FB Twitter

The Bullpen

The Bullpen

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 55 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


The Bullpen sleeps two in country elegance: pale walls and wood floors, rugs and pictures, lamps, cushions and throws. A large studio room, all on one level, is divided by an antique French screen into bedroom and sitting areas. There is a separate shower room adjoining the bedroom area and a charming kitchen with access to a small grassy space outside where you can sit in the morning sun with a cup of tea and take in the views.

The bedroom area has a super king-sized bed, which can also be configured as two twins, and wonderful countryside views. The adjoining luxurious travertine tiled bathroom has a powerful shower with large shower rose, a toilet and a large washbasin. The cosy sitting area has a comfortable sofa, armchair, writing desk, wood-burning stove, TV/DVD player and Bose radio/CD player with iPod dock. The beautiful eat-in kitchen has underfloor heating, and country furniture. It is fully equipped with halogen hob, electric oven, microwave, di

Real luxury!

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful stay at your beautiful cottage. Everything was amazing- beautiful decor, the most comfortable beds & linen, amazing shower and a kitchen filled with everything you could need! Such a great location and a lovely family! Thank you for a really wonderful stay, we will definitely be back!

Kirsty from London stayed at The Bullpen for 3 nights in August 2019


Lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As soon as we entered Bullpen cottage we felt at home. The cottage was clean and cosy. The bed was very comfortable and the wet room was fab.
Vicky was very welcoming and has a good knowledge of the area.
A car is a must when staying here as everywhere seemed to be at least half an hours drive away, but a central base for both east and west Cornwall.
The grounds of the Barn are a real bonus and the lake and summerhouse are a great place to sit in peace and quiet to read, picnic or just watch the wildlife.
We had a very enjoyable holiday also helped by fabulous weather, so no need for the logburner.
Thank you once again Vicky and family


Julie from Burnley stayed at The Bullpen for 10 nights in July 2019


The Bullpen, for two.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lucky find as no photographs do this gorgeous little property justice. Warm, comfortable and cosy whatever the weather and hope to go back again in the winter. Instant heat and hot water when you need it with well equipped laundry room next door for wet clothes to dry off in.
Everything has been thought of to make your stay easy, super king size bed and beautiful bed linen, large wet room with lovely organic toiletries, and easy chairs and comfortable sofa in the sitting area to relax in at the end of the day - complete with wood burning stove (logs also supplied). Games, magazines, books and fresh flowers in all the rooms make you feel like very welcome guests.
A separate and equally delightful well equipped kitchen completes this wonderful Bullpen "house" which surrounds a beautiful courtyard garden you also have access to. The owners gave us free access to roam throughout their own garden, which includes a boating lake, kitchen garden (help yourself), barbeque area and enormous flower garden. Everywhere you look there is something to delight the eye.


Douglas from Peterborough stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in June 2019


Glorious stay at The Bullpen!

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bullpen is without doubt one of the nicest places my husband and I have ever stayed. Prior to our stay, the communication from Vicky was excellent and very clear. The accomodation is spacious and very tastefully decorated, with a lovely wood burner and country kitchen area. Everything was exceptionally clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was excellent. You also have access to Benallack Barn's beautiful gardens, which are lovely and very relaxing.

In terms of the location of The Bullpen, it is perfectly situated to explore Cornwall. We went on a number of different trips out - from the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project to Porthcurno Beach and the Minack Theatre - and all of these were within a comfortable driving distance.

We loved our stay and would definitely book here again! We'd highly recommend it for anyone looking to stay in beautiful Cornwall!


Laura from Bury stayed at The Bullpen for 5 nights in June 2019


A lovely week

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a marvellous week in Cornwall at the end of September, staying in the Bullpen at Benallack Barn. What a beautiful cottage! So welcoming and comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Fresh flower arrangements were a lovely touch. Lovely spacious bathroom with marvellous shower, very comfy bed with the best pillows ever, and a brilliant log burner to cosy up in front of in the evenings - (sadly we only used it twice as the weather was too nice!) TV with DVD player, and Bose I Pod dock were on hand in the sitting room. The large garden was simply amazing, sloping down to the large pond and summerhouse - such a lovely place to unwind whilst watching the ducks (or to watch the evening entertainment of owner and son boating to the little island to feed the ducks!)

