FB Twitter

Forest Cottage

Forest Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Forest Cottage has one double bedroom, one twin and one single with extra pull out bed. The house overlooks woodland, grazing fields, and down to the shore and off shore islands. There is one step into the property, but everything is on one level inside. The living accommodation is spacious and the garden is enclosed. There is direct access to some wonderful walking on the shore, in the woods and up to hill land.

Great Christmas

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I stayed at forest cottage over Christmas and had a lovely holiday. There were pleanty of walks from the doorstep, great for the dogs who were able to roam in the garden without any worry of them getting out. There was a pub 9 mins drive away and oban wasnt too far. Would reccomend to anyone who enjoys walking and beautiful scenery.



Fantastic little cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
For 5 adults, this cottage catered for all our needs with ease. Exceptionally clean; lovely spacious kitchen with plenty of utensils and equipment, very comfortable beds, cosy sitting room. Large enclosed garden which was excellent for dog. Sadly we only booked for 2 nights so only managed to so some short walks which were good. Fantastic scenery. Would love to go back and would definitely recommend.



A comfortable place in great surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well equipped cottage, very clean and warm. The walks in the garden and on the estate were very good and great to see wildlife - otters, white tailed eagles and the first pink footed geese arriving. A quiet restful place whatever the weather and a good place for local kayaking and walking. The cottage manager was very helpful throughout the booking period and time we were staying.
It is expensive compared to other similar properties and we were two people in a cottage which could take five. No discount for less people as other cottages we have stayed in offer. So much as we would like to return in May the increased price would be out of our range sadly....
The only suggestion we would make is for a lamp or two for reading.




Beautiful position

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Light comfortable cottage with welcoming flowers.
Delightful porch area to sit in and log fires if cold in the evening.
Good walking area and lovely garden to rsvisit.




Forest Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage, everything you needed, home from home, lovely location. Lots to do in the area especially our boat trip saw lots of wildlife.



Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Splendid cottage with all mod cons. Some attention needed to the toilet flushing in the main bathroom.



Ardmaddy 19

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Forest Cottage, Ardmaddy is our favourite Scottish holiday venue. We have holidayed there many times, over a fair number of years, & we enjoyed this year as much as ever. Jan made us very welcome, & it is always good to know that she is around, to give advice & answer questions. How did we spend our holiday? We did a lot of walking on the estate, enjoying the calm & the lovely views out to the islands, the walk over to Degnish being particularly good. You can walk round the gardens every day, which we did, & & this year they were particularly colourful. John & Minette do a great job there. These can all be done without using the car. We did our usual ventures on to Seil, Luing & Easdale - there is something special about going on to these islands. There is a wide variety of lunching establishments in the vicinity, & we used them. The fresh seafood is a particular joy. After these exertions, the cottage is so good to come back to, to relax & take in the beautiful view across the bay to the islands. The log fire enhances the ambience, especially if the weather is a not so good. We will be back in 2019 - dates still to be established.



The perfect West Coast holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardmaddy is the most beautiful estate strung out along an unspoilt shore Wildlife abounds from the deer grazing in the early morning to the otter family hunting the shoreline at dusk. The lochs are safe and sheltered for exploring in a boat which you can rent from Charles or take your own and there are many islands to visit.
We had a wonderful holiday everyone was so welcoming and helpful and I can’t thank them enough. Forest Cottage was comfortable and welcoming with everything you could possibly need. We were a family of 6 adults and were very happy with the space.




50

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Would have been amazing except for the overpowering smell of fuel oil inside the cottage. We approached the care taker and other niggles were sorted out quickly. Unfortunately we wouldn't stay again nor recommend unless that smell was sorted out.



Jan Wolfe replied 315 days ago
We are sorry your stay was marred by the smell of oil, which we initially blamed on turbulence around the boiler from an unusual wind direction - and was far worse than we initially realised. A plumber was called out after you had left, and a recently replaced pipe was found to be faulty and was leaking. This has now been repaired, and the smell has completely gone. I look forward to welcoming you to Ardmaddy again in the future.

Home away from home

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage, all you need is there. Good comms from the cottage manager, friendly people on the estate, great walks around the estate and if you do need anything towns are close by. The dogs love the garden.



Ardmaddy - beautiful and relaxing

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are regular holiday visitors Ardmaddy, staying at Forest Cottage. It is beautiful and relaxing at any time of year. We always receive a warm 'Welcome back' from Jan, & we know that she is there to sort out any little problems that we may have. We walk round the garden every day. It is something special. There many lovely walks on the Estate, & we are within easy reach of so many attractive places. Outings to the Island of Luing, which now invariably conclude with seafood lunches at the new splendid Atlantic Islands facility, are our favourite.



Ardmaddy revisted

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It had been 10 years since our last visit and it was as wonderful as we remembered even in the rain
Forest Cottage was welcoming comfortable the open fire making it extra cosy




A perfect holiday in a splendid location.

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All the estate staff we met were very pleasant and extremely helpful especially the cottage manager Jan



Fantastic cottage in a beautiful location!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect holiday destination, beautiful, peaceful location next to the loch. The cottage was well equipped with everything you could want in the kitchen including condiments, dishwasher tablets and washing powder. The beds were very comfortable and lovely duvets. The castle garden was beautiful and the kids enjoyed the tennis court. Everyone on the estate was very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful & welcoming. We highly recommend this property and will definitely be back! Thank you all for making our stay so perfect.



Review of forest cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the cottage despite a hiccup of some ill health. Weather was a real boon.
Lovely surroundings , walks close and great views . Especially good, was the beautiful , tranquil garden on our doorstep . A much visited and appreciated treat.
Staff were really kind , helpful and supportive especially Jan , the cottage manager .




Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous Christmas holiday at Forest Cottage. Everything we needed was there, and a very high standard of cleanliness. We stayed a week with our dogs, who thoroughly enjoyed the enclosed garden, and walks round the estate. Would highly recommend Armaddy cottages, and would love to return. A special thanks to Jan, the estate manager, who was very helpful and made us feel most welcome.



Ardmaddy - beautiful and relaxing

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been holidaying at Forest Cottage for 30 years, and we love it. The location is stunning, and there is so much to do, and so many good walks, both on the estate, and in the area. The community run Atlantic Islands facility, in Cullipool, on the island of Luing, is a relatively new addition, and well worth a visit, especially if you enjoy delicious seafood. Another attractive outing is to take the motor boat to the tiny island of Easdale, and lunch in the Puffer Restaurant. Both islands are worth exploring.
The estate is very progressive, and each year there are upgrades in Forest Cottage, some fairly minor, and others pretty extensive.
Jan manages everything, and she is always only too pleased to offer suggestions for outings, or to resolve any hitches, these all being done with a smile.




Excellent property

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our time at forest cottage The accommodation was excellent and we enjoyed just chilling out in front of the log fire.
We had 2 dogs with us and went for walks around the estate. Would recommend keeping dogs on a long leed as there are a lot of sheep around.
WiFi reception was good but if you need mobile phone reception go to the end of the pier!!
A good base for exploring the region.
Been here many times before in the past and stayed in The Stables and Craiguillean all good!
Manager Jan was very helpful and on hand if you have a problem.




Jan Wolfe replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, and also for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy when you left! I'm glad you enjoyed your time here.