FB Twitter

Orchard Cottage

Orchard Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Whatever the season, South Coombe Country Cottages, with an indoor pool and games room, make a fab choice for a family holiday or group gathering down in the Devon countryside. The traditional thatched ‘cob’ farmhouse dates back to the 1600’s and the owners have made one family suite for B&B as well as converting the outbuildings into 5 contemporary cottages for families of 3 to 10, plus babies.

South Coombe is set on the south side of a wooded valley, with 15 acres of outdoor space to fill up on fresh country air. Dogs are welcome in all but Orchard Cottage but owners should be aware of the free ranging chickens and Jemima Puddleducks waddling up from the duck ponds. A play area has a climbing frame, slide and swings or children can burn off energy playing ball games on the lawns, then flop down for a picnic in the old cider orchard. All the cottages also have their own garden or lawned area where little ones can safely play under the watchful eyes of parents as they relax and admire the views or sizzle up something for supper on the BBQ (not supplied but owners welcome to bring).

Sunny or not, the indoor pool is a highlight at South Coombe, with its vaulted, oak-beamed ceiling, loads of light pouring through big windows and French doors onto a sheltered, south-facing terrace. The 10x5m pool is a constant depth of 1.2 metres and kept comfortably warm, even for babies and toddlers to take the plunge with parents. For the under five’s there is a tumble room packed full of fun activities overlooking the pool and the most frazzled grown-ups can unwind in the heat of a Finnish sauna. Adjacent to the pool, a games room makes a great hangout for teenagers and fun family tournaments of table tennis, table football and pool.

From the beautiful conversion of the hayloft and stables, to a Scandinavian-style transformation of the original cart house, each of the five cottages has its own character but all share the same high standards of cosy, contemporary interiors. All of the cottages have open plan living spaces, designer kitchens and luxury bathrooms, as well as original features including timber beams, barn doors and log burners in Tilly’s, Drakes and Saffi’s Cottages. All of the cottages also have great views over South Coombe to the lush and leafy countryside beyond. A Devon Cream Tea on arrival makes a sweet start to any stay and the owners can also supply eggs from their free range hens, organic bread and fresh French pastries, warm and delicious from their AGA.

Accommodation overview

South Coombe comprises 2-bedroom Jonquil Cottage (3+baby), 2-bedroom Drake’s Cottage (4+baby) and 3-bedroom Saffi’s Cottage (5+baby), Tilly’s Cottage (6+baby) and Orchard Cottage (6+baby). Drakes Cottage and Tilly’s Cottage are connected by an internal hallway and can be booked as one (Tike’s Cottage) for 10+babies. A family suite (3+baby) is also available in the farmhouse for B&B.

Orchard Cottage is a striking, Scandinavian style conversion of the original cart house into the premier holiday cottage at South Coombe, for up to 6 + babies. The cottage has an upside down layout, with the open plan living space, under the pointy pitched ceiling on the first floor, to make the most of the views over South Coombe to the surrounding countryside. While children snuggle into the suede and leather sofas to watch the 55 inch curved screen OLED smart TV and DVD’s, grown-ups can rustle up snacks and meals in the bespoke fitted kitchen or linger over coffee at the dining table. The three bedrooms and family bathroom are on the ground floor – the master bedroom with a king-size bed and ensuite shower room; one bedroom that can be made up as a twin or super king-size bed; and one twin room. There is also a utility room on the ground floor with a washing machine and a second fridge freezer. As its name suggests the cottage is right by the old cider orchard at South Coombe and stands in a large enclosed lawned garden with outdoor seating. Free Wi Fi is available.

Perfect family setting...

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the perfect setting for a family break away. We would highly recommend and will visit again. The facilities available catered for all of our family needs. The swimming pool and games room were a big hit, followed by a chill out afterwards back at Orchard Cottage in the hot tub!! The children’s play equipment along with the rabbits, guinea pigs, alpacas and ducks were all loved and enjoyed by our young granddaughter. Thank you to Simon & Clare for helping us to make some treasured family memories.

Kevin from Stanford-le-hope stayed at Orchard Cottage for 3 nights in October 2020


A holiday that ticked all the boxes

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay at South Coombe a perfect holiday for all of the family we would love to return.

Karen from Tedditcj stayed at Orchard Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Lovely cottage but location won't suit everyone

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, quiet, well-maintained cottage with spacious rooms, high-spec bathrooms, best TV we've ever had in a self-catering cottage, decent wifi, all the appliances you would need, lovely cream tea on arrival. Owner helpful and friendly and it felt like they had done everything they could given Covid-19 restrictions. These meant that every cottage got a slot in the swimming pool and games room each day which, although not every session was at an ideal time, meant you got them to yourselves which we really liked. Playground etc looked good (though not used by us as our family older).

