FB Twitter

Killee Cottage

Killee Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
5.0


Once one of a number of bothies stretching along this quiet country lane, Killee Cottage is one of only two thatched cottages remaining. The boundary of this property ends at a small stream and there is a large garden with endless views stretching over the neighbouring fields.

  • Sleeps 2 people. Double Room.
  • Welcomes 1 pet.

Killee Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely cottage! Beautifully maintained and well loved. Deidre, the host/custodian for Landmark Trust gave us a lovely welcome and is an added bonus to the property.
The history of the property was fascinating and it was most comfortable. That we could have our dog stay in the property was really helpful. Everything we needed was in the cottage and we had a very comfortable stay.




Lorraine - Operations Manager replied 37 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review and supporting the Irish Landmark. Killee is one of our newest hidden gems, still quite undiscovered due to being opened during the covid years. A traditional thatched cottage and restored by heritage tradesmen in the traditional way, this cottage is going to become very popular!

Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really wonderful stay at Killee Cottage as a special birthday treat. It is a very restful place with beautiful attention to detail and a great spot for exploring the surrounding area particularly the planned towns of Doneraile and Mitchelstown. Highly recommended.



Lorraine - Operations Manager replied 37 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review on Killee Cottage. This is our newest property and is still one of the hidden gems not all our repeat guests have not discovered yet. Be sure to ask Deidre for reccomendations in the locality

Lovely quiet stay in tiny Cork cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The thatched cottage is lovely, very well equipped and nicely restored. The bed is super comfortable, like all in Landmark Trust houses,. It is quite isolated, down a country road, without neighbours anyway close, so wonderful for star watching in the dark at night, but the nearest store is back in Mitchelstown if you run out of milk! Mitchelstown has sadly seen better days, has several grocery shops for food shopping, but Fermoy, a 15 minute drive away, is far far prettier for lunch or a Sunday morning walk by the river.



Lorraine - Operations Manager replied 45 days ago
Thank you for your review and supporting the Irish Landmark Trust. Thank you also for your recommendation for local provisions, this is helpful for our next guests. Most of our properties are very rural to ensure our guests have total relaxation, its always recommended to bring the basics with you.

Highly recommended very comfortable cottage, beautifully restored and tastefully decorated

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Killee cottage is a very comfortable beautifully restored cottage. Very welcoming house manager. Excellent place to stay and a great addition to Landmark Trust’s portfolio. Very easy to find - it is not far from Mitchelstown. Only problem was poor or non existent phone signal and of course no wifi. This is a problem post Covid as opening hours for cafes and even OPW sites nearby are not as one would expect. Online checking is really essential.
It would be nice if some of the rear space beyond the picnic bench was either cut or better still was a meadow rather than unsightly weeds. A small point as this really is a lovely cottage .




Lorraine - Operations Manager replied 57 days ago
Thank you for your review and supporting the Irish Landmark Trust. Thank you for your mention of checking out the locality before hand, this is also information your local House Manager can provide to you before or during your check-in. Due to the remoteness of location of our properties and the very thick walls, it is advised to take a tech free break too during your visit

Beautiful place to unplug for a few nights!

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Killee Cottage is a beautiful property and we had a lovely stay there! It is very clean and well-appointed. The kitchen especially was very well supplied with pots, pans, utensils, and everything else we needed. There were plenty of electrical outlets around. The bathroom was also very nice and spacious with plenty of hot water. Despite all of these modern conveniences, the property maintains a wonderful historic character. We took advantage of the wood-burning stove to have fires (with the supplies left for us) almost every night. And we loved having our meals at the picnic table out back, where a field of wildflowers and grasses is taking shape. It was a quiet, tranquil place to unplug for a few nights. The host, Deirdre, was wonderful and helpful and gave us great recommendations for restaurants and activities nearby. This is our second stay in an ILT property, and we plan to stay in many more!



Lorraine - Operations Manager replied 77 days ago
Thank you for your review and supporting the Irish Landmark Trust. Your stay helps us keep the historical properties in our care in great condition. The cottage is a great get away for true peace and quiet, with no disturbances from modern day tech. Our house managers knowledge of their area, places to visit and local eateries always come highly reccomended.

Amazing Experience

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place, great caretakers and
amazing overall experience, definitely to be repeated . Has been one of my better holiday experiences .




Lorraine - Operations Manager replied 92 days ago
Thank you for your kind review and supporting Irish Landmark Trust. Our properties are restored using the historic materials and trade skills to suit the period of the building to ensure it lasts for the next generations

Tranquil and beautifully restored cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very attractive cottage with usual Landmark Trust's successful blend of historic fabric and practical modern amenities. Tranquil rural setting but we did have to watch out for speeding traffic early morning and late afternoon; plus it was haymaking time!
Garden behind at time of visit was a beautiful floral meadow; hope the Trust resists the temptation to manicure it.
Warm and very helpful welcome by Diedre.
Only minor problem for us was lack of good reading light in living room.
Otherwise thoroughly recommended.




Lorraine - Operations Manager replied 92 days ago
Thank you for your review and noticing our trademark finishes to our properties. I hope you can visit another of our properties again soon

A lovely peaceful cottage in the Cork countryside

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very cozy cottage in Cork county, The wood burning stove was perfect for the cool nights. Very peaceful for sleeping. Kitchenette has everything you need, and there is a picnic table out back which was surrounded by buttercups when I was there. Enjoyed long walks along narrow winding country roads. About 6km outside of Mitchelstown so a car is advised, but there is a Local Links bus from Mitchelstown to Fermoy every 2 hours during the daytime, about 5-10 min walk from the cottage.



