FB Twitter

Gwaun Cottage

Gwaun Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Gwaun is a detached, single storey former hay barn with glorious views extending across the Teifi Valley to the Preseli Hills beyond. It sleeps 2 people in 1 double bedroom, accommodation is all on one level which may suit guests with limited mobility.

Peace in the Welsh countryside……

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very clean, well equipped and comfortable retreat, the accommodation has been thoughtfully restored to give modern amenities yet period character. Cardigan with it’s abundance of eateries and coffee shops, together with the castle, and the fabulous coast are within very easy reach. The landscaping at Gwaun and the other cottages - and the amazing sculptured tree trunk - is truly splendid. This is an ideal place to relax and recharge your batteries.




Yvonne Davies replied 41 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Holiday in Wales

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Oct 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well equipped and in a good location to explore that part of Wales. Have stayed here before and would thoroughly recommend.



Yvonne Davies replied 55 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

Quiet and secluded

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the cottage to be well appointed and clean - all the items we required were available. There was a washing machine in the cottage, with a separate laundry including tumble drier at extra cost - we didn't need this. The owner introduced herself and was available if required.



Our Wales holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was superb, very clean and well maintained. Our only disappointment was that we didn’t realise it was so far away from pubs and restaurants. Also getting a takeaway to deliver was more or less impossible.
Otherwise the location was good to get to places like the Garden of Wales, Newquay and Carmarthen.




Simply stunning

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gwaun Cottage is presented beautifully, it is absolutely immaculate . The facilities here superb. Very comfortable and great facilities on site including games room , utility room , large field area . The location is also fantastic , we went to a different place each day and walked many miles of both the Ceredigion and Pembrokeshire Coastal path .We have just returned from a week and are already looking to book again . Thank you to Yvonne and Howell for providing such a welcoming and stunning retreat.



Gwaun Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay here, so much so we've already booked for next year.

The location is beautiful and so quiet.




Yvonne Davies replied 97 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Kind regards, Yvonne

Much needed break

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a gem of a place ! We finally arrived after postponing twice before and we couldn't of been happier to find the total peace, quiet and relaxation we needed.
We will return for sure and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to family and friends .




Serene holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Penwern Fach holiday cottages are set in idyllic surroundings. Their presentation is excellent with attention to detail. The grounds are tended to a high standard with beautiful flowers. Loved Gwaun Cottage, it was spacious, well equipped, with lovely decor. We felt totally relaxed during our stay, slept better than ever. Yvonne was friendly and helpful, without being intrusive. Days out were amazing, included boat trip from Gwbert, we saw lots of dolphins and seals. Our favourite beach was Mwnt beach, which also has a pretty coastal walk. We will definitely be returning, thank you.



July stay

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an excellent cottage and setting, the cottage was clinically clean and well equipped for our stay. The gardens and surrounding area were well maintained and I would highly recommend. The area is quiet and peaceful, yet quite central to the many visitor sites in the area, quite an enjoyable week backed by glorious weather.



Nice break near the coast

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Gwaun Cottage which is conveniently placed only 15 minutes for the lovely beaches at Tresaith, Aperporth, Mwnt, Penbryn and Llangannog (some narrow roads).



Summer days

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at (our) country cottage. As usual there was a warm welcome and immediately felt at home. Beautiful setting with all the garden in bloom. Spent time on Pop Sands beach, Cenarth Falls and generally had a lovely restful time with our dog who just loves the space to play fetch. Could not wish for a better place to rest and enjoy the simple pleasures of life.



Beautiful

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic three nights at Gwaun Cottage......
The cottage had everything we needed and it was immaculately clean. It was so peaceful and quiet...... just perfect !
The location was great as there was plenty of places to visit in the surrounding area without having to travel too far.
Our only disappointment was that the cottage was only available for three nights.....we would have loved to stay longer.
We would definitely recommend Gwaun Cottage as a fantastic place to stay




Weeks stay at Gwaun cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much Yvonne and Howel for providing us with the most fabulous cottage to stay in,Lee, myself and our little dog Harley had simply the best time.
The cottage was just beautiful, spotlessly clean, superbly equipped, and everything we could have asked for for to give us the perfect vacation.
Located in such a beautiful area, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and hope to see you all soon.... Thank you




Lovely weekend break

Review submitted on Thu, 13 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cottage. Yvonne the owner was so nice and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The cottage was the cleanest I have ever been to and very nicely presented. Lovely grounds and very peaceful. Would highly recommend.



Highly recommend

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit, different cottage. Spotlessly clean and well maintained to very high standard. Very cosy and warm, well equipped kitchen. Good size bathroom and bedroom. Yvonne gives a warm welcome and excellent service, always available if anything needed. Very impressed with Covid safe conditions. Beautiful area, and set in lovely grounds. Can’t wait to return with some of our family when pandemic allows.



Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, stylish cottage. Warm and comfortable and very well equipped. Had a really enjoyable stay.



Very friendly and well located

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in excellent condition. Good location for exploring the coast and local area. Great local restaurants in driving distance .




Loved every minute of our stay and hope to return soon.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our cottage ticked all the right boxes. It was immaculate, extremely clean. The interior was just beautiful. If we could have stayed longer we would have.  The location is quiet and peaceful with beautiful countryside surroundings as well as in close driving distance to all amenities, gorgeous beaches, beautiful villages and towns and mountains. Our host made us feel very welcome and gave us some great tips about the area. We had a lovely time and hope to visit again soon.



