FB Twitter

The Dairy

The Dairy

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Grade II Listed 5 star gold modern barn conversion that is fully accessible to National Accessibility Scheme standards for guests with mobility, hearing or visual impairments. With private courtyard garden and direct access to half-acre additional garden. With private parking & electric vehicle charging point, in Newbiggin, Bishopdale for up to 2 people in 1 bedroom (+cot).

Luxury in the Dales

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are regular visitors to Cottage in the dales. The Dairy is beautifully appointed and the location is excellent.. There are plenty of lovely walks nearby. Although there are restaurants and pubs in the area, we prefer to return to the cottage after a afternoon's walking and prepare an evening meal in the fully equipped kitchen. Sitting on the patio with a glass of wine admiring the view, what could be better. There is plenty of information about the area in the cottage and the owners Andrew and Diane, who are lovely, live in the farmhouse nearby and are always happy to give advice and assistance.

Gayle from Whitley Bay stayed at The Dairy for 4 nights in June 2019


Diane replied 8 days ago
Thank you Gayle & Brian for your very kind review, which is most appreciated. We always look forward to welcoming you back to the Dales ... this autumn and now also in 2020 and 2021! Our very best wishes to you both.

Outstanding in every way. Our third visit and we are returning in October.

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is a home from home with every requirement for a comfortable stay and more! Diane and Andrew have thought
Of everything to enable an elderly couple with limited mobility to enjoy everything this lovely corner of the dales has to offer.
They are the most considerate hosts and are always available with advice and support if needed.

















Brenda from Newark stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in June 2019


Diane replied 8 days ago
Thank you Brenda & Bob for such a lovely review. Thank you also for enabling us to repeat your quote you provided to us too ...."Due to increasing antiquity there is nowhere else we feel comfortable going than the Dairy!", which is just so lovely. It is always delightful to see you and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the autumn so you can see the Dales at its autumnal best with the changing colours, especially for your ride on the Settle-Carlisle railway line. In the meantime, our very best wishes to you both.

A rare find. Luxury AND accessibility

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A real find ! A great deal of thought has gone into the design of this cottage to make it not only wheelchair accessible but wheelchair friendly ! Every thing in every room was easily accessible from a wheelchair. It’s a long list but here we go;
wardrobe with drop down rails, dressing table integrated into the wardrobes with space for wheelchair to tuck in, accessible and well lit mirror and shelves with hairdryer and socket.
Bathroom suite with basins at two heights, one to accommodate wheelchair, the other at able height. A bath for which you can request a hoist and seat,( I didn’t because I love my showers !). Remote control shower in wet room with shower chair available on request. Accessible toilet with grab rails and plenty of room to manoeuvre.
Kitchen where EVERYTHING was accessible from a wheelchair ; Belfast sinks, dishwasher, washing machine, oven, microwave, induction hods, pull out work surface which can also be used as an ironing board !! Lots of room to manoeuvre .
Plenty of comfort in the lounge with a wealth of local information including a file you can take with you to refer to accessible places to visit AND a list of every accessible toilet in the Dales. There are lots !
All this in a beautifully.furnished cottage with all the interior design finishes and details you’d find in a 5 star hotel, if of course you can access one !! Here you can, which makes it a really unique.
I highly recommend this cottage, unreservedly.


Mike from Huddersfield stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in May 2019


Diane replied 8 days ago
Thank you Mike and Julie for providing such a detailed reviews, especially about the accessibility as it helps so many of our guests to understand what is available, because as you quite rightly say, that at the moment luxury and accessibility in tourist properties are few and far between. We also appreciate you putting a review on Euan's Guide too for the same reason. We are so pleased you had a most enjoyable holiday It was delightful to meet you both and we do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

A wonderful place with excellent service

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in several cottages and this is the best by far. It is really clean and very well looked after. It has everything you need and everything works. If you have any questions then the owners very quickly answer and certainly go the extra mile to make sure you have a wonderful holiday.
The communication is great throughout from booking to arrival. You get a great welcome pack so you can just turn up and have enough for breakfast the next morning. There are plenty of walks from the front door and many more just a short drive away.
I would certainly recommend everything about the property.


Jon from Teddington stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in May 2019


Diane replied 8 days ago
Many thanks indeed for such a lovely review Jon & Lesley as it is very much appreciated. You pay us the best compliment by returning again this year and we look forward to welcoming you back in September next year. Our best wishes to you both.