And you must try pasties and sausage rolls from 'Mary's Pasties' nearby!

A wonderful oasis of calm in the countryside, away from the bustle of town but well placed to explore the delights of Cornwall. Simply lovely..


Jeffrey from Rossendale stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in September 2018


Another wonderful break at a beautiful cotage

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to the Bullpen which we enjoyed just as much as the first.
Superb accommodation - very spacious and comfortable bed - beautiful gardens which we took full advantage of sitting most nights outside the summer house until 10pm. each night with a glass of wine of course.
The cottage is ideally situated between the north and south coast and is convenient to visit many places of interest and coastal bays.
We were very lucky with the weather - temperature was in the 30's most days and Vicky our host was very friendly and accommodating.
Overall we had an excellent holiday


John from Folkestone stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in June 2018


Peaceful but accessible

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time at Benallack Barn and the new owners made us feel very welcome. We were here in November and the weather was cold but the apartment was very warm and cosy. We didn't need to use the log fire but on very cold days it would be lovely to sit by it reading or watching the TV. We had a lovely week visiting the local sights - take the St.Mawes ferry to Falmouth on a sunny day, beautiful. Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project are local. St. Austell is good for shopping, only 15 minutes or so away. Charlestown also lovely to visit, see the tall ships, have lunch in one of the cafes, very picturesque. Excellent!

Paul from Worthing stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in November 2017


Ideal accomodation in the heart of the country for a most relaxing break in Cornwall.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bullpen provided my wife and I with very comfortable accommodation in the countryside just seven miles from Truro. Our only concern was the steps from bedroom to toilet & shower room and also from lounge area to kitchen. There were also steps from lounge and kitchen to outside doors. These would not be easy for an infirm person. The surrounding property especially the lovely garden and lake were wonderful. The flowers on display in the Bullpen, music playing on FM on our arrival and a basket of vegetables from the garden were all appreciated. A very quiet and peaceful position.

Guest from Norwich stayed at The Bullpen for 6 nights in August 2017


A cosy retreat in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed every minute of our stay at The Bullpen. An excellent cottage, well equipped with a very comfortable bed, a fantastic shower and a lovely wood burning stove. The cottage was both cosy and spacious and ideally located in a peaceful setting with great access to all areas of Cornwall. The owners Vicky and Darran were very helpful when needed and welcomed us personally. It was lovely to arrive to fresh flowers and a welcome pack including freshly picked vegetables from their garden. We will definitely be returning

Kevin from Spennymoor stayed at The Bullpen for 8 nights in July 2017


What a lovely place to stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage which had everything we needed for our stay, along with access to their beautiful garden!

Guest from Bournemouth stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in June 2017


Fabulous peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful buildings, gorgeous gardens, fabulous furnishings, sumptuous shower, most comfortable bed ever. All necessities catered for plus lots more. Tea,coffee, milk, biscuits on arrival. Lovely fresh flowers. Relaxed atmosphere, freedom to use amenities. Well situated to go exploring East and West Cornwall. I would highly recommend this accommodation.

Andrea from Cleethorpes stayed at The Bullpen for 5 nights in June 2017


Review

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely apartment, beautifully done up. Amazing gardens and very outgoing owner giving you the freedom of the garden.



