FB Twitter

Field Cottage

Field Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.4
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Field Cottage is located in a beautiful orchard setting, with extraordinary panoramic views from the Welsh Black Mountains to the South Shropshire Hills. This is a typical Herefordshire holiday cottage, with lots of home comforts. The interior is typical of its rural surroundings and is filled with rustic antique furniture, making it a real home from home. The property consists of: hall, cloakroom, kitchen, a large open-plan sitting and dining room that leads onto a south-facing terrace, perfect for a family BBQ. Upstairs are two bedrooms - one double and one twin and one shared bathroom (Z-bed also available).

Other facilities include open fire, central heating, washer/dryer, TV, video, telephone, stereo, games, BBQ and outdoor furniture.

Great location with wonderful views.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice cottage with large garden. A long way from any other buildings so it is very private. Location in in a very attractive part of Herefordshire.

Martin from Kelvedon stayed at Field Cottage for 7 nights in August 2022


Quirky cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived early on a warm evening, to a delicious welcome mini hamper. At first my wife had difficulty negotiating the staircase but soon mastered it with use.
The cottage had all you would need for a comfortable stay and more. Fluffy white towels for indoor use, cotton sheets and several pillows. Shower above bath and 2x toilets. TV, free wi fi, electric and microwave ovens, fridge, freezer and washing machine. The hot tub was a bonus and was lovely to relax in after a busy day site seeing. As the name suggests Field Cottage is in a quiet situation among vineyards, apple orchard and blackcurrant fields (from which they make the most delicious cassis liqueur.)
The guest information book gave lots of advice on places to visit, walks and recommended restaurants nearby. We visited Hay on Wye, Ludlow, Hereford and the local towns and villages, plus several NT properties, all within easy reach of the cottage. No25 Deli where they sell the delicious cheese crusty bread and Cassis which among other things, were in the hamper.
I'm sure upgraded sink and basin taps will be fitted in the near future


Ian from Preston stayed at Field Cottage for 7 nights in June 2022


A week at Hay

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed at this delightful cottage many times, 16 or so when attending the Hay festival. It's in a wonderfully secluded location and we love returning every year. We'll be back next year.

Paul from Eastleigh stayed at Field Cottage for 7 nights in May 2022


Beautiful setting

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Last minute booking with super and friendly efficiency from the White Heron reservation team. The setting of the cottage exceeded our expectations….really needed a couple of restoration days and this was perfect. Homely, comfortable, warm, lovely welcome pack, very doggie friendly and the hot tub on the deck was the icing on the cake!
We are determined to come back again when the Apple blossom is out. Thank you for fitting us in at such short notice.


Joanna from stayed at Field Cottage for 2 nights in April 2022


Long Weekend Away

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was great, as described and seen in the pictures. Can confirm, there is a hot tub on the decking, electric not wood fired.
Had a beautiful long weekend away here, defo recommend.


Giles from stayed at Field Cottage for 4 nights in February 2022


Field Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Sep 2021
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location of the property was lovely with great views from the decked terrace. The property itself felt rather dated and shabby however. The sofas were uncomfortable and the faux fur throws were off putting. The kitchen really needs updating although it was well stocked with equipment.

The shower doors of the over bath shower are too short to prevent water from the shower spraying out beyond the doors so had to stand against the wall to stop too much water spraying onto the floor. There was no hair dryer provided which is very unusual in my experience of using self catering cottages over many years.

The hot tub appeared to be on for the whole of our stay which seems to be rather un-environmental. We didn't wish to use it so perhaps customers could be asked if they want to use it during their stay and if not it could be turned off?

The garden furniture could also do with replacing or re-staining and it would be good to have some garden cushions for the chairs as sitting on the decked terrace was the highlight of the stay.


Guest from WADHURST stayed at Field Cottage for 7 nights in September 2021


Stunning peaceful location

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location with 360 degree views of fabulous countryside. Opens directly on to an apple orchard which made for great morning walks with pup. Cottage is cozy with good sized bedrooms, all beautifully decorated. Kitchen is fairly basic but had all that was needed. Hot tub on the deck, looking onto a vineyard was a treat. A very thoughtful tasty welcome hamper - including local cheese, butter, biscuits, gin and cassis.

Helen from stayed at Field Cottage for 6 nights in August 2021


Tranquility with amazing view

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful and an amazing view. Very large bedrooms, functional kitchen and very large garden, not to forget the hot tub.
If you want to switch off, unplug and unwind then this is near perfection


Kevin from MARLBOROUGH stayed at Field Cottage for 3 nights in June 2021


Summer in Field Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great week in Field Cottage, never had a better view anywhere,(would rival Tuscany)
To sit in the hot tub with that view was
what made my day. Plus a very peaceful location.


Paul from Eastleigh stayed at Field Cottage for 7 nights in May 2021


A little slice of heaven

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There is no more perfect a reset button than Field Cottage and it’s phenomenal location. Perfection!

Sarah from Eastleigh stayed at Field Cottage for 4 nights in April 2021


Little gem in beautiful countryside location

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of this lovely little cottage was idyllic. The views were amazing. Whilst compact, the kitchen was very spacious and the entire cottage was spotless, well equipped, including washer drier and dishwasher, and had an open working fire in the cosy lounge. There was a TV, lots of games and an abundance of different walks for our dogs. The single beds were too hard for me but that is a personal preference. We all agreed the cream sofa and chair were uncomfortable but otherwise this delightful property provided a perfect haven for our country break. From the bedroom windows the sunrises and sunsets were spectacular.

