FB Twitter

Gardener's House

Gardener's House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.4
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Built in the 1700s the Gardener's House is set into the old Walled Garden in the stunning grounds of Arniston House, a William Adam Stately Home. A secluded, picturesque two storey house with wood burning stove and open fire for winter or glass patio doors that open onto the walled garden for summer.

Can't wait to return

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all enjoyed our stay at Gardener's House. The house is so charming and well equipped. It is also very comfortable and it is evident that much careful thought has gone into the tiniest of details to make this a real home from home.
Having the freedom to roam the surrounding beautiful grounds is a real bonus and our dog enjoyed many walks and playing ball.
The house itself is tucked away amongst trees. It is very private and has a lovely patio and outdoor dining area that is not overlooked. We were lucky with the weather and were able to use this a lot.
Another considerate aspect is that logs, kindling and matches are provided so we could settle in front of a lovely fire come evening.
Maybe I shouldn't say but we all agreed that the accommodation was terrific value - perhaps even underpriced!
Midlothian has so many beautiful sights and is so close to Edinburgh itself. If you want a rural idyll but within an easy of drive of Scotland's capitol city, we cannot recommend this enough. We so look forward to returning in the future.


Ian from Lewis stayed at Gardener's House for 6 nights in August 2021


Gardeners house

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is situated in an excellent location with plenty of amenities close by. The estate owner Henrietta is very helpful and on hand if needed the cottage and the estate are extremely dog friendly with a fenced of garden.
Good links to coastal attractions and links to Edinburgh.
The cottage is comfortable clean and well equipped.
The estate roads are good and there is good parking outside the cottage.
We will certainly return in the future


Steven from Eastwood stayed at Gardener's House for 6 nights in September 2021


August 2021 review

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderfully located property. The house is placed in the corner of the estate with its own garden and access to the blocked off walled garden (which is huge).

Access to the estate for walks was a real bonus. Those with a dog will love the grounds, with very well maintained paths.

Loads of space within the cottage too with lots of info and detail in regards to the local area and property amenities.

A few small gripes however.
Property could do with a deep clean. Main surfaces and floors cleaned but corners of rooms had cobwebs, fridge top had a layer of dirt / dust as an example.
A couple of items need replacing or fixing. Cooker extractor does not work, the back door to the courtyard lock is very stiff and difficult to open and close. A few plates and glasses also chipped that need to be replaced.

A small welcome pack of milk, bread and butter would have been a great touch, especially as some people travel a long distance to the property and don't particularly want to go shopping immediately after they arrive and unpack.
A few extra dishwasher tablets and extra bin bags especially would have been helpful.

Overall, a great family sized property with amazing stately feel surroundings.
Just needs a little tlc in places.


Michael from Bradford stayed at Gardener's House for 7 nights in August 2021


Henrietta replied 15 days ago
Thank you, Michael for your valid points. We now have a deep clean scheduled and a check of the inventory and appliances. A run of back to back bookings has presented a challenge with keeping on top of this. This is no excuse as we strive to keep the highest rating particularly in cleanliness for each of our guests. The lesson learnt is to ensure we have periodic breaks between bookings to allow these checks. Otherwise we are delighted you enjoyed your week and hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Incredible stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the Gardner's House was an incredible escape from the city. Henrietta was incredibly helpful and kind. Highly recommended.

Valeria from stayed at Gardener's House for 3 nights in July 2021


A lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite a Scottish lockdown and no restaurants open we had a super time. Great fishing and walking. We look forward to staying again

David from stayed at Gardener's House for 7 nights in October 2020


A good cottage in need of a bit of tlc

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All the arrangements for our stay were well organised and straightforward. The cottage is full of character with a great location although some occasional traffic noise. While all the facilities you would expect were in place, the cottage was starting to feel a little worn and in need of a little tlc to justify cost.

