommend this house to others.

Would you recommend StayCotswold to a friend?
Yes