FB Twitter

Blackhead Cutter

Blackhead Cutter

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 71 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Blackhead Lightkeepers' Houses are ideally situated on the North Shore of Belfast Lough. The panoramic views from this property are stunning and fill visitors with pure delight and admiration. This magnificent house, in its breathtaking location, is a proud example of Ireland's maritime heritage.

Guests can enjoy spectacular views over Belfast Lough from the Lightkeepers' Houses. A popular coastal path leads along in front of the lightouse to the Victorian town of Whitehead. Lying 20 miles north of Belfast, Whitehead is only a 40 minute train journey away from city centre shopping and many historical tours.

Sleeps 4 people
1 Double Room and 1 Twin Room
Not suitable for dogs

Magic!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the lighthouse was magic. Lovely nit to have tv or internet which allowed us to reconnect over the fire and nice scenery. Both the Gobbins and Blackhead path walks were just fantastic. Didn’t want to leave. Thank you so much for sharing this magic with us!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 20 days ago
Thank you so very much for sharing how your stay was at Blackhead Cutter, and how much you enjoyed switching off from all the electronic distractions and reconnecting with family and friends at an Irish Landmark Trust property. We truly do believe that taking the time to stop and spend time with the ones you love is so important in this fast paced world. We are delighted you enjoyed the local activities and we do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

marvellous place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All was perfect. Pamela Stewart does such a great job. (Flowers in the rooms and all was so clean) The furniture are so authentic.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 25 days ago
Thank you for your very kind words. Pamela is indeed a wonderful Local House Manager and looks after the properties at Blackhead, and all Irish Landmark Trust's guests exceptionally well. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Beautiful Blackhead!

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time staying at the beautiful Blackhead Cutter and we had another wonderful time there, helped by the Easter sunshine!
Real old world charm in the property with modern facilities well integrated. We used it as our base for a return trip to The Gobbins nearby, a wonderful experience to rival any other in Ireland. Also enjoyed a family horse riding trip on Islandmagee, trips to Browns Bay & Portmuck, and the coastal walk from Blackhead to Whitehead (closed in places, hopefully will be fully restored & opened in future as would be a wonderful attraction in the area).
Blackhead was a great base for a perfect family trip, enjoyed by adults & kids alike.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 48 days ago
Thank you so very much for your continued support of Irish Landmark Trust and our work to try and save some of Ireland's built heritage. We look forward to perhaps welcoming you back in the future.

Wonderful location

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Blachkead Cutter is in a wonderful location with fantastic views. The cottage is very comfortable and relaxing. The walk from the lighthouse to Whitehead is lovely and the village has some excellent eating places. Gobbins Walk is also a must.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 48 days ago
Thank you for letting Irish Landmark Trust know you had a comfortable and relaxing stay at Blackhead Cutter. It is wonderful to see you had a nice stay and enjoyed all the local attractions and walking routes. We do hope to welcome you back to Blackhead, or indeed any of the other 32 properties in our care throughout Ireland.

Blackhead Cutter

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very enjoyable stay. Its a gorgeous property in a wonderful location. Would be happy to revisit.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 48 days ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust, a non-profit organisation, by staying in one of the self-catering accommodation properties in our care. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

What a special place!

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Blackhead Lighthouse is a stunning place to stay! The Antrim coastline is just beautiful and the coastal walk from just outside the door is lovely. We were lucky enough to have the first real warm weather of this year shining down on us as we made our way into the town of Whitehead and just loved every second of it. The house itself is wonderfully decorated and so cosy in the evenings when the weather took a turn. Thank you to Pamela for the warm welcome. Hopefully we will return sometime in the future.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 69 days ago
Irish Landmark Trust are delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay at Blackhead Cutter and you had the time, and weather, to explore the many local attractions. It is a great location for anyone exploring the Antrim coast, Belfast or indeed the Causeway Coastal Route. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Stunning setting

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From arrival to departure, location, comfort as to be expected, warmth, house facilities, this is a secret not to be shared !!!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 69 days ago
Oh please do share! It is wonderful to hear you had such a lovely time at Blackhead, and thank you for your very kind words. Irish Landmark Trust is a non-profit charity and we rely on guests coming to stay at our self-catering properties to help us to continue to save, share and sustain some of Ireland's built heritage. We do hoe to welcome you to another of the 32 properties in our care some time in the future.

