FB Twitter

Fal River Cottage

Fal River Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Traditional, dog-friendly, 2-bed holiday cottage near Truro (Cornwall) with amazing river views.

relaxing weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a wonderful relaxing weekend in the cottage. It had everything we needed including the wood burner which we lit each evening. We picked this cottage for the view of the river and we were not disappointed.
Great location for walking the dog on the beach and around the local area.




A Wonderful Little Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fal Cottage is a beautiful little cottage in a stunning location. What you see on the owners website is what you get so no nasty surprises. Phil the owner gave us comprehensive arrival instructions including very clear Covid advice which was reassuring. He was also extremely helpful when a few minor issues arose during our stay and was prompt at sorting them out for us. If you are into Paddleboarding or Kayaking there is a slip way onto the river a few moments walk away. All in all a fabulous week away and we were sad to leave. Will return again hopefully very soon.



Family Summer during Lockdown

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is simply beautiful, amazing location walking distance from Truro. Eating our breakfast and tea on the front decking overlooking the river was a dream. The cottage is beautiful and catered for everything we could have wanted. Pub on the doorstep and great walks for the family and dog.



A delightful cottage with a view to die for

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely two bedroom cottage with an amazing view. A gate at the bottom of the property would be appreciated as the steps go straight onto the road which can be very busy. The parking is a real Issue as the pub has now turned its carpark into outside seating due to the coronavirus. This became very frustrating to the point where you didn’t want to leave the cottage as you would have nowhere to park on your return. The Heron Inn which is three doors away serves excellent food but is very busy adding to the parking issue.



Lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in a beautiful peaceful location with amazing views across the creek. Watching the nesting Herons in the trees opposite was mesmerising!! Great location for plenary of walks, The Heron two doors down is a welcoming pub with lovely food.



Beautiful, cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautiful inside and out. Decor is perfect and the log burner ensures you feel cosy and relaxed during a cold winters night. The views from the windows over the estuary are amazing as are the lovely walks through fields and woods to nearly villages. Close enough to walk into Truro but far enough away to feel like you have left the busy world behind. The village pub is only a few steps away and serves the best food I’ve had in ages. Perfect weekend away



Great dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our short stay at the cottage. Excellent location & a couple of doors down from a great gastropub. Lots of great walks and a lovely walk in to Truro takes about 40 minutes.
The well equipped cottage benefits from a log burning stove, Tv with Netflix and great wifi.
Comfortable bed and proper kitchen with dishwasher.
Enjoyed the Cornish cream tea and biscuits provided too.
Lovely views across the estuary from the decking and from the rear terrace garden too.
On street parking wasn’t a issue & was nice to see all the paddle boardings & canoeists arrive at the weekend and enjoy the water.
Idyllic & didn’t want to leave but look forward to our next stay.




Amazing break

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage!!!
Well equipped, Extremely clean and very comfortable,
Close to everything, Loved the walks - our dog has never walked so much ever! People so friendly everywhere we went ( inc. Truro and Falmouth).
Loved the log fire beautiful - after our walking sat back with a gin and tonic watched good movies and relaxed.
We work long hours so was good not to have a clock dictating time. Slept for 8 hours, normally only get around 5 hours. Bed and pillows so comfortable. Views amazing from the cottage. Next door up for sale, looking into if we can afford to buy it lol :) Truro only couple of miles walk, great for shopping, Christmas Fayre was good also went to Falmouth and they had their Christmas fayre on with snow (Fake ) but great effect.
The Heron pub 3 doors up is fantastic also dog friendly.
The cottage owners are a dream to deal with absolutely nothing is too much trouble.
What are you waiting for book now ! ;)
Steve and Ali X




A beautiful cottage with a view to die for

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning location with a beautifully equipped cottage. Well thought out with excellent amenities. You can sit outside on the decking and watch the boats and see all the coastal birds come and go. A great pub three doors away making eating out a real pleasure. Dog friendly too. Fabulous walks on the doorstep along the estuary. If you are looking for peace and tranquility this would be hard to beat.



Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I found myself clicking all the excellent buttons at the start of this review because there seemed be no reason not to.

Well done Phil and Lubi. Clearly you want to be comfy when you go to the cottage yourselves!




Delightful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super cottage and stunning views in an idyllic location ideally situated for exploring the beauty of Cornwall. Thoughtfully renovated and very comfortable, dog friendly and touches such as the cream tea on arrival very welcoming. Owner very helpful and lots of information provided prior to stay. The Heron Inn, 3 doors down with excellent food ( and again, dog friendly), was an added bonus!



Summer stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in this beautiful fully equipped cottage with garden and amazing views from the front terrace. The location is perfect, being just a stone's throw from an excellent local pub selling good St. Austells beer and food. The boat goes from just down the road and Falmouth is within easy reach by car.



Beautiful river views

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly stunning cottage is a fantastic location. Everything has been thought of when you stay here - from the kitchen which has everything you could think of - to the terraces with the most stunning views. One of the best places we have stayed and we will most definitely be back.



Great river views

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice clean refurbished cottage in a lovely location with everything you need. Owner Phil was very helpful and informative throughout.



A perfect holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners of Fal River Cottage have created a lovely relaxing space. The cottage still echoes that sense of bygone times but marries beautifully with the contemporary. The welcoming touches were just the ticket after a long drive and extremely thoughtful. The river views and weather lent themselves to much dining alfresco on the front patio whilst watching the world ebb and flow. We took our stand up paddle boards so an early morning paddle was a highlight. There is a slipway only meters from the cottage.

The cottage has everything you need to have a great holiday and the owners are keen to provide you a comfortable stay, reassuring you that they are only at the end of the phone, creating that further personal touch.

The location of the cottage makes it a great base to explore Cornwall and car-free ways of appreciating the area included: A walk to Truro, the train to Falmouth and at Falmouth quay catch ferry back to Malpas, such a lovely way to return back 'home'. Lovely St Ives was all the better for catching the train from Truro (changing St Erth) which overlooks the iconic beaches that remind you of the riviera.

Other trips: Visited Penzance (the lido is lovely) but a real treat was the beach at Porthcurno and the MInack Theatre.

The Heron Inn is definitely a local food recommendation. There is free off-road parking which is limited when the sun is out and The Heron is busy. A good portion of fish and chips is to be had at Sole Plaice in Truro.

A taxi to Truro costs circa £8 each way during the day using a2b taxis. There is service bus 496 (smaller single decker bus) from Malpas to Truro £2.30 adult single which stops at the Heron Inn but is limited to only several times a day.