FB Twitter

JP Sloop

JP Sloop

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 61 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


You can’t miss St John’s Point Lighthouse in gorgeous County Down. Its strikingly tall tower is marked with vibrant bands of yellow and black. (The colours which distinguish it from other lighthouses are known as its daymark). Pets are not permitted.

Unforgettable experience

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I wanted to be in a special place for my 50th birthday and I choose this lighthouse. The place has a soul, you can feel it in the air. There are hens, ponies and a goat going around. Ann's living there and is very kind and helpful, she made us feel at home. Wonderful landscape all around. Something to remember forever!



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place for families, children had such a good time. The keeper is so nice, helping, explaining the history of the lighthouse, bringing fresh eggs in the morning... the view is super, day and night. I really recommended



Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent location and the novelty of staying at a lighthouse was great. Very good reception when we arrived. Perfect for a family weekend.



Wonderful weekend in a truly relaxing location.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This weekend was a surprise present on my birthday from my wife and I enjoyed it immensely. St John's point Lighthouse cottages are situated right at the sea on a quiet part of the Co Down coast. My wife and I really relaxed for our 2 days reading walking and probably eating a bit too much!
My favourite moment was when we returned to St John's after going out for dinner on the Saturday evening. I will never forget the spectacular sight of looking up at the stars and the magical sweeping beam of the Lighthouse. Amazing experience.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 40 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your great review. We're so delighted to hear you both enjoyed your stay and what a great birthday present! Relaxing and eating too much is just what you need sometimes. JP Sloop is in a spectacular area so no surprise you fell in love with that sweeping beam. It's a unique experience. We hope you will come stay in another Irish Landmark Trust property again soon!

What a unique place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had SUCH a wonderful time at St John's Point! From the warm welcome we received, to the beautiful setting, to the house goat...it was splendid. The house itself is beautifully maintained and provides a unique insight into an historic way of life - it was so special. I would highly recommend a stay here.



Amazing Place

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We'd a great time at JP Sloop. The house was beautiful and well looked after. We were blessed with the weather, so we got plenty of time to explore the locality. The location was spectacular, with stunning views of the Mournes across the bay, the coastline and we could even spot the Isle of Man in the distance! We would highly recommend it and hope to visit again.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 75 days ago
It is fantastic to hear you had such great weather to explore all the wonderful local sights around St. John's Point in Co. Down. Thank you so very much for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of the 32 heritage properties in our care.

Perfect place for a relaxing weekend stay

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cosy place at a stunning location. Loved the animals around. Well equipped kitchen and overall quite spacious.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 102 days ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of the historical self-catering properties in our care. As a charity, your stay helps us to continue to save, share and sustain more of our built heritage.

Off the Grid breakaway

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous breakaway off the grid ...............................................................................................................................................................................................................................








Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 105 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in St. John's Point and the disconnect that comes with it. Sometimes it's just what you need to get off the grid a bit. Hopefully we will welcome you back to an Irish Landmark Trust property again soon.

JPSloop

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifullly restoration. The reading material provided on the lighthouse was particularly interesting.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 120 days ago
Thank you so very much so supporting Irish Landmark Trust, a non-profit organisation, by staying in one of our self-catering accommodation properties. Your stay helps us to continue to save, share and sustain some of Ireland's built heritage.

A magical experience by the sea

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With a little caution we ventured to St. John's point in January 2019....mainly concerned about the weather and whether or not the cottages would be warm. Not only are the beautiful authentic cottages warm but everything about our stay was warm.....from the greeting of Daisy the goat, to the smiley welcome of Susan, the little touches of tea and biscuits awaiting our arrival, to our lovely friendly neighbour Ann. The light here is magical, the lighthouse majestic, and simply being in touch with nature is wonderful. The cottages are fully equipped, beds comfy, scenery spectacular...a real get away from it all treat. Would highly recommend a visit and we will definitely be back.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 134 days ago
It is wonderful to hear that you had such a magical time at Sloop, St. John's Point and really did enjoy your time at the lighthouse complex. It is a fantastic place filled with so much wonder and adventure so when we hear of guests really taking the time to stop, relax and enjoy their time here, it makes everyone at Irish Landmark Trust very happy. We do look forward to welcoming you back to St. John's Point, or indeed any of the 33 properties in our care. It is your stay and support that helps us continue to save, share and sustain these beautiful historic properties for the future.

