FB Twitter

Tom Barr

Tom Barr

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Our luxury log cabin Tom Barr has been designed to ensure it is the perfect destination for a relaxed peaceful holiday. Feel yourself relax and recharge and escape the stresses of modern life. We have designed them with comfort in mind to allow you to immerse yourself in your surroundings. This is an idyllic location that is remote yet practical for exploring a large part of the Highlands which has something for everyone.

Without fault and simply stunning!

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quite simply just an absolutely stunning, beautiful and mesmerising location. The Cabins are wonderful, warm and cost. The hosts are genuine, hard working and lovely people.
We've been twice now. Originally found because I wanted a great location with Electric Vehicle charging and enjoyed it so much been back (something i rarely ever do) and will be going back again as soon as we can.
There is no fault with this place, just book it!




A beautiful, tranquil haven. The perfect getaway and long weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Set in stunning scenery, these high quality and excellently appointed cabins make the perfect base to explore the local (or further) area, or just close the door on the world and spend time recharging your batteries and getting back in touch with nature. We hired both cabins for 3 nights and had the most wonderful time. Our hosts were lovely, helpful, attentive when needed and invisible when not. Everything we needed was in the little shop/store on site, the electric car charging was a really welcome bonus, and settling in with friends for home cooked meal around the log burner in the evenings was heaven. I can’t recommend this place enough.



Peaceful and tranquil glen retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An attractive and beautifully constructed lodge built and maintained with a clear concern for the environment.

Tom Barr offers comfortable accomodation in amazing surroundings with plenty to offer, including outdoor seating area, firepit and a traditional wood fired outdoor bath.

Everything is very well thought out, including the very useful emails sent out when your holiday arrival date is approaching.

The little onsite honesty shop is excellent as electric charging points are available next to the lodges.

Finally Fiona and Tristan are excellent hosts and are on hand for any questions or difficulties. It was abundantly clear that making a success of this relatively new business was important to them, and as such I wish them all the best.

In closing, I would most definately stay here again, and will look to do so if looking for accomodation in this area.






Just what the doctor ordered!

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our return visit to Glenorchy Farm and Tom Barr cabin which says it all really.
Delighted to say, nothing has changed;
- the same wonderful location with spectacular views
- the same homely and cosy interior
- the same thoughtful welcome touches
- the same helpful and kind ‘call-ins’ to make sure everything is ok
- the same dog friendly approach
We shall be returning, again and again and again.




Fantastic

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay and lovely hosts would highly recommend will look to return, cabin was beautiful and worked really well for us.



10/10

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything at Tom Barr was perfect for a much needed relaxing break. The cabin is in a perfect location and has everything you would need. Beautiful views, wildlife, close to lots of walks and top class hosts. The Swedish hot tub was amazing to relax in and soak in the views. Our morrisons food delivery cancelled once we arrived. Fiona and Tristan very kindly came to the cabin with butter, eggs, bread & strawberries which was a life saver - thank you again for your generosity. We also thoroughly enjoyed trying the local produce from the wee green cabin. Highly recommended staying here. We will definitely be back!



Beautifully located cabin

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tom Barr is absolutely stunning, with lovely views all around, our stay there was peaceful and relaxing. We were able to do a little tour of the Scottish Highlands from this perfectly located cabin.



Fantastic Family Break

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful 4 night break and lifelong memories. Clean, modern accommodation in beautiful remote setting. Tristan and Fiona are fantastic hosts and were more than happy to show the kids around the farm and animals. Great walks, scenery, waterfalls and river on the doorstep and Glencoe is less than 30mins one way and Oban less than an hour the other. Difficult to find any faults if remote, quiet, clean and beautiful is what you’re after.



Luxury,quality and home touches.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cabin was amazing the hosts went over and above , farm shop is special,try it. We will be back x



Lovely stay in the Highlands

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at Tom Barr. The hosts Fiona and Tristan are amazing and always very helpful, and give great recommendations.

The only thing that could probably be improved is installing an AC/fan in the cabins, as it was very hot while we were there and the midges didn't allow us to keep windows open at night. But I think that is something that Fiona was already looking into as we were leaving!

Would definitely recommend a stay, and do make sure you look at the farm animals which are lovely.




Superb accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb accommodation in a wonderful rural location. The lodge is finished really nicely and is very comfy. All modern facilities. Good WiFi. Lovely warm shower. The electric vehicle charging points worked well. Lots of nice local walks directly from the lodge. The honesty food locker for ice creams on the hot days was very welcome! We plan to return.



Hard to find words to do it justice

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a great week up at the cabin. We needed some time to get away from the busy city, and computers and screens.

We loved the location and so did our dogs. Having the field around the cabin to walk around in was great, and the little fire pit area to sit at too.

The actual cabin itself was immaculate and the provided dog crates really helped us! we couldn’t have really asked for anything more. It was clean, very comfy, and we had everything we needed in the cabin too.

