FB Twitter

Jonquil Cottage

Jonquil Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.5
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Whatever the season, South Coombe Country Cottages, with an indoor pool and games room, make a fab choice for a family holiday or group gathering down in the Devon countryside. The traditional thatched ‘cob’ farmhouse dates back to the 1600’s and the owners have made one family suite for B&B as well as converting the outbuildings into 5 contemporary cottages for families of 3 to 10, plus babies.

South Coombe is set on the south side of a wooded valley, with 15 acres of outdoor space to fill up on fresh country air. Dogs are welcome in all but Orchard Cottage but owners should be aware of the free ranging chickens and Jemima Puddleducks waddling up from the duck ponds. A play area has a climbing frame, slide and swings or children can burn off energy playing ball games on the lawns, then flop down for a picnic in the old cider orchard. All the cottages also have their own garden or lawned area where little ones can safely play under the watchful eyes of parents as they relax and admire the views or sizzle up something for supper on the BBQ (not supplied but owners welcome to bring).

Sunny or not, the indoor pool is a highlight at South Coombe, with its vaulted, oak-beamed ceiling, loads of light pouring through big windows and French doors onto a sheltered, south-facing terrace. The 10x5m pool is a constant depth of 1.2 metres and kept comfortably warm, even for babies and toddlers to take the plunge with parents. For the under five’s there is a tumble room packed full of fun activities overlooking the pool and the most frazzled grown-ups can unwind in the heat of a Finnish sauna. Adjacent to the pool, a games room makes a great hangout for teenagers and fun family tournaments of table tennis, table football and pool.

From the beautiful conversion of the hayloft and stables, to a Scandinavian-style transformation of the original cart house, each of the five cottages has its own character but all share the same high standards of cosy, contemporary interiors. All of the cottages have open plan living spaces, designer kitchens and luxury bathrooms, as well as original features including timber beams, barn doors and log burners in Tilly’s, Drakes and Saffi’s Cottages. All of the cottages also have great views over South Coombe to the lush and leafy countryside beyond. A Devon Cream Tea on arrival makes a sweet start to any stay and the owners can also supply eggs from their free range hens, organic bread and fresh French pastries, warm and delicious from their AGA.

Accommodation overview

South Coombe comprises 2-bedroom Jonquil Cottage (3+baby), 2-bedroom Drake’s Cottage (4+baby) and 3-bedroom Saffi’s Cottage (5+baby), Tilly’s Cottage (6+baby) and Orchard Cottage (6+baby). Drakes Cottage and Tilly’s Cottage are connected by an internal hallway and can be booked as one (Tike’s Cottage) for 10+babies. A family suite (3+baby) is also available in the farmhouse for B&B.

Jonquil Cottage was originally a hayloft before being transformed into a cosy and romantic bolthole that’s perfect for a couple with a baby and/or toddler. The ground floor is an open plan living space, with a sofa, TV and DVD player, 4-seater dining table and well equipped fitted kitchen. Families can also spill outside to a garden area. On the first floor, Jonquil has two pretty bedrooms tucked under the eaves – one double which leads through to a single room with space for a cot. The bathroom/wc is also on the first floor. Free Wi Fi is available and 1 dog is permitted. Besides being a cottage for self-catering, Jonquil is available on a B&B basis, with continental or cooked breakfast served in the farmhouse.

A wonderful break away

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely great break away from home - just unfortunate the weather was against us. Managed to book into La Petite Bouchée where we had a great meal at a very reasonable price.

June from Exeter stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 3 nights in October 2020


A charming setting

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week at South Coombe in Jonqil Cottage. The cottage was comfortable though on the small side for our family of 3, however the countryside views from the back garden made up for it. We were delighted with the 2 hours daily sessions in the indoor swimming pool after the long walks and drive. A great place to stay with young kids and...great croissants in situ.

Guest from Bromley stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Gave us a much needed break following cancellation of our summer holiday.

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Unfortunately the property did not have any running hot water and this could not be resolved during our four day stay. Maybe this could/should be part of a pre-check of the property. Apart from this we found the cottage comfortable with a wide range of facilities. It was a welcome touch for the owners to leave a cream tea on our arrival.

David from Derby stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 4 nights in September 2020


A Wonderful Place for Rest and Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We Have been to Jonquil several times before and always enjoyed it.

We very much enjoyed the peace, comfort and the swimming pool.

It is not far from our home (50 miles) and is an absolute Godsend.

Bria & Sue Perry


Brian from Bridgwater stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Thank you for a safe and relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third consecutive year staying at South Coombe Country Cottages. We booked at short notice this year due to the current uncertainty with Covid. Having stayed before we knew what to expect with regards to the facilities and were completely reassured by the extra measures Simon and Clare have put in place to keep guests safe. We spent most of our weeks' stay on site enjoying the swimming pool and our three year old daughter loved feeding all the animals. Thank you for a relaxing and much needed chance of scene, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Emma from Sevenoaks stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Debbie from Hythe

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent in every way nothing was to much trouble lovely fresh bread and croissants delivered in a morning

Deborah from Southampton stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 4 nights in March 2020


Great place, perfect getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous stay at South Coombe. Simon was very welcoming and flexible. We loved the on-site activities and happily spent a day swimming, in the games room, on the adventure playground, walking to the stream and in the toddler tumble area. Hot, fresh pastries delivered every morning was a real bonus too! Only feedback would be to have a stairgate at the foot of the stairs (as well as at the top) - they were just too appealing for our 14 month old! Thanks again, we'll be back.