Get away from it all location

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely Coesy Property. Well equipped, comfortable and clean. Nice quiet location. Good forest walks a short drive away. Great convenience store about 2 miles away.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 169 days ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of the properties in our care. It is wonderful to see you had such a lovely and cosy stay and that you enjoyed your time there. We do hope to perhaps welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Fantastic stay at lighthouse!

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 2 nights in October, with amazing weather. It’s lovely and quiet around the lighthouse, we explored the rock pools, went for runs and cycles both days. The house itself is very cosy and well equipped, everything you could want in the kitchen. For day trips there is lots to do nearby. We will be back for sure!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 230 days ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of the thirty-two properties in our care. It is wonderful that you had such a great time over your 2 night stay and found the property warm and comfortable. There is certainly lots to do for those who wish to stay close to home or venture further away for day trips. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Wkend away

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a most fantastic stay at Sloop.
Reception from Anne and help from Suzan was outstanding . Accommodation was so cosy , warm and beautifully decorated. Lighthouse was amazing and great to see at such close proximity.
A truly memorable visit .




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 251 days ago
It is just fantastic to hear you had a great time at Sloop, St. John's Point, in Co. Down. The location is wonderful and our Local House Manager just takes care of our guests and the property itself so well. We hope that your good memories of your stay at Sloop last for many years.

Peaceful, tasteful, interesting - a perfect getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved the cottage, which is incredibly charming, well equipped, and very clean. Comfy beds and great kitchen. Be sure to stock up beforehand as it's gloriously isolated. There's a cat, a pygmy goat, chickens, the beam of the lighthouse, the sound of the waves - it's magical. Very highly recommended



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 257 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Sloop, St. John's Point in Co. Down. One of the 32 properties in Irish Landmark Trust's care. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a great time and enjoyed everything that this incredible location has to offer. Whilst animals may not be to everyone's taste, we feel very privileged for our guests to share this site with the light-keeper family who live there.

Beautiful JP Sloop

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is really beautiful & comfortable, with amazing views. Highly recommended for a short break.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 279 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for the recommendation. We do love to hear of our guests truly enjoying their stay with us and it sounds like you think John's Point is as beautiful as we do. We hope to welcome you back to any of our special properties in the future.

Perfect peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a perfect stay at this breathtaking location, enjoying the spectacular views, peace and family time. The children took to the board games and particularly enjoyed the neighbour's animals including Daisy the goat, who would appear on the window ledge looking in! Exceptionally appointed, comfortable and clean. Excellent hosting by the Landmark Trust. Lots to see nearby. Take your binoculars for wildlife spotting!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 291 days ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We do love to hear of our guests truly enjoying the experience of staying in one of our properties. As you said, St. John's Point is an amazing location for nature watching! Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust. Each time you stay in one of our unique properties you are helping is save, share and sustain Ireland's built heritage.

Relaxing family break

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely and peaceful break. Girls loved the local beach and the location. Daisy the goat was a big hit too.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 295 days ago
Great to hear your family had a lovely time at Sloop. St. John'S Point in Co. Down is such a fantastic location and Irish Landmark Trust as just delighted to be able to share this wonderful property with people. We do hope to perhaps welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Wonderful.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A magical spot. Lovely home. Great nieghbuors (including Daisy the goat). Amazing location with great walks on the shore and roadway. I would recommend to anyone that asked. I wish my own country would take on the chore of maintaining such properties and opening them to the public.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 306 days ago
Delighted you had a lovely time at Sloop and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at St. John's Point. Thank you for your kind words about the work that Irish Landmark do. As a non profit charity it is not always an easy path but when people stay at our properties they are directly helping us to save Ireland's built heritage so thank you for your support.

Wonderful place

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Posto magico, dove ci siamo sentiti a casa e faremo di tutto per tornare. Magical place, where we felt at home and we will do everything to return.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 306 days ago
Thank you. So lovely to hear you felt the magic of this very special property and it's coastal location. We look forward to welcome your back in the future. Grazie mille per tutti.

