FB Twitter

The Old Parlour

The Old Parlour

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


A short 20 minute drive from the North Cornwall coast, the Old Parlour offers accommodation for up to 10 people in a modern barn conversion situated on a working farm. The quiet rural location allows for a secluded and quiet holiday whilst being a stone’s throw from the fantastic beaches, coastal walks and various activities on the North Cornwall coastline. The Old Parlour is a traditional stone building, that has been lovingly converted to accommodate all the conveniences of modern life while retaining the original architecture of the high vaulted ceilings and exposed oak beams.

A superb farm cottage- lots of spacial areas with plenty to do for all the family

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family of 5 plus a dog- everyday the large kitchen and dinning areas became great social places to eat, discuss and watch tv.
In the courtyard the table tennis/and large connect four was always a fun family competition and after all the energetic walking or sea swimming, the hot tub was a perfect end to the day- with a G&T /beer!!
This is perfect for a family or group of adults - the beaches of Bude are great for surfing and dog friendly - Tintagel castle on a hot day is amazing, Padstow you cannot beat a Cornish pasty and finally a visit to the Eden Project is a must-
This location is very central and most things are 30min- 45mins away or less. Good planning at the start of the day is essential and always have other visiting options as the weather can change from day to day….. Other than that perfect place…. Excellent location….great for relaxing and older families
Ps. For older children…..worth bringing an Amazon Fire TV stick - the TVs have Freeview and Netflix




An incredible stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can’t thank you enough for our stay at The Old Parlour. We were wowed from the second we walked in! It was simply amazing. We felt so lucky to be staying there. The amenities were incredible and as 2 families staying with 4 children we never felt worried about breaking things or getting things dirty. There was so much stuff for the kids to do in the house from the climbing frame in the garden, to games, to books to jigsaws and duplo. It really helped us relaxed knowing that the kids were more than welcome and could be free in their playing.
The hot tub and ping pong table kept us greatly amused and we used the grass area to play pétanque. So much space and everything was finished with such high quality. We have been raving about it to our friends. It was such a wonderful stay and we are so thankful for the memories we have made. The location to most things in North Cornwall was about 40 minutes maximum and with Crackington Haven only 20 minutes away it made for the perfect beach day with stunning views close by. Thank you so much, from both our families to yours, for such a memorable and phenomenal stay.




Excellent property

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 6 adults, 2 children (aged 9 & 6) and a baby (6 mths) stayed at The Old Parlour in the first week of August. The property is absolutely beautiful, based on a working farm. It was clean and spacious and came provided with everything you can possibly think of, to ensure we had a wonderful stay (some of us even spent a couple of days at the house as it had everything there including bbq, games, hot tub, TVs etc). Every single one of us loved our stay, would recommend it to others and would re-book if returning to the location.

Pros:
The host was extremely lovely and accommodating (helping us find a garage for unforeseen car issues).
Most tourist locations are less than an hour away.
Property is modern and spacious allowing us to have our own space.
Everything was provided - all kitchen utensils thought of, towels, log burner was amazing (not used but can imagine very cosy at Christmas).
Children catered for - games (table tennis, table football, boules, giant connect4 & board games),

Cons:
Flies (but it is on a working farm so to be expected).
Some of the mattresses are too hard.

Improvements:
Some more plastic tupperware to be provided.
Some more larger fans and the hot tub allowed to be a bit cooler/lower temperature (we did stay when it was about 30 degrees and the property got very warm).
Provide a fly swat/zapper.





FABULOUS HOLIDAY ACCOMMODATION

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place for a family holiday. The accommodation is very spacious and beautifully appointed. There is everything you could possibly need provided in the kitchen. The games room and outdoor space is great for children. TVS in every room so no arguments as to who watches what!! Table tennis, BBQ and a beautiful hot-tub. Lovely outside space. The grandchildren really enjoyed seeing the cows and the weeks old puppies. Sorry we couldn't take one home! The owners were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here and I hope that maybe we will be able to visit again in the future. Thankyou for making our holiday special.



