FB Twitter

The Stables

The Stables

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


The Stables overlooks Cadhay House with the kitchen door opening directly into the walled garden which has been converted into allotments for some of the local community. There are three bedrooms; one twin room, the other two rooms (one en-suite) can be super-king doubles or twin bedrooms which together comfortably sleep up to 6. There is an additional family bathroom and downstairs cloakroom. Similarly to the Coach House, the cottage has exposed beams, good quality furniture, antiques, bright rugs, interesting paintings and a cosy woodburner giving a homely comfortable atmosphere.

You will find all of the equipment you would expect from a modern and luxurious holiday cottage, including a well proportioned kitchen. This makes The Stables and all of our holiday cottages ideal for a self-catering break.

Great experience

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything at Cadhay is great, and our stay at The Stables could not have been better. The rooms, facilities and cleanliness were exceptional - all this surrounded by a beautiful garden, close to Ottery St Mary and half an hour from Exeter or the sea. Thanks to the owners and their staff.



Excellent stay in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay as a family of 5 with 2 small children. The property is much larger than expected from the photos and has lovely antique furniture pieces. Cadhay house, it’s grounds and gardens are beautiful. Great to go on guided tour of Cadhay house and to explore the gardens. Jane the manager and Rupert the owner were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend and would love to return.



A Sanctuary

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the most pleasurable places to stay. Part of a small country estate the cottage is overlooking the walled garden area so there is always gardening activity throughout the seasons.

The cottage is spacious, comfortable and clean. The gardeners and staff who work daily are extremely helpful..




Beautiful, and relaxing in highly comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Cadhay; this time we brought our friends with us to stay in house next door, who loved it too.
Everybody had a great time. The staff are wonderful and the accommodation is beautiful.
Already planning our next visit.

Thank you, Jayne and Rupert.




As always had a lovely stay at the Stables.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean and welcoming with a little vase of snowdrops on the table , which really was nice to see when I arrived.
Everyone involved in Cadhay are so helpful and accommodating.




Cadhay Stables in December

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful place to stay, couldn’t fault anything. Just the place to relax and enjoy, but well located for roaming this part of Devon and Dorset. Have already booked our return.



Beautiful holiday location

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in Cadhays cottages many times. We have never been disappointed it's a beautiful location, the cottages have everything you need for a great holiday.
Your photo does not do justice to the cottages with their walled garden and spectacular grounds.




Superb accommodation in an idyllic setting

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stables cottage is a most comfortable property set in the idyllic grounds of the exquisite Cadhay House . The cottage is beautifully furnished and well equipped. We experienced rather mixed weather during our stay, understandable at end of September but the heating and woodburner made it very cosy and it was a pleasure to relax and enjoy the gorgeous views from every window.
We were warmly welcomed by both Jayne , the house manager, and Rupert, the owner, who were both keen to ensure we had
everything we needed and to assure us they would be " on hand" should any problems arise.
I would highly recommend Stables cottage to anyone who is looking for high quality accommodation in the most tranquil setting.




Great location in beautiful Devonshire countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at The Stables, located in the beautiful grounds of Cadhay House. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and spacious. It was great for a self-catering family of five and a good location for exploring Devon. During our stay we visited Sidmouth, Budleigh Salterton, Exmouth and Branscombe as well as Otterton Mill and Wildwood Escot. With the countryside on our doorstep, we did a couple of walks from the cottage and walked into Ottery St Mary one evening for dinner. Our hosts welcomed us on arrival and were available if we had any issues (we didn't). Would definitely recommend.



Excellent vacation for our staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Cathay, and once again we found it very comfortable, with very helpful friendly staff . We would recommend it’s to friends, and would by happy to return again,



Lovely to return

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Stables and it was lovely to see familiar faces - Rupert, Jayne, Dave and Mike - who all made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed seeing the beautiful garden in September as opposed to our previous visits in June. With Cadhay you feel a connection with the past, but with modern living. It is so convenient to get to from the A30, but you feel immersed in the countryside. Ottery St Mary, only a short drive (or walk) along the lane, is a charming little town with great character. We are great fans of coastal walking and it is fairly easy to get to the coast at Sidmouth, Budleigh Salterton, Branscombe and Beer. Inland there is the quaint little town of Colyton where the Seaton tram runs to the coast and back. We were there for the family fun day this year and my granddaughter (aged 6) loved leading a Shetland pony around the car park. A great time was had by all!



Excellent accommodation in a beautiful part of Devon

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used The Stables to accommodate guests at our wedding and it could not be faulted by them. The contact with Jayne beforehand was exemplary. The accommodation was well equipped and provided everything our guests needed for their stay. Cadhay is a beautiful location to spend time either on holiday, enjoying the local area, or at an event in the grounds, such as ours. Highly recommended and we hope to return again!



The perfect holiday in matchless splendour.

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have never been to a more magnificent nor revivifying place than that I found at Cadhay. The accommodation is spacious, very tastefully furnished and finished to a standard difficult to exceed, set in exquisite gardens, and peopled with the most approachable and decent characters you would hope to meet. I felt lucky to have found it and have searched my memory for a similarly fulfilling holiday and have found none. We wanted for nothing throughout our stay and our only regret is not having booked a second week.

The tranquility of the place is due in part to its quiet rural location, and in another to the delightful surroundings so carefully imagined and maintained. I found it uniquely restful - the sort of place which does you a profound and lasting good simply for your having been there. It is a masterpiece of beauty expressed as an invitation. I have been nowhere like it in all my life.

There is a lovely and short walk to the river Otter. A little further takes you to the small town of Ottery St Mary, replete with pubs and restaurants and quite charming in itself. We went to Exmouth beach with our dog every day, passing nearby woodlands and numerous places of interest we intend to explore when we come back next year.

Everyone in our party loved Cadhay. The dog had his field in which to roam. My daughter under two was delighted by the visiting swan. My five year old boy loved his bedroom and delighted in patrolling the allotments. My mother in law was enchanted by the stunning array of flowers, and my wife was quite overwhelmed by the effusive praise I heaped on her for having found the place. I may have been occasionally refreshed when so doing.

This place is heaven and I thank God that for a while I was in it.




Jayne from Cadhay replied 364 days ago
Wow, what a review. Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again.

Restful holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to this amazingly situated property. Feast for gardeners. Very welcoming. Quiet and relaxing



The Stables

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely building in the grounds of Cadhay. Everything you need is provided with large bright rooms and open the back door to the very well kept allotments. Very friendly and helpful team. Lovely stay with the family.



Incredible place in everyway.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just an incredibly beautiful place to be. Peaceful, colourful gardens with wonderful herbaceous borders. All staff so friendly and you feel part of their close community.
You don't want to leave the estate at all and keep returning.
I defy anyone not to love Cadhay and everyone who is involved.




Really nice stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great value for money, had everything we needed. Kitchen was well equipped. Staff who we met were friendly and attentive. Comfortable beds. Gardens were lovely. Wi fi could have had better coverage, however. Shower in the en-suite wasn’t very hot so should be looked at immediately. Other than that, we had a great time



Jayne at Cadhay replied 364 days ago
Thanks for your feedback. We have now upgraded the wifi and sorted the shower so you should find an improvement if you come back again.