Andrew from London stayed at The Bullpen for 4 nights in June 2017


perfect stay

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, peaceful stay, would highly recommend, lovely setting in the open countryside, and excellent accommodation

Guest from Troon stayed at The Bullpen for 5 nights in June 2017


Comfortable and cosy cottage in a great location with every facility you could require and more.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a most enjoyable and comfortable 4 night stay in the Bullpen - would havevstsyed longer but it wasn't available. Book early. It is ideal for a couple to get away from it all and a good Base for exploring Cornwall. Comfy beds, soft duvets and pillows - every convenience and facility one could require with little extras, in a fabulous countryside location . Owners gardens are beautiful and can be used by guests in the two cottages. Would thoroughly recommend.

Barbara from stayed at The Bullpen for 4 nights in June 2017


Rural retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bullpen suited us down to the ground. Peaceful, well equipped, cosy and very comfortable. The only problem was we picked the wrong week for the weather!

Trevor from Otley stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in May 2017


Everything you could ask for

Review submitted on Sat, 06 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bullpen is a lovely cottage. It has all the amenities you might need for a relaxing stay. Everything you might need is taken care of from free Nespresso caspules to a communal washing machine and dryer. The Garden of Benallack Barn is beautiful, there a countless spots where you can sit and enjoy the pond and the greenery.

Guest from Neustadt stayed at The Bullpen for 8 nights in April 2017


Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review.

Perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not have enjoyed our stay in the Bullpen more. We're a young couple who both work highly stressful jobs - so were looking for solace in a remote beautiful location. The Bullpen and its owners were perfect. Absolutely loved the setup and all the little extras that came with the accommodation e.g. tea tray, coffee machine, board games, guest information etc.
Would 100% recommend staying in this property. Thank you for your warm welcome!


Catherine from Steeple Aston stayed at The Bullpen for 4 nights in April 2017


Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad you were able to get away from it all and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

A most enjoyable week in March 2017

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a very enjoyable week in the Bullpen (despite some very windy, cold weather ) - really very well thought out accomodation for two people. Very tasteful decoration, warm, confortable and well equipped throughout. Superb shower bathroom and a very large,confortable bed. It's in a brilliant location for most of the major garden sites and easy access for both the north coast and south coast areas of Cornwall . Very rural and quiet but not isolated .Most welcoming hosts, who were on hand throughout to ensure our stay went well . I would recomend this little gem without hesitation and hope to revisit some time soon, to see the gardens in another season and do some more walking . Thank you Vicky and Darren for a great week - much appreceated.

John from stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in March 2017


Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope you'll be back again soon and hopefully enjoy some better weather!

Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such an amazing, relaxed time while we were in cornwall and that was thanks to our accommodation and beautiful surroundings at Benallack Barn. The location is perfect for exploring every part of cornwall. We arrived to a beautifully warm cottage, with freshly cut flowers and a welcome box and card from the owners, Vicky personally greeted us which was a lovely touch. We can not wait to book our next trip to our favourite part of the country and we will be choosing Benallack Barn again.

Emily from Poole stayed at The Bullpen for 5 nights in February 2017


Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad our location worked well for you and you were able explore Cornwall and look froward to welcoming you back soon.

A spacious and luxurious gem

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bullpen exceeded our expectations. Have stayed in over 30 Premier cottages and this has to be one of the best.
Beautiful, spacious cottage with everything we required for our stay.
The beautiful gardens, which we made full use of, were a bonus.
Well situated for visiting most of Cornwall.
Can certainly recommend!


John from Folkestone stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in August 2016


A lovely stay at the bullpen

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bull pen at benallack barn was a lovely place for two to stay in Cornwall. The cottage is very well decorated and is a comfortable place to stay while visiting the sights of Cornwall. Highly recommend.

Helen from Rayleigh stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in July 2016


Our stay at Benallack Barn

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the Bullpen at Benallack Barn could not have been any better. Linda and Paul provide the most peaceful and relaxing environment for a getaway in Cornwall. The accomodation is perfect for a couple and the attention to detail is remarkable, from the most comfortable bed in the world, right down to the array of cooking utensils! The setting is perfect with full use of Linda and Pauls beautiful garden and with stunning walks right from the front door.
The Bullpen opens onto a communal courtyard but also has its own private entrance which is perfect for early morning starts.
We will definitley be back and are already planning a return visit for the Autumn.
We would highly recommend Benallack Barn- the price may seem a little higher than average but worth every single penny!


