FB Twitter

The Byre

The Byre

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 48 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Grade II Listed 5 star gold barn conversion with private courtyard garden and direct access to half-acre additional garden, with private parking & electric vehicle charging point, in Newbiggin, Bishopdale for up to 2 people in 1 bedroom (+cot)

First of what we hope will be many stays to The Byre

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having found The Byre by chance, it lived up to, and beyond, all hopes and expectations.

The welcome was warm and nothing was too much trouble during our stay. We were given excellent advice on the area and were so impressed by the way the owners were coping with the current new conditions that they have now to operate under.

We are very pleased that our next stay will be in only four weeks time.


Christopher from London stayed at The Byre for 14 nights in July 2020


Back to The Byre

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As frequent visitors to Cottage in the Dales, we knew what to expect from the break and we were not in anyway disappointed.

Ken from Warrington stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in July 2020


The best we've found

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have made several visits to this cottage and the quality and standard is as good as ever. Diane and Andrew are always looking for ways to improve but we cannot say that there is anything that needs changing or needs improvement.

Michael from Bradford stayed at The Byre for 4 nights in March 2020


Idyllic Luxury Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage had everything we needed and more. Perfectly situated for access to the Dales National Park and everything it has to offer. We can honestly say that we have never stayed in a cottage as peaceful and luxurious.
The owners could not be any more helpful and made us feel extremely welcome. The little extras included were such an amazing touch. We’ll definitely be back! Thank you Diane and Andrew.


Marie from Nottingham stayed at The Byre for 4 nights in February 2020


Always Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always a stay at The Byre or The Diary is brilliant. Cannot find any faults and Diane and Andrew as always are great hosts. We would highly recommend a holiday at one of the properties if you wish to have luxury and great hospitality.

Julie from stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in January 2020


Outstanding

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Attention to detail and finish of the cottage was outstanding the areas beautiful and the owners of the cottage were fantastic.

Anne from Wigton stayed at The Byre for 4 nights in January 2020


Beautiful property in a great location

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From initial booking to checking out on our last day, everything was wonderful. Very easy booking process with quick confirmation from Diane. She is such a lovely lady and a great host. Very knowledgeable about the area and even further afield. The cottage is home from home (or maybe even better). Cosy and modern with everything you could need. Great kitchen and lovely living room with log burning fire. Much appreciated in January! large and bright bedroom. But our favorite is the shower!!! It is the best we have ever used (and the bathroom was also fabulous). Great views over the dales from the window.
The cottage is in a great location for exploring the surrounding area and within walking distance of the local pub!
Lots of information on walks and local tourist places, many books, games and DVD's.
Welcome tray was also provided to give all the essentials.
We had a very relaxing week and can't wait to return. Would highly recommend to anyone. Thanks again for a great time!!!!


Joanne from Houston stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in January 2020


Christmas stay at the Byre

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely gorgeous, comfortable cottage, very well equipped. A peaceful pretty village with lovely views from the cottage.
A very warm welcome from Diane and Andrew who are so helpful and friendly.
We have already booked to return next year.


Alison from Coalville stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in December 2019


Fabulous Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here the night before our wedding at Bolton Castle and it was perfect. Really comfortable cottage and such lovely service. We got ready here and then stayed the night of our wedding plus an extra night and couldn’t have asked for a more perfect place. Lots of extra little touches together with a luxury feel in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales.

Jessica from York stayed at The Byre for 3 nights in December 2019


A delightful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre is a perfect location to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Dales has to offer and is a place to return to over and over again.

John from Tring stayed at The Byre for 9 nights in November 2019


Fabulous weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only disappointing thing about our weekend staying at The Byre was the weather and hey it was November after all! We were welcomed warmly by Diane and the bottle of wine and anniversary card was a very thoughtful touch. The cottage is amazing so warm and cosy with every thing you could possibly need to make your stay fabulous.

Ian from Louth stayed at The Byre for 3 nights in November 2019


Best cottage ever!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was first class, from the information on the website and the booking procedure, the comfort and facilities in the cottage, and the care and attention provided by the owners.

The location is superb and the cottage is better than most hotels. Absolutely everything has been carefully considered and they have provided everything you could ever need.

