FB Twitter

Acorn Cottage

Acorn Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Acorn Cottage at Oaks Lane Farm, is situated on the edge of the Peak District, 5 miles south west of Chesterfield.

This enchanting and fully modernised, self-catering cottage sleeps 4 in 2 bedrooms and bathroom with bathtub upstairs and has the added benefit of a downstairs shower/ WC. Acorn Cottage is dog-friendly and offers a great base for families visiting the Peak District or a convenient rendezvous point to meet friends and family.

Why not take a farm tour, get involved with the animals, meet the donkeys, or enjoy the farm produce! Acorn Cottage is ideal for a self-catering family holiday at any time of the year!

A lovely, peaceful cottage in the heart of Derbyshire.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dog-friendly Acorn Cottage is a very comfortable, cosy cottage in a delightful, peaceful location, yet within a few miles of the most wonderful countryside and places of interest. It is well equipped and well maintained and, though we were there in the autumn, when the log burner was most welcome, it would be equally delightful earlier in the year, when one could use its private, self-contained garden and patio.
Jo and Veronica provide a warm welcome and are always concerned that your holiday will run smoothly.




Acorn cottage A real treat

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time at the cottage and it was just as we remembered it, From the initial welcome with freshly baked bread, freshly laid eggs and Jam and Honey to the stunningly clean cottage,this truly is a home from home. As a base for the Peaks everything is very central to all the main areas and the village of Ashover a short walk away has four great pubs to enjoy.

The peace and quiet whilst being so close to everything will mean well definitely be back




Veronica and Jo replied 23 days ago
It was so good to see you back. Thanks for your feedback. Cleanliness and a warm welcome are at the top of our agenda so thanks for recognising that. Hope to see you again.

Great stay in the Dales

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely rural location, good access into the Dales, good local walks and great places to visit within easy access by car. The cottage and grounds was in excellent conditions with everything needed for a holiday. All appliances you need for a short or longer stay. Fully heated for the colder months and a lovely log burner which generated so much warmth. I found the double bed a little hard, but my partner found it very comfortable, personal choice. Our dog was warmly welcomed too. The hosts were great, a lovely welcome pack with some fresh, bread, eggs, jam & honey all from the farm. We found the app the hosts provided very useful, very informative and extremely useful. A lovely country pub at the end of the lane and 3 more in the village nearby.. perfect break, beautiful area.. fully recommended.



Peaceful, Restful, Beautiful.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At last after two cancellations due to COVID we arrived. It was certainly worth the wait. Acorn cottage is in a beautiful location, spotless clean, everything you could possibly need for a perfect restful week. Jo and Veronica are perfect hosts, there when you need them. Do take time for a tour round their farm, you must meet Barney and Pumpkin their Donkeys. Booked for a return longer visit next year. Can’t wait.



Veronica and Jo replied 41 days ago
It was so good to welcome you at last to Acorn Cottage and we look forward to seeing you again next September.

Wonderful cottage stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Acorn Cottage is lovely cottage to stay in, secluded, quiet and in a nice area. Plenty of room and every thing you need for great a stay.
The owners are very welcoming and make your stay there as comfortable as possible and leave little treats, which is a lovely gesture. Even our little dog was welcome.
This was our second visit and have booked again for next year and looking forward to it.




Veronica and Jo replied 51 days ago
It’s always a pleasure to have you stay at Acorn Cottage. Take care and see you again next year x

A Derbyshire Treat.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A hidden gem in the heart of the Derbyshire countryside. Many local attractions within easy reach. Lots of walks right from the front door. Accommodation was great and Daisy (our Cocker Spaniel) didn't want to come home! Everything ticked all our boxes and we will be back again next year.



Veronica and Jo replied 62 days ago
See you again in April 2022!

Lovely property with a bathroom upstairs & shower downstairs in a rural location with a nice garden.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay at Acorn Cottage and would highly recommend it to our family & friends. Lots to do in surrounding area



Veronica and Jo replied 70 days ago
We’re delighted you were able to pack so much in to your stay at Acorn Cottage

Fantastic relaxing holiday at Acorn Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week here in the school summer holidays and it was great from start to finish. We were welcomed by a wonderful welcome pack of bread, milk, jam and eggs from the host's own chickens. We were given a lovely tour of the animals on the small holding and our 6 year old got to lead the donkeys.
Acorn Cottage's location is spot on, feeling like the middle of nowhere with lovely countryside walks from the doorstep, yet a few minutes drive from the main routes to local towns and a short walk to the local pub and village shops.
The accomodation itself is highly appointed, clean and comfortable with an amazing shower! It was great for our dog and kids with a secure garden.
We are already talking about returning again and we have only just arrived home! 10/10




Veronica and Jo replied 84 days ago
We're so pleased you had a great time at Acorn Cottage - it means a lot to us that guests feel at home here!

An amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Acorn Cottage and as we were unable to visit in 2020 we were super excited about our visit and nothing disappointed. If possible my ratings would be 5+ as everything deserves this rating.
When we entered the cottage we were greeted by the smell of freshly baked bread as Veronica and Jo had kindly left a home baked loaf and home made blackcurrant jam for us together with some eggs from their own hens. What a treat.
The cottage is extremely comfortable with everything you need for a family stay and it is immaculately clean. The garden is very safe, enclosed and ideal for small children and my two year old grandson enjoyed time in there before and after our visits out..
The cottage is ideally placed for visiting the many places of interest in the area and for local walks and if asked Jo and Veronica are more than happy to suggest places to visit.
As on our previous visit Veronica and Jo were excellent hosts. They are very friendly and welcoming but not intrusive and we now feel as though we are visiting as friends.




Veronica Kemble & Jo Ferguson replied 90 days ago
It was lovely to see you all again, Henry has grown so much since we saw him before! So glad you enjoyed your stay at Acorn Cottage!

Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed several holidays at Acorn Cottage over the years and have never been disappointed.
Excellent customer service (friendly and helpfull), cleanliness and comfort.
The cottage is located in a beautiful peacefull spot.
Its a credit to Veronica and Jo.




Veronica and Jo replied 125 days ago
Thank you for your kind remarks, it's always lovely to see you. We pride ourselves on providing a clean and safe cottage for our guests and know this means a lot to you. Until next year ...

A Derbyshire Delight

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Acorn cottge is well located to explore both the North and South Peak District areas, without difficulty. It is situated in a rural setting of tree lined lanes and open fields, which make for excellent evening strolls after a day of exploring.The facilities are as advertised and generously equiped with everything to make a self catering holiday easy - just bring your clothes! The cottage is a tasteful barn conversion, located in a delightful courtyard surrounded by lush planting and plenty of easy parking right outside the door. It is spotless and well layed out for modern living. All rooms are well decorated and have plenty of space. Hot water is on demand and the shower is well pressured to deliver a good spray. There is also a separate bath, for soaking away aching limbs while someone else is in the shower! A very private garden is situated to the side of the cottge and is equiped with a tranquil seating area, suitable for relaxing outdoors. In addition to a cozy lounge with wood burner, the garden room on the side of the cottage is a great place to sit if the weather is not kind and is also a sensible place for wet coats/boots/dogs etc. Veronica and Jo are very warm, generous and attentive hosts and readily provide any guidance required, to ensure a fulfilling visit to the area. As well as tea, coffee and milk, we were delighted to find homemade bread and jam waiting for us and were also gifted eggs from their own chickens. It is a real Deryshire Delight!



Veronica and Jo replied 133 days ago
Thanks for your kind words. We love sharing this beautiful area with our guests!

Two week holiday break

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault accommodation, everything you need. Immaculate! Beautiful garden and surroundings. You will not be disappointed. Lovely welcome pack, fresh baked bread, homemade jam, fresh eggs and milk. Who could ask for more! Many thanks to Veronica and Jo.



Veronica Kemble replied 153 days ago
We're so glad you enjoyed your fortnight at Acorn Cottage.

Beautiful cottage and great attention to detail.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming here for a good few years, and really love it. It is very clean, beds very comfortable, shower very efficient and the cottage is in a beautiful setting. It is very well looked after and everything works as it should. The enclosed garden is fantastic for us and our small dogs. All great! Hosts work very hard to provide the best cottage rental we have ever stayed in.



Veronica Kemble replied 167 days ago
It was lovely to see you again and so glad you had such great weather.

Our Holiday in Derbyshire

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many cottages in the UK and this is probably the best one. Location is good for visiting places such as Chatsworth, Bakewell, Buxton and Chesterfield. Clean, comfortable, spacious with helpful and friendly owners. What more could you ask for?



Veronica and Jo replied 196 days ago
Thank you John and Sally for your kind comments. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay at Acorn Cottage and hope to again in the future.

A Lovely stay at Acorn Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jo & Veronica the owners of Acorn Cottage were so welcoming and helpful but not intrusive.A clean,Well equipped cosy cottage with a lovely enclosed garden in a good position for visiting the surrounding peak district which is stunning.We would highly recommend this cottage and we will book again .



Veronica Kemble replied 202 days ago
Thanks Sue, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Acorn Cottage and we’d love to see you both and your dogs again. Veronica and Jo