FB Twitter

Drake's Cottage

Drake's Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Whatever the season, South Coombe Country Cottages, with an indoor pool and games room, make a fab choice for a family holiday or group gathering down in the Devon countryside. The traditional thatched ‘cob’ farmhouse dates back to the 1600’s and the owners have made one family suite for B&B as well as converting the outbuildings into 5 contemporary cottages for families of 3 to 10, plus babies.

South Coombe is set on the south side of a wooded valley, with 15 acres of outdoor space to fill up on fresh country air. Dogs are welcome in all but Orchard Cottage but owners should be aware of the free ranging chickens and Jemima Puddleducks waddling up from the duck ponds. A play area has a climbing frame, slide and swings or children can burn off energy playing ball games on the lawns, then flop down for a picnic in the old cider orchard. All the cottages also have their own garden or lawned area where little ones can safely play under the watchful eyes of parents as they relax and admire the views or sizzle up something for supper on the BBQ (not supplied but owners welcome to bring).

Sunny or not, the indoor pool is a highlight at South Coombe, with its vaulted, oak-beamed ceiling, loads of light pouring through big windows and French doors onto a sheltered, south-facing terrace. The 10x5m pool is a constant depth of 1.2 metres and kept comfortably warm, even for babies and toddlers to take the plunge with parents. For the under five’s there is a tumble room packed full of fun activities overlooking the pool and the most frazzled grown-ups can unwind in the heat of a Finnish sauna. Adjacent to the pool, a games room makes a great hangout for teenagers and fun family tournaments of table tennis, table football and pool.

From the beautiful conversion of the hayloft and stables, to a Scandinavian-style transformation of the original cart house, each of the five cottages has its own character but all share the same high standards of cosy, contemporary interiors. All of the cottages have open plan living spaces, designer kitchens and luxury bathrooms, as well as original features including timber beams, barn doors and log burners in Tilly’s, Drakes and Saffi’s Cottages. All of the cottages also have great views over South Coombe to the lush and leafy countryside beyond. A Devon Cream Tea on arrival makes a sweet start to any stay and the owners can also supply eggs from their free range hens, organic bread and fresh French pastries, warm and delicious from their AGA.

Accommodation overview

South Coombe comprises 2-bedroom Jonquil Cottage (3+baby), 2-bedroom Drake’s Cottage (4+baby) and 3-bedroom Saffi’s Cottage (5+baby), Tilly’s Cottage (6+baby) and Orchard Cottage (6+baby). Drakes Cottage and Tilly’s Cottage are connected by an internal hallway and can be booked as one (Tike’s Cottage) for 10+babies. A family suite (3+baby) is also available in the farmhouse for B&B.

Drake’s Cottage is a smart and spacious home from home for a family of four + baby. The ground floor is an open plan living space where children can snuggle into the sofas to watch TV and DVD’s by a woodburner, while grown-ups play Masterchef in the designer kitchen or linger over coffee at the dining table. French doors lead to an outdoor dining patio with outside furniture and a large lawned garden where little ones can play out under the watchful eyes of parents. On the first floor, one spacious double bedroom has lovely views over the duck ponds and the second bedroom has full size bunk beds with space for a cot. The luxury bathroom, with a bath and walk-in double sized shower is also on this floor. Free Wi Fi is available and 1 dog is permitted. An internal hallway between Drakes Cottage and Tilly’s cottage means the two can be booked together for groups of up to 10 people plus babies.

Drakes cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really great location for a relaxing break. Cottage contained everything you could want and was very comfortable.Swimming pool with varying individual time slos is really good idea.
Will be definitely booking again as soon as possible.


Steve from Newport stayed at Drake's Cottage for 5 nights in June 2021


Jo and Paul Group stay May 2021

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just got back from a amazing week away. We were part of a large group and the cottages are perfect.
Pool and games room are great .
Lots of outside space which is great for kids and adults alike.
Cottages have everything you need.
Thank you Simon and Claire and we look forward to seeing you again in October and all of us will be back next year.


Debbie from Maidstone stayed at Drake's Cottage for 9 nights in May 2021


Excellent short family break

Review submitted on Sun, 09 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an excellent stay!
We visited with our 4 year old and 11 month old.
Upon arrival to South Coombe Country Cottages we were instantly welcomed on arrival by Simon, who made us feel at home immediately.
The complex has fantastic facilities: a lovely large pool, 2 outdoor play areas an indoor ‘tots’ room, a games room with table football, pool table and a table tennis table. Not to mention the animals and the small petting area with rabbits and guinea pigs which our 4 year old loved!
Plenty of brilliant small extra touches like delivery of fresh pastries and baby proofing to name but a few.
Sorry to be leaving but will be back! Thanks again to Simon and the Clarke family.


Paul from Oldbury stayed at Drake's Cottage for 4 nights in May 2021


Perfect staycation!

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South Coombe is a lovely relaxing place, so close to the moors and lots of walking options in the beautiful countryside. The indoor pool is lovely and warm and the sauna is perfect in winter. The cottage itself has everything you need and more, including a lovely log burner and all the furnishings look new. The smart TV and roll top bath complete the picture. Perfect stay, thank you and we will definitely be back!