Nirvana

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had the best week in The Dairy. This is an exceptional cottage with every facility imaginable.
Luxury toiletries, towels and bathrobes, quality furnishings, beds and every home comfort. Nothing is too much
trouble for the owners, who were extremely friendly and lovely people. The location is also stunning.
This is our second visit to the Cottage in the Dales properties, and we have already booked to go back next
Summer.


Alan from Mid Calder stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in May 2019


Diane replied 27 days ago
Thank you so much Alan and Maureen for such a wonderful review. It was so lovely to welcome you back to the Dales and this time to stay at The Dairy. We are delighted you were able to explore so many aspects of the area during your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to continue the adventure next year. In the meantime, our best wishes to you both.

A luxurious self catering and accessible cottage set in beautiful grounds and stunning location.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Truly the best luxury self catering cottage we have stayed in. Superb attention to detail by the hosts and caretaker with high end fixtures, fittings and accessories. The owners have been so thoughtful in providing everything guests could possible need to enjoy their stay in this beautiful property, including a concierge service. The accessible features have been very well thought through and the owners are only too willing to supply exactly what guests may need to make their stay comfortable, relaxed and safe. The owners are also generous and incredibly helpful and thoughtful hosts. We particularly loved that the cottage incorporated art, fabrics and accessories made by local craftspeople.

Anne from West Cranmore stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in May 2019


Diane replied 27 days ago
Thank you Mark and Anne for such an amazing review, for which we are most grateful. We are delighted the accessible facilities and equipment were suitable for your requirements, thereby enabling you to be able to enjoy exploring the area as your first visit to the Yorkshire Dales. You pay us the best compliment by returning and we look forward to seeing you again in both 2020 and 2021.

Beautiful stay in the Dales

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous snowy few days at this gorgeous cosy cottage. It is open plan and has a lovely airy feel. Fabulous finish with the highest quality appliances and lovely and clean.
Great location for exploring the Dales. Owners super friendly and will provide advice of places to visit / where to eat out if needed.
I would absolutely recommend this cottage for a relaxing cosy retreat. We will return!


Rebecca from Leeds stayed at The Dairy for 4 nights in January 2019


Diane replied 27 days ago
Many thanks for taking the time to provide a review Rebecca, especially since you will no doubt be very busy indeed now, given the new arrival was due last month! Thank you for your very kind words and we were so pleased you enjoyed it given the birthday celebration. We do hope we can welcome you back again as a family rather than a couple next time. In the meantime, our very best wishes to you all and belated congratulations!

Another great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Unfortunately we weren’t blessed with the weather in fact it rained since the moment we arrived we were greeted warmly by Diane and Andrew, but staying in the Dairy made up for it.
There’s nothing that you need the Dairy’s fully equipped with all the latest technology and cooking equipment.
The cottage was spotless and I think we will definitely be returning in the near future.


Martyn from Sheffield stayed at The Dairy for 4 nights in May 2019


Diane replied 27 days ago
Thank you very much Martyn for your kind review of The Dairy. We were delighted to welcome you back to the Dales and so sorry the weather was pretty miserable for your short stay, quite the opposite to last year! But at least the '100 things to do on a rainy day in the Yorkshire Dales' came in useful! We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again and we will endeavour to deliver a spot of good weather again! In the meantime, our very best wishes to you both.

Excellent well adapted cottage in the lovely Yorkshire Dales

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We aimed to get away to have a break away from the hustle and bustle of a busy town and that's what we got at the Dairy. On arrival, we were met by Diane who made us most welcome and proceeded with a comprehensive tour of the accommodation. I must say the property was immaculately clean, well adapted for a wheelchair user plus its located in a fantastic part of the Yorkshire Dales. There was only one disappointment that the recommended accessible walks that were suggested in the tourist information brochures for various abilities were not really accurate as it all depends on what type of wheelchair is used for example we opted to go on a what was described as a route for "All" which for us it turned out to be impossible for the type of wheelchair that my wife uses, apart from that we had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely go back but with an all-terrain wheelchair next time.

Guest from Scunthorpe stayed at The Dairy for 4 nights in April 2019


Diane replied 27 days ago
Thank you so much for your very kind review of The Dairy Tim, for which we are most grateful. We are so pleased that all the accessible facilities in the cottage met with Carolyn's requirements. We really do welcome your feedback about the accessible walks - indeed we have already fed that back, as Debbie North of The Outdoor Guide is currently reviewing all the accessible walks published by the National Park to improve them further, as they vary in terms of the type of wheelchair needed and that information is not provided. We appreciate the type that Carolyn uses, with the very small front wheels, is not suitable for many walks, even when they are labelled accessible. We are endeavouring to have an all-terrain wheelchair available for our guests (and others) to use in the area in the future, so fingers crossed. We do hope we can welcome you both back again in the future.