Blackhead Cutter Lighthouse Review

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lighthouse was beautifully restored- it is so wonderful to see these locations being taken care of and loved. We loved staying here (our friends rented a second section of it and we had the place to ourselves)

That’s being said, here’s a little hospitality feedback:
1) We had no hot water the day we arrived and weren’t able to get that sorted out until the second day. For the price we paid, that’s something that should have been checked before arrival

2) the instructions left in the lighthouse felt unwelcoming. There’s a big sign saying that if you leave dishes unwashed you’ll be charged a fee, to be careful with everything in the place, etc. I can understand wanting people to be cautious with a historical place like this- but as a traveler paying prices similar to a top hotel- we expect that level of hospitality. You should welcome people as guests- which means not expecting them to wash dishes or empty the trash bins.

3) extra towels and pillows would have been nice. We were given one per guest.

Again, we loved staying here. With just a few details fixed, this would have been a 100% awesome experience.




A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really wonderful stay in the cottage. The house was very comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 90 days ago
Thank you for letting us know how your stay at Blackhead Cutter was. It is lovely to hear you had a wonderful time and found the property comfortable for the time you called it home. We do hope to perhaps welcome you back in the future.

Blackhead Cutter

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was excellent and the views spectacular. The location is great being remote and yet only a half hour walk in to town on a good path.



Bookings Officer Irish Landmark Trust replied 98 days ago
Thank you for your great review. Blackhead really is a spectacular spot so we're always delighted to hear of others enjoying the property as much as we do! Hopefully we will get to welcome you back or to another Irish Landmark Trust property soon.

Stunning Lighthouse

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolute wonderful place to stay, Very relaxing and peaceful. You get the full effects of what the lighthouse stands for... the howling wind, the rough sea, but yet calming. The area is very private, the views were fantastic and the house was very comfortable. Could find no fault in this place, and would definitely recommend this place to anyone.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 115 days ago
Thank you so very much for you very kind words about your stay at Blackhead. We are so happy to hear you had such a great time and that you so highly recommend Irish Landmark to people thinking of staying at one of our properties.

Harrison Family review

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi
We had a great time very pleased with stay.You could consider telling host to warn guest about extensive ramping of lane to light house. The one infront of golf club Blackhead Cutter Antrim is unmarked nearly ripped underside of car off as we were unaware of it. Others are very poorly highlighted { paint on smallest yellow triangle }.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 122 days ago
Thank you for staying in a property in the care of Irish Landmark Trust and supporting our work to save, share and sustain some of Ireland's built heritage. I am afraid the road to the lighthouse is public and we have no operation in it's maintenance but I will certainly pass on your comments.

Perfect location for a break

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Blackhead Cutter is an ideal place to have a holiday, beautifully situated and extremely comfortable.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 228 days ago
We're delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in Blackhead Cutter. It really is a special place! Thank you for the great review and we hope to welcome you again in the future!

Weekend break

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Blackhead cutter, it's exactly what we thought it would be like, open fire, wind blowing off the windows, peace and quite all round. If you want get away from it all this is your place. The house was very clean and it's location is second to none.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 235 days ago
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. It is wonderful to hear you had such a nice peaceful and relaxing weekend break. Your support of Irish Landmark Trust is greatly appreciated and we do hope to perhaps welcome you back again in the future to one of the 32 properties in our care around the island of Ireland.

A beautiful experience in a magical place

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I do not know what to say: everything was perfect.Right away! On arrival we had no difficulty finding the location and we immediately met Janice who explained everything to us. Very easy. She and Pamela were very kind, like Mrs Irene Carroll.
The rooms are tastefully furnished: romantic but without exaggerating.There is a lot of space, even for more people. Everything is in the kitchen, even heating in summer and the fireplace....and binoculars! The place is romantic and very beautiful.
What a pity that the path could not be made, but we know it did not depend on you.




Irene, Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 273 days ago
Grazie mille Carolina. We are just delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay. I know you were very much looking forward to your lightkeeper's house adventure and I am so happy it all went so well for you and your family. Hopefully you will return to Ireland in the future and consider staying in another Irish Landmark Trust property perhaps?

Great experience, great location!

