FB Twitter

Saffi's Cottage

Saffi's Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Whatever the season, South Coombe Country Cottages, with an indoor pool and games room, make a fab choice for a family holiday or group gathering down in the Devon countryside. The traditional thatched ‘cob’ farmhouse dates back to the 1600’s and the owners have made one family suite for B&B as well as converting the outbuildings into 5 contemporary cottages for families of 3 to 10, plus babies.

South Coombe is set on the south side of a wooded valley, with 15 acres of outdoor space to fill up on fresh country air. Dogs are welcome in all but Orchard Cottage but owners should be aware of the free ranging chickens and Jemima Puddleducks waddling up from the duck ponds. A play area has a climbing frame, slide and swings or children can burn off energy playing ball games on the lawns, then flop down for a picnic in the old cider orchard. All the cottages also have their own garden or lawned area where little ones can safely play under the watchful eyes of parents as they relax and admire the views or sizzle up something for supper on the BBQ (not supplied but owners welcome to bring).

Sunny or not, the indoor pool is a highlight at South Coombe, with its vaulted, oak-beamed ceiling, loads of light pouring through big windows and French doors onto a sheltered, south-facing terrace. The 10x5m pool is a constant depth of 1.2 metres and kept comfortably warm, even for babies and toddlers to take the plunge with parents. For the under five’s there is a tumble room packed full of fun activities overlooking the pool and the most frazzled grown-ups can unwind in the heat of a Finnish sauna. Adjacent to the pool, a games room makes a great hangout for teenagers and fun family tournaments of table tennis, table football and pool.

From the beautiful conversion of the hayloft and stables, to a Scandinavian-style transformation of the original cart house, each of the five cottages has its own character but all share the same high standards of cosy, contemporary interiors. All of the cottages have open plan living spaces, designer kitchens and luxury bathrooms, as well as original features including timber beams, barn doors and log burners in Tilly’s, Drakes and Saffi’s Cottages. All of the cottages also have great views over South Coombe to the lush and leafy countryside beyond. A Devon Cream Tea on arrival makes a sweet start to any stay and the owners can also supply eggs from their free range hens, organic bread and fresh French pastries, warm and delicious from their AGA.

Accommodation overview

South Coombe comprises 2-bedroom Jonquil Cottage (3+baby), 2-bedroom Drake’s Cottage (4+baby) and 3-bedroom Saffi’s Cottage (5+baby), Tilly’s Cottage (6+baby) and Orchard Cottage (6+baby). Drakes Cottage and Tilly’s Cottage are connected by an internal hallway and can be booked as one (Tike’s Cottage) for 10+babies. A family suite (3+baby) is also available in the farmhouse for B&B.

Saffi’s Cottage is a beautiful conversion of the former stables into a cosy yet spacious home from home for up to 5 + baby. Saffi’s also has an especially lovely large south west facing lawned garden with stunning views over the surrounding countryside. The ground floor is an open plan living space where children can snuggle into the sofas to watch TV and DVD’s by the wood-burner while grown-ups get cooking in the fitted kitchen or linger over freshly brewed coffee at the dining table. One of the 3 bedrooms, with a large ensuite shower room, is on the ground floor, with zip link beds that can be made up as a twin or superking. On the first floor one king bedroom and one single bedroom are tucked beneath exposed A-frame beams and the family bathroom has a bath with an overhead shower. Free Wi Fi is available and 1 dog is permitted.

Another great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A couple of minor incidents which were quickly attended to by Simon.
Came for a complete break in this 2020 pandemic and felt very confident about the Health and safety measures put into place. Felt at ease without it seeming clinical and had no issues with using all amenities.
Able to stay on grounds with nice walks for our dog. Looking forward to our next visit!!!!
Thanks very much to Simon and Clare who are wonderful hosts.


June from Exeter stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2020


Wonderful cottage and great location

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed a week at South Coombe. The farm is beautiful and has so many things for our two toddlers on site. The cottage was well equipped and ideally located to explore the many local attractions. We will definitely be coming back soon!

Lynne from South Croydon stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Five night visit to Saffi’s Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely restful location with views over surrounding countryside.We enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. Everything was very clean and as an older couple we had peace of mind in view of Covid. Very comfortable and a good centre for days out.

Guest from Billingshurst stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 5 nights in September 2020


A fantastic cottage. Clean, spacious and with stunning views!

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn’t fault our stay at Saffi Cottage within South Coombe Cottages and had one of our best holidays as a family. The cottage itself was clean, spacious and had stunning views. The alpacas in the field behind us and hot tub in our garden were great touches that the kids enjoyed along with the daily use of the indoor swimming pool and children’s outdoor play area.

Simon, the owner was helpful and friendly and made us fell most welcome.

We liked it so much, we’ve already booked for next year!