Beautiful place

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect get away from the city. We enjoyed a relaxing time at this very special place. The house is extremely comfortable and the welcome from our hosts was second to none



Darren replied 312 days ago
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are always delighted to know our guests have a really enjoyable stay with Irish Landmark Trust. St. John's Point is indeed a very special place with an equally special House Manager who it seems gave you a very warm welcome. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

"Off the grid" Beautiful stay at lighthouse!

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you look for something special, love the sea and to feel the spray on your skin while you enjoy the vastness which lies right in front of you, than this is the place to go. Recently redone the lighthouse keepers homes are really comfortable and well equipped. Suzane keeps it all in perfect shape and is lovely in helping with tips and to get your settled in. We stayed in the Sloop where you have a nice seating area, a bathroom a showerroom, a kitchen with seating are and where a door leads you to a table outside where you can hear the surf litterally being 20 meters away. Upstairs is a super comfortable masterbed room and a second nice one with two single beds. At night you can see the stars through the roof windows. Easy walks along a stunning coastline to the next village where we had a pint. Castle Ward and Mount Steward were amazing to visit and close by. You can even swim at high tide in the very small little "harbour" next to the lighthouse. I jumped in from the rim and felt like 15 again : ).
Certainly a place to return too.

Ps. Next door is the second lightkeepers home called the Ketch. Also very lovely and it allows to see the sea while sitting in the living room.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 306 days ago
Wonderful to hear you had such a great time at Sloop. It is certainly a perfect property for anyone passionate about the sea and all the great memories that come along with spending a few days on our coastline. We do hope you will perhaps return in the future, or even visit another Irish Landmark Trust property, for more life long memories.

A glorious spot!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We truly enjoyed the fresh coastal breeze and the peace and quiet disturbed only by the company of the resident goat!



Bookings Officer replied 329 days ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Sloop, St John's Point in Co. Down. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely relaxing stay and enjoyed the location of the lightkeeper's cottage.

Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful spacious cottage in an amazing location. Wonderful welcome by Suzan on our arrival to the cottage. We had two wonderful nights sleep. And we were so lucky with the weather. Couldn't have asked for more. Will definitely be back.



Darren replied 343 days ago
Thank you for the great review. It's always great to hear of our guests really enjoying the properties. Suzan is a wonderful House Manager so no doubts you were well looked after. We'd love to welcome you back soon but we can't guarantee the spectacular weather I'm afraid.

Beautiful Area with a Delightful Family

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse and guest house were absolutely beautiful. It was by far the best place we stayed our entire trip to Ireland, Northern Ireland, and Scotland! The family that are the light house keepers were friendly and introduced us to all the animals. It is incredibly peaceful and gorgeous area. I highly recommend it!



A real getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed just a few days and found the JP Sloop to be extremely comfortable inside while outside the sea and coast were wild and rugged.



Great place for a short break

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation, spacious, clean and comfortable. Unbeatable location, with plenty of places to visit locally. But equally nice just to hang out, rock pooling and playing with the pets (the goat was a character and a surprise)



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you had a lovely time in JP Sloop. It's such a wonderful location for spending quality time with family or friends and just experiencing the beautiful surroundings together. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust and for the wonderful review. We hope to welcome you back soon!

A piece of heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If I could stay here for the rest of my life I would be completely happy. I loved the solitude, peace and tranquility.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. It is a very peaceful spot alright and delighted you had a chance to enjoy it.

Serene weekend away at JP Sloop

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three friends and I came up from Dublin for the weekend and stayed at JP Sloop. Paula met us at the cottage and showed us around. A baby lamb had been born about 20 minutes before we arrived so the neighbor, Ann, showed us the newborns and told us a little about the history of the property.

The sea surrounding the cottage and the lighthouse itself is breathtaking. Hands down the most beautiful place I've ever stayed. The cottage was immaculate and spacious with more than enough room for the four of us. The kitchen had everything we needed to make all of our meals there.

St John's Point Lighthouse is also an excellent jumping off point for outdoor activities in the area. We walked in Tollymore Forest Park and climbed up Slieve Donard that provided views of the surrounding valley, streams, and hills. Note that this is the Irish coast so if it's sunny at the Lighthouse, that doesn't mean its sunny everywhere!

