FB Twitter

Tilly's Cottage

Tilly's Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Whatever the season, South Coombe Country Cottages, with an indoor pool and games room, make a fab choice for a family holiday or group gathering down in the Devon countryside. The traditional thatched ‘cob’ farmhouse dates back to the 1600’s and the owners have made one family suite for B&B as well as converting the outbuildings into 5 contemporary cottages for families of 3 to 10, plus babies.

South Coombe is set on the south side of a wooded valley, with 15 acres of outdoor space to fill up on fresh country air. Dogs are welcome in all but Orchard Cottage but owners should be aware of the free ranging chickens and Jemima Puddleducks waddling up from the duck ponds. A play area has a climbing frame, slide and swings or children can burn off energy playing ball games on the lawns, then flop down for a picnic in the old cider orchard. All the cottages also have their own garden or lawned area where little ones can safely play under the watchful eyes of parents as they relax and admire the views or sizzle up something for supper on the BBQ (not supplied but owners welcome to bring).

Sunny or not, the indoor pool is a highlight at South Coombe, with its vaulted, oak-beamed ceiling, loads of light pouring through big windows and French doors onto a sheltered, south-facing terrace. The 10x5m pool is a constant depth of 1.2 metres and kept comfortably warm, even for babies and toddlers to take the plunge with parents. For the under five’s there is a tumble room packed full of fun activities overlooking the pool and the most frazzled grown-ups can unwind in the heat of a Finnish sauna. Adjacent to the pool, a games room makes a great hangout for teenagers and fun family tournaments of table tennis, table football and pool.

From the beautiful conversion of the hayloft and stables, to a Scandinavian-style transformation of the original cart house, each of the five cottages has its own character but all share the same high standards of cosy, contemporary interiors. All of the cottages have open plan living spaces, designer kitchens and luxury bathrooms, as well as original features including timber beams, barn doors and log burners in Tilly’s, Drakes and Saffi’s Cottages. All of the cottages also have great views over South Coombe to the lush and leafy countryside beyond. A Devon Cream Tea on arrival makes a sweet start to any stay and the owners can also supply eggs from their free range hens, organic bread and fresh French pastries, warm and delicious from their AGA.

Accommodation overview

South Coombe comprises 2-bedroom Jonquil Cottage (3+baby), 2-bedroom Drake’s Cottage (4+baby) and 3-bedroom Saffi’s Cottage (5+baby), Tilly’s Cottage (6+baby) and Orchard Cottage (6+baby). Drakes Cottage and Tilly’s Cottage are connected by an internal hallway and can be booked as one (Tike’s Cottage) for 10+babies. A family suite (3+baby) is also available in the farmhouse for B&B.

Tilly’s Cottage is a spacious yet cosy barn conversion for up to 6 + babies, with plenty of character and every home comfort. The ground floor is an open plan living space where children can snuggle into the sofas to watch TV and DVD’s by the wood-burner in the feature fireplace, while grown-ups get cooking in the fitted kitchen or linger over coffee at the dining table. French doors open onto a dining patio and garden with outside furniture and pretty views of duck ponds and countryside beyond. One of the 3 bedrooms, with a large ensuite shower room, is on the ground floor, with zip link beds that can be made up as a twin or superking. A second bedroom, with two single beds is on the first floor, along with another large king bedroom, with king-size bed, overlooking the lawns and duck ponds. The family bathroom has a bath with an overhead shower. Free Wi Fi is available and 1 dog is permitted. An internal hallway between Tilly’s Cottage and Drakes Cottage means the two can be booked together for groups of up to 10 people plus babies.

Lovely spot, great hosts!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had lots of fun, especially nice for kids. Ours loved feeding/ playing with the animals and playing on the climbing frames. The pool was a particular highlight for us after a long lock down. Hand sanitizer at every corner was a reassuring touch. There’s plenty to do in the area, Knightshayes national Trust (amazing), Westward Ho Beach (the quiet end near golf club), Tiverton Canal walk and Quince Honey Bee Farm were all enjoyable. Lovely hosts, we’ll be back.

Hannah from Walton-on-thames stayed at Tilly's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Perfect for our needs

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed somewhere that had disabled access and allowed dogs and these cottages did both these things in style. We loved the cottage and enjoyed the friendliness of our hosts. We would not hesitate in staying here again.

Chris from Near Plymouth stayed at Tilly's Cottage for 3 nights in March 2020


Tilly's cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Tilly's cottage in October. We had a brilliant weekend. Cottage was amazing, Claire and Simon were brilliant could not do enough for us. The homemade scones with cream and local jams were very welcome.
The swimming pool and games room as well as the animals kept out grandson very well entertained he did not want to go home and there was lots of tears at departure. Would recommend it to anyone and will definitely be coming back again soon.


Sandra from Pewsey stayed at Tilly's Cottage for 3 nights in October 2019


Excellent place

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely holiday with toddlers & our dog - met pretty much all our needs and loved the home made pastries in the morning! Would go again definitely.

Hannah from Harpenden stayed at Tilly's Cottage for 6 nights in September 2019


North Devin stay with kids

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simon and Clare are wonderful hosts and made our holiday fantastic. Especially liked :
Animals to entertain the kids
Swimming pool (which is very well maintained)
Games room
Comfy beds


Philip from London stayed at Tilly's Cottage for 6 nights in August 2019


Beautiful cottage! Would highly recommend.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage and fantastic hosts. We all had a fantastic time. Would thoroughly recommend, particularly to families.

Natalie from stayed at Tilly's Cottage for 4 nights in August 2019


Tilly cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage. Very friendly owners. Beautiful setting. My only suggestion is wardrobes needed in the bedrooms. Otherwise a lovely place.

Tony from East Grinstead stayed at Tilly's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Family fun at the farm

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful holiday, fantastic cottage. Simon and Claire could not be more helpful. Cream tea and freshly baked goods were amazing! Our girls loved the freedom to play and roam, the playgrounds, animals, swimming etc. Cannot wait to visit again.

Stephen from Southampton stayed at Tilly's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2019


Family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed every aspect of our stay from the swimming pool to the play area and open spaces,not to forget the rabbits and the Guinea pigs.It was nice to see ducks and chickens roaming around.
The cottages had everything you could need, a home from home.
We have already booked to return next year.


Ruth from Caerphilly stayed at Tilly's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2019


Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High standard of accommodation, thoughtful friendly hosts -even provided Mothers’ Day presents.
Friendly village nearby. Good choice!


Miranda from Alresford stayed at Tilly's Cottage for 4 nights in March 2019


Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want to stay in Devon this is a real jewel of a place to stay. It was faultless and could not speak more highly of the owners who made us feel really welcome.

Roger from Hove stayed at Tilly's Cottage for 5 nights in March 2019


February half-term family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt totally at home in this lovely cottage. Very comfortable with everything provided that you need for a holiday. Beautiful, peaceful setting. Good facilities: swimming pool and playroom very much enjoyed by our grandchildren. We would love to come back again. The owners are very friendly and helpful too.

Susan from Reading stayed at Tilly's Cottage for 7 nights in February 2019


New year eve break away

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were greeted by our hosts very warmly who were keen for us to make the most of our stay. The property was beautiful and all rooms large and had very comfortable beds. The children loved the pool and on both occasions we were the sole users. We were recommended to visit the local pub for lunch which was a great success. The highlight for the children was feeding the small animals and chickens. Overall a wonderful find and we hope to return very soon!

Tessa from Cardiff stayed at Tilly's Cottage for 2 nights in December 2018