FB Twitter

Osdale Farmhouse

Osdale Farmhouse

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Features of this cosy, semi open-plan cottage include an eat-in kitchen and a sitting room with expansive views over farmland. The Farmhouse has a kitchen, living room, large boot room, downstairs family bathroom, utility room and two upstairs bedrooms.

Sunny Spring week at Osdale

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Anne & Lucy for another wonderful stay at Osdale!
We were so lucky to be at the cottage in the beautiful Spring sunshine and really enjoyed exploring the local walks on foot this time.
We always find the cottage spotlessly clean, full of thoughtful supplies and very comfortable - this occasion was no different!
If you’re looking for a peaceful break in beautiful surroundings then look no further - we can’t recommend Osdale enough!




Anne Williams replied 17 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Osdale Farmhouse. You certainly had some lovely weather. It is extra special to receive reviews from people like yourself, who have a relationship with Osdale much longer than ours. It's lovely to see you return each time. Thank you.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at osdale farmhouse which was very comfortable and well equipped and a good base for exploring.



Anne Williams replied 23 days ago
Thank you very much for leaving a review of Osdale Farmhouse. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be a great spot for accessing all that Skye has to offer.

Osdale Farmhouse is just fabulous!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I absolutely loved my week at Osdale Farmhouse, there were so many thoughtful touches and the cottage is incredibly comfortable, a real home from home. The location is perfect, isolated but only a short drive to Dunvegan and a great base for exploring further afield. It was such a pleasure to find a truly dog friendly cottage that wasn't "doggy" and the underfloor heating was a real hit. I'm trying hard to think of the best features of Osdale Farmhouse, but if I'm honest, it's everything. I'm definitely booking again for next year and recommending it to everyone I know who would appreciate it too.





Anne Williams replied 48 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love Osdale and it's so nice to hear you love it too! Your description about our accommodation being dog-friendly but not 'doggy' perfectly demonstrates what we are trying to achieve. Thank you!

Fantastic cottage - we'll be back!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in the farmhouse with my husband and our pup last week and cannot recommend highly enough. Wonderful cosy cottage, super dog friendly and very comfortable. Wonderful hospitality from Lucy & Anne, both before, during and after our stay - the welcome bag of goodies was absolutely fantastic! Will definitely be back!



Anne Williams replied 63 days ago
We are so pleased you all had a good time on Skye and enjoyed staying at Osdale Farmhouse. We have enjoyed putting our welcome bag together over the winter, although it's always a challenge to resist the Scottish Tablet! Thank you so much for leaving a review.

Delightful Cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Osdale farmhouse is reached via a rough farm track which you need to drive carefully. Having said that we have rented holiday accommodation often over many years and Osdale Farmhouse ranks among the very, very best. Tastefully decorated, warm, comfortable and well equipped. Our hostesses couldn’t have been more helpful. We loved our time there.



Anne Williams replied 88 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of Osdale Farmhouse. We are so pleased you found the Farmhouse to be one of the best holiday cottages you have stayed in - that means a lot to us and I am sure it will help confirm to potential guests that Osdale is a great place to stay. I am sorry the track was very rough. It has had some serious weather thrown at it this winter and we will be undertaking some remedial work in the next few months.

Paradise with our pup

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Farmhouse at Osdale and it's a great place to take your dog! Every morning we woke up felt like we were in paradise.

We took our 13 month old Finnish Lapphund, who loved running around the fenced in garden and we enjoyed the peace of mind knowing he was safely contained. Anne and Lucy provided a dog bowl, dog towels, a Mud Daddy to clean off our very mucky pup, a longline for the garden, literally everything you might need! It was brilliant.

The cottage location is fab - so secluded yet less than 10 minutes from Dunvegan. It was a great base for getting out and about on nicer days and a haven of tranquility when the hail and snow was lashing down. The cottage is beautifully furnished and styled with the lounge a very comfortable place to fall asleep in front of the fire. As someone who loves to cook even on holiday, the kitchen is very well outfitted for anything you might like to do.

The hosts Anne and Lucy were brilliant from the beginning of our booking to the end, answering all our questions and providing excellent recommendations for places to walk, things to see, and places to eat in their thorough virtual guide book. We loved the extra special touches of the Isle of Skye soaps and salt, local bread, biscuits and eggs. Coming off season, the cottage felt like incredible value for money but I'd pay the higher price at high season because it was that good.

Our only caution to anyone going is to go very slowly up the drive to the cottages. The road is very rocky and is not very friendly to cars that are low to the ground. We mastered it by the end of our trip but the first drive up was exciting!





Anne Williams replied 95 days ago
Thank you so much for such a comprehensive review of Osdale Farmhouse. We are very grateful to you for taking the time to write a review. Words from guests are so much more valuable to those considering a stay here than anything we could write. It was lovely to read your summary - an excellent description of what we try to provide for all guests, human or canine!

