FB Twitter

The Stables

The Stables

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


The Stables sleeps eight people in one double, two twin and one bunk rooms. There is one bathroom and an additional shower room and living accommodation comprises a spacious and open plan kitchen, dining are and sitting room with open fire. The property has oil fired central heating and hot water. Close to the shore, The Stables has an enclosed garden, and enjoys super views over the bay and to neighbouring islands.

The perfect spot for a 'getting away from it all' holiday.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friend and I stayed in The Stables for a week from the 27th of September, and we were both delighted with everything about it ... from the friendly welcome by Jan (and the much-appreciated shortbread biscuits) to the day we (sorrowfully) left, we loved it all. The cottage is in such a beautiful location that we spent most of our time there and only ventured out to restock groceries, buy a ferry ticket, enjoy a day-trip to Mull and briefly explore Seil. Apart from that we were happy to relax, watch the changing light on the bay, explore the estate and generally disconnect from the real world for a week. Perfect.



Perfect coastal getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stables is perfect for enjoying the sea...sailing, canoeing, swimming from the jetty. Also walking and cycling and exploring this hidden corner of Argyll. Games room great for family fun.
A very attractive, comfortable house - great showers, quality bedding and a well equipped kitchen.




June 2019

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of the Stables is fantastic, beautiful views and very peaceful. The house is very comfortable, clean and well-equipped. A perfect place for a family holiday, we certainly hope to return.



Diane & Michael

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a wonderful week here at The Stables, home from home well appointed and spotlessly clean.
Upon arrival we were welcomed with a tea tray & shortbread with fresh flowers in the lounge and dining area.
Relaxing and tranquil with wonderful views.
Hector our boxer thinks this was some kind of canine heaven, with all the different walks.
The Castle Gardens are wonderful, especially at this time of year with rhododendrons & bluebells a truly magical sight.
A big thank you to Jan and team for making us feel so very welcome.
Looking forward to our next visit in September.





Beautiful, relaxing, peaceful - a great holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved staying in the stables. We had everything we needed in a beautiful location. The views from the house, especially the sunsets over the loch were wonderful. The house was well stocked with everything we needed. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed using the table tennis table and pool table. There are several good walks from the cottage and information was provided on those along with other useful info on the area. Would love to go back!



Comfortable house, beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house sits by the sea loch with woods behind at the end of a private road. It is quiet, and surrounded by birdsong. You can walk down to the water easily from the house and ramble around the estate e.g. visiting the castle gardens. The house itself is all on one level (apart from the games room upstairs which is also the location of the tumble dryer). There is easy access through the garden doors via a ramp, and one step into the house from the back entrance.

The house is a conversion of old stables, with carpets throughout and a comfortable mix of older and newer furniture. There are plenty of sofas and chairs. There is a shower room with loo (electric shower so slightly feeble) and an additional bathroom with over bath shower (good, hot, copious). There is an open-plan kitchen/living area with a wood fire (which burns very well and is easy to light). There is a good sized dining table and the kitchen has everything in it that you need from scales to can opener, and lots of cookware and crockery. The whole place is clean and tidy and there is a very friendly caretaker on the estate who can be contacted for advice. The property has a landline phone and honesty box for outgoing calls. There is a double bedroom, two twins, and a room with bunks. The beds were comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean.

We have visited this house twice now and I hope we will go again - it is lovely and the location is great. It's close enough to Oban for a mighty shop at the supermarket (30 mins by car) but also wonderfully peaceful and quiet. There are some very nice boat trips to watch wildlife from Balvicar (you might see a sea eagle!) and good rambles and bike rides.




Christmas

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely Christmas stay at the Stables.
Everything that you could possibly need was there, it was very well equipped.
The lovely big open fire was welcome, making the room very warm and cosy.




Excellent stay

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish a super experience. The Stables on the Ardmaddy Estate is great place for a family gathering or larger party. The house is clean, bright, warm and all that you need is ready to hand. Booking, arrival and departure all handled with relaxed, friendly efficiency. All in all reflects the care and attention to detail that has been given to setting up and managing this place. Thank you



Fantastic setting

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Stables were an ideal spot for our family gathering & we thoroughly appreciated the thought and attention to detail throughout the cottage. The living area is spacious & cosy with fantastic views over the loch. We had two wonderful days of weather in the week, which is a very acceptable average for the west coast in October. Super walks from the cottage, though difficult to find a great deal to do in the area in the pouring rain...again, no surprises there, so the games room is a fine solution to that problem.



Wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous spot and well looked after on the estate. We much enjoyed going out on the boat, and also up to the loch to try to catch a fish! Would recommend taking out the rowing boat for this. Walking was good. Would recommend emphasising it is a sheep farm as far as dogs are concerned as unless they are truly sheep trained, walking is a bit limited as you would need to keep them on a lead. We would love to come again. Very peaceful and healing.



Family holiday at Ardmaddy Castle Cottages July 2018

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for a week at the end of July. We had every kind of weather in the space of a day, changing with the tide but in general it was dry and warm. The Stables cottage has a well equipped kitchen and lovely large living room with a patio door opening onto the garden with table and chairs and a wonderful view across the tidal sea loch. Two of the four bedrooms have views across the loch which is magical to wake up to.Walking along the shore we saw a sea otter and a sea eagle as well as a resident heron. No problem with midges although we were told they appear after dark. Everyone working on the estate made you feel very welcome. Would definitely visit again.



Beautiful, serene living space in peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The living space in the Stables is comfortable and easy to use, light, spacious, welcoming. Though the dining space is slightly small it's well integrated with the sensible, usable kitchen and a sensible fixed bench provides maximum seating for one side of the table without the clutter of multiple chairs. The kitchens are very well equiped (we were renting Caddleton too) and the larder space is wonderful. My only quibble with the Stables is a personal vendetta against electric hobs. The bedrooms are slightly small but beds and bedding are good quality and who needs much space in a holiday bedroom?
Being the West coast of Scotland in summer midges are of course an issue, what was less expected was continuous good weather which was wonderful, but in conjunction with midges, led to some uncomfortable nights where windows could not be left open and with no alternative means of cooling rooms. I've been pondering how to have "renter proof" midge screens for the windows but haven't solved the probem yet, sorry. Instead we all took the duvets out of their covers and slept under the covers only until about 3am when it got cool enough to pull the duvets over the top again. A glorious time was had by all.