Padraig from Lisburn stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in July 2016


A peaceful enjoyable relaxing stay- its a shame our stay went so quickly.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We felt at home straight away - we would not hesitate to come back. Its well positioned for all parts of Cornwall. The Bullpen is very comfortable - the couch and bed are very comfy. The garden and lake are a must to see and use especially in sunnier climes - thats why we must visit again!

Rose from Child Okeford stayed at The Bullpen for 4 nights in July 2016


Bullpen is a Champion!

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third visit to Benallack - and it won't be our last! This is a real find if you prefer to be in charge of your own few days away, and away from the thrall of hotel life. Do things at your own pace and eat in or go out to one of the excellent restaurants this part of Cornwall has to offer - we went up to Padstow for some wonderful fish. The Bullpen is luxurious, beautifully furnished and with plenty of room to relax. Highly recommended.

Mike from Faversham stayed at The Bullpen for 3 nights in May 2016


The Bullpen Benallack Enterprises

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location for exploring Cornwall, the accommodation was comfortable and very well laid out for a relaxing stay to unwind and "Re charge the Batteries", we really enjoyed our stay.

Larry from Crawley stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in April 2016


heavenly Easter break

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bullpen is everything and more that you could wish for from a holiday cottage. A warm welcome from Linda and Paul awaits you along with luxurious cosy cottage. Centrally located the Bullpen allows you to explore as much of Cornwall as you wish. Equally the beautiful garden means you can experience the local beauties just outside your door.

Samantha from Sutton Courtenay stayed at The Bullpen for 6 nights in March 2016


Perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect base for our house hunting week. Centrally located so easy to get to everywhere. Every luxury you could wish for. A lovely wood burning stove to relax in front of in the evening, and superb cooking facilities meant that once home of an evening we never felt the need to go out again and ended up cooking there every night - something we never normally do. Have already recommended to everyone I meet!

Helen from Derby stayed at The Bullpen for 4 nights in January 2016


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you found the Bullpen to be perfect for you!

First Class

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and cosy. Also very quiet which was what we wanted. Great location, we loved it. We went right down to St Ives and all the way back up to Padstow with ease. Thanks

Carol from Dunsborough stayed at The Bullpen for 4 nights in December 2015


Wonderfully comfortable, cosy, quality accommodation.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in the Bullpen for 3 nights in November, it was magical! The location was perfect, ideally located to reach the coast, Bodmin and Landhydrock. The Bullpen is well equipped, sensitively restored, warm, cosy with quality fixtures and fittings. Expect peace, starry skies and a good nights sleep!

Karen from Shackleford stayed at The Bullpen for 3 nights in November 2015


Excellent all the way

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
booked the Bullpen for a short getaway and was delighted with the location and quality of the accommodation. Beautifully designed for couples and surrounded by lovely gardens and countryside. Ideally located for exploring pretty much all corners of Cornwall.

Josh from Surbiton stayed at The Bullpen for 4 nights in October 2015


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay in the Bullpen and for pointing out our central location.

A lovely peaceful and relaxing place to stay in Cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our recent stay at The Bullpen, Benallack Barn. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped and the location is excellent. We were able to reach both north and south coasts very easily for beautiful walks and other attractions such as the Lost Gardens of Heligan, The Eden Project and Lanhydrock are within a short drive. We would definitely recommend The Bullpen for a peaceful and relaxing holiday and hope to return ourselves very soon.

Catriona from Ripley stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in September 2015


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
We were delighted to read your review of the Bullpen. So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Luxury in the countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bullpen was luxurious and comfortable set in amazing grounds and lovely countryside. The furnishings and decor were of a very high standard. Access to the owners' gardens with a lake and summerhouse were a delightful bonus. Very friendly welcome from the owners and the two border terriers!