If you come and stay here, you must walk around the lighthouse after dark. The light shines out 50 nautical miles and is simply breathtaking. If you're a runner or like to spend time outdoors, I would also recommend getting up to see the sunrise over the ocean and the pink clouds against the lighthouse.





Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Simply wonderful to hear that you had such an amazing time in Sloop at St. John's Point. The location is stunning and the setting of the lighthouse on this incredible peninsula does have a certain wow factor. Delighted you had such a lovely spring experience too with the baby lamb, that is so nice to hear. Thank you for all your recommendations to other potential guests, you are very kind to do so. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

1st Lighthouse Visit

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful location, great views and very nice accommodations. Susan was a fantastic host and presented the Lighthouse History upon arrival. The House decor was perfectly matched and cozy for this time of year. This is a must see location.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting us know how you enjoyed your recent stay at Sloop in Co. Down. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a lovely time and would recommend this property for others to stay. We do hope to welcome you back to this, or indeed another, Irish Landmark Trust property in the future. We hope you’ll agree that a stay in an Irish Landmark property is memorable, comfortable, and elegant without any manufactured lifestyle gimmicks. Irish Landmark offers its guest more than just a place to stay. At our properties you have an opportunity to experience the best of a former way of life: beautiful architecture, fascinating history and a peaceful relaxed ambience, where you decide the pace of your holiday.

Brilliant Location

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is not my first Landmark Trust visit and it won't be my last! Absolutely stunning location and as always the service provided by Irish Landmark Trust was excellent



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for the great review. John's point is indeed a very beautiful place! We love to hear of our guests loving the place so much they keep coming back and visiting new properties. The best thing of all is that every time you stay with Irish Landmark Trust you're helping to save more beautiful properties too!

Remote weekend getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cosy house. The location is remote, surrounds are rugged and beautiful. Fantastic weekend.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the good review. Rugged, cosy and beautiful are certainly the right words to describe this unique property. We're delighted you had a fantastic weekend and we do hope you return to stay with us again soon.

Wonderful stay at JP Sloop

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay at JP Sloop. The location was excellent and easy to locate and the house was warm and beautifully decorated. Facilities were extremely clean and well stocked. House manager(s) were very efficient and lovely to deal with.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting Irish Landmark know how your recent stay at Sloop went. We are delighted to hear you had a lovely time and enjoyed the location of the property. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Amazing experience

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at jp sloop. The cottage was adorable and had everything we could have wanted. We had great weather for exploring the coast line and saw awesome sunsets.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you had such a lovely stay at Sloop and got the weather to get out and explore your surroundings. It is such a wonderful location. Thank you for letting us know you had a nice time.

Step Into The Peace

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A short break at Sloop cottage , St John's Lighthouse means a wonderful step into the past , with all the comforts of 2017!!
Very peaceful scenic location, tasteful refurbishment of this property.
The cottage was very well equipped . Thankyou to the staff , right down to the welcome afternoon tea tray!!




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful to hear that you had a lovely stay at Sloop in St John's Point, Co. Down. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed the peaceful setting of this location.

Quite and Quant.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Sloop which is much like the Ketch. Both are very well maintained, clean and comfortable. Lovely walks to nearby villages. Downpatrick town has everything you need to do a shop and much more. Recommend St John's Point highly.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Jenny for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Sloop, St. John's Point in Co. Down. It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay and got to enjoy the local area. Thank you for recommending to other guests. We do hope to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark property in the future.

Excellent weekend spot for a family of four

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a beautiful house, warm and cosy on a cold weekend. We were warmly welcomed by Suzan, who included a pot of her excellent home made jam. House was well furnished and equipped with games, washing up supplies and kitchen cupboard essentials (do bring binoculars if you have them). Castle Ward and Dundrum Castle were good for kids. The view of the Mournes from our bedroom window was stunning. Overall, we had an excellent weekend.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you had such a lovely, warm welcome and that you really enjoyed your stay in Sloop. It sounds like the kids and adults all had something to enjoy.The Mourne mountains are quite a view to wake up to aren't they!? John's Point is such a special location and we're happy you agree. We hope you can come stay with us agin in the not too distant future.