The Dairy provides outstanding accommodation, fully equipped and furnished to a high standard.

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Dairy provides outstanding spacious, detached accommodation which is fully equipped and furnished to a high standard. We loved using the large, high spec walk-in shower after a strenuous walk! Diane is very friendly and helpful with an excellent local knowledge. During the week we enjoyed a number of spectacular rambles over the beautiful Wensleydale countryside. The cottage and the local area are well worthy of another visit.

Graham from Gloucester stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in April 2019


Diane replied 27 days ago
Thank you Graham for providing such a kind review on behalf of your parents who stayed in The Dairy, whilst you and Debbie stayed at The Byre. We are delighted the two cottages across the courtyard provided the privacy for you all and that you could come together to relax and dine together. It was a pleasure to meet your parents and we do hope we can welcome them back, as well as your good selves of course. Our best wishes to you all.

A truly magnificent property in an exceptional area and warm helpful hosts on hand.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having experienced many cottage holidays throughout the country and most being premier cottages this one has to be the premier of the premiers. Everything you could wish for and more. From the booking to the welcome to our departure all was a seamless experience. The property is of the highest quality along with the furnishings and trimmings. The information provided both before and in the cottage was abundant and appropriate. There was nothing we could fault we loved it so much we've booked to return for longer next year in order to embrace ourselves in this exquisite piece of luxury and escape life's pressures.

Alison from stayed at The Dairy for 4 nights in April 2019


Diane replied 27 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review Alison, especially comparing us with so many other lovely cottages available through Premier Cottages. We really are quite chuffed with that thank you!!! It was so nice to welcome you both back to the Dales this spring and we are especially looking forward to welcoming you back again next year for the next adventure exploring the Dales. In the meantime, our very best wishes to you both.

Wonderful Cottage in the Dales!

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We consider ourselves very fortunate to have found such brilliant accommodation in the Dales. This is our 4th visit to the Diary and each one gets better! Our hosts Diane and Andrew think of everything to make our stay a delightful experience in their luxurious conversion. With another visit already in the diary we can't wait to return to Cottage in the Dales.

John from Tring stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in March 2019


Diane replied 27 days ago
We are always so happy to welcome you both back to the Dales. You now have the 'award' of having the most bookings in one year at our cottages .... FIVE ... and this year staying in all three of the cottages! Thank you for your kind review again and so pleased you enjoyed your Farm Tour at the Wensleydale Experience. It was a great morning out for us all thanks to Tim and the team. We look forward to welcoming you both back with your friend in a few weeks time....and again in September ... and again for a pre-Christmas break! It wouldn't be the same without you!

Short Break

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our few days at the Diary, Diane is a wonderful host. The experience of peace, quality and comfort provided at the Dairy is excellent and a real credit to both Diane and Andrew.

Sue from stayed at The Dairy for 2 nights in March 2019


Diane replied 27 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review Sue, for which we are most grateful. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope the discussion we had about our experiences of why and how we delivered The Dairy helps you with your accessible accommodation plans. Happy to help further if you have any queries. Our very best wishes to you for your proposed plans.

Will be booking again !

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I chose to stay at The Dairy to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary, having previously stayed at the neighbouring cottage (The Byre) to celebrate my 60th Birthday. The Dairy is laid out on one level and is furnished throughout to a very high standard and is very cosy, with an extremely well equipped kitchen. The owners gave us a lovely warm welcome and explained the Dairy’s amenities as we hadn’t stayed in that particular property before. They are always on hand to provide any help or information that is needed but are not intrusive, in any way. We will be returning for a another short break in a year or two which is the highest recommendation possible.

Neil from Northampton stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in April 2019


Diane replied 27 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review Neil. It was a pleasure to welcome you both back to our cottages and this time to The Dairy. As you say, returning guests are our greatest reward/award. So we look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully soon. No need to wait for a special occasion again! Our very best wishes to you both.

Excellent break in luxury accommodation.

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was first class in every respect. No expense has been spared to give guests a luxury feel. Diane was the perfect host.

Christine from Sheringham stayed at The Dairy for 4 nights in March 2019


Diane replied 79 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review Christine as we really appreciate you taking the time to do so. It was lovely to meet you both & hope to welcome you back again. Best wishes to you both.