Secluded luxury

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Osdale Farmhouse is a gem. Beautifully appointed and equipped with top quality fittings,this is a must for a couple or family seeking the quiet…..and quiet it is!! The underfloor heating is a constant warm embrace and the log burning stove is there for a ‘boost’. Dunvegan is a 10’ drive away and most of that is negotiating the farm track. As a gardener I was gobsmacked to discover a mass of raspberry canes at the front of the house, still fruiting in mid October!! Boy they were nice!
I would highly recommend this to those seeking the quiet. Lucy and Anne were brilliant, right down to recommending us the local taxi for our trip back from the Three Chimneys. Oh yes, did I not mention the local legend of a restaurant voted one of the top 100 places to eat in the world!!




Anne Williams replied 210 days ago
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. It's good to hear that you enjoyed staying at the Farmhouse and discovered our raspberries still fruiting. They won first prize in the Dunvegan Show a few years ago! So pleased you had the chance to eat at The Three Chimneys too - by all accounts it's been serving excellent food this year.

Comfort and Tranquility

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 2 weeks at the Farmhouse and thoroughly enjoyed it. The cottage is well equipped to a high standard, very comfortable and lovely and warm. The location is amazing so overall it provides an excellent environment to relax and enjoy Skye.



Anne Williams replied 220 days ago
Lucy and I are so pleased you enjoyed your two weeks on Skye. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and thank you for staying with us.

Perfect stay, in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Osdale Farmhouse is set in the most beautiful location. Close to amenities and a great base for exploring the area.
A stunning, clean and comfortable cottage. The hosts were friendly, welcoming and helpful. They thought of everything. I hope we get a chance to come back in the future.




Anne Williams replied 251 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - people really find them useful in deciding if Osdale is the right place for them to stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Osdale and we would be delighted to welcome you back if you find yourself on Skye again.

Pleasant stay

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property that’s well looked after , in a remote place but that’s why we booked , excellent service with Lucy on hand if you need anything. The only downside for us were the midgies especially the last couple of days when there was no wind about I think it would be better if there were at least a couple of fans about as it got quite warm and we couldn’t open windows. All in all a really good relaxing family holiday



Anne Williams replied 258 days ago
We are so pleased you like the Farmhouse but sorry the midges were such a problem during your stay. We have tower fans on the way to Skye for the Farmhouse and the Byre as I write this to help cool the rooms should future guests suffer the same problem. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review - we are very grateful, particularly for the idea of the fans.

Lovely views!

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Aug 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nicely kitted out cottage and the beds were extremely comfortable. Owners lovely and website very helpful. However, there are no en-suite bedrooms and all the facilities are downstairs. The staircase itself is a wooden corkscrew with gaps so you have to be careful at night! Otherwise, great views and in easy reach of Dunvegan.



Anne Williams replied 275 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are pleased you found the beds comfortable and that you appreciated the things we have added to make the Farmhouse a home from home. We are sorry the layout didn't suit you. Trying to retain the charm and character of an old crofters farmhouse has its limitations! Luckily the stairs are not steep or open tread, but agree they would need to be taken with care at night. If you ever wish to stay with us again, I think you would prefer the layout of the Byre which has one en-suite bedroom.

Family break at Osdale Farmhouse

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week stay at the Osdale Farmhouse, it was very homely and welcoming. I loved that is was so dog friendly and the dog biscuits were a lovely touch. My children had a lovely time and enjoyed watching the nearby sheep. My only negative would be the TV signal was not great, but this was also a good thing as I was not made to watch the football! .



Anne Williams replied 313 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased you liked all our dog-friendly touches. If the dogs happy, everyone's happy! Thanks also for the heads-up about the TV reception - we will definitely look into that. Update: TV reception all sorted in July.

The best of both worlds

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved everything about our stay at Osdale Farmhouse - from the owners’ excellent pre-trip information to help us plan our stay to the beautifully appointed cottage itself, our better than home from home in Skye. The stunning location up a farm track, commanding views across the surrounding countryside, has a real wilderness feel, yet you are only a few miles from the village of Dunvegan and some of Skye’s internationally renowned restaurants. Osdale really has the best of both worlds.



Anne Williams replied 349 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. Lucy and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us.

Wonderful Farmhouse, contents and location = Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a short break at short notice and it was just superb.
The Farmhouse has everything you will need. It is charming, cosy and perfect to just get away from everything, recharge your well being and relax. Location idyllic.
Highly recommend everything about it.
Thoughtful gift of flowers and card for my birthday.
Thank you to Anne and Lucy for letting us stay and our dogs - we will be back.