Fairytales

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was perfect, beautiful sunrises & sunsets looking out to sea and the majestic Mourne Mountains. The hopynotic light is St John's Lighthouse over head. The accommodation is superb, surpassed all expectations. It truly was a fairytale come true for me. Romance, adventure & tranquility



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
A beautiful review, thank you! It sounds like you had an amazing stay and really appreciated the property and the stunning setting it's in. We're delighted you had such a great time and you're very welcome to return for more fairytale experiences.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place!
We will come again!

Clean, well stocked, comfortable beds. Great value! So happy we stayed here!




Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review. We certainly think it's an amazing place too! We're so glad you had a fantastic stay and you're very welcome to return!

Marvellous

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 2 nights here and absolutely loved it. The place is simply perfect and the view is breathtaking. Absolutely recommended.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
What a wonderful review. You can't beat perfection! Thank you so much for taking the time to recommend Sloop to the rest of the world and we'd be delighted if you came to stay in any of our properties in the future.

Magical stay

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family stayed in JP Sloop and had the most wonderful time. We had a lightening storm which was magical. It's the kind of unusual holiday that's only improved by bad weather!! Sleeping within the arc of the lighthouse beam iis a special experience. The beds were so soft it was like sleeping in a cloud. The house itself was so cosy we were reluctant to leave. Thank you ILT, Henry and Susan.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. It is true that whether it is glorious or thunderous weather a stay at a lighthouse station is pretty incredible (I prefer the stormy conditions myself I have to say). Delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay.

Magical

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Unforgettable weekend away, beautiful house, amazing location, all the comforts you could want. We didn't want to leave. The first of many visits to lighthouses in Ireland. Already planning the next trip!



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you had a nice stay at Sloop and that you hope to visit more lighthouses around the country. I highly recommend you check out Great Lighthouses of Ireland - http://www.greatlighthouses.com - if you have a particular interest in lighthouse visits and stays at other lightkeeper's cottages. Hope to welcome you to another property soon.

Too short a break

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location with very well renovated accommodation, well equipped comfortable and cosy. Made all the better by meeting the completely fascinating, welcoming and wonderfully friendly Henry and his lovely wife who live in one of the cottages on site. Only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer. Highly recommend.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your recent stay at Sloop in Co. Antrim. It is great the hear that you had the opportunity to meet the Local Lightkeeper and get to really enjoy the location. Hopefully we can welcome you back to this, or indeed another, Irish Landmark property.

Amazing!

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is absolutely stunning. The key hand over was so easy. Paula the house manager left a home made cake and lovely tray with teapot&cosy on the table. Cannot recommend more highly!



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful to read such a great review of your recent stay at Sloop, at St. John's Point in Co. Down. Please do recommend us to as many people as possible and help Irish Landmark rescue more properties in need in saving. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Indeed one of the Great Lighthouses of Ireland!

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is indeed one of the Great Lighthouses of Ireland. We enjoyed our stay at the cottage very much and especially loved the views from the dining room and from the master bed room. Perfect base for daytrips to the Mournes. We would highly recommend this cottage and look forward to come back one day.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you recent stay at Sloop went. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and that you would recommend this property to others. It would be fantastic to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you again for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

Wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay at JP Sloop. Loved everything about he house, I was a relief lighthouse keeper in the past and it's great to see how these buildings are being restored. Brought back many memories in my teens where I was stationed at a couple of different lighthouses. A unique holiday for our children, and lots to see and do within the locality, Mount Stewart, Castle Ward etc... The house is magical and the setting remote enough, but 50 minutes into Belfast. Loved the 'wet' room, and the bedrooms and cosy and lovely to hear the wind and waves at night. The beam of the light is lovely, the one thing I don't miss is the fog horn. Will be back John's Point again.



