FB Twitter

Swift Cottage

Swift Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.6
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Located in the rolling hills of South Devon, Swift Cottage is one of nine cottages in a holiday complex called Newhouse Barton, that have been sympathetically converted from the existing buildings of a working farm.
Swift Cottage - 2 bed - sleeps 4. Ground floor bedroom (single beds) + en-suite; first floor bedroom king size bed + en-suite. Travel cot(s) is available for infant(s)
One additional person can be accommodated on a sofa bed located in the living area
Free Wi-Fi, free electric heating and towels / linen provided.
One small obedient dog is allowed at Swift Cottage for an additional charge.

Spacious accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Mar 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at swift cottage, loved the high ceilings and log burner. All things kitchen provided (apart from tongs / oil / salt and pepper). Comfy king size bed. En-suite upstairs and downstairs. Wifi is a bit slow but it is very remote. There’s not much within walking distance so you need a car to get around. The games room has play area for kids, football table, hockey table and pool table (£1 coin required for pool games). We didn’t utilise the swimming pool but it felt warm and looked clean. The host was super helpful when we ran into car dramas and kindly allowed us a late check out so we could hire a vehicle from Newton Abby to get home.

Cara from Kidderminster stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in February 2024


A great week. Would love to stay again.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice spacious barn conversion for 4 with almost everything you could want for pleasant stay. My 6 year old loved the balcony waking everyone up like a Princess every morning. A communal swimming pool, outdoor park and a games room just a stones throw away to enjoy whenever you have free time.

We used this place as a springboard to Paignton, Dartmouth, Totnes and Exeter. For these locations, it was perfect.

I would highly recommend. The only drawback is it's situated down a very remote lane. Bikes would be very awkward as there are limited passing points if you met a car.


Steven from Radstock stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in February 2024


Fantastic Family Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic family stay at Swift Cottage, booked because of a glowing recommendation from friends who had stayed previously.

There was everything we needed, our little one loved the pool and swam every day.

The location was great for seeing the local attractions.

We'd love to come back and stay again!


Selina from Congleton stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in October 2023


Lovely stay in comfortable, modern property

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Property was well equipped and comfortable. Good surrounding area. One or two minor issues with cleanliness, but overall very good. Indoor pool was excellent! Dog friendly was a bonus!

Catherine from HAVANT stayed at Swift Cottage for 5 nights in September 2023


Excellent family stay

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as a family of 2 adults, 2 children (age 17 & 12) and a dog. We found the cottage, pool, play room and whole site to be very clean and the kids loved being able to access the pool as much as they wanted. We loved the little extra things that had been thought about such as the welcome pack with milk, tea, coffee and even a bottle of wine. Also a box for the dog, with bowls, poo bags etc. The beds were very comfortable and the blinds in the windows were a welcome addition, as was the powerful (if a little noisy) shower. It's a lovely quiet setting and felt very safe, although the lanes are very narrow to get get to it, but very little traffic. There is a very nice local pub and shop nearby and the local supermarkets deliver which is a bonus. it's not too far from Torquay, Paignton, Brixham and Dartmoor.and the nearest towns of Newton Abbott and Totness are well worth a visit. We'd definitely go back.

Julie from GLOUCESTER stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in August 2023


Restful return

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time to stay at Swift Cottage as we loved it so much last time. Clean and comfortable cottage with fantastic facilities: great games room, perfect pool, amazing activity area. We couldn’t recommend it enough!

Mark from Cardiff stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in August 2023


Lovely stay in a lovely house

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Swift Cottage and would happily stay there again. The kitchen was well equipped with pots, pans, knives, bowls, plates and a great little Nespresso coffee machine. The cottage was clean and comfortable, making it easy to relax. The outside space was great with relaxing views and space for the kids to play. The location was excellent from the point of view of being relatively close (within 30 mins) of lots of lovely places to visit but being situated at the end of a single track road was a little awkward, however, we didn’t run into any other traffic during our week long stay. The owner Jacquie was very good to deal with and was always available.

Stephen from PENRITH stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in August 2023


Wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Swift Cottage is a go to place it's lovely, great location with some fantastic views.
Swimming pool is great.
Swift Cottage has all the items you might need while staying there.


Paul from Nottinghamshire stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in July 2023


Lovely stay at Swift

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jul 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time at Swift, very comfortable and had a very enjoyable time. Met all our needs and will be back.

Stephen from ASHFORD stayed at Swift Cottage for 4 nights in July 2023


Peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Swift Cottage was perfect for our needs. Although close to the town, it was an exciting vacation spot for my granddaughter as she was able to visit the sheep in the neighboring field each morning and pick wild flowers for her "mommy and grammy".

Terence from San Francisco stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in June 2023


Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really nice place place to stay , very clean, plenty of information on where to go and places to see.
The pool is a nice extra on a hot day.


Nick from PUDSEY stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in May 2023


Great short Break in Devon

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Swift Cottage. Perfect for a few days away, with lots to do on site. Jacquie was very helpful and the cottage had everything we needed as a family with a baby. We would definitely love to come back!