A beautiful cottage for two.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We both enjoyed a lovely comfortable place for rest and relaxation with everything we needed for our stay. Thank you Diane.

Joyce from Carlisle stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in March 2019


Diane replied 27 days ago
We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind review, including the response to our direct email to understand your ratings. We are always keen to improve our cottages and service wherever we can, irrespective of whether a guest has paid for their stay or used 'exchange points' for their stay as you had, as it makes no difference. Our pleasure is to ensure yours. Our best wishes to you for your new business.

Perfect. Even provided the sunshine!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were greeted by Diane who showed us around the Dairy. It is quite fantastic, perfectly clean and equipped to the highest standards with everything you need. The whole cottage is just lovely and we managed a glass of wine on the small patio with magnificent views over the dales.
The hosts Diane and Andrew were on hand for if any problems arose (they didn’t) and were friendly but not intrusive.
All in all, couldn’t fault the place.


Iain from Whitby stayed at The Dairy for 3 nights in February 2019


Diane replied 79 days ago
Sorry for the tardy response Iain. Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at The Dairy as it is very much appreciated. Ot was a pleasure to meet you both and we do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

A Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Dairy gives exactly as promised. From arrival to departure the cottage and surroundings were enjoyed by a ninety two year old, one legged, thirty five year insulin dependent, outside wheelchair user. Quality furnishings, spaciousness and attractive location make a return visit something to anticipate with pleasure.

Barbara from Sleaford stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in February 2019


Diane replied 79 days ago
A belated thank you for your lovely and quite unique review Barbara - it is very much appreciated. It was delightful to meet you both and we do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to The Dairy and we have already booked for the third consecutive year to try the property next door The Byre. This is due to the exceptional quality and attention to detail in the properties and the first class customer service supplied by our hosts Diane and Andrew.

Julie from stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in February 2019


Diane replied 124 days ago
It was lovely to welcome you both back to The Dairy and we are delighted that you had such a great time again. Thank you so much for your lovely review. You pay us the best compliment by wanting to return and this time at The Byre. Our very best wishes to you both in the meantime.

John from Hertfordshire

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to The Dairy and each one gets better! Our hosts Diane and Andrew think of everything to give their guests a wonderful break in this delightful part of the country.

John from Tring stayed at The Dairy for 7 nights in October 2018


Diane replied 168 days ago
It is always a pleasure to welcome you both back to our cottages. As The Dairy has only been open for 17 months you are our most regular visitor there and it looks as if that will be the same through 2019 too! It is the best compliment you can give us by returning again and again. We look forward to seeing you again in the spring.

A beautiful cottage in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lovely little cottage is set in a beautiful area with lots to do - walking, browsing around interesting little towns and villages, the Hawes creamery, Berry's farm shop, and more walking ... We love the peace and quiet here, the privacy and especially the plentiful supply of logs for the burning - we stayed in November. The facilities are first class with a fantastically comfortable bed and absolutely everything has been thought through. It is an award winning cottage and you are not likely to forget it with certificates on nearly every wall!

Joe from Faringdon stayed at The Dairy for 4 nights in November 2018


Diane replied 175 days ago
It was lovely to meet you both and we are delighted you enjoyed the peace and quiet and facilities at The Dairy as a base to enjoy the area. We do hope we can look forward to welcoming you back, and you can be assured the 4 frames of certificates have been moved to one wall in the bedroom corner as we now have some lovely photos of the Yorkshire Dales on the walls courtesy of professional landscape photographers David Tarn and Ruth Grindrod.

Short break at The Dairy

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was wonderful. It was extremely comfortable and beautifully presented. We could find no fault.
The owners should be very proud of this conversion. It was superb.


John from Melton Mowbray stayed at The Dairy for 4 nights in October 2018


Diane replied 175 days ago
It was lovely to welcome you back to one of our cottages and this time to The Dairy, so we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We do hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Our best wishes to you both.

Simply the best !

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The planning , care and thought , which has gone into these cottages [ we were invited too view the others] , is just beyond expectations .
So much to do and see in the area, great places to eat .
You will not be disappointed.


Edward from Ross On Wye stayed at The Dairy for 2 nights in October 2018


Diane replied 175 days ago
It was lovely to welcome you to The Dairy to experience the accessibility support we provide to our guests and so absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the cottage was beyond your expectations. Our pleasure is to ensure yours. Best wishes to you both.