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is superb.
Our stay at BHC has been wonderful, the location is cozy and romantic.
Everything was perfect, since we met Pamela (the manager) that showed us the property and all the facilities.
Sited at the beginning of the Causeway Coastal Route, gives the possibility to reach each and every location easily.
Strongly recommended for a wonderful, quit vacation.
Max & Federica




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 280 days ago
Thank you for recommending Cutter at Blackhead Lighthouse. It was lovely to have you stay and we really do appreciate your support for the work carried out by Irish Landmark Trust. As a non-profit organisation it is wonderful when guests really do understand the importance of saving, sharing and sustaining our built heritage, which they directly support by staying in one of our 33 properties located around the island. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

wonderful experience

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Two bed room house with kitchen and washing machine. Excellent for short stay.
Beautiful quiet environment. Shouldn't be missed.




Bookings Officer replied 307 days ago
Thank you for letting Irish Landmark Trust know how your recent stay at Cutter, in Blackhead, went. It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed your time at the lighthouse complex. Thank you also for recommending the property to other potential guests.

A wonderfull place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay. The house is very nice with a lovely interior. The views are stunning and Whitehead village is most pleasant.



Bookings Officer from Irish Landmark Trust replied 321 days ago
It is simply wonderful to see that you had a lovely time and enjoyed your stay at Cutter, located at the Blackhead Lighthouse complex in Co. Antrim. Glad that you had a chance to explore your surroundings too.

A fabulous stay in an authentic lighthouse property

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really enjoyed my stay at Blackhead Cutter. The property was very well taken care of and little touches like fresh flowers in vases and books to read made our stay even more enjoyable. I would highly recommend this property for a relaxing stay. We took the train from whitehead into Belfast and it was quick and convenient.



Bookings Officer replied 325 days ago
Glad you had such a lovely stay at Blackhead Cutter during your trip to Ireland. It is great to hear that you found the journey for your day trip to Belfast was fast and convenient. Blackhead is a good spot for those who wish to explore the East coast of Northern Ireland, as well as a little further afield if they have their own transport.

Rooms with Views

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Breathtaking location right beside the lighthouse and the Irish Sea. This lighthouse keeper’s house was well maintained and equipped and very clean. Great access to walking paths right next to the house, extending all the way to Whitehead.



Fabulous house in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommended. Spacious, well-kept house. Very quiet. Beautiful view. Next to a lovely walk to Whitehead, and within 10 minutes of the Gobbins.



Bookings Officer replied 334 days ago
Peace and quiet - if you are looking for this then many Irish Landmark trust properties are perfect for you. Wonderful to see that you enjoyed the serenity of Cutter at Blackhead Lighthouse in Co. Antrim and got time to explore the fabulous local attractions nearby. thank you for you support and we do hope to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Blackhead Cutter - as good as it gets!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Blackhead Cutter is as good as it gets - the rooms are large but nicely proportioned with beautiful wood panelling and high ceiling. The views from the large windows north to the Gobbins, east to Scotland (which we could make out) and south to Whitehead are spectacular. A beautiful walk from the Cutter brings you to the lovely Victorian town of Whitehead and a regular train service to Belfast. Well done to Irish Landmark Trust for their great work in restoring these properties, keeping them alive and allowing us to experience such unique and memorable properties. Thanks also to Pamela for her warm welcome and information.



Bookings Officer replied 335 days ago
Thank you for letting Irish Landmark know how your recent stay at Cutter went. It is great to hear that you had such a lovely time and that you thoroughly enjoyed the Irish Landmark experience. You are very kind to also mention our continuing work to try and save more heritage properties, which is helped by guests staying in this wonderful houses. It might not feel like your holiday is anything but a relaxing breakaway, but when you stay in an Irish Landmark property, you’re part of a community that’s helping to keep heritage alive. For that we thank you and hope to continue to welcome you back to the properties in our care well into the future.

Our Three-Day Stay at Blackhead Cutter Was Incredible!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful experience at the Blackhead Lighthouse Cutter property. The place is authentically beautiful and the views were second to none. To be fair, we experienced 8 days of perfect weather--three of which were at the Cutter location. The ocean and coast views went on forever interrupted by landfall in Scotland and distant islands with other lighthouses and their beacon lights--absolutly beautiful!! So much to do in the area including the Blackhead Cliff Walk (just steps away), The Gobbins Path (a must-do!), The Belfast-Titanic Museum, Many Game of Throne tours or just simply riding the coastal routes in and around the area. You won't be sorry to rent this property!