Adam from Bath stayed at Swift Cottage for 4 nights in February 2023


2 days In Ipplepen

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little hideaway. Peaceful, clean and well equipped. Two en suites (one downstairs) is perfect.

Richard from LEICESTER stayed at Swift Cottage for 2 nights in December 2022


Lovely week away

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weeks stay in Swift cottage. It was nicely decorated and well equipped. We had contact with the owner, Jacquie, who was very friendly and helpful and even called during our stay to check we were warm enough.

We booked the cottage due to the pool facility, as we didn't know what the weather would be like in November and wanted to ensure we had plenty to do. The pool could have been slightly warmer (with a baby and young child) and would benefit from updating in the near future, but this certainly did not effect our stay. The outside play area and games room were a nice addition for our young daughter.

The cottage is a little off the beaten track but was a good base, with plenty to do close by. Would recommend a visit to Paignton zoo and Paignton seafront. The House of marbel museum is also worth a look if you have a free hour (free entry). The Pig and Wistle pub is close by and serve great food. We would defiently stay here again!


Emma from Bristol stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in November 2022


Beautiful cottage, beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Dec 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well equipped, comfortable converted barn in a beautiful setting. Swift Cottage is set in a group of similar buildings a mile and a half down a narrow country lane, with views from the courtyard garden across fields. Good instructions - needed - to find it! Excellent communication with the owner when a problem arose and it was quickly sorted. The swimming pool was a bonus and the games room, too, if we had had time for a game of table-tennis. We have family nearby so hope to be back again soon.

Mary from London stayed at Swift Cottage for 4 nights in November 2022


Lovely cottage in a lovely setting.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would highly recommend this cottage. It's modern, roomy and has everything you need. Having a swimming pool, games room and playground on site is a fantastic addition.

We were pleasantly suprised that contrary to property photos, the spiral staircase had been remodelled into a 'proper' staircase. Makes handling small children on the stairs a lot easier.

We are already booking for next year!


Andy from Edingale stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in October 2022


Our short break

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a relaxing week away and met some lovely people either side of the cottage. The swimming every day was what I needed and having the pool to myself was priceless. Yes we will be back. Thank you.

Pamela from Dursley stayed at Swift Cottage for 6 nights in September 2022


A perfect venue

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My review is 5*
The cottage had everything you could possibly need.
It was spotless and we enjoyed using the BBQ which we had outside the cottage.
The inside was perfect as there were 2 bedrooms with en-suites.
The indoor pool was an added bonus and the water was really warm.


Christine from Chessington stayed at Swift Cottage for 2 nights in September 2022


Great location for a holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation in a great location. Everything a family needs for a relaxing break away in this lovely part of the country.

Chris from Bognor Regis stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in July 2022


Swift Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at Swift Cottage was fabulous. The cottage was beautifully presented and very well stocked with everything anyone could need on their holiday. The swimming pool was excellent, just the right size for my two boys to enjoy twice every day.
I am considering booking the cottage again in the future as the area has plenty to do and the beaches are brilliant. Thanks for such a great holiday!


Faith from Stafford stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in July 2022


Comfort care clean relaxing!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Last year we had such a relaxed stay at Swift Cottage and have enjoyed a second comfortable holiday at this charming cottage it did not disappoint it is full of homely character and very welcoming, clean and well equipped well deserving of Tourist Board - Visit England four-star gold award.


Neil from Caterham stayed at Swift Cottage for 11 nights in July 2022


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the cottage and the pool. Nice to have tea, coffee and milk on arrival. We had a bit of an issue with the narrow country lanes.

William from Reading stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in June 2022


Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a very rural setting so peaceful only hear birds cows and sheep.
Accommodation very clean and comfortable. I have a walking / standing disability and the cottage was great for us as downstairs bedroom and bathroom so no stairs. Path to cottage could do with another paving slab as mobility scooter would not go over gravel but we managed. Swimming pool an asset to the property very clean and family had a wonderful swim. All together we had a wonderful stay and hopefully we will return.


Jeanette from Romford stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in June 2022


Three night get away....

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely, restful and quiet few days, the property is remote and peaceful. We enjoyed the fact that it was not school holidays so adults only, but if you have children it is ideal for families - they started arriving as we left - perfect all round. The pool was fabulous for a morning swim, and a very comfortable temperature.
Swift cottage was ideal for our needs, home from home and a forced slow down - everything worked perfectly, ice in the freezer for our gin&tonic and a complimentary bottle of wine was a delightful bonus.
Super place highly recommend!


Guest from LONDON stayed at Swift Cottage for 3 nights in April 2022


Another great stay at Swift Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

I am a returning holiday maker to Swift Cottage. I was pleasantly surprised to see the spiral staircase had been replaced by a beautiful wooden one with glass panels that continue on across the balcony. Also the replacement work top in the kitchen is really nice. As if that wasn't enough there is also a new oven, dishwasher, fridge freezer and log burner.
I loved being there before but finding all these enhancements have really made it so much more up market.
A wonderful place to stay and a lovely locaction. Bonus too if you are an electric car owner as there is a charging point in the car park.
All you could ask for.