Absolutely loved this place


Phil from Saffron Walden stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in October 2019


Luxury in the Dales

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre was gorgeous, everything in the cottage was first class. We have stayed in many self catering cottages in the UK and this has to be the best.





Glenda from Kirkcaldy stayed at The Byre for 4 nights in October 2019


First Visit to the Yorkshire Dales

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our cottage was wonderful, extremely comfortable and very luxurious. It had everything you need for a relaxing holiday. Lovely quiet village with gorgeous views. The owners, Diane and Andrew, have done everything to ensure guests have a wonderful holiday. We will definitely be back.

Stephen from Reading stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in October 2019


Our stay at The Byre

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd stay at the cottage and we are never disappointed - the location is perfect to explore the Dales
The standard and attention to detail is excellent and there is nothing we can fault
The owner always goes the extra mile to share information with us before we arrive regarding any events that are happening in the local area or places of interest - this time it was the world cycling championships
We have enjoyed both the beautiful outdoor space and cosy indoors during our stay due to the mixed weather
We are returning in December and have already booked for 2020 and 2021 (as have many other guests) which I think says it all


Lynda from Mansfield stayed at The Byre for 10 nights in September 2019


A Wonderful visit

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have returned many times to the Byre and each time we find it perfect. Our hosts think of absolutely everything to make our stay a complete delight

John from Tring stayed at The Byre for 3 nights in September 2019


Total quality.

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Difficult to praise The Byre highly enough, everything two require from a holiday cottage is here. Comfortable and cosy The Byre also has a beautiful garden to wander around. Highly recommended for a relaxing break.

Chris & Maureen from Holmfirth stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in August 2019


A wonderful and immaculate cottage for two in a superb location.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One could easily run out of superlatives for the Byre. The location is great giving easy access to the entire Dales National Park. The cottage is beautiful and kept to the very highest standards of both cleanliness and equipment. Dianne and Andrew have left nothing to chance, the attention to detail is remarkable. Their friendly and welcoming approach strikes just the right note to help make a holiday to remember.
This is, without doubt, the best presented cottage for two that we have ever visited.


John from Market Rasen stayed at The Byre for 14 nights in August 2019


Luxury Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in the Byre Cottage in Newbiggin, Bishopdale and it exceeded our expectation. From the booking procedure to our point of leaving, everything was first class. Nothing was to much trouble for Diane and Andrew and the information we were sent and also in the cottage was amazing. The cottage is so luxurious and everything inside is top quality and no expense has been spared. If you want top quality in beautiful surroundings and so much to do locally then this is the place for you. The highest compliment we could give it, is we have already booked again to go back next year.

Steven from Ellesmere Port stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in August 2019


Ultra High Spec Cottages off the beaten track in the Dales National Park

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A quiet lane on one side and a beautiful view over Bishopdale on the other, it would be difficult to fault The Byre at Cottage in the Dales. Nestling a few hundred yards from the main road in Newbiggin, the cottages are converted stone built former farm buildings. With log burners, oak beams and a beautifully maintained garden to the front, the accommodation comes with everything you need to relax. They even have torches and picnic baskets with coolers for the convenience of the residents. The rooms were spotless and kitted out to a very high specification. The owners, Diane and Andrew, could not be more accommodating or helpful.
We could not have been happier with our stay and look forward to the next one.


Simon from Oakham stayed at The Byre for 3 nights in August 2019


A delightful find in the Yorkshire Dales

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at The Byre. The cottage is just perfect, so and cosy with everything you could possibly need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The hosts, Diane and Andrew were so friendly and helpful.
We will definitely return at some point, in fact we have already booked to stay in their other 2 bedroom property with our daughter and partner in the next village next year.


Elizabeth from Liverpool stayed at The Byre for 4 nights in August 2019


The Place to stay if visiting the Yorkshire Dales

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we stayed at The Byre to visit the Yorkshire Dales. We know what we can expect when making a booking through Premier Cottages UK (unlike when making bookings through other companies) and The Byre is an excellent example of a luxury cottage available to book for a wonderful holiday in an idyllic rural setting.

There was nothing we could fault with the cottage. It was well equipped and comfortable to stay in. Diane was a wonderful host and we could not have asked for a more wonderful welcome. We would have no hesitation is staying at The Byre again when we next visit Yorkshire.


