FB Twitter

The Shippon

The Shippon

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


The Shippon is a fabulous big house in the heart of the South Devon countryside. The 10 bedrooms each with their own bathroom hosts up to 18 people in comfort. It has generous living areas, extensive gardens and outside space including two hot tubs. Its located just a couple of miles along the beautiful River Dart from Totnes and close enough to walk to the village of Ashprington with its popular pub and vineyards.

Fantasticly outstanding

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shippam was a home from home where every little detail had been considered. Exceeded all expectations.



Wonderful family get-together in idyllic surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We gathered at The Shippon for a family celebration weekend in what turned out to be scorching hot July weather. The house and location are exactly (and spectacularly) as described and pictured on the website and the weekend was everything we hoped.

The house and environs are spacious, comfortably accommodating all 16 of us without ever feeling cramped, and the kitchen is fully equipped with everything we needed to serve up some monster brunch and barbecue meals.

We didn't need to spend much time in the living room due to the weather, but got full value from the games room, tennis court, and patio area, plus the easy access to beautiful countryside walks.

We would definitely visit again if the opportunity arises; all in all a magnificent weekend. And hot tubs!




Fab Family Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at The Shippon was the icing on the cake to our family weekend. Fantastic all around for all ages



Lovely stay at the Shippon

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were 14 and had lots of space with the two single bedrooms unused. The house is spacious, the wifi works well, as do the two hot tubs. The local area has many great walks.
The manager Jo was very helpful throughout arranging cars, referring us to medical help and doing stunts on her bicycle! Thanks Jo.
All in all, a great week!




One amazing weekend to remember

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at the Shippon the jubilee weekend for my best friends hen party. Not only is it one of the most beautiful location, the house itself is just outstanding and very beautiful. A bathroom with every room, Games room, two hot tubs, large living room. It was just perfect for us and the weekend was so amazing we would love to do it again. The owner Jo is so lovely and welcoming too.



Very comfortable rooms, good facilities for adults and children, good location, lovely views.

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite rather disappointing weather we had a great holiday at the Shippon.

The rooms are all very comfortable and the layout was ideal for our family mix of 3 generations from age 80 down to just 1 year old, and the dog.

The house is very well equipped especially the kitchen.

The games facilities and hot tubs were all extensively used by adults and children.

A very good quiet location, close to the lovely town of Totnes, and near to many other attractions that have appeal for children of all ages.




A family holiday for 3 generations

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We organised this family holiday for our 4 children,their partners and grandchildren from 8 to 18 yrs old. There was plenty of space for all and we had a fabulous time,many voting it the best holiday ever.
Families took it in turns to provide dinner, and the facilities for that are great. However, when it was our turn we ordered from Gilliflower,advertised on the website, and the resultant meal tasted great and was very generous wrt. quantity.
It's a lovely place just to be,catch up, and enjoy the view and the hot-tubs,but every day we ventured forth, twice on foot to Totnes or a local pub ,or eg. the magnificent beach at Bantham.I also took some of the youngsters fishing at a local lake,which was v. successful. Other activities included the children playing football and touch rugby on the field in front of the house and we went wild swimming in the River Dart and at the weir in Totnes.
We have already booked for next year




Fantastic stay at The Shippon

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I stayed at The Shippon for a week. The location is fantastic, and such a beautiful place to stay. The facilities are amazing - two hot tubs, sun loungers, a games room and a tennis court. The kitchen was fully quipped for the large numbers, everywhere was clean and tidy, and beds were all comfy! The perfect place to relax and explore Devon.



A great family reunion place

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first visited The Shippon in 2000 with our parents and it became our favorite place for our family reunions as a family with roots in the Netherlands and England. Everybody enjoys the silents, surroundings/landscape, activities and the house :-) The Van der Ham - Singleton family



A true haven in the country

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well what can I say? Me and my party had a dream of a stay as I celebrated reaching ripe ole 40 in style. Set off the beaten track yet a 30 mins stroll into central Totnes, we were able to relax to our own devices. The view from the outside deck overlooking the countryside hills was a pleasure to wake up to every morning (I highly recommend bagging yourself room 10)! I couldn't get over just how spacious the grounds were and whilst the place looks big from the outside, it really is a TARDIS when you enter it. The place has everything including all utensils you could even dream of in the kitchen.

