FB Twitter

Little Otchan Shepherd's Hut

Little Otchan Shepherd's Hut

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Room with a view

The hut is south facing and over looks an idyllic and mature pond which is teaming with wildlife and plants; behind the hut is sheltered by a mature woodland with views over the Holderness countryside. In addition to the pretty surroundings of the hut the outside offers you the eco-friendly log burning hot tub, rustic cooking facilities on the fire pit and stretching out on the hammock. Plenty of opportunity for some pure relaxation!

2 nights in the Shepherd's hut

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy cabin with absolutely everything we needed for a relaxing stay. The cabin is a short drive from different pubs, making it ideal to eat out.



Another perfect getaway!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3rd time returning to "The Hut" and again, a perfect stay. I'd recommended this beautiful and secluded place 100%.



Beautiful little place

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit was just as perfect as the first everything you need for a relaxing getaway hot tub is just superb for star gazing in the natural countryside



Lovely short getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked the little otchan sherpards hut for a short getaway for my partners birthday, we absolutely loved it has everything you need with your own privacy and a lovely pond infront. We would definitely return! :)



Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can’t fault the accommodation. Well thought out for a small space. Nice private area with plenty of outdoor seating.
Indoors heating for colder nights.
Great accommodation for all seasons.





Excellent weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved every minute of our stay, peaceful and relaxing setting, lots of wildlife. Enjoyed the facilities especially the hot tub, nothing more you could ask for. 100% recommend



Tranqui

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay and have already booked a third. Lovely and relaxing. Hot tub is great, even if the weather isn't.



Stunning little place

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 2nd time we have stayed here it's home from home absolutely stunning can't fault at all definitely booking again next year



Absolutely lovely place.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay after our son and daughter had paid for our earlier trip as a Christmas present. We loved it so much we booked it for our anniversary. The hut is an absolutely amazing place in its own right but the setting is idyllic. Everything about it has been so well thought out. Worth every penny. We'll be back.



Relaxing and peaceful!

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The view is amazing, complete privacy to enjoy peace and quiet to enjoy time watching the wildlife. We even got accompanied by a heron at breakfast which was amazing to see. Everything inside of the hut was clean and comfortable. The hot tub stays warm for quite a while to my amazement.
Only thing I would say was the hammock is due a clean.
The brewery they use are very welcoming and we would love to stay there again sometime. Thankyou




Fantastic Mid Week Break

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked the Shepherds Hut for a mid week break for my fiancée's birthday and both had a fantastic relaxing time away. Despite seeing the photos of the hut and other reviews we were still taken aback by just how picturesque the location is. The hut itself was perfect with everything you could need and was so comforting after spending the day outdoors. Cooking on the open firepit was a first for us and we both really enjoyed it. Similarly, the hot tub was great to unwind in with a bottle of fizz. This was also so good at retaining heat once we got it up to temperature. We managed to do some fishing on the pond outside the hut and caught some really pretty fish. Although the location was only 25/30 mins from home, felt as though we were a million miles away. We didn't see another person until checking out so spent the time alone with the wildlife listening to the birds and moorhens which added to the experience. All in all it was a fantastic few days away, and we couldn't recommended this place highly enough. It was our first time glamping but it certainly won't be the last!! Thanks Catherine for making our trip so enjoyable and for sharing your little bit of paradise with us.



A little glimpse of perfection

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a midweek stay in the Shepherds hut and enjoyed every moment. This is a little paradise, my wife and I loved the peace and tranquility. Caveman style cooking on the fire pit followed by a sit in the hot tub with a glass or three of the local beers.
Whilst cooking we had a barn owl fly past within 15ft, a lovely surprise. Plenty more wildlife, Buzzards, Chaffinch, Goldfinch, Blackbirds, loads of Rabbits, Moorhen and 3 chicks on the full of fish pond. Dragonflies etc etc too many to recall.
This place is highly recommended by us and we hope to go back sometime.




Perfect in every way3

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most amazing stay in the shepherd's hut. It was equipped with absolutely everything to make the stay perfect. We have never stayed anywhere so peaceful and secluded, we didn't want to come home. Loved relaxing in the hot tub, sitting around the pond watching the wildlife and getting cosy and cooking on the fire pit. We will be definitely be returning. Thank you for a lovely stay.



A great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have a wonderful 2 night stay in the Shepherds hut. It had everything we needed and it was perfectly peaceful. Lovely and clean, had a great time cooking our meals on the fire pit and the various wildlife we seen over the 2 days was amazing. Would highly recommend!



Wow

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once you turn the corner into the grounds of the shepherds hut you instantly say wow! Just stunning. Gorgeous sunny day too.
We have stayed in huts before, all fabulous, this one is the same. The only thing I would say is that space for cooking (we did not use the microwave) is extremely limited. Especially if you are unable to use the BBQ/ firepit outside due to weather. Remember to bring your own body wash and shampoo. P.s.there is a telescope that we found only by chance, it should be mentioned in the information book so others don't miss it, you are in an amazing setting to use it. Absolutely beautiful place. Recommended entirely.




Brilliant

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic few days at Little Otchan. Loved the hot tub. Catherine had thought of everything we might need and definitely went that extra mile to make our stay comfortable.



This is a great value, secluded and memorable place.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5 stars all round!
The Little Otchan Hut was booked easily for a birthday getaway, hot tub was already fired up, couple of beers & a very good quality breakfast pack waiting for us.
Felt like a lot of thought, care & attention had been put into the site and accommodation.
Exceptional value & we will be returning again :)
Thank you Little Otchan Hut!




Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing 2 nights in the Shepherd's Hut.
Sitting in the hot tub drinking gin and prosecco cocktails listening to the tawny owls and looking at the stars was a fantastic experience.
The hut itself was very comfortable, well equipped and very clean.
Fantastic location well enjoyed exploring Spurn and Kilnsea wetlands too.




A return to Paradise

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my third visit to Little Otchan and it feels more like home every time. I look forward to the peace which surrounds this idyllic shepherd's Hut and a chance to just do nothing if the mood takes me. The bed is so comfortable I could stay there all day!, The log burner keeps it toasty even when it was sleeting outside and the electric wall heater is efficient at keeping the Hut aired. There is everything I need equipment wise and a place for everything. On this visit I regularly saw two rabbits chasing each other, a cock pheasant strutting about and one of the resident Moorhens. I was there at a different time of year, spring and it looked so different it took me by surprise as I was used to the lovely autumn foliage, but the views across the fields made up for it. Didn't do any outdoor cooking, noted that it is now a fire pit rather than the tripod over an open fire, and neither did I use the hot tub but the weather was warm enough one day to sit outside and watch the fish topping. I am hoping to return again to recharge and relax.



autumn colours






Fantastic 2 night stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay all you need for a relaxing break hot tub was amazing looking up at the stars
Will definitely be going back tried to book for our anniversary in august but sadly booked up