Simon from Hailsham stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in July 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much Simon for your wonderful review of your second stay at The Byre. It was lovely to welcome you and Alison back. We hope it is not too long next time! We are also delighted that you are keen to continue to use Premier Cottages as the ideal place to find quality/luxury cottages in the UK. In the meantime, our very best wishes to you both.

Can’t wait to go back !!

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place , stunning views , so much to do !
I can’t wait to return . Charming cottage that was spotless, comfortable and quiet.
I was a single traveller and would definitely recommend x


Karen from Sheffield stayed at The Byre for 3 nights in July 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for an amazing review Karen. We were delighted to welcome you to The Byre, especially as you were travelling on your own. We are looking forward to welcoming you back as it is the best compliment you can give us. Thank you for the Instagram mentions too - very kind of you. All the very best to you.

perfect!!!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful in every possible way. Diane and Andrew perfect hosts, always ready to help or give local advice. It is by far the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in and we will be returning as soon as possible.

Michael from Leigh stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in June 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Wowie - thank you so much Mick and Janet - for your lovely review. That is quite an accolade for which we are most grateful. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to enjoy it further sooner rather than later. In the meantime, our very best wishes to you both.

Simply the Be

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we’ve stayed in the Byre at Newbiggin - and choose it a second time because the first time impressed us so much.
We’ve stayed in some beautiful places over the years and some amazing cottages as well but the Byre has to have been one of the best. The accommodation is beautifully and comfortably furnished, immaculately clean and presented, everything you could need has been provided with all furnishings, catering equipment etc being of high quality and matched.
Comfortable sprung queen size bed makes for the best sleep ever too. Large Bathroom - again well supplied with matching towels and “White Stuff “ shower /hand gels and moisturiser cream.
Outside the Byre is a private area again well supplied with seating and a table for outside dining overlooking the hills above ( beautiful sunsets ) . There are also lovely gardens surrounding the farmhouse complex which owners are happy for guests to use.
Owners and hosts - Diane & Andrew - these two dynamic and superbly friend couple live in the farmhouse next door and without being intrusive will ensure your stay is all you hope it will be.
Walking around the Dales is always a treat in store for visitors to the area but if you want to end your day with a warm and inviting home to come back to we would strongly recommend this venue as number one in the Dales.
Try it - you won’t be disappointed and like us will be wanting to return.


Colin from Gosport stayed at The Byre for 14 nights in June 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Wowie! Thank you so much Lee and Colin for such an amazing detailed review. We know you and our other guests appreciate our attention to detail. It was delightful to welcome you back to The Byre again and so glad you enjoyed your fortnight stay there. We do hope we can welcome you back again when you want to explore a little bit more of the Yorkshire Dales. We will always be here! Our very best wishes to you both.

Would stay again, no hesitation. Exceptional accommodation.

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre is without doubt one of the top five self catering cottages we have stayed in over the last 30 plus years.

Susan from Sheffield stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in June 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Sue and Eddie for such an amazing statement to make about your stay at The Byre, for which we really appreciate. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, despite the wet weather. We do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Fantastic cottage in the Dales

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with all the amenities you could hope for, and more. Immaculately clean, and the customer service provided by Diane was exemplary - she really made us feel welcome and was very keen to ensure everything was just right. We will certainly be back.

James from Henley-on-thames stayed at The Byre for 3 nights in May 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you James for a lovely review, which we really appreciate. It was a pleasure to meet you and Susan, especially to celebrate her birthday, so as you say, we wanted everything to be just right for you both. We do hope we can welcome you both back to the Yorkshire Dales in the future, especially as we know you have such a long standing affinity with the area.

Excellent holiday let in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre in Newbiggin is genuinely 5 star accommodation where attention to detail is second to none. This has been our third stay at the Byre and we will definitely be returning.

Sam from Ormskirk stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in May 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Sam and Joan for such a lovely review - we really appreciate you taking the time. We are delighted you had a most enjoyable week again and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back to the Dales next year too. Our best wishes to you both.

Fabulous stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property in lovely location. Hosts are fantastic and the property has everything you could possibly need for your stay. Property also benefits from an electric vehicle charging point which worked flawlessly. Enjoyed it so much that we have booked again for next year!

