FB Twitter

Gwaun Cottage

Gwaun Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
91% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.9
Location
4.5
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Gwaun is a detached, single storey former hay barn with glorious views extending across the Teifi Valley to the Preseli Hills beyond. It sleeps 2 people in 1 double bedroom, accommodation is all on one level which may suit guests with limited mobility.

Chocolate box setting, just perfect for a much needed break

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
To arrive in March and see such a beautiful array of flowers, was just so welcoming. The host appeared not long after we arrived, she explained everything and then left us to it. She did explain where she was if we had any questions or need anything, that suited us well. The cottage was perfect for the two of us and the dog. It was all well kept and clean, with clear instructions left in the building.
Only negative was the fact the dog wasn't allowed in the bedroom, as this is where we would normally keep her crate. Having to house it in the open living area, made it tight and our dog prefers to be out of the way in the evening. Still we managed fine.
The location was good, not far to get any where. We enjoyed some great works and good food nearby.
We would definitely go back again.




Lovely place for a quiet family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely and equipped with everything required to make your stay as pleasant as you can wish for a peaceful getaway in the countryside. We had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend it.



Excellent Holiday Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was excellent, both for ourselves and the dog. Everything we needed was provided and easily found. Views from the cottage were lovely, and our hosts friendly and efficient. Certainly qualified for the 5* rating



A week at Gwaun Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Gwaun cottage to be more than expected. It was in a beautiful setting, we were welcomed warmly by Yvonne, the cottage was beautifully laid out, spotlessly clean,modernised sympathetically and a perfect base for the week



Beautiful !!

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely recently refurbished cottage in quiet and relaxing surroundings but with plenty to do and see in the local area.
Cottage was well equipped and furnished to a very high standard and we received a very warm welcome.
We are looking forward to returning in the not too distant future.




Premier Cottage : Gwaun Cottage , Penwern-Fach-Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Accommodation, Cleansiness were both good.
Location remote. There no safe walks or access to local facilities from the site without using the car.

Felt there was too many notices stuck on walls saying what you can and not do.
( Would have been better if these notices were stored in the holiday brochure ).

Garden was given as being enclosed but there was gaps in the fencing which allowed a Spaniel to climb through, the owners did temporarily cover up these gaps after the problem was mentioned.

The item which did annoyed me was a notice of the following
‘ Please ensure the cottage is left in a clean and tidy condition when you leave to avoid a cleaning charge ‘ .







A very homely, quiet and comfortable cottage in a beautiful part of Wales.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very happy with our 'home from home' at Penwern Fach, near Cenarth.
Everything in the cottage seemed high spec and was in excellent condition.
The cottage is in a very quiet location, surrounded by fields and is a short drive from Cenarth.
The only reason I didn't give top marks for location was that it wasn't feasible to walk to a pub or restaurant, but in reality that didn't bother us once we were settled, and were were happy to spend most of the evenings at the cottage.
We intended to use the swimming facilities down the road at Cenarth holiday park, but we never found time as there were so many places to visit in the area. We particularly enjoyed visiting Aberporth, Llangranog (best beach), Mwnt (great beach and hill walk), Laugharne (best castle, and great walk near coast), St. Davids (great cathedral and superb boat trip to Ramsey Island to observe wildlife including seals), and also enjoyed Aberporth, Newport, Fishguard and Newcastle Emlyn.





Probably the best holiday cottage we have stayed in and we have stayed in many.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb cottage. Stunning flowers in the beds by the patio were a great welcome and it only got better. Gwaun is a real 'home from home'.
Spacious, very well equipped, good lighting, comfortable bed, chairs and sofa, efficient shower and visually appealing. We really could not fault it which is quite a rare occurrence for me!
Gwaun cottage is well situated with stunning views. We found plenty of places to visit within short distances which made the holiday even more relaxing.




Tranquil location

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a peaceful stay at Penwern Fach Cottages. Myself , My wife plus our dog stayed in Gwaun Cottage , which was set on a well maintained grounds ,with beautiful views looking over the country side.
We wanted to have a brake from a busy lifestyle , so we were looking for somewhere we could have a quite break but also somewhere we could take our dog on some nice walks.
Penwern Fach Cottages is situated in a ideal location to travel to beaches, small villages & towns.
The owners were very helpful, looking forward to going back in September.




Perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Gwaun Cottage for 3 nights over Easter. We cannot fault it! It couldn't have been cleaner, more comfortable or better equipped. The owner was very welcoming, helpful and friendly.
The location is peaceful and beautiful!
We would highly recommend this cottage.




Cosy and clean

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have recently returned from a stay at Gwaun cottage. A lovely, cosy cottage which was cleaned to a very high standard and lots of character. The cottage was in good range of lots of local attractions and activities. We enjoyed a visit to cardigan, folly farm and the local health spa during our stay. We'll definitely be back!



Yvonne Davies replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Gwaun cottage - I'm really glad you enjoyed your break with us in West Wales and look forward to seeing you again.