Guest from stayed at Drake's Cottage for 10 nights in December 2020


Loved our stay - again!

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our second time at South Coombe and yet again a fabulous stay. Great for kids and adults alike.

Rachel from Cheltenham stayed at Drake's Cottage for 3 nights in October 2020


Short review 25/09/20

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent for families with everything on-site swimming pool, ducks, pets chickens etc. Comfortable accommodations. Covid-19 considerations were in place throughout South Coombe. Thanks

Susan from Aldershot stayed at Drake's Cottage for 4 nights in September 2020


A lovely week in Devon

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have really enjoyed our stay in Drakes cottage and were particularly pleased with the surroundings. Our one year old daughter loved visiting the animals everyday and we made good use of the pool - the new rota system because of COVID worked really well.
The cottage was clean and comfortable, although it would have been useful to have slightly more cutlery and crockery as we found we needed to wash up regularly in between putting the dishwasher on. The duvet on the double bed wasn’t appropriate for the season as it was a thick winter quilt in the heat of summer. In the end we bought a cheap lighter tog one from Tesco.
Overall we had a lovely stay and would definitely consider returning to South Coombe for future holidays in Devon.


Emily from Milton Keynes stayed at Drake's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


A lovely place to stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week staying in Drakes cottage. A cosy cottage perfect for a family of 4 set in a quiet and charming country backdrop. The swimming pool was great and the kids loved feeding the animals.

Peter from Cheltenham stayed at Drake's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Last Minute Get Away.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Drakes Cottage for 4 nights over the 1/2 Term Break. I just knew that the cottage and the facilities were going to be great because of the quick responses and information provided beforehand from the owners, Simon and Clair. Although the weather was awful this week the cottage was warm, cosy and super comfortable with everything we needed.
The kids loved the swimming pool and games room which was well used because of the terrible weather that week. My 11 year old daughter adored the animals which they are allowed to feed and stroke.
Simon was very helpful and a great host, alway on hand with any advice and help if needed. The morning delivery of fresh bread and croissants was a fantastic touch. The local pub serves great food and is very tourist friendly so in all it was a valuable time there and we would definitely recommend and hopefully return in the near future.


Lee from Dubai stayed at Drake's Cottage for 4 nights in February 2020


Perfect for families

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose this cottage because of the swimming pool and tots room as backstops in case of bad weather in February and South Coombe Farm Cottages didn’t disappoint. It’s also in a great location for days out with children such as Tiverton Musuem, playgrounds, Kinghtshayes, the Honey Farm. We will definitely be back.

Jenny from Camborne stayed at Drake's Cottage for 6 nights in February 2020


Summer holiday with the kids

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a marvellous time in Drakes cottage. Simon and Claire made us feel very welcome and the cottage and grounds are fantastic. The children were able to explore in a safe and very enjoyable environment and Amy particularly loved throwing the ball for Poppy and chasing her about. She loved the other animals too. The games room and swimming pool were also a massive hit with our son too nd the entire family enjoyed the pool. The pastries in the morning were just delicious, as was the bread. Thank you so much. We will see you again next year!

Frankie from Brentwood stayed at Drake's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was one of 2 cottages we stayed in they are connected by a corridor, this was ideal as we were 10 people and the children enjoyed the freedom of moving between the 2 .The pool was great as were the outside spaces and play equipment. Feeding the rabbits and Guinea pigs was a big hit.We were served cream teas on arrival which was a lovely touch and much appreciated. Thanks to Simon and Clare. We all enjoyed a relaxing family holiday and can't wait to return next year.

Ruth from Caerphilly stayed at Drake's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2019


Easter fun!

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Drake's cottage for Easter and had the best time. The cottage and facilities are brilliant, we were so pleased with the pool and sauna and enjoyed almost exclusive use of these when we were there! Simon and Claire put on an Easter egg hunt on the Sunday which the children thoroughly enjoyed. Our whole family loved all of the animals, feeding and cuddling as many as possible. We also wanted to steal Poppy, she is gorgeous! The fresh scones/bread/eggs were divine, location beautiful and peaceful, cottage cosy and well equipped, hosts absolutely spot on. We can't wait to go back!

Jennifer from Basingstoke stayed at Drake's Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


Fabulous place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect venue for a family weekend away with friends.The accommodation is lovely and the facilities are great for adults and children alike - the quiet and private site also means young kids can run around safely outdoors. Simon and Claire are perfect hosts and the freshly baked croissants, bread and other baked goods are to die for!
We’ll definitely be back.


Hannah from Cardiff stayed at Drake's Cottage for 3 nights in March 2019


Family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 10 and stayed at Tikes Cottage for 3 nights
The owner, Simon, was very welcoming and couldn’t have been more helpful. The accommodation was exactly as advertised.
The children loved the pool, play facilities and animals. We had Sunday lunch at the local pub and that was excellent too.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and will definitely return


Diane from Truro stayed at Drake's Cottage for 3 nights in December 2018


Weekend break

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simon and Claire are amazing hosts, so friendly, hospitable and welcoming. Lots to do, amazing location and we had a fantastic time.
Cant wait to go again! Thank you


Sarah from Romsey stayed at Drake's Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018