David from Carnoustie stayed at The Bullpen for 4 nights in September 2015


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind review of the Bullpen. We're glad you found it comfortable and would love to welcome you again.

A perfect stay

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a long arrival from Germany, we're delighted about this really comfortable, cosy Bullpenn cottage. Excellent inside and outside, very helpful owner and enchanting Tigger, Dodger and Twinky. We're coming back in the future for sure.

Sylvia from Achim stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in August 2015


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Benallack Barn. I'm glad you enjoyed meeting our pets and hope you will come back to visit us again.

Beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location with a beautiful garden, big shower in bathroom. everything you need for a quiet holiday. Lovely owners. Plenty to see and do in the locality. Close to St. Austell and Truro. Owners home brewed ale is awesomely good, don't refuse an invitation! Living accommodation is lovely, well decorated and clean, everything we needed in the kitchen. Lovely outside space, bench and table outside back door in courtyard and a large beautiful garden and lake to enjoy.

Guest from Worthing stayed at The Bullpen for 8 nights in June 2015


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for mentioning all the features that you enjoyed!

Fantastic place to stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place to stay in a beautiful part of the world. Not too far from the beaches of South Cornwall or some traditional English pubs. Highly recommended and the two dogs are a fun extra!

Guest from Amsterdam stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in July 2015


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for giving us such a lovely review. The dogs are certainly an attraction; our guests mention them almost as much as everything else!

A lovely break.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the Bullpen.
The cottage was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Tastefully decorated too.
The gardens were superb - a bonus for us as enthusiastic gardeners.
It was lovely and peaceful - ideal after a busy day out and about exploring Cornwall.


Guest from Ashbourne stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in May 2015


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your kind review. Glad to know you enjoyed your stay in the Bullpen.

Wish we could have stayed longer.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in The Bullpen at Benallack Barn. The cottage is very comfortable and tastefully furnished with a well-equipped kitchen. It is even better than it looks on the website! It was spotlessly clean and it was lovely to receive freshly laid eggs and some local artisan bread on arrival. The garden is stunning and the hosts kind and helpful but not intrusive. It is quiet and rural yet within easy driving distance of Truro and the north and south coasts. We had a wonderful time and recommend it wholeheartedly. But 6 days is too short - stay longer!

Guest from Glasgow stayed at The Bullpen for 6 nights in May 2015


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay. We appreciate your kind comments and are very glad you enjoyed your Cornish holiday.

A Welcome Break

Review submitted on Tue, 12 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For my wife and myself this is an ideal location. The flexibility of Linda & Pauls booking policy allowed us to combine a sensible short break with a visit to an old relation in Plymouth. The more strictured approach of others means we would either have to pay for time we couldn't use or miss an opportunity to keep in touch. Add to this the location that allows us to visit a wide variety of places on both coasts and it proves the perfect accommodation.

Guest from Nr. Bakewell stayed at The Bullpen for 5 nights in May 2015


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Benallack Barn. We're so glad you enjoyed your second holiday with us and look forward to seeing you again in future.

A perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved everything about the Bullpen. Beautifully furnished, very comfortable, lovely garden, everything you could wish for. Delicious bread and eggs a real bonus.

Guest from Bakewell stayed at The Bullpen for 4 nights in April 2015


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay and the extras we provide!

Comfortable, luxurious getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bullpen offers any couple very comfortable accommodation when you want to getaway to peace and quiet. Very well furnished with an enormous bed, well equipped kitchen and a wood burner in the lounge area for those cosy evenings in front of the tv. The wet room is particularly good. There are a couple of steps between rooms that could impede anyone without full mobility. Mobile phone coverage is variable but there is wifi for those that have to stay in touch.