Jonathon from Congleton stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in May 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review Jonathon, for which we are most grateful. We are delighted the EVCP worked well for you with your fully electric car, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back next year with your new electric car. In the meantime, our best wishes to you both.

Excellence all round!

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a lovely area. Your every need is catered for. Plenty to do in the locality just keep fingers crossed for good weather!

Tim from Lancaster stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in May 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind review Tim as we really appreciate you taking the time to do so. It was a pleasure to meet you both and hope that we can welcome you back to one of our cottage when you next want to explore the Yorkshire Dales further.

Top Quality Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We feel the Byre cottage and the owners represent the gold standard in their field. Everything imaginable has been carefully considered to allow guests to have the best possible holiday experience. Other than that, the cottage is ideally located to enjoy the best that the Dales has to offer.

Laura from Kirkliston stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in April 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review Laura and Drew. We really appreciate your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed staying at The Byre and exploring the Yorkshire Dales you remember from years gone by. Hence, we look forward to welcoming you back again next year to build even more happy memories of the Yorkshire Dales.

Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week staying in The Byre which is a beautiful property fitted out and furnished to an exceptionally high standard. Everything is immaculately presented inside and outside the cottage. The Byre is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty. The setting is stunning, with gorgeous views everywhere and it is incredibly peaceful. The Byre has a fabulous hand made kitchen, comfortable dining and living area with large inglenook fire place and log burner for colder evenings. Upstairs the bedroom is spacious and the large bathroom is beautifully appointed. Outside there is a large private terrace with views across the valley and access to the owner’s immaculate gardens. The terrace is furnished with a table, ample seating and during warm weather reclining seats and a parasol. Diane and Andrew are fabulous, friendly and accommodating hosts who have excellent knowledge of the area and can provide you with any amount of information regarding walks, how you may best like to spend your time and of course help with the amazing choice of excellent eateries in the nearby area. There is also a wealth of useful information to be found in the cottage to help plan your stay. You will want for nothing, there is even a pub within a very short stroll.
Cannot recommend highly enough, in fact we have booked to return in 2020.





John from Chippenham stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in April 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Wow! Thank you John & Julie for such a superb, detailed review. We really do appreciate your comments and how you appreciated so many aspects of The Byre. It was a pleasure chatting with you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back next year when we will happily recommend even more places to explore to visit and of course those all important quality places to eat. In the meantime, our very best wishes to you both.

Another faultless week in The Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit and we were not disappointed. The standard of accommodation is first class, location idyllic. Attention to detail from the owners is second to none and their mission to ensure your visit is memorable. My parents stayed in the neighbouring Dairy Cottage and loved it! Ideal set up for for 2 couples or relatives wishing to stay away together. We will be back - the Cottage is relaxing and luxurious. Thank you!

Guest from Gloucester stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in April 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
It was so lovely to see you both again Graham, and this time also to bring your parents too. It was delightful to meet them. We are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay at The Byre and The Dairy and exploring the Yorkshire Dales together. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon.

Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best cottage we have stayed in, the quality and attention to detail is first class. Diane and Andrew are very friendly and helpfull hosts and their cleaner must be the best ever as everything was spotless.

Michael from Bradford stayed at The Byre for 4 nights in April 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Alan and Pamela for such a lovely review. It is always so good to see you both. Thank you also for your kind words for Rachel, our caretaker, who we treasure as she always delivers the cottages so spotlessly clean for us. She will really appreciate it, as we do. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully soon. Our very best wishes to you both.

Beautiful cottage, beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to The Byre our holiday was everything we could of hoped for, even better than we remembered. Although we had mixed weather the cottage was lovely and cosy when we came home.

Colin from West Malling stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in April 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Colin for a lovely review. We were delighted to welcome you both back and that you enjoyed it just as much as last time. We look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit as and when you are ready to return to explore the Yorkshire Dales further. Our best wishes to you both.

Wonderful Cottage in Amazing Location

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this cottage for my partner’s birthday as a surprise. On arrival her words were ‘wow’ and I totally agree; everything was top notch and just perfect, up to the highest standards. On arrival we were were greeted by our lovely host and a tray of edible and delights including local Wensleydale cheese, jams, a fresh loaf of bread plus exceptional coffees and teas. All the rooms were also exceptional, the bathroom having a huge stand in shower, double sinks and really big bath for two. Fantastic views of the dales from the cottage windows plus a big garden to watch plenty of wildlife. A lovely quiet location in Newbiggin and a great pub a short walk away. A real luxurious treat all round which I would heartily recommend without reservation.

