FB Twitter

Lime Cottage

Lime Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Located on the stunning lime avenue drive to Arniston House, Lime and Chestnut Cottages form part of a row of 5 stone cottages which used to house the foresters' for the estate in days gone by. Set in a sunny tranquil courtyard the cottages overlook fields to the north. The cottages also have an area of peaceful garden for visitors' use.

Great little hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just on the edge of Edinburgh, you feel luke you're in the middle of nowhere. Great little cottage, very cosy, in the middle of the Arniston Estate with plenty of healthy walks literally on your doorstep

Colin from stayed at Lime Cottage for 2 nights in March 2019


Lime Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm, cosy cottage. Parking at door for easy access. Excellent centre for touring the Borders, Edinburgh and Fife.

Guest from stayed at Lime Cottage for 28 nights in January 2019


Relaxing Christmas

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Never stayed in such a warm cottage. The log burner supplied ample hot water for a nice relaxing bath.,and at the same time provided the central heating for the cottage. A step back in time cleaning and setting the fire every day, but we'll worth it!
Well positioned for visits to Edinburgh and the Borders, or nice relaxing walks through the grounds of the estate.


Gloria from stayed at Lime Cottage for 12 nights in December 2018


Beautiful

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely homely cottage set in a beautiful quiet setting. We had everything we needed for a self catering holiday. Our dogs were welcomed and seemed to enjoy spending time in the grounds. Everyone we met were friendly and welcoming. We will definately be booking a return visit.

Jacqueline from stayed at Lime Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


good location for visiting family

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always good. Just a few niggles:-No washing up bowl provided this time, no new washing up sponge (old dirty one in cutlery stand.
would be helpful to have paper kitchen towel provided. Have always purchased own which has been left there for others to use.


Alastair from Eastbourne stayed at Lime Cottage for 6 nights in October 2018


Anne replied 179 days ago
Many thanks for your very kind review of Lime Cottage. We were delighted to have you back staying at Arniston whilst visiting family. Apologies for the lack of basin during your stay and the dirty sponge. We have a new basin on order and will have it in place for your next visit.

Wonderful stay at historic Arniston Estate

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent four nights at this outstanding property. Accommodation was in one of four 18th Century former Forester’s Cottages on the estate, all of which have been tastefully restored and equipped with modern conveniences. Our cottage (Lime Cottage) was a beautiful, historic, two bedroom, two bathroom, double storey stone building with a wood burning fire and modern kitchen. Our cottage was decorated with historic portraits of Arniston ancestors, and was spacious and warm.

Our host, Henrietta Dundas’ family have lived on the estate for the past 400 years and Henrietta’s knowledge of the property’s history and that of the local area is obviously unsurpassed. We were lucky enough to have Henrietta give us a tour of the main house which was probably the highlight of our trip to Edinburgh! The grounds of the estate are beautiful with plenty of opportunity for walking and rambling though the 19th Century trees and gardens.

In summary this property is probably the best AirBnB property we have stayed at, is very competitively priced, and is only 11 miles from Edinburgh with a very regular train service nearby. I cannot speak highly enough of this property or our host and would highly recommend it to everyone!


Hugh from Faulconbridge stayed at Lime Cottage for 4 nights in September 2018