Bookings Officer replied 335 days ago
Delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time at Cutter, and it seems with the most fantastic weather during our recent heat wave. Blackhead is an amazing location no matter the weather but to have such calm and clear conditions that you could see Scotland .... that is just incredible. Thank you for recommending Cutter so enthusiastically, we do hope to welcome you to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Heaven on Earth!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Blackhead Cutter was absolutely heaven on earth for us! Everything was top-notch and the view was, needless to say, spectacular. We loved the accommodations, particularly that everything was exactly as advertised and as it looked in the photos. The lighthouse is tastefully appointed - enjoyed the nice touches of the quality linens, the barometer, the Irish pottery dishes, the flowers, the games, etc. - and comfortably furnished. We were able to enjoy breakfast at the large dining table with a full view of the sea and the light. Enjoyed seeing the light from the master bedroom at night, as well. The house itself, while older, is in great shape - even the craftsmanship of the wood shutters is beautiful! We appreciated the modernization, too ... the fan in the bathroom, the washing machine, the heat control, the portable drying rack, the adequate number of electrical outlets, the fridge, etc. All very helpful.

Pamela, the house manager, was absolutely lovely. She was accommodating (I had failed to contact her four days prior!), easygoing and helpful when we had a bit of confusion about how to work the hot water. She clearly cares about the place - maybe she's the one who has added all the nice touches!

As for the location, it was perfect for us. With a five to ten minute drive to Whitehead, we had access to everything we needed to make meals, post letters, etc. We particularly enjoyed the walk from the light to town along the cliff and beach path. Everyone was very friendly and the scenery was beautiful. We loved the sheep next door and soaked in their 'baa-ing' as much as we could. We could easily have stayed at the light house for weeks on end, but, alas, we were on a whirlwind tour of Ireland.

I would absolutely recommend Blackhead Cutter to anyone who might be interested!




Bookings Officer replied 357 days ago
Thank you so very much for your lovely and in-depth review of your stay at Cutter. We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay and enjoyed staying right beside the fabulous Blackhead Lighthouse. The 3 properties at this location are very much loved and cared for by our marvelous House Manager Pamela, and I am sure she will be as delighted as we are here in Irish Landmark's Head Office are about your comments. Thank you for supporting our work and helping us safe more of Ireland's built heritage.

Fabulous

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A dream come true!! Always loved lighthouses so staying at this huge 2 story home was amazing! It was beautifully decorated,very clean and even had fresh flowers! Also had a very modern kitchen and bathroom. Loved waking up to view of lighthouse and sea!



Bookings Officer replied 360 days ago
It is lovely to hear that you had a dream come true Debbie. That is very special for us here at Irish Landmark Trust. Having the opportunity to have such incredible properties in our care and being able to offer them to guests to stay in is something we feel very privileged about. It is not always easy as a non-profit organisation, but when we hear about guests having such wonderful times and dreams coming true, it is rather wonderful. We do hope you can come back again in the future.

A wonderful place

Review submitted on Tue, 01 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week staying at Blackhead Cutter and loved every minute of it. To start with, the location is unbelievable - right on the cliff edge with the most stunning views. The drive along the very narrow lane to get to it is a bit daunting at first, but gets easier. We were glad we didn't meet anything coming the other way!

We were greeted by Pamela who was so friendly and helpful and really got the holiday off to a good start. The house itself oozes history and charm, with its wooden floors, sturdy old doors, high ceilings and character. You really get a sense of its past. All the furniture is comfortable, the house was extremely clean, the beds are great, and the bathroom/shower room and also the kitchen are large and very well-equipped. The central heating made the house very cosy and we didn't need the open fire. Fresh flowers in every room was a lovely touch. No TV or wi-fi, but in many ways that was a blessing and we didn't miss either.

Blackhead Cutter is a wonderful place. We are so glad we chose to stay there, and wouldn't hesitate to return.




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let Irish Landmark Trust know how your stay at Blackhead Cutter was. It is lovely to see that you had such a lovely time at the property and that the cliff didn't scare you off. It really is a spectacular view up and down the coastline from the Blackhead properties. We are exceptionally lucky with our wonderful House Managers who really do love and tend for the properties so well, and it is lovely to hear that this was reflecting in your stay by the fantastic Pamela. We do hope to welcome you back again to this or indeed another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Lovely two night stay. No complaints.

