FB Twitter

Old Pear Tree Barn

Old Pear Tree Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Relax and enjoy the character and comfort of Old Pear Tree Barn nestling amongst the Cornish countryside within easy reach of the coastline and beaches.

Cornwall’s hidden gem - Our perfect stay at the Old Pear Tree Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Old Pear Tree Barn in December for a week and we honestly couldn’t have imagined a more perfect place to stay! After a very stressful year we desperately needed a little break to recharge our batteries and the Old Pear Tree Barn over-exceeded our expectations. The location is simply stunning and incredibly peaceful and the whole cottage is so beautifully done and tastefully furnished that it appears impossible not to relax. The sitting room upstairs with the lovely views over the fields was so inviting and cosy, you can easily spend your entire day up there. The layout of the cottage is very unusual, but in a good way, we absolutely loved it. The underfloor heating in wintertime is a real treat when you get up in the morning and make your coffee in the well equipped kitchen. Both bedrooms are beautifully decorated and the views out of the main bedroom are simply gorgeous to wake up to. We can only imagine how incredible this place must be in summertime when you can make full use of the spacious pretty garden and the big balcony. Our lovely hosts Simon and Sue live just next door and have been so welcoming and helpful, thank you once more. We honestly can’t recommend the Old Pear Tree Barn enough and we will surely return regularly.



Beautiful place

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic short break. Fantastic location, pretty short walk to the beach across the fields. You will need wellies or walking boots! We will definitely be visiting again. Complete peace and quiet :)



Glorious Location and Luxury, A+ Clean, well appointed Accommodation and Grounds.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 2 lovely weeks at Old Pear Tree Barn, despite having some poor weather in October 2020.

There was a welcome Hamper with some delicious Cornish Goodies, and a fridge with Milk, Bacon, Eggs, Sausage, Mushrooms and Tomatoes..Plus Tea Bags, Coffee, Scones, Jam and Cornish Clotted Cream, with a loaf of Bread and some Cornish Butter....so we were OK for the evening, and didn’t need to find any shops that night.

There is a local little shop in Cubert, a fish and chip shop, and a Morrisons a few miles away for a larger shop.

The local Inn...the Smugglers Den Inn serves food too..which is a short walk back up the Lane, (but we called them first for info, or looked at the Smugglers Den Inn website due to Covid restrictions)..

The Barn was well equipped, tastefully furnished and everything was in excellent working order,...Towels, Hairdryer, Iron etc all provided, and as we went during the Covid 19 period (Oct 20) we felt reassured that all was clean and guidelines for holiday lettings adhered to...there were also instructions regarding Laundry etc, Sanitisers, and Anti Bacterial Cleaning materials.

Completely private grounds at the end of a Lane, with only 3 other properties...Large gravelled parking area...not over looked, with a gorgeous view of fields, hills and sheep....there was a Balcony (as it’s an upside down Barn...so the Lounge is upstairs with French Doors onto a Wooden Balcony)..which gave us some lovely evening sunsets. the Balustrade is a clear glass, so even sitting in the Lounge, your view is unhindered.

Our little dog Darcey loved her holiday too....There was a Dog Bed she could use, some towels, and a large garden she loved to run about in...and a welcome bowl of water ready for when she jumped out of the car, the heating was on, some welcoming lights were on too...these are the details that make a property stand out above the rest.

Underfloor heating was wonderful, upstairs and down, so we were cosy in the evenings... showers all worked perfectly, with loads of hot water on demand.

There was Sky TV, a good internet connection (the password etc is there for you) ....but phone signal is poor....(we are with O2..and our signal was available only standing on Balcony...but the Owner Sue, a lovely lady...informed us of this on our arrival, plus told us she could inform us of any attractions etc, as due to Covid, all the leaflets were removed from the Barn....but WhatsApp was OK when connected to the Internet....so we could keep in touch with family and friends when we wanted to)

Holywell Beach is nearby.....stunning location for a walk....fabulous views.

A lot of Cornwall Car Parks (including Holywell and Boscastle, Penzance etc) are covered by the Justparks App....which is really worth downloading, so you can pay via a credit/debit card....because if you are like us and never have any coins...this is handy to use.

This is a quiet, idyllic Holiday location, the Owners ( Sue and Simon who Love next door) are lovely, they are there if you need them at the drop of a hat....but otherwise invisible...perfect for us!