Adam from Nottingham stayed at The Byre for 3 nights in March 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your detailed and amazing review Adam, for which we really are most appreciative. We are delighted that your birthday present went down so well - 'top notch' and 'perfect'. We do hope we can welcome you both back again for another treat to yourselves, even if it isn't for a birthday present.

A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time in this beautiful cottage, a perfect location for exploring the Yorkshire Dales. Everything about it was perfect and attention to detail is second to none, the lovely owners have thought of everything and it really is a very special place to stay. Spotlessly clean throughout and so well equipped it is absolutely first class. We can't wait to return!

Adrienne from Harleston stayed at The Byre for 4 nights in March 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much Adrienne for your lovely review after your stay at The Byre. We really appreciate your kind words and hope that we can welcome you back soon too.

A perfect retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose well and it suited all our needs. We would find it hard to come up with anything not on hand or provided. The property was fully fitted with luxury, quality, very clean and comfortabl furnishings. All presented with an exceptional eye for detail. A credit to the owners, Dianne & Andrew.
The peaceful location was just what we were looking for, many walks and excellent pubs serving food locally. With much more to explore only a short drive away. We will by adding to our "must return to" list...... as 1 week was just too short, not wanting to leave!
So hope to book again soon


John from Hinckley stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in March 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your detailed review after your stay at The Byre John - it is very much appreciated and hopefully of use to other potential guests. We hope your 'must return to' list is not too long so we can welcome you back soon. We will always be here as and when you wish to return.

Oustanding Accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just come back from a stay at the Byre and can not fault it at all, it has everything you could want and more. The cottage was absolutely spotless and furnished to a high standard. The hosts also can not do enough for you. thank you to Diane for all your advice and recommendations. I would recommend anyone to stay here and can not wait to return.

Lee from Coventry stayed at The Byre for 3 nights in March 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for such a super review Lee. We really appreciate your comments and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Review of the Byre - excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We selected the Byre because it appeared to provide the level of accommodation that we were seeking. On arrival we were immediately impressed with the appearance and ambience of the property and the standard of the facilities provided. The local area is quiet and peaceful and within a reasonable distance of towns and attractions. The owners are extremely helpful and hospitable and we would recommend this property to future visitors.

Guy from Epsom stayed at The Byre for 4 nights in March 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Guy for your lovely detailed review, which is most helpful to us and hopefully to other guests too. It is very much appreciated. We do hope you will consider staying at one of our cottages again in the future if you decide to return to the Dales.

Fabulous

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous week stay at The Byre. Everything was perfect and really appreciated the welcome tray on arrival. Thank you so much Diane and Andrew for making our holiday extra special

Elaine from Whitley Bay stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in February 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Apologies for the delay in responding Elaine. I would just like to thank you for the lovely review after your stay at The Byre - your appreciation means so much. As we say, our pleasure is to ensure yours.

A home away from home

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing cottage, we were made to feel welcome right from the moment that we booked. We had a wonderful time! cannot wait to go back.

Karl from Dronfield stayed at The Byre for 3 nights in February 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review Karl. It was lovely to meet you both and so delighted you had a most enjoyable time. We do hope we can welcome you back again too.

A gem of a stay

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at cottage in the dales properties before and our recent stay confirms what we already know- all properties are exceptionally designed and furnished, comfortable, warm with lots of lovely extras such as log burner and plentiful supply of logs, quality toiletroes and a welcome pack on arrival. The hosts are true professionals who make all feel welcome but are not intrusive. Their local knowledge is of course good and this is represented in the information in the cottage. Parking is safe and secure and there are gardens to sit in in good weather. We will be booking again, and for anyone that has not stayed in this wonderful area, you really do want to book a stay in one of these cottages.

Ruth from stayed at The Byre for 4 nights in December 2018


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a beautiful and detailed review. It is always a pleasure to welcome you both back to one of the cottages and we are delighted you were able to get out and about to do lots of photography. We look forward to welcoming you both back once again at Christmas, this time at Inglenook Cottage.