Dan from Fleet stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


A brilliant stay at Saffi’s cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week staying in Saffi’s cottage. The system for the pool is so well organised and it was great to have access to this, particularly after lockdown. The animals are wonderful, especially the alpacas, and the play area/playing field is huge and well kept. It’s great for families and lots to do within 50 min drive in any direction. Simon was so helpful before and during our stay. This is our second time staying at South Coombe and we will definitely be back.

Kate from Worcester Park stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Superb

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at South Coombe, very relaxing,beautiful setting, the children loved spending time with the rabbits and guinea pigs, feeding the hens and playing on the swings
Saffis Cottage is excellent, we hope to return soon, thank you Simon.


Lisa from Birmingham stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 6 nights in July 2020


Perfect place for a relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, well-equipped and comfortable cottage. We really enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub while taking in the wonderful view and watching the alpacas keeping an eye on the dog! We took advantage of our pool sessions - it’s a great size for exercise as well as play. We had a delicious pizza from the Wednesday night mobile pizza oven in the village square and superb food from the Mitre Inn. An excellent break and one we fully intend on repeating ... we’ll definitely be back! Thank you Simon & Clare!

Melanie from Petersfield stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 3 nights in July 2020


Peaceful and relaxed

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a great stay with a bonus of a pool.

Will recommend the cottage to friends. Hot tub facing the fields was a great idea.


Jiantka from Ashby-de-la-zouch stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 3 nights in July 2020


Walking Weekend in Witheridge

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival, Simon was welcoming and showed us Everything that we needed to know. The cottage is cosy and comfortable, the added touch of the log burner fire is lovely. The hot tub is perfect and looking out on the countryside and the farm animals is wonderful.

The girls and I did a 10 mile round walk through the neighbouring villages and fields. The views were lovely and a stop at the nearby pub for a well earned G and T was great too.

The village of Witheridge is a short walk away and has a good pub and excellent little shops that have anything you could ever need.

This was my second trip to Southcombe and I’m sure I will return again.

Thank you for a lovely stay!


Sophie from Sherborne stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 2 nights in March 2020


Splendid stay Southcombrombe

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb hosts and facilities.

We would thoroughly recommend a stay in this tranquil and very beautiful location. Wonderful cottages, well equipped and serviced.

Many thanks,

David, Jenny & Eloise


David from Devon stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 7 nights in February 2020


New Year's Eve Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed with another couple and our two dogs in Saffi's cottage for 3 nights over New Year. What a wonderful location and beautiful cosy cottage. Very well equipped and super comfortable, we had a great stay! The bottle of champagne on New Year's Eve was a lovely touch too!

Adelina from Chilton stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 3 nights in December 2019


A weekend away with family

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A miserable dreary November day was brightened up by a delicious cream tea and a roaring log fire. Deciding to enjoy all the facilities available from the indoor pool, table football, the pool table, soft play area and the pets corner we made the most of all of the things available in and around the cottages. Saturday evening was spent in the hot tub and although there were no stars to be seen due to cloud cover the warmth of the tub and the company made up for that.
A fantastic weekend get away great for the whole family young, old and everything in between.


Julia from Chichester stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 2 nights in November 2019


Picturesque and relaxing holiday for families!

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff were kind and friendly, the setting was beautiful and the cottage was cosy and comfortable with everything we needed. The hot tub was a great addition to relax in the evening once the kids were in bed. During the day we felt we didn't need to go out anywhere as the kids loved seeing the animals and playing in the park and play room. We also made great use of the pool. We can came home feeling relaxed and refreshed after spending some quality time together as a family. Definitely recommend South Coombe cottages.

Kelly from Gosport stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 5 nights in November 2019


Another lovely break

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Saffi’s Cottage. As we arrived Bella our dog bounced out of the car and straight to the front door, clearly excited to start her holiday. As were we.
We were again welcomed with a tin containing some fresh scones, cream and jam, all there ready for a welcome afternoon tea. We noticed that Saffi’s has two new sofa’s which looked very smart and were very comfortable. The garden had beautiful fresh green grass which had grown since our last visit in May this year. There was also some very smart garden furniture.
The Alpacas were looking over their enclosure to see who their new neighbours were. They provided much entertainment during our stay!
We made very good use of the facilities both in our private garden and in the shared facilities. Swimming most days, playing table tennis and having a few games of pool. Then relaxing day and night in the wonderful hot tub in the private enclosed garden.
Bella enjoyed her daily walks/runs in ‘her’ field. Bouncing around in the long grass, playing ball and chasing her frisbee!
I think what makes South Coombe so special and relaxing is that Simon and Clare are always there IF you need them. Ready to answer any queries you might have or to fill you in on local information and if they aren’t at hand Poppy and Roger (the dogs) seem to of taken on the role of making you feel very welcome!
Whether you are looking for a base to visit the surrounding areas or you want a place to keep young and old people entertained, oh and not forgetting our four legged friends. Then Saffi’s Cottage is a great place to stay.
Thanks for another fantastic stay Simon and Clare. See you next year!