Will definitely be returning and this time with the family, mountain bikes, paddle boards (River Dart on your doorstep) and some slippers....now i'm 40 haha.

Big thanks to our host Jo who from the get go was informative and welcoming. It's clear she is proud of the property and enjoys seeing it bring joy to others.





Family break

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the place very well equipped with good layout and stunning views. The owner was delightful. Made use of the great games room. The hot tubs were great.



Weekend away for my hen party

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Shippon for my hen party and it met all of our expectations and more, such a friendly beautiful place, from the cleanliness to the views nothing was an issue we could not of been more happier with the weekend and we got very lucky and had the best weather we could of asked for!



It was the perfect place for the large family gathering we had.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at the Shippon. Pervious experience has taught us to go equipped with certain items, especially as we are big into cooking and catered for ourselves the whole stay. We were more than pleasantly surprised with the kitchen facilities. More than enough of everything - we could have saved some space in the car!

Our host, Jo, was friendly and efficient during the whole process, start to finish. Everything was explained in detail and clearly. The location would take some beating - first impressions always count, and I would defy anyone not to be amazed with the views, tranquility, facilities and the way it makes you feel relaxed from the start.

The hot tubs and the games room were fantastic additions and really allowed our large group to spread out when needed. The large wood burner in the huge lounge was very hot - the older members of our group found the heat perfect, the younger members too hot - but thats an age thing!

The living space overall was more than enough for our group of 18.

That rooms were all very clean, tidy and welcoming with plenty of pillows and it was nice to have so many bathrooms.

I'll end as I began, it really is the perfect place for a large family gatherin - it really would take some beating!




A beautiful house in a dreamy location

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house is warm, stylish, comfortable and super-well equipped, set in a beautiful valley away from everything but close enough to Totnes to also be convenient for shops/trains/restaurants etc. 10 out of 10. We've stayed here at least five times already! Great running and/or walking routes right from the house too.



Birthday weekend with friends and family

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shippon House is absolutely stunning.Well equipped to support all your needs, from comfort, catering, cleanlinesses and amenities.View over the valley and river is glorious.
We had the most amazing weekend.
The location is perfect for walking and discovering the local area.Wonderful food and hospitality in local pubs.Highly recommend the Durant Arms in Ashbrington. Totnes is also worth a visit.
Jo has been the hostess with the mostest.Incredibly helpful from first day of booking to support all our needs and answered all our queries with positive solutions.
We will definitely be booking again
Thank you Jo




A Fabulous Winter Break

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
18 of us stayed at the Shippon for a 60th birthday celebration. Everybody really enjoyed the location, views, facilities and comfort. Even at full capacity there was a feeling of spaciousness both inside and out and plenty of parking for 10 vehicles. Good weather helped with daily walks and everybody was able to warm up on return in the huge living room which stayed really warm with the log burner going. Relaxing in the hot tubs under the stars was a magical experience.

Was it good value? My wife and I could have had a 10 day cruise for a similar price but 18 of us really enjoyed a week away, catching up with each other and making new friends and memories so I would class it as excellent value.

Would we visit again? Certainly we and many of our friends would jump at the chance to repeat the experience and hopefully one day we will.




Beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an absolutely beautiful location to stay. Sitting in the hot tubs under the stars was a highlight. The accommodation had everything we needed, was stylish, clean & comfortable.
I can’t fault the customer service & attention to detail. We will definitely return ☺️




An enjoyable Devon stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jan 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Shippon. The facilities are very good and the location and outlook across the River Dart were perfect. The communal areas of both the Lounge & Kitchen were ideal for a group of our size; the kitchen in particular was very well equipped. The hot tubs were also well used by the group and were kept clean regularly by our hosts.
The bedrooms are all well equipped, nicely decorated & each came with either an en-suite or exclusive use of a bathroom close by (water pressure not excellent in most but plentiful supply of hot water!).
Given we stayed at Christmas/New Year, it was nice to have a Christmas tree still up and lights around the property too.
All in all, would certainly recommend a trip to The Shippon.