Would highly recommend it to anyone!




Beautiful place!

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at Tom Barr. We had 4 adults between the upstairs and downstairs and it was perfect for the weekend as long as you're friendly with one another since it's all open plan. The little house is beautifully done up and had just about everything we needed in the kitchen including a couple different ways to make coffee! Glen Orchy itself is a hidden gem and the walks from the farm were great. We'll definitely try to come back to stay again.



Team build in Scotland

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation and location, we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return again. The views and surrounding area are stunning.



Peaceful Glenorchy

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at Glenorchy Farm. House was so cozy and bright. Kitchen had everything we needed to prepare delicious meals- especially with lamb we bought in the Wee shop. We hiked in the surrounding hills, and wish it had been a bit warmer so we could have swum in the river Orchy. Every evening we had a hot tub on the deck. A lot of effort to get it going but worth it to soak under the stars and watch the bats and clouds move through.
We will recommend this sweet get-away place to all our friends.




Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really high quality lodge, wonderful location, the onsite farm shop is well stocked with excellent produce, especially the meats, highly recommended



Superb stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a cracking time at Glenorchy Farm. The location was stunning and the accommodation was first class.
We hope to return again!




Magical location and super accommodation!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a long journey from the Midlands it was fantastic to arrive at our much anticipated destination. Fiona and Tristan's website provided lots of useful information and photos and the cabin and location do not disappoint! We stayed in Tom Barr. The cabin is perfectly maintained, clean and practical with everything needed for a relaxing stay and has a beautifully coordinated interior. We found the bed extremely comfortable. The wood burning stove worked a treat and we used some extra wood to heat the hot tub which was a novel experience to use while it was snowing! The views of the Glen are just spectacular and even in wet weather it was lovely to sit by the fire and watch the constantly changing mist and light over the mountains. The Wee Green Shop was well stocked with all kinds of goodies and helpful items, and we took home some pies, Lorne sausage and lamb (which was so tender and delicious). The farm is delightful, with happy friendly animals and the piglets are hilarious! There are plenty of walks nearby, The first day we had beautiful weather and drove "the ring" to Glencoe and had lunch in Oban. The second day it rained but we put on our gear and had an amazing walk up to the atmospheric Caledonian forest, passing spectacular falls on the River Orchy.
We have an EV so it was ideal for us that there is a charge point for each cabin. They are easy to use, just plug in and wait a few seconds for the charge to start. All in all it was a wonderful break and we will definitely be back!




Fabulous

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a simply wonderful place to stay - I would recommend to anyone and I will definitely be back. Fiona and Tristan were the best hosts and nothing was a problem. The cabin is very well appointed and has everything you need and the location is just spectacular with walks and ideally situated for exploring the area. Just brilliant!



Paradise in Glenorchy

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived at Glenorchy farm we knew that our holiday was going to be perfect. Wonderful luxurious cabins in a beautiful secluded glen. Owned and run by a lovely couple who are always happy to help or just have a friendly chat. Everything has been thought of here to make this a perfect getaway. Stunning views from the moment you wake in your comfy bed or from your armchair sitting by the fire with a cuppa or a dram or relaxing outside in the Swedish bathtub. Lots of nice local produce, great tasting coffee and other bits n bobs available anytime in the wee green shop outside the cabin. And after a long day exploring the hills you come back to the best shower ever experienced! We can’t wait to come back and do it all again. Until next time



Amazing stay in an amazing lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Tom Barr over Christmas. The surrounding area is stunning! Everything had been thought about in the lodge. The log fire made it extra cosy and the hot tub was brilliant especially when we sat in it whilst it snowed! The list of walks nearby which had been provided were great, can recommend the one that covers part of the West Highland Way!
Can not recommend Glenorchy Farm enough!




Perfect break

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time at this lodge. It was perfectly appointed with everything you could require for a weekend away. The setup was perfect for our two dogs with a fully fenced boundary allowing for some off lead time whilst safely separated from the farm animals We loved the wood burning stove and amazing views from the full fronted windows. The hosts Fiona and Tristan went above and beyond to get us there after several feet of snow on the Friday meant we had to abandon the car in a snow drift and load all our supplies and the two dogs into Tristan’s pickup just after midnight. Tristan also helped us dig it out on the Monday morning. We enjoyed all the farm produce that we bought from the little green shop, especially the steaks. The Swedish hot-tub was a magical experience in the snowy surroundings. We will definitely be back, hopefully with a little less snow next time.



Highland Paradise

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at our Glenorchy cabin. Fiona and Tristan have done an amazing job of building and fitting out a beautiful holiday home for guests. It was welcoming, warm, comfortable and relaxing. Even it mixed weather it was a haven to spend time in. We’ll certainly be back - in the summer!



Wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful ‘retreat’ weekend at Glenorchy. The cabins are so comfortable and extremely well equipped. We wanted for nothing and got far more. The location may be remote but that’s the whole point. This time of year is so beautiful. We can’t wait to return.



Tranquility at its very best.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say, this lodge was spectacular!! Steeped in the most idyllic setting imaginable. Comfy, spotlessly clean, fell in love with the wood burning stove - it was so peaceful it was difficult to pull ourselves away from the fire and the view. Infact - trying to get out of bed when you are overlooking the views into the onward hills was almost impossible!! The drive to and from the cabin to the surrounding area was blissful. We were a family of 5 (3 adults and 3 children) and there was plenty of room for us all. The stunning fire pit was a big hit for the kids toasting marshmallows under the stars too. The Swedish hot tub did take lots of wood to get it warmed up but it was worth it just to lie there and soak in the views. Fiona and Tristan were so helpful and the farm is really amazing, loved seeing the animals (did love the very free range hens so much) and the beautiful river. The lodge has everything you could ever need, we had quite a few freezer bits that wouldn’t fit into the small fridge/freezer but not a problem at all as we were able to use the outside freezer in the little green shop!! I really did not want to leave, it was peaceful and relaxing and I am so thankful this wonderful family have chosen to share this little plot of heaven on earth with us all. Do not hesitate - book up and go. What a beautiful part of Scotland, I will definitely be back again and lucky me that this trip really sold the amazing wood burning stove to my husband so we can get one at home. It’s also a wonderful place for the kids to roam in nature and explore safely.



Perfect location, just what we envisaged for our Highland Retreat!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A huge thank you to Fiona for making our stay so wonderful. The cabin is beautifully designed, comfortable and with stunning views. The location is perfect for exploring the surrounding areas but there are some stunning walks on the doorstep too. The cabin is well equipped and warm, the hot tub was a real bonus and we loved lying in it under the stars with a G & T. I really can't fault these cabins, we'll be back.



A blissful retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a magical stay at Tom Barr last week - we still can't believe how lucky we were to experience it. The views from the cabin and the immediate surroundings are indescribably beautiful, making this an amazing escape for those needing some time out of the hustle and bustle. The cabin was very well presented and equipped, stayed very warm and had an excellent shower with lovely toiletries to use. We loved the freebies in the cabin and the little green shop was the icing on the cake. Fiona was super friendly and helpful, and it's clear they really care about their guests having a great time. Thank you so much for providing this amazing experience for us.



Fabulous stay at Glen Orchy

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked to stay at Glen Orchy Farms for a family 60th birthday.
The cabin was beautiful and Fiona and Tristan made us very welcome, putting up bunting and sourcing eggs for us when we ran out. The care and attention to detail were top notch!
The area is also very beautiful - great for relaxing or adventure!




Beautiful cabin in lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glenorchy farm cabins are simply amazing. We had a lovely stay and felt very welcome. The cabins have all the amenities you need and loads of space. Access and parking are easy. Outdoor space is great, with a hot tub, BBQ and fire pit, plus uninterrupted views. The little shop is a great addition. Extra bonus with the cabins being dog friendly. We'd love to go back.



A lovely long weekend at Glenorchy farm

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a long ladies’ weekend at ‘Tom Barr’ and loved every minute of it: the well-equipped cabin, the cosy fireplace, the Swedish hot tub, the hikes in the neighbourhood and of course the friendly welcome by Tristan and Fiona, our hosts. Can’t wait to come back, next time with my family and dog!
Steffi from Switzerland




Holiday in Glen Orchy.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay, cabin exceptionally clean tidy and comfortable. Would not hesitate to stay again. Very relaxing, host friendly and very welcoming.



Glenorchy break

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge is just beautiful and has everything you need, Fiona and Tristian have really thought of everything. They have gone the extra mile. We loved it and we will for sure be back. Out dogs loved it ❤



Top spot ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a great space/location for a chilled out family holiday.
I'm missing the views from my bed already.
Wee Green shop is amazing, stocking lovely locally sourced bits and bobs and so thoughtfully put together.
Swedish hot tub or local river is a dream after a day up the hills.
Highly recommended




Excellent Choice

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We so much enjoyed the days at this silent and peaceful location. The cabins are great, comfortable and perfectly designed, the hot tub is super. Thanks to Fiona and Tristan for the great time, for the hospitality, for all the goods in the green shop, for the tipps and all the information about Scotland, the region, the bees, ...

Once again in Scotland we definitely will come back.




Delightful Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A brilliant stay.
Lodge was roomy and very comfortable for our family (including a toddler and dog), very well appointed, and really nicely presented.
Lots of lovely little touches on arrival, and the chance to buy treats and farm produce from the wee green hut was very welcome.
Glen Orchy is a lovely rural setting, perfect to escape it all, relax and be active.
We will be back, thanks to Fiona, Tristan and the boys for the lovely welcome!