Dean from Salisbury stayed at Gardener's House for 7 nights in September 2020


Our Week at Gardener's Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Gardener's Cottage as the location is ideal for a relaxed vacation with walks on the Arniston Estate. It was lovely to have an open fire and the logs were provided. The cottage is very comfortable and spacious with a garden to sit out in and observe the sheep. It is also very conveniently located for trips to Edinburgh, the Scottish Borders and not forgetting nearby golf courses. Gorebridge, the local town, provides takeaways and McColls for your culinary essentials. We took advantage of the Arniston House tours where Althea and Henny provide an interesting insight into their family ancestry and the history of the house. We had a day out in The Kingdom of Fife (1.5 hours away but well worth it) where we visited St Andrews, St Monans, Pittenweem and Elie. I would highly recommend a trip to this area as it is on a beautiful coastline with stunning seafood restaurants. We ate at The Smokehouse in St Monans where we had the most wonderful lobster. Need to book beforehand. Can't wait to come back to the Arniston Estate! NB. coronavirus rules rigidly adhered to!!


Clare from Godalming stayed at Gardener's House for 7 nights in August 2020


Full marks to Gardener's House

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gardener's House is perfect for a relaxing break. It is surrounded by many lovely and varied walks literally on your doorstep, brilliant for nature lovers. The house is cosy and well equipped. It is also ideal for dog lovers with a large safely enclosed garden. Henrietta the owner is extremely helpful and thoughtful. Additionally she has established an efficient and reassuring C-19 regime in this challenging time.

Sarah from Rottingdean Brighton stayed at Gardener's House for 5 nights in July 2020


Arniston House

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jan 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend to friends and family. A beautiful part of Scotland to stay and explore

Kellie from Maldon stayed at Gardener's House for 7 nights in December 2019


Our Gardeners house stay

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Dec 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the grounds of estate. Henrietta is lively to deal with. Nice birds at feeder. A bit far from bus is main disadvantage.

Brian from stayed at Gardener's House for 35 nights in November 2019


A magical place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at the Gardener’s House at Arniston Estate. The location was convenient to Edinburgh and was a destination on its own. We hiked through the Estate to nearby Temple and enjoyed the forest, sunken gardens and waterfalls. The house was everything we needed for a family of 6. Thank you Henrietta for your hospitality.

Mark from stayed at Gardener's House for 7 nights in July 2019


We found all we had hoped for, and much more.

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have no hesitation in recommending the Gardener's House to everyone. It will be a pleasant surprise in various ways.

from stayed at Gardener's House for 3 nights in June 2019


Amazing holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the 2nd year we have stayed at Arniston House and will certainly be returning again. I cant fault it at all. The holiday cottage itself is beautiful and extremely homely. The location is fantastic we take our 4 dogs with us and they have never had such a good time, the most beautiful walks are literally on your doorstep. The sunken garden is like your own little secret escape and I could spend days sitting by the little stream. Highly recommend ❤❤❤❤

Abigail from Bridgwater stayed at Gardener's House for 5 nights in June 2019


Lovely stone house set in beautiful countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jan 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Away from the criwds but aldo still close to civilisation shops and restsurants etc. There was a slight problem with slow internet connection but not a real concern to us, plenty of parking, log fires, walks and shopping so caters for all

Marilyn from stayed at Gardener's House for 8 nights in December 2018


Amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really can't recommend Arniston House Estate and Gardeners House highly enough.
Everything was perfect inside(such a comfortable and cosy house) and out ( the grounds are amazing with so many nice walks and things to see).

Everyone slept well as it was so silent and the beds so comfortable and it was lovely waking up to birds singing every morning.

We unfortunately kept missing Henrietta in person who wanted to make sure we had everything we needed but she even messaged me during the stay to doublecheck.

We will definitely book again, hopefully next year.


Karen from stayed at Gardener's House for 10 nights in August 2018


Brilliant location and property

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gardener's house is perfectly situated for days into Edinburgh and surrounding attractions. The house itself has everything a family needs for their stay. It is very well maintained and the use of the grounds is a beautiful addition.

Heather from Wigan stayed at Gardener's House for 7 nights in August 2018