In a Nutshell.... Perfection

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Parlour is the perfect base for your holiday. Extremely well equipped and scrupulously clean



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn is beautiful and it very clean and comfortable. Lots to do even in a rainy day. If we go to Cornwall for holiday again would definitely stay in the Old Parlour



21st Birthday review

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most beautiful place I’ve ever stayed in. I had my 21st birthday there and it was amazing there was so much space and loads of stuff to do. There’s plenty of room for parking. Which was great as we had a few cars.
Highly recommend. Definitely will book again in the future




Lovely house everything that we needed, would love to return again in the future.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners of this house had everything well thought out. If I had to say anything negative it would be that the smallest bedroom could of had more cupboard and draw space.



Wow!

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Parlour was easily one of the most incredible places I have ever holidayed! It was absolutely pristine on arrival and you can see everything has been carefully thought through. There is so much to do at the property we didn’t leave all weekend! The host (Amy) was fantastic. We had a power cut during our stay due to a horrendous storm and she provided us with everything she possibly could to make our day comfortable, all communication was great. We really hope to return one day in the future. If you have any reservations about booking this place - just do it!



Beautiful property in lovely quiet area of Cornwall.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a fantastic week staying at The Old Parlour. The property is fabulous - so much space and beautifully furnished. The kitchen is one of the best equipped kitchens I've ever come across when staying in a self catering property. Lovely big dining table and also a really useful breakfast bar. We really enjoyed the two huge lounge areas and my daughter loved playing with the table football. The space outside has been thought through well - we loved the hot tub being under cover which was really useful especially as our stay was in October and we all enjoyed the table tennis table too. Lots of little things included such as dishwasher and washing machine tablets, washing up liquid, along with a lovely tea, coffee, hot chocolate station. The location is really peaceful - lovely quiet lanes for walking the dog and we enjoyed watching the cows and donkeys grazing in the fields. We thoroughly enjoyed our week and we hope to be back again soon - Thank you!




The perfect Break

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb location for a relaxing holiday with all areas of North Cornwall within easy reach.
The accommodation itself is extremely comfortable and caters well for larger parties, all furnishings and appliances are to a very high standard.
The owners are both helpful and friendly and i would recommend a stay at their property to anyone.




Beautiful house and lovely holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just recently returned from staying at The Old Parlour.
The house itself is lovely. Very clean and well furnished. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and the hot tub in the back garden is an added bonus.
On arrival, Amy the landlady, put away our food shopping as it arrived before we did- I thought this to be very kind and it got our holiday off to a good start.
There are lots of things to do in the surrounding area, but you do need to travel a little.
However, the local beaches are not too far.

Just a comment to make in relation to the house, for me the house was very hot. It was probably the time of year, however we couldn’t open the windows because flies galore would come into the house and eat you alive! If you like it cosy then it would be perfect for you, but if you do prefer it cooler then I recommend using the plug in air conditioners provided, it is personal preference though, so not a complaint as such.

The house is located on a farm so be prepared to be woken by animals early in the morning, however this wasn’t too much of a bother for us as we were up early with our little one anyway.

Overall, it was a lovely holiday.
Thank you again.




Superb relaxing break at The Old Parlour

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful and relaxing week at The Old Parlour and would recommend this accommodation to friends and family, in fact we are considering going back next spring. A wonderful property fitted to an excellent standard and very well furnished. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

If you take your family dog the doggy bath is a wonderful idea and fantastic to wash your pooch after a lovely day on one of the many nearby dog friendly and clean beaches.

Well worth it!




Perfect getaway for family and friends!

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at The Old Parlour. The accommodation was superbly kitted out and sparklingly clean. Both the adults and children in the party were well entertained with the hot tub, table tennis and games room. Amy and Paul were great hosts and pointed us in the direction of some excellent beaches and beauty spots.
Overall a fantastic holiday!




Superb property, something for everyone.

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have asked for more, helpful owners, extremely well equipped property and impressively clean throughout.





Two week stay at the old parlour

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely two weeks at the old parlour with all the mod cons you required, the house is set out great for a family to have there own space but also get together. The outside patio/play area was great for the grandson to play and us to enjoy a drink in the sunshine which we were lucky enough to have the full holiday, the only negative is the noise from the farm animals which is straight behind the bottom bedroom walls and starts early every morning but having said that the detail in the parlour advert does tell you it’s on a working farm. Would still highly recommend the property very high spec decor.



