FB Twitter

The Coach House

The Coach House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


The Coach House is the largest of our three holiday cottages on the Cadhay Estate in Ottery St Mary, East Devon. It overlooks the main house, in the peace and tranquility of the countryside. The Coach House comfortably sleeps 6 in luxury within 1 twin room, 1 double room and 1 room which can be a super king double or a twin room. All 3 bedrooms are en-suite and the cottage has a large yard next to it.

All our holiday cottages exude history and luxury. The Coach House is light, and very spacious, we’ve managed to retain many of its period features such as the exposed wooden beams upstairs. It is well furnished with some excellent antiques, interesting paintings, bright rugs and quality curtains.

If you’re looking for a relaxing self-catering break in the beautiful East Devon countryside then the Coach House is ideal for you and your group.

Paradise

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful well equipped and spacious cottage in beautiful grounds. It is a pleasure simply to linger and watch the wildlife. Ottery is a short walk away and the river Otter provides some delightful walks.
The staff go out of their way to be friendly and welcoming; nothing is too much trouble.
We look forward to our next visit!




Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely place to stay - large rooms, beautifully furnished and very clean and welcoming. It is surrounded by beautiful gardens and close to Ottery St Mary and only half an hour from Exeter or the sea.



Comfortable spacious cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this cottage in conjunction with Cadhay House, as we were a large party and needed more space. The Coach house was lovely, very comfortable and spacious, and the friends who stayed in it were very happy.



Coach House Cadhay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely weeks holiday with my husband ,daughter, son in law and 2 year old grandson.Lovely cottage large and very light and airy.Very well equipped set in beautiful grounds. This is our second visit to Cadhay.



A wonderful place to visit

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cadhay, located in Ottery St. Mary, Devon is a place of calm offering space to relax in beautiful surrounding and refresh your soul.
The owner Rupert and Manager Jayne could not be more helpful and we also learned lots from the gardeners too.
Close to Sidmouth and Budleigh Salterton it is a great base for exploring Devon. As a family we have visited five times now. Give it a go!




Great Stay in Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another fantastic week in Devon at Cadhay. Everything we needed is available and well provided. A wonderful place to stay in comfort, with beautiful grounds and walks, close to the village, in striking distance of daily walks by the coast, and close enough to Exeter. We have already booked another visit.



A brilliant week in the Coach House

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely love staying in the Coach House. I stay here as often as I can. The view down the beautiful drive from the full length windows in the living area keeps me going when I get home. The hosts are so helpful, even putting out the table and chairs outside for us as the weather was so good in March.
Spotlessly clean and so comfortable. The greatest bonus is being able to take my dogs here with me on holiday.
Many thanks to all at Cadhay for such a lovely time…again.




A week in the Coachhouse

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2022
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a spacious property but it could have been better!
It is in a nice part of Devon and stands in its own grounds although the approach roads are narrow.
The kitchen is well equipped but there were a number of things we were unhappy about:
None of the outside lights were working on arrival but this was promptly remedied when we advised.
We had to ask for the heating to be increased because the house was cold. This was done without complaint.
The TV is very small and we had to move the chairs closer when we used it.
We didn't use the log burner stove because the fire guard only covered the front and the sides were still accessible to our dog.
The dishwasher didn't always dispense the detergent tablet which meant that the process had to be repeated. The owner is aware of this and believes that the tablets are the cause. A note advising an alternative would have been useful.
The mops and buckets used for floor cleaning were stored in the downstairs cloakroom. They were very smelly and this purveyed into the house and particularly upstairs. This was advised to the owner who was going to arrange for alternative storage.
This property did not meet our high expectations but with a little thought and some light updating could be made perfect. I hope that my criticism is seen as constructive and helps with this process.




Jayne from Cadhay replied 137 days ago
Thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. As mentioned we have addressed the issues raised during your stay and will certainly consider your other suggestions for the future.

Beautiful holiday location

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cadhays cottages are a perfect location whatever time of year, situated in the beautiful Devon countryside yet close beaches and moorland .
We sat in this lovely cottage watching the lambs in the fields just across the drive.
We have visited Cadhays a number of times and have always had a fantastic break .




Recent Coach House Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy, warm and comfortable stay. Lots of space for families. Grounds ideal for children. Plenty to do locally. Welcoming host.



Lovely property

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in good condition, spotlessly clean and well equipped. Lots of information provided before the holiday. Good location and access to part of the grounds of Cadhay house. Would definitely stay here again.



Another lovely stay, thank you.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location, environment, spring water, walks and very comfortable accommodation. A joy to visit.



A week on a country estate

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited the Cadhay Estate several times over the last few years and it is one of our favourite places to relax. The continued development of the gardens and the ambience of the whole estate is a wonderful experience which is why we return.

The Coach House is spacious, well equipped and scrupulously clean.




very happy using the Coach House

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
see above
why do you need me to write 100 words. It will take ages.
................................




The Coach House Cadhay - Home from Home

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From excellent, helpful pre-visit communication right through to a personal farewell our stay at the Coach House was lovely; just what we needed after a difficult year. It was the perfect break for us all, from baby Henry through to recently bereaved 83 year old Judith (not to mention Labrador brothers Crofty and Deacon). The Coach House is superbly equipped and beautifully furnished. We all felt completely comfortable throughout our stay; if only we'd booked for a fortnight !



Fantastic and well equipped group accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used The Coach House to accommodate guests at our wedding and it could not be faulted by them. The contact with Jayne beforehand was exemplary. The accommodation was well equipped and provided everything our guests needed for their stay. Cadhay is a beautiful location to spend time either on holiday, enjoying the local area, or at an event in the grounds, such as ours. Highly recommended and we hope to return again!



Bliss

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Coach house was spacious, comfortable and well equipped
Staff were outstandingly friendly and helpful
Grounds were simply amazing, and we just loved sitting out surrounded by beautiful flowerbeds, watching Robins and flycatchers and watching for Kingfishers on the Otter
Cannot recommend too highly




Coachhouse Review - May 2020

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd stay at The Coachhouse Cadhay and have just recommended the Cider Press to our friends and sister who has just booked.
We have enjoyed the setting and having the lovely allotments and Manor house grounds to walk around.
The staff at Cadhay are always helpful and friendly. We will most likely return again in the future.




Returning visitor

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back at the Coach House again and loved every minute of being there. The kitchen is the best equipped for cooking of any cottage I have stayed in. I really like to cook when I’m away and everything is there to do that.
Everyone at Cadhay is extremely friendly and helpful which is why I go back again and again.
Thanks for a really lovely stay.




A really lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coach House was absolutely lovely. We found it really clean with lovely furnishings and in a really super location. The rooms were all large with loads of space for 6 people. The rural location was exactly what we wanted but with very easy access to the local village with its amenities. Communication with the house manager was great, we would definitely return.