Gwaun Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very impressive no expense Spared with Fixtures and fittings the others will have to be good really good to match this.
Very peaceful spot to stay.
Good for dogs with nice big field for them to run in, good for getting about that part of Wales.

Thank you,

Regards

John & Brenda




July 2020 stay Gwaun Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Wife and I spent a lovely relaxing week in the glorious Ceredigion countryside with short drives to Cardigan Bays various beaches and other attractions.
The cottage was great and finished to a very high standard. It must be good as my Wife said "I could live here".
The gardens and grounds are also kept to a high standard.
The owners Yvonne and Howell are really lovely people.
Whats not to enjoy?




Happy safe holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very happy stay again. Will hope to be back next year. It’s home from home for us especially as we both have to be extra careful about Corona virus and this seemed to cover all that could be expected.



Chocolate box setting, just perfect for a much needed break

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
To arrive in March and see such a beautiful array of flowers, was just so welcoming. The host appeared not long after we arrived, she explained everything and then left us to it. She did explain where she was if we had any questions or need anything, that suited us well. The cottage was perfect for the two of us and the dog. It was all well kept and clean, with clear instructions left in the building.
Only negative was the fact the dog wasn't allowed in the bedroom, as this is where we would normally keep her crate. Having to house it in the open living area, made it tight and our dog prefers to be out of the way in the evening. Still we managed fine.
The location was good, not far to get any where. We enjoyed some great works and good food nearby.
We would definitely go back again.




Lovely place for a quiet family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely and equipped with everything required to make your stay as pleasant as you can wish for a peaceful getaway in the countryside. We had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend it.



Excellent Holiday Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was excellent, both for ourselves and the dog. Everything we needed was provided and easily found. Views from the cottage were lovely, and our hosts friendly and efficient. Certainly qualified for the 5* rating



A week at Gwaun Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Gwaun cottage to be more than expected. It was in a beautiful setting, we were welcomed warmly by Yvonne, the cottage was beautifully laid out, spotlessly clean,modernised sympathetically and a perfect base for the week



Beautiful !!

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely recently refurbished cottage in quiet and relaxing surroundings but with plenty to do and see in the local area.
Cottage was well equipped and furnished to a very high standard and we received a very warm welcome.
We are looking forward to returning in the not too distant future.




Premier Cottage : Gwaun Cottage , Penwern-Fach-Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Accommodation, Cleansiness were both good.
Location remote. There no safe walks or access to local facilities from the site without using the car.

Felt there was too many notices stuck on walls saying what you can and not do.
( Would have been better if these notices were stored in the holiday brochure ).

Garden was given as being enclosed but there was gaps in the fencing which allowed a Spaniel to climb through, the owners did temporarily cover up these gaps after the problem was mentioned.

The item which did annoyed me was a notice of the following
‘ Please ensure the cottage is left in a clean and tidy condition when you leave to avoid a cleaning charge ‘ .







A very homely, quiet and comfortable cottage in a beautiful part of Wales.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very happy with our 'home from home' at Penwern Fach, near Cenarth.
Everything in the cottage seemed high spec and was in excellent condition.
The cottage is in a very quiet location, surrounded by fields and is a short drive from Cenarth.
The only reason I didn't give top marks for location was that it wasn't feasible to walk to a pub or restaurant, but in reality that didn't bother us once we were settled, and were were happy to spend most of the evenings at the cottage.
We intended to use the swimming facilities down the road at Cenarth holiday park, but we never found time as there were so many places to visit in the area. We particularly enjoyed visiting Aberporth, Llangranog (best beach), Mwnt (great beach and hill walk), Laugharne (best castle, and great walk near coast), St. Davids (great cathedral and superb boat trip to Ramsey Island to observe wildlife including seals), and also enjoyed Aberporth, Newport, Fishguard and Newcastle Emlyn.





Probably the best holiday cottage we have stayed in and we have stayed in many.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb cottage. Stunning flowers in the beds by the patio were a great welcome and it only got better. Gwaun is a real 'home from home'.
Spacious, very well equipped, good lighting, comfortable bed, chairs and sofa, efficient shower and visually appealing. We really could not fault it which is quite a rare occurrence for me!
Gwaun cottage is well situated with stunning views. We found plenty of places to visit within short distances which made the holiday even more relaxing.




Tranquil location

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a peaceful stay at Penwern Fach Cottages. Myself , My wife plus our dog stayed in Gwaun Cottage , which was set on a well maintained grounds ,with beautiful views looking over the country side.
We wanted to have a brake from a busy lifestyle , so we were looking for somewhere we could have a quite break but also somewhere we could take our dog on some nice walks.
Penwern Fach Cottages is situated in a ideal location to travel to beaches, small villages & towns.
The owners were very helpful, looking forward to going back in September.




Perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Gwaun Cottage for 3 nights over Easter. We cannot fault it! It couldn't have been cleaner, more comfortable or better equipped. The owner was very welcoming, helpful and friendly.
The location is peaceful and beautiful!
We would highly recommend this cottage.




Cosy and clean

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have recently returned from a stay at Gwaun cottage. A lovely, cosy cottage which was cleaned to a very high standard and lots of character. The cottage was in good range of lots of local attractions and activities. We enjoyed a visit to cardigan, folly farm and the local health spa during our stay. We'll definitely be back!



Yvonne Davies replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Gwaun cottage - I'm really glad you enjoyed your break with us in West Wales and look forward to seeing you again.