FB Twitter

Caddleton Farmhouse

Caddleton Farmhouse

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Caddleton Farmhouse is a wonderful venue for large families or groups of friends, sleeping 12 people in two double ensuite, one upstairs twin, one attic room with four beds and a ground floor twin room with adjacent wet room suitable for disabled use. Very close to the shore it enjoys wonderful views from the house and garden over the bay and to neighbouring islands.

Another great week!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Huge thanks to Charles, Jan and Duncan for making this another fantastic week. Caddleton feels like a home-from-home these days. Fishing from the boat was surprisingly productive especially given the weather. The boat was also an excellent means to wildlife watch with porpoises, seals and otters seemingly all seeking us out. And above us white-tailed eagles being harried by golden eagles and ravens. This week, more than ever, the cottage felt like a true get-away and the perfect place to relax. Thankyou again!



Good location but poor management

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Feb 2020
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Disliked · Asked us to pay £250 deposit 5 days before arrival although this was not mentioned during booking the property. Had to pay it as the holiday was already planned. We were told that this is taken as a security deposit to cover the cost for damage to the property. Deducted £30 as all the dishes were not taken out of dish washer and put back in the cupboard. The remaining deposit was refunded after 3 weeks following multiple phone calls and email reminders. Be prepared to part with your deposit if you are staying here.



Jan Wolfe replied 209 days ago
I am sorry to hear you are unhappy. When you originally booked your weekend, you should have received information via the agency which intimated the requirement for a deposit, and I am unsure why you might not have received this. The information I sent to you indicated that the deposit is a "security/housekeeping deposit" - not just to cover damage. It also states: "At the End of Your Stay On the day of your departure, please strip all the beds that have been used (but please leave the protectors on) and the put the linen in the big blue bags provided, along with used towels, bath mats, tea towels etc. We will very much appreciate it if you will leave the house as clean and tidy as you can. We only have a four hour window to clean the cottages and allow for any maintenance to be carried out. It is soul destroying for our cleaners to be faced with filthy bathrooms and kitchens at any time, but on busy days it can be very stressful, too. We work hard to keep the standard of cleanliness we have, and we appreciate your cooperation....." In addition, I explained on the telephone why we had introduced this deposit, and one of the reasons was that we had had a run of people not bothering to clean up after themselves, causing us extra work. You state that the dishwasher had been left full, but in fact the entire sink area was covered with washed, but not clean dishes. Most of these had to be re-washed before they could be put away. The aga was left in a dreadful state, none of the beds were stripped, the bins around the house had not been emptied, and no attempt seemed to have been made to tidy up after yourselves. In total, it took 3 extra hours to restore the house to its proper state. Having spent many hours spring-cleaning, our cleaning staff were dismayed to find the house left in such disarray. We always do a thorough clean of all of our properties, and take pride in doing so, to provide all our visitors with a clean and fresh environment in which to stay. We only ask that visitors leave the house as clean and tidy as they can. I appreciate that your deposit was not returned as quickly as it should have been, and for this I have already apologised and do so again. This was due to illness in the family and a hiccup in our normal way of doing things.

An idyllic place for holidays

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returning to Caddleton was as wonderful as we expected. The house is perfect for large family groups. Everything you need is to hand. Perfect!



The best holiday yet

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at the farmhouse for one week , had a terrific time. Nice quiet walks the two dogs loved it especially the Labrador he was never out of the water . The nearest town was Oban about half an away quite a nice drive .Hope to be back in the nasty two years.



The week away we needed!

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great week, relaxing in the amazing area, with so many places to visit. Exceptionally dog friendly, great walks and swims. Have just booked for next year. If you are not an aga user, take your time to get used to the various heating settings, which are well explained and keep an eye on your food. Enclosed garden is superb for dogs. Loved the pheasant flocks in the morning and watching them being beaten in for their food by the local labs and spaniels. Close to so many great areas, the sea food here is to die for. We bought fresh live lobster in Oban and cooked it at home. The sunsets are amazing. Watch out for red deer at sunset.



Another superb stay

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to Ardmaddy for 20yrs and I hope to continue for another 20yrs too. Caddleton is always superb and a good size for our extended family. Jan and Duncan were more than helpful and made us feel more than hugely welcome, as ever. The location is nothing short of idyllic and as we were very fortunate with the weather our whole week was spent outdoors and on the boat. The cottage is excellently provisioned, tasteful and has a conservatory that allows viewing of the bay, all of its wildlife, and the sunset. Can't wait to return. Many thanks also to Charles, Minette, and Archie for enabling access to this special and most beautiful part of the world.



Famil Get Together

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great holiday staying in Caddleton Farmhouse for a family get together.

The accommodation was perfect, it's obvious that many years experience have gone into the facilities on offer, all eventualities are catered for and the property works very well for a large group.

The location is stunning and just as we imagined knowing the area well, if you're the outdoor type or simply appreciate natural beauty and want space away from the world you will not find better.

Finally Jan's communication and organisational skills were excellent, thank you.