Rosalind from Enfield stayed at Field Cottage for 7 nights in November 2020


Incredibly relaxing few days at Field Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The booking process very efficiently managed by Natasha - including very clear Covid safety precautions. Field Cottage is in a beautiful location, a very homely, comfortable, well-equipped little cottage. We relaxed there immediately and stayed that way. Lovely walks on the estate. Enjoyed our trip to Ludlow. Recommend ordering take-away dinner from The Cider Barn a fifteen minute drive away, it was excellent. We will be back very soon I hope

Chris from Twickenham stayed at Field Cottage for 3 nights in October 2020


September stay at Field Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect with many lovely walks in the vicinity. We hope to return in the future.

Anne from Holsworthy stayed at Field Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Lovely place

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend in this lovely house .. so calming and comfortable and stylish. Love the views.

Eleri from Sheffield stayed at Field Cottage for 3 nights in February 2020


Peace in the rolling hills

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This comfortable, simple house is a peaceful haven In Herefordshire. The place is properly set up for cooking and hanging out - really well managed and there are wonderful walks nearby.

Guest from london stayed at Field Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


In the middle of an orchard

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, very relaxing stay, goodies left by staff were just what we needed after a 7 hr drive, looking forward to the next visit.

Mr from stayed at Field Cottage for 3 nights in August 2019


Lovely orchard location

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our stay in this comfortable cottage with wonderful views from every window- even the loo! A basket of local treats was very nice to arrive to including bread, milk and butter.
I have written directly to flag up a few points for improvement mostly relating to information provided about the house that wasn't correct.
A quiet location with lots of wildlife to be seen. Thank you!


Jill from stayed at Field Cottage for 3 nights in August 2019


Hay Festival goers

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent and secluded location and an easy, (though15mile) picturesque drive to Hay. Kington on the doorstep. From the kitchen window we have seen kites, foxes, hares, rabbits and pheasants. The dawn chous is amazing.

Paul from Eastleigh stayed at Field Cottage for 7 nights in May 2019


Gorgeous cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely. Clean, comfortable and spacious. Great welcome hamper and nice views. We booked the cottage for additional guests joining us at The Sherriffs as it was within walking distance. However not an ideal walk in the dark.

Lynne from Rugby stayed at Field Cottage for 3 nights in April 2019


A hideaway in the country

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the type of place you don’t tell your friends about, fearing that if you did and the secret should get out, you’ll never be able to secure a booking again.

Ben from South Croydon stayed at Field Cottage for 4 nights in March 2019


Great Cottage in a lovely part of the world

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jan 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed a week over new year..
On arrival the cottage was clean tidy and warm.. there is all you need for a comfortable stay..
It's set in a beautiful rural aspect, Cosy and comfortable. Charlotte the property manager was always responsive to request for more logs! All in all a thoroughly enjoyable break..
Many thanks..


from Great Ayton, Middlesbrough stayed at Field Cottage for 7 nights in December 2018


Field cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely, peacefull location. The outside of the property is looking a little tired and could do with some maintenance. We could hear something running about in the loft space- possibly a squirrel?! A great little little cottage, the open fire was great, given that it was a cold wkend!

Emma from Corsham stayed at Field Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018


Field Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Sep 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a nice stay at Field Cottage. It was in a remote position. The brochure suggested there was a pub within walking distance. This turned out to be a couple of miles through lanes with no pavement or lighting. The cottage was well stocked with everything you need and the welcome basket was lovely.

Guest from Bristol stayed at Field Cottage for 4 nights in September 2018


outstanding

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I hired out the whole estate for our wedding celebrations. Some of our family stayed in field cottage it was a home from home. The orchards that surround the house were stunning and the fact that we were able to take our dogs with us was an added bonus. The family members who stayed there thought it was perfect. It is in excellent condition and is very clean and tidy! Nothing was too much trouble and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We are already planning our return.

Larna from Hereford stayed at Field Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Easter Weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed before. It’s a simple well used cottage but really comfortable and warm in icy weather. Brilliant location away from roads with orchard views from every window.

Duncan from London stayed at Field Cottage for 4 nights in March 2018


Beautiful property in the heart of the Herefordshire countryside, amazing destination.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a triple 40th birthday weekend at Field Cottage, Gardeners Cottage and the Colloquy, and it was the perfect destination. The properties are all fantastic and have great facilities. Charlotte and her team provided everything we needed and more (including a lovely treats hamper that was very much enjoyed); however, they were never intrusive or overbearing. The location is beautiful and the grounds are stunning (although we didn't have time to explore them all). All of the children in our group enjoyed the best game of hide and seek ever. All in all, we can't recommend the property highly enough, whether you are looking for a short break or a little longer, you will not do any better.

Mike from Stafford stayed at Field Cottage for 3 nights in November 2017


A reasonably comfortable house located in the heart of Herefordshire, close to great restaurants.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Sep 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A reasonably comfortable house with a decent-sized garden and all the facilities you will need for a short stay. The kitchen and outside deck are a little tired, but otherwise the house is fine and very well situated for some peace and quiet.

Assheton from Cambridge stayed at Field Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


Neat

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The part of the family that stayed at field cottage enjoyed the space and it was easy to get up to Sherriffs where the rest of the family was.
Thanks


Rhodri from Cardiff stayed at Field Cottage for 3 nights in February 2017


the apples

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Dec 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice stay comfortable
need to show directions better missed the sign twice
Enjoyed the gift pack


Keith from Hereford stayed at Field Cottage for 6 nights in September 2016