FB Twitter

The Great Hall, Dollarbeg Castle

The Great Hall, Dollarbeg Castle

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


**New for 2019**

Welcome to The Great Hall, Dollarbeg Castle...the perfect way to explore Scotland

This 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom apartment is the beautifully converted former Great Hall of Dollarbeg Castle, now available to rent for short or long breaks. The Great Hall benefits from its own entrance, driveway and parking area and shares 3 acres of formal gardens and woodland that surround the castle. Only 30 minutes from Edinburgh and 40 minutes from Glasgow, with easy access to Loch Lomond and the world-class golf courses of Gleneagles & St. Andrews it has everything you need for a special break.

Excellent accomodation in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really comfortable stay in accommodation that appears to lack nothing and is well prepared. A handy welcome basket with initial grocery requirements. Just needs the ability to create good weather for the target dates to make it perfect!
Julie very helpful over confirming processes and answering any queries.




We never wanted to leave!! Amazing place!

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! What a place. We reluctantly left the wonderful Great Hall on the morning of check out, following an absolutely fabulous stay. Thank you SO SO much to Andrew, Karen and Julie for not only making our stay possible during such challenging times with covid-19 affecting current life, but for making my Fiance's 40th birthday so special.
From the point of booking, Andrew was on hand answering the million questions I had, whether it was to do with parking/transport into Edinburgh, or arranging some 40th birthday decorations in the Great Hall prior to our arrival - nothing was too much trouble, super fast responses and so kind and thoughtful overall!

We were welcomed with the most amazing food hamper, including eggs, bread, milk, cheese, crackers, ground coffee and the most yummy shortbread and rock road treats to top it off! Thank you!
During what has been a stressful time for my Fiancé and I, Dollarbeg Castle and the surrounding area and village provided us with a much needed, relaxing break, a real breath of fresh air! We explored Dollar Glen and the rolling mountains located just behind the castle in Dollar itself.

The Great Hall was peaceful, clean, relaxing and comfortable with literally everything you could possibly need, to enjoy your stay, it was like a home from home and more!

We will most definitely be recommending Dollarbeg Castle, the Great Hall, Andrew, Karen and Julie to all of our friends, family and beyond! We ourselves will hopefully be back one day in the near future.

Thanks SO much again!
Best wishes, Abi & Mark




Amazing place with beautiful views of the mountains

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful stay at The Great Hall, the apartment is extremely well equipped, very comfortable and spacious. Kitchen has everything you could wish for including spices, olive oil, laundry detergent etc. There are games, books, tourist information and a tv with Netflix. Lovely surroundings, good beds, all very clean and pleasant. Friendly welcome by the host. We enjoyed the hills around the Dollar glen for a long walk.



Glorious comfort

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the most excellent 3 nights here in the midst of storms. For a huge room, the Great Hall stays cosy and warm all the time, even when it is snowing and blowing a hoolie outside. It has an excellent range of cooking and baking equipment in the kitchen and the telly was a wonder of all kinds of movies, music, anything that you could need.
We went with our 2 kids and, as there was only a double bed in the other room, Andrew suggested we use a pop up tent for my son, so he had his own space. The boy loved it, camping inside a castle will be a memory he will keep with him always.
Truly wonderful place to stay.




The Great Hall

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place to stay. The Great Hall is definitely a must to stay in. Every detail within was to an exceptional standard.
The owners have ticked all the right boxes and more to make your stay something special. . From the welcome hamper to the toiletries every detail was just perfect. It was a joy to look at the views over the well kept gardens and views beyond. Peaceful and relaxing in comfort plus what more could you ask for. Thank you for allowing us to share such a lovely special place.




A piece of paradise on earth!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dollarbeg Castle is an absolutely stunning place! There I found the peace and quiet I was craving, in a beautiful setting. A very special mention to Julie and her wonderful welcome basket. And the bed is very, very, very comfortable!



Spectacular and Spacious

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here with my boyfriend and a couple friends for three nights. We all agreed that the time spent there was well worth it! The place suited all 4 of us very comfortably. I highly recommend this place!
We appreciated the welcome basket and other goodies. (:




A lovely autumn/winter week away

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Great Hall is a beautifully maintained and decorated holiday home that is superbly equipped (anywhere that has 3 ways of making coffee has my vote!). The views from the living area are wonderful, we woke up to snow on the hills one morning which was lovely to see. The bedrooms and beds are very comfortable. It was cooler downstairs (it was November) but it didn’t take long to warm up once the heating was boosted.
The directions to the property were excellent and Julie (who met us) was very friendly and professional.
The walks in the guest information and all the guide books were very useful.
Dollar is a lovely village with a good number of independent shops (particularly the butchers/greengrocers and the deli).




A stunning luxury castle apartment in a perfect location. Absolutely loved our time here.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful time. Beautiful, luxurious apartment. Exceeded all expectations. Highly recommended.