So all in all...we couldn’t have asked for more, (apart from some better weather, but Old Pear Tree Barn, Sue and Simon, have no control over that!.....but as we chose to stay inside for the odd day or two, due to the rain, we couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay cosy in)

We wouldn’t hesitate to book Old Pear Tree Barn again, for our next Cornish Holiday....Thankyou...xx










A wonderful, peaceful break

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Old Pear Tree Barn is a little gem that we are so glad we found.
Set in beautifully maintained surroundings, the converted barn and piggery was a home-from-home. Clean, beautifully decorated with thoughtful touches like fresh flowers and a delightful hamper of local supplies, Old Pear Tree Barn was a a wonderful, relaxing holiday stay which all our family members thoroughly enjoyed.




Simply Stunning!

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have recently returned from a very relaxing week at Old Pear Tree Barn with our three dogs and can’t wait to return! The location was perfect for us, with a pub at the end of the lane and only a gentle stroll through fields and shaded woods to the beach (which is dog friendly all year round)..... and the stunning garden where we drank our morning coffee, and spent warm relaxing afternoons with a glass of wine ...... pure bliss! We could easily have not used our car for the whole week as the property provides everything you could possibly need (and so much more), and as such we felt extremely comfortable, safe and relaxed. The very thoughtful owners, Simon and Sue kindly left us an amazing welcome basket with delicious fresh bread, cheese and scones, jam and cream (not to mention some very lovely wine and other local produce!) which was very much appreciated and just adds to the special draw of this place. We would highly recommend this beautiful property without any hesitation and have already booked to return again next year.



Fabulous Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband, dog, and I stayed here for a week and it was just the escape we needed. The pictures don’t give it justice - the cottage is truly spectacular, cozy, and spacious. We really appreciated the amazing welcome basket and the care they took in preparing for our stay in the crazy COVID times we are living in. We felt secluded yet a lovely pub is only a ten minute walk away, while a gorgeous beach is about a 35 minute walk away. We have so many great memories from just relaxing in the beautiful garden. We hope to return again - this place is a gem.



Best kept secret

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth stay, what a great hide away.
Sue & Simon are great owners, who really care that you have a great holiday.
Looking forward to our fifth visit




Our amazing little slice of heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Susan and Simon left no stone unturned with regards to our stay, we could not find fault . Cant wait to re visit



A fantastic property in a great location with excellent facilities and in great condition

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simon and Sue were very welcoming and helpful. The property was lovely and had everything that we needed - including a few things that we hadn’t thought of!
The location worked well for us and the setting is absolutely beautiful. It was very relaxing, cosy and quiet.
We will be returning soon!




A wonderful place!

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks at The Old Pear Tree Barn and can honestly say it was one of our best holidays ever & we have travelled extensively! The barn itself is adorable and Sue & Simon have not scrimped on decor. Everything you need is provided and it’s the little touches that make a stay here special. Only downside for us was the nearest beach was a bit of a trek by foot so we had to drive but if you want to explore Cornwall it’s a great base.



Lovely relaxing stay at Old Pear Tree Barn - highly recommend!

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely relaxing stay. Very comfortable and clean with beautiful garden :) would happily return!



Beautiful house in lovely surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very comfortable stay in this lovely property. The surroundings are peaceful and quiet, and the garden is extensive and provided with loungers-very rare in British properties!
The house itself is immaculate, and furnished to a very high standard-towels and linen first class. The main bedroom has ample storage space for clothes, and overlooks the garden with doors out on to a patio. The ensuite bathroom is well-equipped, with a bath and shower and useful shelving.

The kitchen is modern and equipped with every convenience, and was a pleasure to cook in! Nothing had been overlooked in the way of utensils, pots and pans, crockery, glasses and cleaning materials.


The upstairs lounge is a haven of comfort, with glorious views over the countryside, and a balcony with table and chairs - ideal for tea!


The owners are welcoming and friendly, and make sure that your stay is trouble-free.




Another fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 4th stay at Old Pear Tree, and it is just as wonderful as ever.
Cottage is perfect, beautifully furnished with a superbly fitted kitchen, with a stunning garden and terrace, all set in a fantastic tranquil and peaceful location, only 20mins walk from Holywell Bay, and with easy access to the fantastic Crantock Beach.
Simon and Sue can't do enough to help.
We cannot recommend this cottage enough.




Second visit

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent again! Very comfortable accommodation, feels like home (wish it was) fantastic garden for our 2 boxer dogs, thank you very much. We will be back soon.