Guest from Rickmansworth stayed at The Bullpen for 4 nights in December 2014


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your detailed and complimentary review. We really appreciate your comments and are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Utterly Delightful

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent two weeks at Benallack Barn and will be returning in the near future. Linda and Paul are wonderful hosts, both went out of their way to make us feel at home. We were welcomed with some handpicked flowers from the garden, fresh eggs, and delicious bread and jam, which was a lovely touch.

The location is central, meaning we were able to travel to all of the destinations we visited in Cornwall very quickly.
The settings are idyllic, perfect if you are looking for some peace and quiet. The gardens are absolutely gorgeous and wouldn’t look out of place on the cover of a quality gardening magazine. We were delighted with the accommodation and amenities which are of a very high standard.

We are looking forward to our next visit!


Guest from Hamburg stayed at The Bullpen for 11 nights in July 2014


Benellack - a view of Cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time here. Perfect weather, ideally located between coasts, and east/west, so visiting anywhere in this glorious county is easy and quick. Benellack itself is delightful. Simply but effectively furnished, in a friendly environment, with great facilities. Basic amenities are provided at the start (Milk, Bread, eggs, jam) so if you arrive late you can at least know there is a meal there for you. Surrounding area is peaceful and idyllic. Whilst Benellack is close to everywhere, it sits in the middle of nowhere so mornings are gentle and silent...for a quick getaway or a week of sightseeing it is perfect. We have been here twice already and fully expect to visit again.

Guest from Danbury stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in July 2014


Benallack Barn.

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a most enjoyable holiday helped by glorious weather, the Bullpen is a great location to spend a week visiting this area of Cornwall. At the end of a busy day we could relax in a superb quiet garden, the property is well appointed with all your needs catered for .

Guest from Macclesfield stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in June 2014


The brilliant "Bullpen"

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the location, king size bed, the wood burner, hot towells on the rail warmer, the generous country kitchen, the lovely garden and the nosy little puppy was a bonus.

Guest from Townsville City stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in May 2014


A Great Early Break

Review submitted on Tue, 13 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the first time we have stayed but will definitely not be the last. As with all self catering the property will not suit people wanting ready access to night life. This is an extremely quiet location and currently suitable for couples without children. The site lends itself to those prepared to travel or walkers. We went to both the north and south coasts of Cornwall during the days and came 'home' to cook an evening meal and a very nice nights sleep in a bed that was more comfortable than ours at our home. The heating was more than adequate and adjustable when we needed. It's tempting to say everything was perfect but there were a few missing items from the kitchen itinerary that made it necessary to use the dish washer every day and wash-up the odd item, plus an odd light bulb not working. I am certain had we asked these would have been sorted.

Guest from Nr. Bakewell stayed at The Bullpen for 5 nights in May 2014


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind review, David. We are very grateful for your comments.

Our third visit

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Mar 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently returned from The Bullpen,our third stay in the last 12 months.We live in Devon.and like to escape for a couple of nights at a time to Cornwall,and we find the accommodation offered at Benallack Barn just perfect for us.A lot of thought ,care expense and good taste has gone in to making The Bullpen a perfect little bolthole for two.Very well equipped and extremely comfortable ,the garden too is delightful.Highly recommend.


Guest from South Brent stayed at The Bullpen for 2 nights in March 2014


Valentines weekend at the Bullpen 2014

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived we found Champaigne and red roses waiting for us. Local butter and milk in the fridge and fresh bread delivered in the afternoon. The whole experience of staying in The Bullpen was simply amazing. I cannot praise the efforts that Paul and Linda have gone to to make this a warm and cosy winter retreat. I would imagine that it must be even better in the summer. The garden looks fantastic, but it was too cold for us to venture into in February. We cannot praise this place enough. It was wonderful!!

Andy from Bideford stayed at The Bullpen for 2 nights in February 2014


Linda Pelham replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, Andy, for a great review. We're glad you enjoyed your Valentine's Day break and hope to see you again in future!

Away from the madding crowds

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very quiet rural location offering comfort and good space and all necessary facilities for two people. Car parking at the door. Transport essential due to location.