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Followed the directions, no problems, the road is narrow but well paved. It's a lovely walk down down to the sea shore. The house itself was very clean and warm. Really great place to get away from it for a while. Pamela was very helpful and made the entire process very smooth. Will recommend. Recommend popping into Mauds in Whitehead for some ice cream



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Tom for taking the time to let Irish Landmark know how you enjoyed your stay at Blackhead Cutter in Co. Antrim. We are delighted that you had a chance to experience the relaxation a stay at an Irish Landmark Trust property gives our guests. We do feel that the opportunity to really switch off and reconnect with family and friends is such an important part of a stay with Irish Landmark. We are very lucky with Pamela who looks after guests and all 3 properties at Blackhead so well. Hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back in the future.

Stunning views, charming place

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Living as a lighthouse keeper, with amazing views greeting you in the morning and sending you to sleep, in a charming place, with beautiful, old style furniture... what else do you need for an amazing holiday?



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. Blackhead really is an amazing spot. The views, the coastline and the unique experience of staying is such a beautiful property make for an amazing holiday indeed. Thank you for the great review and the feedback. We'd love to see you return to enjoy the spectacular views again soon.

Ireland Trip

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First of all, the customer service provided by Pamela was outstanding. She was attentive in every aspect. The location, the scenery, amenities, etc were outstanding as well. Strongly recommend, however, please make sure you check the weather as we were caught in a very strong winter storm which kept us from leaving until the late afternoon, but that was part of the experience!




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you very kind words about our Local House Manager at Blackhead. Irish Landmark are very lucky to have such wonderful House Managers who look after guests, as well as the properties themselves, so well. Although your stay did coincide with such an unusual snowfall I am glad you had a nice time and we do hope you come to stay at at Irish Landmark property again.

Landscape and Sea in perfect unison

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent three nights here over New Year. It is a fantastic location and is the third landmark trust lighthouse we have stayed in. We loved the open fire and the house was warm. Great views and good coastal walks. The view from the bedroom was outstanding and we highly recommend it.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you had another enjoyable stay in an Irish Landmark property. Blackhead really is a beautiful place and every time you stay in an Irish Landmark property you are helping us to sustain and save our built heritage so that people may enjoy their beauty and uniqueness for many years to come. Thank you for the great review and we hope you return soon.

Christmas stay

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Dec 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The accommodation was perfect for us. The kitchen was well stocked so we could self cater. The bedrooms were comfortable. The house was warm and we has access to fuel so we could enjoy an open fire. Lovely walks on the door step. All good.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. There are some beautiful walks in the area so it's great you got to enjoy them and then head back to the warmth of the open fire! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Blackhead and we'd love to welcome you back to any of our properties in the near future.

Beautiful house in amazing location

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing setting - beautiful scenic drives right along the coast. House super cosy, really warm and inviting and very well equipped kitchen. Gorgeous walk at the bottom of the garden. Host couldn’t have been more helpful. We loved it!



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you loved your stay in Blackhead and that you were so well looked after. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. You're very welcome to stay again, in Blackhead or any of our unique properties.

A perfect place for a quiet getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cosy, well maintained cottage is in a beautiful location. It is quiet with amazing sea views and close to the beautiful Antrim Coastline.
We had a relaxing time by the open fire and enjoying the spectacular views.
The cottage is well maintained and well provisioned.
The house manager was very friendly and accommodating and happy to help where she could.




Darren replied more than 1 year ago
It seems like you had a great trip to Blackhead and we're delighted you did! Relaxing by the fire after a walk along the Antrim coastline is a perfect way to spend the cold autumn evenings. We hope you stay with us in any of our properties again in the near future. Thank you.

Blackhead Cutter

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time in Blackhead Cutter. The house is beautiful and everything we needed was provided. Perfect place to get away. Also Irene in bookings was great to deal with and very helpful.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the perfect review! We're glad you had such an enjoyable stay in Blackhead. I'll let Irene know she's awesome for you (we tell her all the time anyway). You're always welcome to book any of our stunning properties.

Spectacular location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were 2 couples on an extended trip around Ireland and we are agreed that the Cutter was one of the highlights of our trip. The views and the walks magnificent. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful review. I hope you had an amazing trip around Ireland and we're so happy staying in Blackhead Cutter was such a highlight. If you're ever back touring Ireland again you're more than welcome to stay at any of our unique properties.

Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nothing to fault the cottage or stay. Very comfortable & spacious. Going back there at the end of each day was like going home; it is that comfortable & welcoming. Great experience staying in a lighthouse, highly recommend Blackhead Cutter.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for the lovely review. We're delighted to know you felt so comfortable and welcome in Blackhead Cutter. We think it's a beautiful place and we're glad you think the same. You're very welcome to come stay with us again!