Honeymoon

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutly blown away by the high standards of this cottage. It is so Beautifully decorated throughout, with an amazing bathroom! The cottage had everything and more that you could have wanted including lovely added touches.
We couldn't have asked for more and can't wait to return.


Catherine from Shepperton stayed at The Byre for 4 nights in January 2019


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Cat for such a lovely review. We wanted to make your honeymoon special and we hope you enjoyed the champagne too. We do hope we can welcome you back in the future, possibly for one of your wedding anniversaries. May we wish you health and happiness for your future together.

John from Hertfordshire

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in the Byre on many occasions my wife and I decided a 'Christmas Trip' was required and our host Diane provided us with information on all the local events. Thanks to this we had a wonderful time, so much so we will be rebooking for a similar trip in 2019. The Byre is a complete delight, so cosy and welcoming, it's always such a wrench to leave.

John from Tring stayed at The Byre for 5 nights in November 2018


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for such a lovely review John of your return trip to the Dales, this time to stay at The Byre for a pre-Christmas break. We are delighted you were able to enjoy so many festive events and we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you both back in 2019 for a similar visit. We'll endeavour to provide a little bit of snow too next time!

Excellent cottage in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at The Byre and we cannot fault anything about it. Together with the other x2 cottages of the same owners they are by far the best cottages we have stayed in anywhere
The cottage is perfect for a couple to relax or explore= it has everything you need and more including outdoor patio with stunning views and a log burner for the more colder evenings.. The owners have thought of everything in terms of comfort and quality and the awards the cottage has received are very well deserved There is also secure storage for our bikes so we can explore the area cycling or walking.
We have already booked x2 longer stays for this year 2019 and are planning our 2020 stays as you need to book early - we love it


Lynda from Mansfield stayed at The Byre for 3 nights in December 2018


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for such a lovely review of your returning stay at The Byre. We really appreciate it. Our pleasure is to ensure yours and so we are delighted that you are able to return to our cottages to enjoy the amazing international Yorkshire cycling events that are happening in 2019 and 2020. We look forward to seeing you in May and September this year and May again next year.

Another Beautiful Cottage from Diane and Andrew

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After previously staying at Inglenook I was lucky that The Byre was available for a short work trip I had to make to the area and though I already new what to expect it still gave me the 'wow' factor when I walked in. It has a lovely, cosy cottage feel while still containing all the facilities I expected and again all done to the highest standard. I have to say that the beds here and at Inglenook are the comfiest I have stayed in and remain the few times I have awoken without a stiff back (I wish I could fit one in my bedroom at home!).
It was a joy to end a long day driving/working with a long soak in the bath with the faint sounds of sheep and birds to sooth me.
Diane and Andrew again went out of their way to ensure I was comfortable and had everything I needed and even offered to drive me to and from the local pub if I wanted to have a glass of wine or two with a meal, but the kitchen is so well laid out that, and the dishwasher, made a night in curled in front of the wood burning fire a pleasure rather than a chore.
I would say their cottages are like a home away from home, but I could only wish to live in that amount of comfort and luxury. I definitely left with a tinge of sadness and can't wait for a chance to stay again.


Carol from stayed at The Byre for 2 nights in November 2018


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for another lovely review from you. We were delighted to be able to help you with your last minute business visit to the area and to make your stay so enjoyable. We do hope to be able to see you again, whether it is on business or with your family.

Quality accommodation with all the extras one needs to enjoy the perfect break.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quality accommodation with all the extras one needs to enjoy the perfect break.
Comfortable seating. Great kitchen with all the appliances and requirements
The most important thing though is the wonderful bed and a bathroom to die for.
The owners are so kind and considerate. My wife who had badly sprained her ankle the day before the holiday was so grateful for to the owners did for us including loaning us a wheel chair and additional equipment for the bathroom.


Peter from York stayed at The Byre for 7 nights in October 2018


Diane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review Peter. We were delighted to welcome you back to The Byre this time and of course to help wherever we could to ensure Joan could enjoy her stay rather than find it a chore due to her sprained ankle. We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2019 when you will be able to enjoy the Dales again without any injuries in the way.