What a fantastic place

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a real privilege to stay at Dollarbeg. We had a wonderful stay. The interior is real quality and very well supplied, we took plenty of pictures of the rooms themselves ! The castle is lovely too and the location is handy with Dollar close nearby. We also had some lovely walks but were not so lucky with the weather but still braved it.



Dollarbeg Review

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super location in an extremely characterfull property. Everything in the property is of the highest quality. Highly recommend this apartment and would definitely stay again.



Scottish dream came true!

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family were interested in seeing the Scottish countryside and connecting with our heritage. We did it in style at the Dollarbeg Castle. The castle has been divided into ten separate units. My family was thrilled to be staying in a castle. The unit was spacious and very comfortable for our family of four.



Dollarbeg Castle Flat

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A excellent flat for a stay in Schottland as a starting point to Edinburgh but also to the highlands
I can heartily recommend this flat




A Touch of Luxury

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Dollarbeg after finding it on the Knockhill web page. They were suggesting a variety of places to stay close to the race circuit, and after reading the information about Dollarbeg we couldn't believe our luck at finding such an outstanding place to stay so close to the racing. What a happy find. The location is fantastic as it commands excellent views towards the small town of Dollar. There is plenty of parking close to your own private entrance to the castle apartment. Inside the layout is upside down which allows you to enjoy maximum views from the huge lounge window over the neighbouring countryside. We were greeted by the house keeper, at a pre-arranged time, who made us feel very welcome. The apartment is extremely well equipped to a very high standard, with numerous unexpected bonus features (one being the beautiful welcome basket of mixed goodies!) We have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.



Over the pond group

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Much more than we expected the complement food basket was a nice surprise. They also brought over some sweets witch we all loved. You won't stay in a nicer place!



A great place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything was just perfect. Would definitely recommend a stay here. A really well maintained place.



Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was more than we had expected! Gorgeous grounds, wonderful apartment, lovely stay! Julie was delightful and we loved the gift basket they left for us. Can't wait to go back!



Terrific 25th Anniversary Getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed at Dollarbeg Castle for 3 nights for what was a celebration of our 25th anniversary, as well as a little golf outing for myself (40 miles to St Andrews). We had a tremendous time and found the property to be a fabulous blend of old world meets modern amenities. The apartment appears to have been entirely renovated, providing exquisite appointments throughout with all the comforts of home, much more than we expected or have ever found in the traditional AirBnB experience. The Great Hall was truly grand and made for fantastic relaxation and dining with scenic views out large windows, while also providing us with a fully equipped and large kitchen, in which it appears nothing has been forgotten. The bedrooms and baths were sufficiently large and well appointed as well, with terrific decor throughout.

The property is located just up a hill from the quaint town of Dollar, which you can access via car, or better yet via the footpath that leads out of the property and down through a wooded area to the town below. We encountered loads of other footpaths up around Dollar Castle (second castle near town) where you can get spectacular views of the valley below The location couldn't be better if you are seeking to see they key sights of Scotland, as it is centrally located between Glasgow, Edinburgh and St Andrews.

Simply put, my family and I will return to this property in the years to come as we found it to be a gem among all the other options we have experienced in our years of travel.




The Great Hall really has the wow factor!

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the sheer scale of the Great Hall itself to the luxury fixtures and fittings and the views to die for from the picture window, this place is something very special.

It proved to be a great base for exploring Scotland in the few days we had, with Edinburgh, Glasgow and Loch Lomond all within easy reach. A real treat was visiting some of the locations where the TV series “Outlander” was filmed, and it doesn’t get better than returning home to your own piece of a Scottish Castle at the end of the day.

The facilities were faultless, from the super comfy beds to the 3 bathrooms (great to have both shower and bath options available) and everything you could possibly need for your stay is provided.

Eating breakfast sitting looking out of the huge picture window across the formal grounds to the Ochil Hills beyond is a real moment to savour and remember.

We feel so lucky to have found this place, it made our holiday very special and we will be telling people about it for a long while to come.

We just wish we could have stayed longer and will certainly return.




The Great Hall, Dollarbeg - Great place to stay, in a great setting, in a great area!

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As soon as we arrived at The Great Hall, Dollarbeg, our holiday really took off. We received a warm welcome, in person and by way of a welcome hamper - basics and some local treats - lovely.
The Great Hall lives up to its name, providing a beautifully equipped haven to escape the hustle and bustle whilst in an ideal location for sightseeing, walking etc.
The accommodation had everything we could have wished for, and then some! All of exceptional quality and comfort.
The kitchen is equipped for everything, if you wish to prep and cook a meal or not, this kitchen has it all.
We were looking for a luxurious and comfortable holiday and that is exactly what we had at The Great Hall.

We hope to return.