Sailing in whitehead

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a stunning location. Well worth the effort finding it.
Clean, warm and a great place to stay.
My only criticism is that Without google maps it would be difficult to find




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let Irish Landmark know how you enjoyed your recent stay at Cutter at Blackhead Lighthouse. Hopefully we have the opportunity to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark property in the future.

Wonderful Place

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed a wonderful long weekend at Blackhead. The property is superb. The landscape surrounding you is like a little bit of heaven. Pamela was wonderfully welcoming also. We would definitely recommend this place to family and friends ;0)



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
So glad to hear you have a great stay at Cutter. And that you got a chance to enjoy the superb scenery from this property. Delighted to hear that you would recommend Irish Landmark Trust. Always wonderful to hear.

Nostalgic revisit

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying at Blackhead so much a few years ago that we booked again. The Cutter is new, but just as delightful as the lightkeeper's house, with a few more-modern touches. It's a very romantic, relaxing spot. Walk down the cliff path to Whitehead, take a train to Belfast, or just enjoy basking in the breezes and sights and sounds of the Blackhead location. Pure bliss!



Booking Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that you had a good return visit to Blackhead and got a chance to stay at the newest addition to the location. Cutter is slightly different then House 1 and House 2 but delighted you enjoyed it just as much.

The room with the view....

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We loved our stay in the historic Blackhead Cutter. To wake up and look only over the sea was spectacular. Well appointed house, well equipped but what about an extra toilet - maybe in one of the empty sheds? We did not have enough time to do all we wanted. Will have to come again.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your recent stay at Cutter. The view is quite spectacular from all 3 properties at this location. I would recommend if you do decide to come back to this location and that a 2nd toilet is important to your group to perhaps book your stay at Blackhead House 2. This property has 1 bathroom with a bathtub and also a separate shower room.

loved it

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
looking out over the water was so peaceful just watching the boats go by loved our stay here took the trail down to the caves was very interesting just hanging out in the cave



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Cutter in Blackhead. Delighted to hear that you had a nice stay at Blackhead Cutter and that you found the caves below a great place to explore. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future to another Irish Landmark property.

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We missed nothing except a hint how the waste should be separated. The Information provided on the bins and boxes might not be clear to everybody



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we love to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back in the near future.

3 nights at the Blackhead Cutter

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fabulous property with simply incredible sea views. The location is wonderful. The house has been restored very very well. We were given a warm welcome by Pamela, the house manager. We enjoyed the views, the walks and the cosiness of the house. A truly memorable experience!



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear that you had a nice stay at Blackhead Cutter and that you found this wonderful location enjoyable and memorable. We hope to welcome you back again in the future to another Irish Landmark property. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Indeed one of the Great Lighthouses of Ireland!

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is indeed one of the Great Lighthouses of Ireland. We enjoyed our stay at the cottage very much and especially loved the views from the dining room and from the master bed room. Perfect base for daytrips to the Giant's Causeway and Rathlin Island. We would highly recommend this cottage and look forward to come back one day.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your recent stay at Cutter at Blackhead Lighthouse station. We are delighted to hear that you had a nice stay and that you would recommend a stay at Cutter. Also that you plan to come back to this or another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future. Please do remember that as a repeat guest you do get a discount so please make sure to let us know where you stayed in the past and we can make sure to add that to your stay.

Summer holiday in Blackhead Cutter

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our family of 4 (with 2 boys age 13 and 8) stayed in Blackhead Cutter for 1 week in july 2017. We had a great time! The location is perfect with lovely views all around. The house is big and very comfortable. We loved the decoration and the small touches (fresh flowers, binoculars for looking out over sea, maps of the sea surrounding the lighthouse). Close to the house we recommend walking the Gobbins Path (book well ahead to avoid disappointment), eating icecream at The Rinkha and visiting Ulster Folk Museum.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time at an Irish Landmark property. We do hope that you perhaps you can come back and stay at another Irish Landmark Trust self-catering accommodation in the future.

Stunning views

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a location! Waking up and just having the sea and cliffs around is really amazing! We had a very relaxing stay here.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties,come back again soon.