Carole from Oakwood stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in March 2022


A relaxing stay in Beautiful and comfortable surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was beautifully decorated and very clean. The facilities were excellent, we enjoyed the swimming pool and our 4 year old loved the play area. The surrounding area is beautiful and very relaxing. The communication from owner and advse on finding them was very helpful. I would definitely recommend this place.

Alison from Birmingham stayed at Swift Cottage for 2 nights in March 2022


A really super cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No part of our stay at this cottage was disappointing. The beds and sofa were really comfortable. It was warm, plenty of hot water. It was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. Highly recommend. The pool and games room are brilliant. Super additions to a lovely cottage. Thank you for everything and we hope to visit again!

Louisa from Wimborne stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in February 2022


Very enjoyable stay in a clean cosy modern cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Swift cottage. It was immaculately clean, well presented and very comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the woodburner (as it was February) and the games room.

Jon from Crewkerne stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in February 2022


Family Swimming holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We didn't want to travel abroad but wanted our children to have a swimming holiday. They loved the heated indoor pool which we visited twice daily. The were super happy with this treat. The cottage was lovely, clean and warm. The communication was excellent too.
We had to drive everywhere but that didn't bother us as we had brought our defender, perfect for winter Devon country lanes.
Thank you!


Guest from Cavendish stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in December 2021


Swift Cottage, October half term

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was completely spotless, which struck us as soon as we walked in. Everything we needed was available and in good condition, and everything worked. The pool and playroom are fantastic, making Swift Cottage the ideal location for our three teenagers.

It's set in beautiful scenery with walks from the doorstep as well as easy access to towns such as Totnes and Newton Abbot, and not too far from the coast.

We have been to Swift Cottage several times and will certainly be coming again.


Linda from Bicester stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in October 2021


Stunning Swift Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This charming comfortable Cottage was very homely from the moment we walked through the front door it was clean and welcoming with a well equipped kitchen complete with washing machine and dishwasher and an impressive Bosch oven and grill. The Cottage has a very good central heating system which was welcome for our October break, the beds were really of excellent standard and comfortable. The owner has certainly gone the extra mile in presenting Swift Cottage very well indeed it is attractive and comfortable, on site is a swimming pool and games room for the guests which was much appreciated and enjoyed. There are plenty of local attractions and beautiful beaches and scenery to enjoy, the usual big name supermarkets are nearby. We cannot recommend Swift Cottage enough it was such a peaceful place to spend time at.

Neil Munro-Thomson from Caterham stayed at Swift Cottage for 8 nights in October 2021


Absolute gem hidden in the countryside

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our stay at Swift cottage and can’t wait to book again. The cottage is superb; beautifully presented throughout, such a peaceful countryside location but perfectly situated to access all the major towns in no time. Lovely outside space with seating and BBQ, facilities were lovely with the pool, games room and children’s play area. After a day out exploring, I cannot think of anywhere more perfect to come back to. Jacquie is a 5* host and such a pleasure to deal with, I had to contact her during our stay due to an issue and the response was amazing.

Rhian from Yatton stayed at Swift Cottage for 3 nights in September 2021


Relaxing peaceful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When I booked I was a bit concerned that the living area would be a little small for 4 adults and a dog but it was fine there was plenty of room. The outside fire pit and barbecue was a big hit with us in the early evening, due to very rural location the swimming pool was brilliant as was the games room which was used a lot too. The beds in the twin room were really comfortable, a lot of other cottages usually think children use these and put cheap mattresses in, Swift is not like this we slept really well in them. It’s hard to find fault the only thing I would like them to consider is please don’t fill all the kitchen cupboards with utensils I had to move things around to fit all our stuff in.


Lesley from Near Manchester stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in September 2021


Fabulous week

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family had a wonderful time the facilities were very good. Beautiful location everything you need and perfect for a peaceful rest. Not far from beaches and lovely villages.

Pauline from Bexhill-on-Sea stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in August 2021


Very comfortable barn conversion in terrace of other holiday barns

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super place to stay for comfort, with comfortable sofa and beds, tv in both bedrooms. Pool is enjoyable and a good size. Times are limited due to covid, but it means each cottage has the pool to themselves for an hour every day. Outdoor areas are well maintained and attractive, but you are sharing these so there can be some noise from use of the outdoor space.
There are lots of great places and coastal spots to visit in this area but you do need to go everywhere by car as the immediate area is farmland and the roads are single track. There are no villages or dog walks from the property.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Swift Cottage and there was plenty of space for the two of us and our small dog. It would be nice to have had summer duvets as found 13.5 tog too hot for June nights.


Sally Astles from Loxwood Billingshurst, stayed at Swift Cottage for 7 nights in June 2021