What a place!

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For a big family gathering, The Shippon was perfect. Spectacular views over rolling hills from the huge lounge, the games room and twin hot tubs form a brilliant focus, with a firepit, tennis court and much, much more making this a place to enjoy in its own right. En-suite bedrooms, a laundry and a huge, well-equipped kitchen sort out the practicalities, while walking - with easy access to the River Dart - and cycling add to the options. What a place!



Another fabulous stay

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here a few years ago and loved it so much we came back again. There has been a few upgrades at the house since our last visit (a new kitchen and outside covered seating area and more importantly the WiFi has been upgraded) which have both added to the experience and quality of our stay.
The house is roomy and has enough space for everyone to eat at the dining table and watch TV not feel on top of each other.
The additional touches of fresh flowers in each bedroom and at the dining table just add to the quality and eye for detail of Jo (owner) who was such a wonderful and cheerful host.
The beds were so comfortable and the quality of the bedding is superb and not like some holiday let bedding we have experienced and very much felt home from home.
We only managed Monday - Friday as the weekends were already booked but if we could have stayed longer we would have.
There is a pathway into Totnes and we managed to navigate back in the dark with our phone lights after sampling the local Jail Ale so maybe a torch would be advisable for those not familiar with this path as to avoid the sheep !!
We used the hot tubs on a few nights and there was plenty of outside lighting if you needed it but we enjoyed the night sky and trying to figure out the star constellations whilst relaxing in the hot tubs.
There is also an addition of a fire pit with log stool seats and we managed to toast some marshmallows in the garden which we loved.
Last but not least is the games room which allowed some of the children (and adults) to have some great table tennis matches.
I would recommend this house (home from home) to anyone who wants to submerge in total relaxation and also have access to walks and local towns.
A perfect combination and caters for all ages - we will be back as soon as we can.




Great venue for big get togethers

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a really nice long weekend double birthday family (COVID delayed) celebration weekend at the shippon. It was all well organised ahead of time and everything was fine throughout our stay. House is clean, spacious and can easily accommodate a few more than advertised if younger children don’t mind not having a proper bed. Big eating area inside was able to accommodate 25 of us to eat. Hot tubs were a hit and lovely outside seating area with fantastic and peaceful views of the river Dart, it’s a nice easy walk into Totnes for anyone reasonably mobile. We used the catering recommended on the website on one night, went for the Moroccan feast. Was really delicious and plenty of it so had lots left over but it didn’t go to waste! Thanks to Jo and all who helped make it a great 50th celebration.



Such a great place for a group get together!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant place to stay, often hard to find right balance for a group stay when looking for price and quality-The Shippon does it perfectly! Amazing host, great spot with views. Great grounds and facilities too. Cannot recommend enough. Would love to go back soon.



A hidden gem nestled in the beautiful Devon countryside with everything you could wish for and more.

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shippon is, quite simply, stunning with glorious views across the beautiful Devon countryside. The cottage is equipped with everything you could possibly need, the highlight being of course, those amazing hot tubs. The memory of being in the hot tub with a glass of wine, looking out across the fields towards the River Dart will stay with us for a long time. The shrieks of childrens laughter coming from the tennis court, trampoline and playing field. The games room that saw several very serious ping pong & table football tournaments. The BBQ night that we had been looking forward to so much, bringing all 17 of us together. And the Sunday roast chicken dinner around the enormous kitchen table. A fantastic & memorable holiday thanks to the efforts of Jo & Sam, who were always on hand whenever we needed them & worked tirelessly to ensure we had the holiday we had hoped for.



70th birthday

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location and house. Very easy to contact Jo Cooke if necessary.. One of the adults had trouble reaching the fire alarm when it went off. As we had several tall folk it wasnt a problem.. just a thought. Suitable for all age groups and great for children with the games room and tennis court. I wouldnt recommend walking to Ashprington on the road either during the day or evening as the traffic, although there was not much of it, we wouldnt have done it but using the footpath was fine in daylight hours



Family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 27 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the fourth time we've stayed at the Shippon and always enjoyed our stay. The house is very spacious, clean and homely in a fantastic location