Guest from Rickmansworth stayed at The Bullpen for 4 nights in December 2013


What a Fantastic New Year

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chandini and I had the best New Year ever. What a beautiful place you have made Benallack Barn and I would recommend it to any couple for a stay away. We liked how beautiful the furnishings were, the shower was the best one I have ever had (the rain forest attachment was fantastic) and having fresh bread, eggs and milk an especially nice touch.
Also being environmentally friendly also ticked our boxes even more and we can't wait to stay again in the summer time.


Guest from Lauder stayed at The Bullpen for 2 nights in December 2013


Simply Wonderful

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a short break in Cornwall - staying at the Bullpen, Bennallack Barn, 10 minutes or so by car from Truro, in a beautiful and quiet location down a small country lane. Coastline to North or South is about the same distance in driving time.

Set in a lovely enclosed courtyard, the Bullpen is quite simply a beautifully presented apartment for two people, with quality fixtures and fittings throughout. So comfortable after a day out, in front of the wood burning fire!
The owners Linda and Paul are very welcoming and happy to recommend local attractions, walks, restaurants etc etc

I would definitely recommend that you try Benallack Barn (The Bullpen is not the only accommodation - there are others there as well) - We will go again that's for sure.


Guest from Tonbridge stayed at The Bullpen for 5 nights in October 2013


Our stay at The Bullpen

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time on Benallack Barn, indeed. Comfort, location and conditions where even better than expected. Benallack Barn is an almost ideal point to start exploring Cornwall. We enjoyed our stay very much throughout, and we are already thinking about to visit Benallack Barn, again.

Guest from Berlin stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in September 2013


The Bull Pen - Benallack Barn

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a find - a fabulous location for exploring Cornwall, amazingly high spec conversion with all the facilities you could ask for. The owners were very friendly without being intrusive. The gardens are glorious, with wonderful country walks right outside the door. We will certainly recommend the Bull Pen to our friends.

Guest from Bedford stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in July 2013


Fantastic accomodation in a relaxing, great location

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Benallack Barn was a great choice for a perfect relaxing break. The location was convenient for both south and north coast Cornwall and was in a peaceful location.
The grounds, garden and lake were beautiful and it was a thoughtful touch to have fresh eggs,artisan bread and preserves on arrival. No expense had been spared in the furnishings and well equipped kitchen. The luxurious White company bedding and Bose wave radio made our stay special.


Guest from Sale stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in August 2013


Perfect Cornwall escape

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Bullpen last minute, arriving 48 hours after booking.. We were not disappointed; the setting was perfect, the accommodation and surroundings a delight and everything we needed was on site, even to fresh eggs every morning! The 'Brucey bonus' was the trio of dogs we attempted to foster for the week. With sunny weather thrown out stay at the Bullpen was just what the doctor ordered.


Guest from Lytham stayed at The Bullpen for 7 nights in July 2013


A Wee Gem......

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Benallack Barn provides very comfortable accommodation We stayed in the Bull Pen which was beautifully presented with quality furnishings and fittings. Tasteful features await such as fresh flowers and lovely welcome pack that included eggs from their own hens.

The accommodation is well maintained, it has a stunning shower room en-suite to the bedroom, a log fire additional to central heating, very comfy large bed, well appointed dining/kitchen, wi-fi, docking station with radio and good nearby parking. If you're looking for tranquility this is the place to be; it's silent!

Linda & Paul (the owners) live close-by but maintain a discrete presence; they are helpful, friendly and generous towards their guests. Janice, housekeeper to the self-cat accommodation, does an outstanding job preparing it for guests. It really was a treat to experience; very welcoming.

Benallack Barn is centrally placed for touring Cornwall and a smashing place to return to in the evening. It's final access sees about a mile of narrow lanes, so take your time on the approach.

Should we return to Cornwall for a holiday we'd stay at Benallack Barn again without any hesitation.


Guest from Peterhead stayed at The Bullpen for 4 nights in September 2013