Upside-down layout meant that in recent very hot weather the living area got rather warm as no blinds/curtains upstairs, but bedrooms remained fairly cool if you opened windows in the evening so worked well in the circumstances.

Whilst in many ways the location was lovely, you need to be happy with very narrow Devon lanes to get there and it was 40-60 mins drive to most places to visit (eg Exmoor, Exeter, Haldon Forest, Exmouth beach, Rosemoor, Killerton) although Tiverton closer with Knightshayes and canal/museum (once they reopen). Two good pubs within 10 mins drive though.


Alison from Epsom stayed at Orchard Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


A perfect family break

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South Coombe cottages are a little slice of paradise for families. They were so well equipped for our first holiday with our baby. She loved the gorgeous pool and facilities in the cottage as well as the park and petting zoo! We stayed on site mostly, due to the coronavirus closing everything, but it didn’t matter as it was perfect there. We have already told lots of our friends about it, but also want to keep it our secret! We definitely will be back to explore a bit more.

Laura from Southampton stayed at Orchard Cottage for 5 nights in March 2020


Lovely venue and perfect for families with young children.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great welcome from Simon on arrival and both him and Clare were on hand, with a smile, throughout the stay if needed.
Orchard Cottage is a lovely converted barn with modern facilities and period features and a great base for exploring Devon.
The site itself has a fantastic selection of things to do and our 3 yr old was constantly entertained (even with the rain joining us for most of the week!). The accessible animals on site a particular highlight. Extra little touches like fresh scones on arrival, fresh bread available to order in the mornings and an extensive range of baby equipment available on request added to the welcome and made for a relaxing and enjoyable week.


Hannah from Moreton-in-marsh stayed at Orchard Cottage for 7 nights in September 2019


Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most amazing time staying at South Coombe, the kids lived the swimming pool and play frames and had hours of fun dressing up with the outfits in the playroom. The small petting animals were a great hit and Simon and Clare were very welcoming and on hand when we needed to ask questions. Would highly recommend this fabulous place, beautiful setting and fun for all the family whatever the British weather throws at you. Thank you we will be back x

Joanna from Clevedon stayed at Orchard Cottage for 2 nights in August 2019


A very relaxing & enjoyable holiday in Devon.

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely & we enjoyed staying there. Our grandchildren loved the amenities of the swimming pool, games room & playground & being able to handle the small animals. The pastries were a delight & the cream tea on arrival was much appreciated. Simon & Clare were lovely hosts & nothing was too much trouble for them. The cottage is in a perfect location for exploring Devon.

Sandra from Norwich stayed at Orchard Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Fortnight summer holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The homemade scones were amazing! Hamper on arrival very nice. Simon very attentive and helped with an ant problem swiftly and efficiently. Cottage done to a nice standard and was comfortable. Great we had fresh linen and towels half way through our stay (changed by the cleaning staff). Outside space fabulous. Swimming pool really good and games room too. I would have really liked a washing line in our garden rather than an airer. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Abi from Ilkeston stayed at Orchard Cottage for 14 nights in July 2019


Great stay wity kids

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage with great facilities and animals for the kids to enjoy. Owners were incredibly helpful, kind and accommodating.

Margaret from Kingston Upon Thames stayed at Orchard Cottage for 6 nights in April 2019


A fantastic getaway !

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place South Coombe is !!! Such fantastic facilites. We have stayed in several holiday cottages and this is by far the best cottage we have ever rented. The cottage is finished to a high standard with everything you could need. The facilities are fantastic and the swimming pool and rabbits and guinea pigs were a big hit with our 10 year old !! Will definitely be back.

Fiona from Aldershot stayed at Orchard Cottage for 3 nights in May 2019


Half-term Break

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time. Mum, dad, twin boys 2 years old and grandad and grandma. We stayed in Orchard Cottage. A lovely welcome from Simon, the owner and a cream tea waiting for us. Very thoughtful and kind. The small development is ideal for families with plenty to entertain the children. There is a playroom for very young children and a games room with pool table, table tennis and table football for the rest. There is a lovely warm indoor pool and a sauna.
The children helped feed the hens and ducks and there are also rabbits and guinea pigs to feed and pet. outside is the lovely rolling Devon countryside to walk through as well as outdoor at area for children. As it is a small development it will never be too crowded. I recommend a visit. The pub in the village is great , really friendly and serving good food.


Pat from Hemel Hempstead stayed at Orchard Cottage for 6 nights in February 2019