Rachel from Cheltenham stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 3 nights in October 2019


Perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have two boys, 4 and 20 month old and two small dogs. The location was perfect for them all!
Kids loved the pool, animals, jungle gyms, playroom and space. Dogs loved the fields and all the walks they got too. There is lots of yummy baked goods you can order for breakfast and in the evenings once everyone was asleep mum and dad loved being able to catch up on Netflix series and the icecream in the little shop with an honesty box attached to the cottage!
There is a lovely local pub and lots of local beaches and places to go to but we only headed out once to the beach as the location had more than enough to keep everyone busy and happy. Highly recommend this location for a peaceful, relaxed family holiday. See you next year. :)


Lorelei from Bushey stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Summer Hols 2019

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely stay at South Coombes. Jonquil Cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. The facilities were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you

Charlotte from Egham stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Lovely secluded site but with poor country lanes

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cottage with good facilities around the farm: pool, indoor play area and games room; outdoor playgrounds; football goals; ducks, chickens, guinea pigs, rabbits and alpacas. Very lucky with the weather although difficult to stay cool at night with only a few windows upstairs to try to create a flow of air.

The location was secluded which meant we felt our daughter could explore the site alone which was nice. However it did mean that we travelled quite a bit to explore the wider area which did involve a lot of single track country lanes which were poorly maintained.

Witheridge has the bare necessities for the holiday - a couple of shops, pub and a beautiful French style restaurant (la petite bouchee) which I would highly recommend.

If you’re looking for a secluded spot to keep the kids happy, safe and entertained then South Coombe Country Cottages ticks all the boxes.


Mark from Cardiff stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


A wonderful country escape

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in this cosy cottage which was clean and modern with great touches such as warm pastries on a morning and scones on arrival. The swimming pool was excellent for our toddler and we fed the rabbits and guinea pigs. The play room and play park area were new and great to play in. The two local pubs are excellent for food and there are a few places for days out including the beach (but quite a long way) and Knightshayes. Overall a peaceful, relaxing break.

Emma from York stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Holiday was truly amazing

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we Will definately Be coming back next year, our holiday was truly amazing ! The location was beautiful, the cottage was stunning, and so well equipped and cosy,

Hiedi from Gillingham stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in June 2019


Super stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was top quality.lovely touches such as fresh bread pastries delivered each morning if required.great warm pool which our gradaughter used each day. Super for family or couples.

Lynne from Salisbury stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 4 nights in May 2019


Delighted in Devon

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful accommodation and location, outstanding experience! Clare and Simon were fabulous hosts from the minute we booked, our experience was everything we hoped for and more, the little touches set them apart. Thank you for a delightful Devon stay !

Rebecca from Leamington Spa stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 3 nights in May 2019


A Lovley Break

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for sharing this amazing location with us. The cottage was lovey. IT was clean and very cosy during the stay.
We would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to stay and hope to cone back soon.


Timothy from Carshalton stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 6 nights in April 2019


Little Haven in Devon

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Hosts, accommodation, facilities were all fab. Can't wait to return!

Charlotte from Gillingham stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 3 nights in March 2019


Review

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely break in an idyllic location. Made to feel welcome and at home. Simon and Claire were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you

Sue from Ash Vale stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 4 nights in March 2019


Lovely toddler holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, well set up for toddlers and the swimming pool and play room were a real hit. A great holiday

Rosamund from Seaford stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 6 nights in March 2019


Absolutely lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic few days at Jonquil Cottage. The cottage itself is cosy, charming, and comfortable and the facilities on the farm are excellent. Our 3 year old daughter loved visiting and feeding the animals on the farm. There is a large indoor swimming pool with inflatables and pool toys which we all enjoyed.

If requested, the farm deliver freshly baked croissants and bread in the morning, and there was a generous selection of things there on arrival such as scones, tea and coffee. Simon and his wife were friendly and attentive, always there to help if required.

We would have stayed on longer if we could have done, and will definitely come back.


Karen from Winchester stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018


Lovely New Year Break

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great family accommodation, with swimming pool 2 minutes walk, as well as rabbits, chickens, ducks, etc all eager to be visited. Chocolate croissants delivered for breakfast was an extra special treat. Thanks for a lovely stay Simon and family.

Rachel from Truro stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 5 nights in December 2018


Pleasant stay in October

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we visited South Coombe in October 2018 and it is a very pleasant spot. We stayed in Jonquil cottage, which is probably the smallest of the cottages, but it was plenty big enough for the two of us and the dog. The owners Simon and Claire were very hospitable making sure everything was ok, and letting us know what is around the area, pubs to eat in etc. Having a heated indoor pool was also very good.
Plenty of good walks around the area, and a walk along the Tiverton Canal was lovely.
All in all a very nice week with good weather in October can't beat it.
Easily recommend it.


John from Ilkeston stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


A wonderful weekend in rural Devon

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful setting and a warm welcome was waiting for us at South Coombe. The owners made us feel at home right away with nothing too much trouble. Our cottage was cosy and homely and had everything we needed for a weekend away.

The facilities are brilliant, especially for those with children. Out girls loved playing in the pool and the newly installed play equipment.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend a stay at South Coombe. The location is stunning, the cottages are gorgeous and Simon, Clare and family give a welcome that makes you feel reassured that your comfort and enjoyment are their primary focus. We can't wait to go back.


Timothy from Ilkeston stayed at Jonquil Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018