Lorraine - Operations Manager replied 120 days ago
Thank you for your review, this cottage is a gem, if you need a short break away from daily stress. I hope you can return again soon

Home from Home

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a great stay. The cottage is very sympathetically refurbished. I loved the decor, the heritage colours used were lovely, especially the bedroom. The shower in the bathroom was second to none. I am originally from the Cork area, so the cottage was really convenient for seeing family. Will visit again.




Lorraine - Operations Manager replied 135 days ago
Killee Cottagehis is one of our newest properties, thank you for noticing our heritage decor, this property is still undiscovered being so new, your kind review is appreciated

Long Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful, restorative stay in this cosy hideaway. Lots of long walks in the Galtee mountains and the nearby Doneraile estate. We would highly recommend Killee cottage for a breakaway from the business of life!



Lorraine, Operations Manager replied 190 days ago
Thank you for your review of Killee Cottage, it is a lovely cosy cottage. Thank you for recommending nearby places to visit

An Attentive and Friendly Host

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Mar 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Deidre was an attentive and friendly host. She made it a point of stopping by and providing a guest gift of soda bread, which we appreciated. The fire was ready to go, requiring only a lighted match, and the narcissus planter brightened the decor and provided a lovely harbinger of spring for our March stay. Deidre checked in on us regularly even though, she held two other jobs, and allowed us a more generous check out time.

Other guests might want to bring shampoo and bar soap should they prefer those to liquid soap and additional firewood or turf if they plan to use the stove more than one night. The cottage could also use a few board games. Like many other Irish Landmark properties, we found the normal allotment of heat less than generous. Fortunately, we were able to adjust the system to a more suitable schedule.




Lorraine, Operations Manager replied 190 days ago
Thank you for your review, i hope you enjoyed the step back in time at Killee Cottage. Our House Manager Deirdre is looks after guests well, and they are leaving lovely comments about her generosity.

Charming

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Oct 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage and sympathetically restored by ILT , great to have thatch cottage on their books close to mitchelstown by car (approximately 15 minutes). Lovely stove , the only thing is not great phone signal most of the time.



Irish Landmark Team replied 345 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to Killee Cottage, We are so glad to hear that you a lovely time! As Killee is quite an isolated property spotty phone reception can be expected, while not always ideal it does provide an excellent excuse to switch off and unwind!

Thatched Cottage Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable well equipped traditional thatched Irish cottage...we stayed for 3 nights and used it as a base to travel around ..Killee Cottage was spacious and had everything we needed...Deirdre left us a welcome card and a little vase of flowers ...nice touch...she also gave us some suggestions for places to visit and Donerail House and Gardens was spot on. Thank you Deirdre



Irish Landmark Team replied 361 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review and recommendation of Killee Cottage. I will pass on your comments to Deirdre who I'm sure will be pleased. We're delighted you had such a lovely stay.

Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay.The cottage was lovely and very comfortable and it was really good to be able to unplug for a few days with no TV of WiFi.
Our peace and quiet was only disturbed by the big lorries going by the cottage at speed.
Deirdre was most helpful and gave us a list of all the interesting places to visit.




Irish Landmark Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at Killee Cottage. We're glad you were comfortable and well looked after by Deirdre and hope you got to visit all the interesting spots on your list. Thanks for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

So worth it.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were so happy with our stay in the cottage . The surroundings and quiet suited us down to the ground . We both work within computer driven roles , so to completely switch off and have no phone signal was a detox for us. Will be back again when the gardens get developed.
Park your car facing the road as traffic goes fast on it.




Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We're so glad to hear you have enjoyed your time at Killee Cottage and took the time to switch off. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Excellent Get way Place

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was so relaxing to stay at the cottage and Mitchelstown had everything we needed for our stay. The area Youghal and Doneraile Park were great places to visit in the area.



Irish Landmark Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we're glad to hear you had a relaxing stay. We hope you will be back here, or at another Irish Landmark property.

Silence is Golden

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really appreciated the fire with the beam. Great shower. Enjoyed the silence of the countryside. Great location for walking in the Galtees.



Irish Landmark Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Killee Cottage. We're so glad you enjoyed the fire, the silence, and the local walks. Thanks for staying and for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

Gorgeous cottage..great job.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great spot..highly recommended..the cottage is beautiful..Deirdre our caretaker was excellent..could not fault it really... Plenty to see and do ..a good base for an area that might come immediately to mind for some ( Irish) people!!



Irish Landmark Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your lovely review, we're delighted to hear you enjoyed the cottage and location, and getting to explore around the area. We hope you will be back!

Romantic weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay. Such a beautiful restoration. A cosy cottage in a lovely quiet place. Would recommend it highly.



Irish Landmark Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and found Killee Cottage to be cosy and quiet. Thanks for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

A great place to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I know the lack of internet and the poor phone connection was a bit off putting but that was ok. It didn't affect us too much. We brought our own laptop on which we had downloaded some videos.



Irish Landmark replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that you enjoyed the cottage and taking some time to disconnect. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

Killee Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Killee Cottage Mitchelstown was an easy drive from Dublin and presented an ideal base to explore the area.



Irish Landmark replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay, we're so glad you enjoyed the cottage and the local area.

Great little gem

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place. Very comfy and surprisingly quiet. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a great place to say with their dog! As always Irish landmark trust has done a superb job. Lovely property!



Irish Landmark Team replied more than 1 year ago
We' re thrilled to read your lovely review of Killee Cottage. Glad your enjoyed the property and the quietness of the location. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.