First time in Ireland

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing, words do not do it justice. Walkway was an excellent way to explore the area. On our time we could see Scotland.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we love to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

An unexpected journey

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the very beginning Pamela went above and beyond to make sure our stay was to our satisfaction. We truly appreciated all she did and extra attention. The Lighthouse experience was one we will all treasure. I'd advice anyone to stay a few nights and disconnect from your phones and media. Plenty of good books to read.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Amazing place, amazing location, amazing stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our time at Blackhead Cutter. The space is beautiful, clean and comfortable. The location is truly amazing and is central enough to get to restaurants and local communities. Our host was wonderful - welcoming and very accommodating when our plans changed.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, would love to see you back in the near future.

Great location for a wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay here at the lighthouse from the moment we drove along the road and saw it in the distance to the day of leaving, it is a place that we will always remember. We were lucky enough to have weather of all sorts. At one time it was cold, grey and foggy which made it even more inviting when inside with the fire going and watching the storm from the warmth of the house. Another day it was blue skies and sunshine which gave the place a completely different feel with the sun streaming in and was enjoyable to get outdoors and do the walk around the cliffs and along the foreshore into Whitehead.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback , we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Going home to Whitehead

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at the Cutter is like going back in time. We liked it in that it was suitable to invite friends over to that I hadn't seen in a long while. It was also close to Whitehead and its amenities. We had dinner in the golf club which was lovely and walkable to. I had learnt from another website that you got 10% off the food bill if staying in the cottages.

However that being said there are a few things that could be better. First of all the key says number 3 on it, however the cottage is not signed at all. The hot water was hard to work and there was no radio - even though it said there should be on the details. I just felt it was all a little stark, a welcome pack would have been a nice touch. There is also no outdoor living - a patio and some chairs would have been great - you must have some good weather!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback and suggestion, glad you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

A great escape

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location and a base to explore Belfast maritime experience. A stay at a lighthouse station is very special and unique. Great cliff walkto Whithead



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back in the near future.

Unique and Restful

Review submitted on Thu, 11 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Lighthouse was well appointed with everything we needed to enjoy a restful break with beautiful sceanery,
Great hike/walk right from our front door!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon :)

Blackhead Cutter

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival, Pamela met us on our arrival- she was helpful and professional.!
The property is gorgeous- clean , tastefully decorated, very comfy beds!
Views stunning.
A place of rest and spaciousness.
We wondered if a welcome basket would be a consideration eg small container of milk, fruit? Only a thought..!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

great place

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
really enjoyed our stay at the house. would recommend this house thoroughly. we stayed with 2 small children and found the house very suitable for our needs.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are so delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future.

Comfort on one side of the wall, wild sea on the other!

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went as a party of four and there is plenty of room, cupboard space, china and cutlery for four. The house is really spacious and airy, the bedrooms delightful and the sitting room comfortable and convivial. Looking out of the window is a constant delight. The comfy beds are a menace to tourism - you could easily spend hours in there and not go out anywhere...

To get onto the Blackhead coastal path into Whitehead, climb up the steps towards the laneway and turn in at the green fence post. Turn right, Whitehead is in front of you.

When you're at the lighthouse, you're sort of associate members of the Whitehead golf Club. This entitles you to 10% off your food bill, but not the Sunday carvery, just the normal menu.The food is very good, portions are generous and the staff friendly and welcoming.

Finally, a visit to Portmuck harbour is a treat!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties in the future.

Blackhead Cutter weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and views are out of this world. Once we had the heating going it was really cosy. It was lovely to be able to light the fire in the living room. Even though we were only there for the weekend we ended up using the washing machine which was great. The kitchen is very well stocked with absolutely everything you need. The interiors is gorgeous, uncluttered, warm and homely. The beds are very comfy and waking up with a view over the see is really special. The house is spotlessly clean and there is nothing we missed or I would change.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback, come back again soon :)

A lovely place to stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to stay. We would use an Irish Landmark Trust house again and look forward to it.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, it's always great to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

An unforgettable experience!

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our two night stay at Blackhead Cutter was absolutely amazing! The house is beautifully restored, very comfortable and cozy, and the location is breathtaking. The house had everything we needed and I only wish we could have stayed longer. I would highly recommend a stay here and I hope to come back soon!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Highly recommended

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful house, maintained to the highest standard, keeping all the old features but also very comfortable and cosy. Spent two nights at Blackhead cutter and we really didn't want to leave. Beautiful walks along the coast and the friendly little village of Whitehead a short distance away. Open fires in the evening and games of scrabble, pure relaxation!. This is a special place :)




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Great experience at Blackcutter

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed the experience of staying at Blackcutter. House was lovely and cosy and was so clean with all necessary mod cons. The house manager was very helpful.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the feedback, it's always great to hear what our guests think.