Wow!!! Wonderful holiday home.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is just wow, the nicest place we've ever stayed. Lots of attention given to details and high quality household items throughout. We were able to do as much cooking as we would at home which was important for us having little ones and the cottage being remote. Which we loved as all you could hear is the occasional mooing from the cows. We got a shop delivery from sainsbury's for when we arrived which worked perfect. It had everything you need to be a home away from home and brilliant for kids of all ages with climbing frame, hot tub, games room, table tennis, table football and tvs in all bedrooms, lounge and games room all with Netflix and WiFi throughout. We booked directly through their own website and Amy was lovely throughout and checked on us at arrival to see if we had any questions. Beautiful setting and short drive to some gorgeous beaches and we were so lucky with the weather to have three beach days. I could not recommend this place enough. Thank you x



Long weekend stay

Review submitted on Wed, 05 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay at The Old Parlour, perfect for those wanting a self catering break. Great communication from the owners from start to finish, so we knew exactly what to expect particularly with Covid restrictions. Would definitely recommend.



A brilliant holiday at The Old Parlour- highly recommend!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic holiday at The Old Parlour. The accommodation was beautiful and so comfortable- the beds were super comfy along with all the furnishings and it's clear the owners have really thought about their guests and providing a wonderful holiday. Fantastic facilities within a lovely setting. We cant fault our stay and Amy was a brilliant host. We most definitely will be back to stay. Thank you so much :)



Lovely house in the countryside

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time, the house had everything we needed and is beautifully maintained. Great communication from Amy too. It’s in a fairly remote location, but if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle, then it’s perfect.



A really outstanding property with fabulous living space

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Plenty of room for family and friends to socialise. The living areas are huge. Separate play space if some group members want to do other things - the table football was a big hit. Kitchen fabulously equipped. Great for children. And if you are fortunate Derek will give you a tour of the animals. Well situated to take advantage of the beautiful north coast. Very relaxing as everyone has space.



Fantastic Birthday Weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked for my Dad’s 50 birthday as a surprise. There was 6 of us and there was loads of space. The games area was so much fun, table football, table tennis and giant connect four. Massive hot tub with towels and robes. Kitchen was large and fully loaded with pots, pans, plates etc. Large fridge freezer. Seating areas were comfortable and each room had a tv with freeview and Netflix. Large dining area. Close to Bude and beaches we had a fab time exploring. Dad really enjoyed the whole experience as did we all. I would recommend to all. The place was spotless and the beds comfortable will lovely white bedding. Cleaning gear and tea and coffee provided. The place felt super clean. Looking to book again.



Amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived on Friday afternoon after a very long drive. Amy was there to welcome use. She was extremely helpful and friendly. We loved our stay and would highly recommend anyone looking for a relaxing stay. The place was fully equipped with anything you could imagine needing.

Had the best weekend.

Thank you




A stunning house well equipped with everything you need

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an absolutely stunning house, beautifully furnished and has everything you need for a perfect staycation. Check in and check out was really easy and the owners provide you with all the information you need for your stay on their website. Couldn’t fault anything...we will definatley be back next year.



Great accommodation for 8 plus 1 dog!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Old Parlour for 5 days in July 2020 and had a great time!

4 couples, and we were all accommodated well as there are 4 great sized double bedrooms, 2 with en-suite, and 2 further toilets so everyone can have their own.

They also have several sofa bed options if you’re more than 8 so it can easily fit more.

The living areas were fantastic, nice and open plan kitchen/dining room and then a separate lounge area with lots of seating.

Kitchen was large and had loads of space for cooking and entertaining and it came fully equipped with everything you need and more for baking and cooking for a large group!

The host, Amy, said hello at the beginning and was available if we needed her and we’d recommend looking though the extra info sections of the old parlour website as she’s put a lot of effort into giving tips and recommendations for places to eat/drink, beaches (and which were dog friendly), amongst many other things - thanks Amy!

Overall, it was a great stay, 20 minutes outside of Bude meant we got value for money and a tonne of space which made the stay really relaxing.

We’d deffo consider saying again, next time we’re in Cornwall.

5 stars from us!!




Amazing stay on a rural farm

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
everything provided in the house was high quality, the decor was done to a very high standard, great that there's two reception rooms and the hottub was a great added touch!