Kind regards
Andrew





Brilliant week on west coast

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Caddleton is a beautiful property on an idyllic location. There is lots to do for everyone - you don’t really have to leave the estate! We have been many times and it is always immaculately presented.



Family get together.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic holiday home. Mixed group ranging from 14 to 87. Property was suitable for all. The kitchen was well equipped. Baptism of fire with the arga, but we quickly got used to it. The conservatory was the star of the show, a bright airy room with amazing views of the bay. Loved this property.



A family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our age range was between 9 and 85 and Caddleton Farmhouse provided something for everyone. Inside a piano, games, table tennis 2 TVs and WiFi. Outside loads of space with wonderful views across Seil Sound. Facilities for walking, fishing sailing, exploring, plus a level walk to the outstanding garden.
The Aga did not work efficiently and could not cook a meal for 10. However As Aga owners we were used to this and happily barbecued most evenings, the sun shone and we loved the peaceful sound of silence.
The highlights were our trip to Iona and Staffa booked locally, amazing wildlife, holding a jellyfish and touching dolphins as they dived round our boat. Our grandson catching his first trout on the loch above the house. Memories to treasure.




Lovely house, beautiful area

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had stayed at Caddleton before, some years ago. The house has been significantly redecorated, and is spacious, very comfortable, well furnished and appointed, and had everything we needed for a very relaxed and enjoyable holiday, whatever the weather! Jan, the cottages manager, was very helpful and proactive with any queries or problems.



Just what we want before heading off to the ferry , lovely area . Beautiful scenery .

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a great location , beautiful surroundings. The cottage is amazing for its size just what we needed for a large family. The wildlife was beautiful to see. The nice touch of home made shortbread was a treat.



The Allotts

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really can't fault Caddleton. We are considering coming again in midsummer 2000, so:
1. We are interested in the provision of midgy killing machines

2. If we book for two weeks would there be a discount on the one week price x2


Tony




Excellent accommodation in a lovely area.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An enjoyable stay in a comfortable and welcoming house in a beautiful location. Caddleton provides spacious accommodation for a family of twelve with plenty of space for children to play and adults to relax!



Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at this superb property for New Year and it was fantastic. The photos do not do this farmhouse justice. It is huge and for a family of 9 with ages from 76-3 it was great.
We walked into the the lounge and were greeted by a beautiful Christmas tree. That was the start of the thoughtful touches in this immaculate house. There is nothing that you need that has not been thought of.
All the rooms, bathrooms,en suites are spotless and the decor is beautiful. The kitchen has every piece of equipment you could need. Our first experience of an aga and it made the dining area so cosy. The fires had been made and plenty of firewood was available.
Jan was most welcoming and her shortbread was the best i’ve tasted.
If you are looking for spotlessly clean accommodation with gorgeous scenery then you’ve found it at Caddleton Farmhouse.




Another Perfect Stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not much more to say other than I've said previously after staying at Caddleton. We did have great weather sandwiched inbetween storms weeks before and after and so were able to make use of the boat every day from Sunday. Scenery was especially fabulous with the sun lighting up the autumnal colours and bringing out the wildlife quite spectacularly. 20 plus species of birds visible from the conservatory, and otters. From the boat we saw sea eagles every trip and they even landed next to us at one point. Fishing particularly successful with a few large pollack and even some nice mackerel that seemed to have forgotten they should have left by now. The cottage is feeling like a home from home nowadays and our grown-up kids, nephews and nieces go to long lengths to get here from all over the UK even if for just a couple of days during our week. Jan, Duncan and Charles were helpful as ever and great to chat to. Charles offered us a brace of pheasants upon our departure but sadly we did not seem to be able to find Duncan without disturbing the shoot. But that was an enormously kind gesture and very appreciated. Hopefully next time! Thanks again for a wonderful week.



Enjoyable holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have used a number of cottages in the past with Caddleton being by far the best. The owners, Charles and Minette can not do enough for you. We were unfortunate to have bad weather, however the views from the cottage didn't ruin our holiday. Would definitely go again.



Brilliant location excellent for a family or group holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is located in a beautiful area of Scotland the views across the bay are stunning. It’s a very quite area and the walking is very good. The house it’s self is all we expected and more, there is nothing we would add to it. We all as a family had a fantastic holiday.



Lovely location, excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation with a great layout. Beautiful views and walks. Very relaxing. Nice people. Accommodation contained everything you would need.



Caddleton Farmhouse

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent house for a four generations family holiday with plenty of space and a good ensuite ground floor bedroom



Great family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, beautiful farmhouse, we couldn't ask for anything else. Perfect for a family holiday. We all loved it



Fantastic Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been coming to Ardmaddy for almost 20 years with my family and friends. All cottages are excellent and different but if you have a large party then Caddleton is a must. The conservatory is the perfect place to sit and look out at what is an absolutely idylic setting. If you like light sea fishing then the boat is a real added treat but, regardless of fishing, it puts you in closer touch with the magnificent scenery and wildlife.