Wow!

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property restored exquisitely and what a location. I dont think ive ever stayed anywhere so beautiful. Its a great base for travelling the antrim coast. Ive already recommended it to several family and friends!
The only thing i'd say is that be prepared for a single track, steep, windy approach to the property (you are on the edge of a cliff after all!) Wouldn't suit unconfident drivers!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write this review, would love to see you back in the near future.

No one said you could see Scotland from the bedroom!

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time. We played board games around the fire, went on day trips and enjoyed the views and cliff walks. The house was so cosy, especially for an old building we were very warm. Loved the shutters and the decor.
The kitchen was fantastic.
We would definitely return. Watch out for the ghost of Charlotte, she is a good one though!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back and visit again soon.

Loved our stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful property! Picturesque, comfortable, lovely location. Our house manager did a great job staying in contact and asking us if we needed anything. I'd recommend Blackhead Cutter to anyone!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, come back again soon.

A beautiful property with stunning views

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful few days in Blackhead cutter. The property is beautifully restored with amazing views out to sea. We visited in December, and the property was very comfortable and warm. It was great to light the fire with the wood provided. Also lovely to have the coastal path passing the door.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon :)

lovely cottage in wonderful location

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
great few days, and great views, the house was spotless, and so cosy, every aspect catered for, really enjoyable!!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback , delighted you enjoyed your stay at Blackhead Cutter, come back again soon.

A really special place in a stunning location.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Blackhead Cutter and Blackhead House 2 Lightkeepers house. Everything about it was so easy and laid back resulting in exactly what we wanted in a weekend away. Pamela was great, and all directions and information provided by her were so clear and straight forward. It also was great to have her contact number as a back-up too, just in case of emergencies.
It is a really special place in a stunning location. Both houses were immaculately kept, with a very well stocked kitchen and bathrooms etc. We particularly loved all the old books in the houses, the old furniture and furnishings, it added to the atmosphere of the place.

The weekend we were there was a lovely mix of calm one evening with about 20 dolphins playing in the waves along the cliff edge, to stormy the next evening when we had the fire lit watching the weather from the comfort inside. We really to appreciate the full lighthouse experience. The beds in all rooms were very comfortable and the communal spaces could well accommodate all of our group. It really was the perfect weekend away.

We hope that is it respected by all visitors to ensure it is kept in the excellent condition it is currently presented in and for the unique accommodation that it is.

Thanks for having us.




A wonderful stay in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Blachead Cutter was simply perfect. Thanks to Pamela for her warm welcome and keeping this house so well. It is cosy and inviting. The kitchen is very well equipped. Beds are very comfortable and the shower is great with plenty of hot water. Our favourite room was the sitting room where we enjoyed the stunning views, our books and the open fire. The area is very scenic with lots to see and do. We would love to come back sometime.



lighthouse experience

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a nice experience to stay in a lighthouse. Really amazing place very calm and quiet. A experience to repeat.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Blackhead Cutter review

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most beautiful place , the building was restored and equipped to a very high standard. We were greeted warmly on arrival and the service and help was excellent. Our children loved it so much adventure , great walks around the sea . Even in the rain this place would be charming.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to with this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to hear positive feedback, come back again soon.

Playing at lighthouse keepers :-)

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say? Fantastic location, fantastic views, fantastic walks. Oh and fantastic lighthouse!
Such a short drive from belfast, who knew that there was this wonderful oldie-worldie retreat tucked away on the cliffs overlooking Whitehead and beyond.
Even though felt so authentic as if back in time to yonder years, and discretely modernised with power shower & central heating, one still felt as if transported back in time.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Pre-trip was slightly worried about how to pass our time (with no television etc), but the views, the walks, and a short drive to many local amenities the time passed effortlessly (too fast I hasten to add, will surely be back some time soon!)
The path down to the shorefront is quite steep at times, I would urge caution for the unsure-of-foot and those with small children, but the view is so worth it. Leads on to a lovely half-hour walk into Whitehead itself.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay at Blackhead Cutter, thank you for taking the time to write this review and for the wonderful feedback, would love you to come back and stay with us again in the near future.