June from Exeter stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2019


Simon replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you June, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you continue to book regularly with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

A beautiful cottage with a beautiful view

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved this cottage with its outstanding view across the valley and the Alpaca field in front. The hot tub was brand new and a real bonus. The bathrooms and bedrooms were excellently furnished and all looked brand new! The Bbq we had in the garden of the cottage was also a lovely extra. We had a brilliant time. Thank you.

Joanna from Clevedon stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 2 nights in August 2019


A very enjoyable family celebration

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Please take this as a review of all the cottages on the site. All family (17) members were extremely pleased with the standard of the cottages and the facilities of the site generally. It was a golden wedding occasion and the additional help in organising a marquee etc.given by the proprietors was much appreciated. I would heartily recommend South Coombe Cottages for a holiday and particularly for family celebrations.

Robert from Thame stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


A great family getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely week at Saffi’s. Relaxing and comfortable. Cream tea waiting for us on arrival and a welcome basket of goodies which we all enjoyed. Amazing views from the redesigned garden, only interrupted by the playful activities of Monty Hugo and Bruno the Alpacas.
The addition of a hot tub was a fantastic surprise and enjoyed day and night. Stargazing from the hot tub recommended.
This was our sixth visit to South Coombe and won’t be our last. Our teenagers found plenty to do; swimming; table tennis; family board games; cycling along the canal tow path and not too old to cuddle a guinea pig.
Amazing location, more than a home from home.
Clare and Simon were the perfect hosts.


Maria from Chelmsford stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Fabulous cottage with stunning views

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Saffi’s cottage for a week in May and had a truly fabulous time. We have never stayed somewhere so we’ll cleaned and the facilities (private hot tub in our garden with extraordinary sunset views, shared swimming pool and toddler playroom) were perfect for our 2 year old. We also loved feeding the ducks and hens with Simon who is a brilliant host, and cuddling the rabbits and guinea pigs on site. Poppy the Dalmatian puppy is also a star. Local pub is great although a bit too far for us to walk and we also highly recommend the Wednesday night pizza van in the village square. Order early!
All in all a wonderful stay and we hope to return!


Anna from Catford stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 6 nights in May 2019


Relaxing Break

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had an amazingly relaxing break. On our arrival we were welcomed by Clare and Simon. Clare gave mum a tour around to show her where everything was and then she left us to enjoy our weeks break. Oh and to enjoy a very tasty complimentary Cream Tea, which was very much appreciated.
We stayed in the Beautiful Saffi’s Cottage, which had the most amazing views! Many an evening we sat in the hot tub watching the Sunset behind the fields. The cottage was well equipped with everything you could need. Including a wood burning stove, which we enjoyed lighting in the evenings. There was also the opportunity to start each day with a freshly baked loaf or croissants delivered to your door. Fresh eggs were also available. All of which we paid for at the end of our stay.
We made good use of the onsite facilities, the pool was clean and warm with well kept changing facilities and just a 1 min walk from our front door. There was also a small shop just a few seconds walk from our door, where we could purchase eggs, canned drinks, small pots of jam, ice lolly’s and ice creams.
There were rabbits and Guinea Pigs as well as the Ducks who just wonder around, entertaining to watch but also there for you to hold and snuggle if you wish.
Bella our retriever enjoyed running around the large enclosed garden. She had Sheep and Alpaca’s to keep her entertained as well as a certain Poppy the Dalmatian who poked her nose through the fence to say hello! Each day we walked her to the Dog Exercise area which we named Bella’s field. It was a lovely area where she could run free and enjoy letting off steam either with her frisbee or with other dogs who were there.
Whether you are looking for somewhere to stay for a relaxing break or a base to stay while visiting the surrounding areas of Devon, this would be the perfect place!
The hosts Clare and Simon were absolutely perfect hosts. They are there if you need them but if not they leave you to enjoy your break!
Thank you for our wonderful break. We ALL had a fantastic relaxing time and look forward to seeing you both again in October! Think Bella will just about of regained her energy by then! Sal, June, Barry and Bella xx


Sally from Exeter stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2019


Great family location

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous, restful place. Simon and Clare were incredibly helpful and friendly. Our kids loved the space, the animals and the Nerf gun fights! We would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Guest from London stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


A great stay - again...

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at South Coombe - and our third cottage! This time Saffi's cottage which was once again perfect. The pool and games room were well used and we enjoyed cosy evenings in front of the wood burner. Clare and Simon were delightful as hosts (good luck with the new alpacas!). I'm sure we'll be back again in the future.

Sheila from Abingdon stayed at Saffi's Cottage for 3 nights in March 2019