A lovely seaside break

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautifully restored lighthouse-keeper's cottage - very well furnished and in a wonderful location. While it looks and feels remote, in fact the property is easily accessible and a good base to explore from. We had an easy day trip to Belfast and other outings around the Mourne Mountains and around the shores of Strangford Lough - the western shores in particular have a number of gems to discover. It is an easy walk along the road into Killoch for local shopping but quite an arduous one (the route is not always very clear) back along the shoreline on the Lecale Way. Bird life is plentiful over the sea and on shore - watch out for the peregrine nesting near the top of the lighthouse! In darkness, the atmosphere is magical with the light sweeping across the bay. A lovely place to unwind.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we love to hear what our guests think , come back again soon.

A magical stay at the lighthouse

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our experience of staying at JP Sloop was first class! The cottage was bright, clean, tastefully decorated and very comfortable - especially the bed! The interior has as much character as the surroundings and the excitement of staying next to a working lighthouse is enhanced by all of the lighthouse literature and memorabilia inside.

The views of the sea and over to the Mourne Mountains from the master bedroom window were exquisite and it was a beautiful to watch the view change during the day and evening as the morning mist evaporated and the sun set over the water.

We were delighted to hear a knock on the door on our first night to let us know that dolphins had been spotted nearby, with an offer to come and view them through borrowed binoculars. Such a special moment during our anniversary weekend.

The lighthouse itself is just majestic and we stood in awe underneath it during the day and especially once it got dark outside and we were able to watch the sweeping beams move over our heads, from our little garden terrace. Mesmerising!

The whole experience was just magical and all the local beauty and places of interest like the early Christian church ruins, the little bays and the brilliant seafood restaurants just made our 10th wedding anniversary truly special. Thank you very much!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's great to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Amazing experience

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This needs to be seen to be believed. The pictures look amazing but it is even more striking and wonderful when you actually arrive. Everything about the stay was of the highest standard, the house is amazingly fitted, the decor is superb and the attention to detail is very high. We were met by a very warm and friendly lady who showed us around and was very helpful with local knowledge. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to try a truly unique holiday experience.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we love to hear what our guests Think , come back again soon.

AMAZING! Absolutely the highlight of our trip.

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
JP Sloop exceeded our exceptions. It was absolutely the highlight of our trip to Ireland. We loved the location, the atmosphere, and the accommodations. Although tucked away and secluded, JP Sloop is nearby a lot of smaller towns that give you excellent food and fun things to do during our stay.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back and visit in the near future.

Magical place

Review submitted on Fri, 26 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fantastic unspoilt location, the cottage was so warm & comfortable. We had a fantastic welcome from Susan , home from in regards to anything you might need . I would return in a heartbeat ❤️



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the future.

LIghthouse retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Irish Landmark Trust website promised us character, comfort and natural beauty at the JP Sloop - this property delivers all three! We found the property easily, well, the lighthouse does stand out! We were met at the property by our host, who showed us all over the property, explained heating and other details, and also left scones and jam for us! The property was absolutely spotless, very warm and comfortable, and with all the mod cons you'd need, including a really good shower! The location is spectacular, the sea is on your doorstep and the area is just beautiful. We didn't have wifi or tv and we didn't feel the need of either, it was a fantastic retreat. We were within driving distance of shops and restaurants, as well as historical points of interest and areas of natural beauty, such as Castle Ward, Downpatrick, Tollymore Forest Park, Silent Valley, Mourne mountains etc. The lighthouse itself is also of historical interest and a thing of beauty! We will definitely be staying here again!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the wonderful feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, come back again soon.

Lovely Easter Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at JP Sloop for four nights over the Easter Weekend. We were greeted by Suzan, the very helpful house keeper. She had prepared the cottage to a high standard, and left us some lovely home made Jam. The Cottage has plenty of room, the Double bedroom is massive. Everything you could need in the kitchen, board games and books in the lounge.

We also got to meet the visiting niece of Henry the retired lighthouse keeper. She told us all about the light house, and her memories about the light house as she grew up, the history etc. Really interesting, and it was nice of her to share time with us.

We would be happy to stay again, although if I do I would stay in the other Cottage at St John's Point which is also owned by the Landmark Trust. JP Sloop doesn't have a sea view, as the cottage sits behind a high wall shielding the lighthouse complex. The other cottage is on the other side, and has a view over the wall. If the other cottage isn't available, then still book JP Sloop as the setting is amazing, you won't be disappointed, but book the other cottage if you can.

Finally to set your mind at rest, the fog horns are no longer used. So no need to worry about sleepless nights in bad weather.





Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Sloop in Co. Down. We are glad you had a nice time and got to meet some of the locals and got some time with them. Although the fog horns are not longer in use they are checked once a month by the lightkeeper but always at a decent hour of the day I assure you. We hope to perhaps welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our three days in the light house keeper's cottage came about as a result of my son's favourite story book "The lighthouse keeper's lunch".In was in fact the perfect antidote to busy modern life and all of the family enjoyed our break. Boardgames, family time, reading and just escaping the hustle and bustle of busy jobs and traffic. Falling asleep with the sound of the waves on the rocks outside and the beam from the lighthouse sweeping repeatedly through the skylight was so soothing that going to bed was a novelty in itself. In one sense it felt like we had been away for a week and yet our time there flew by and we were sad to find ourselves packing up.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay at Sloop. It really is wonderful to hear that you had such a great time and really embraced what Irish Landmark Trust properties are all about. We really hope to perhaps welcome you back again in the future for another stay at Sloop or indeed another Irish Landmark Trust stay.

Lighthouse magic

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend in St.Johns Point. The cottage was very nicely furnished ,well equipped and cosy. The location is great-remote but not isolated with great views of the Mourne mountains and out to the Isle of man. The caretaker was very obliging and left us a nice welcome pack and the lightkeeper's niece took up up the Lighthouse tower-great views from the balcony!

The area is lovely-we went to Strangford and took the ferry to Portaferry and visited the magnificent Mount Stewart house and gardens.Nearer to home there is a nice little pub at Minerstown.Newcastle with it's long beach,restaurants and icecream parlours was a hive of activity on a sunny Sunday.

We really enjoyed the weekend and would recommend St.John's Point.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, would love you to come back and visit in the near future.

New Year

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent New Year's Eve here and loved it. It is a warm house and all facilities were in working condition. If you want solitude and quietness we would highly recommend it. It is a great place.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about J P Sloop cottage was wonderful, beautiful location and really well equipped, Suzan friendly and helpful



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Review of JP Sloop

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful few days in this magic location. The house was immaculate with some local cakes waiting for the cuppa!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your great feedback, come back again soon :)

Cosy get-away within the sound of the crashing waves

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy and comfortable bolt hole in a great location. More spacious than expected. Very clean. Perfect for a relaxing break.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon :)

Loved it! Would highly recommend!

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place! The Lighthouse is in a remote area and it is an absolutely beautiful setting. When you're laying in bed at night you can hear the waves crash. Most nights (when it wasn't too windy) we sat outside and enjoyed wine while watching the lighthouse's light and gorgeous pink-orange sunsets.

The cottage is very cute and cosy. It's done up really well and has everything you need (well except wifi and a TV!). The kitchen is very modern and has all necessary amenities to cook. The heating worked really well so we were never cold. The bed was also very comfortable. They've done a good job decorating the place so it looks good and has some authentic pieces.

On arrival we were met by Suzan who was very nice, friendly and accommodating. We were late to meet her due to the fact that we got a bit lost but she was very kind and flexible. She also told us everything we needed to know about the space.

There is no doubt you need a car to go anywhere. There is a nice beach but not too many walks in the near vicinity. You are also in accommodation that is attached to the part-time light housekeeper but we only saw him once in the three days. We had a great time and would definitely come back.





Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back in the near future.

Lovely stay at the Lighthouse

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed for 5 nights at JP Sloop, Co Down. The St. John's Point Lighthouse accommodation was beautiful!! I was originally booked for 3 nights, but couldn't bear to leave, so I booked 2 extra nights. Suzan is very easy to work with, and always responds to emails or texts quickly. Mr. Henry, the lighthouse keeper, is extremely charming and a sweetheart. I enjoyed hearing his stories about the lighthouse and learning about how he builds boats. This is a one-of-a-kind stay and I will definitely stay here again if I am in the area!!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your lovely review, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Amazing stay in just a beautiful house and location.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and accommodation are just spectacular. We had a great stay and the house is well presented. If you want to get away from the world and have peace and quiet this is the place to go.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it'a always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, come back again soon.