FB Twitter

Sycamore Cottage

Sycamore Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.4
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Located on the stunning lime avenue drive to Arniston House, Sycamore, Lime and Chestnut Cottages form part of a row of 5 stone cottages which used to house the foresters for the estate in days gone by. Set in a sunny tranquil courtyard the cottages overlook fields to the north. The cottages also have an area of peaceful garden for visitors' use.

A very good stay for all

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal for a small family and a pet dog. Walks and location are splendid.There was easy access to the owner.
A stair rail needs fitting as the most urgent item.A clothes hook on the bathroom door and extra cutlery are also needed.
Once these are completed it will be an excellent cottage.


Clive from stayed at Sycamore Cottage for 4 nights in June 2019


A perfect place in the countryside

Review submitted on Sat, 25 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect. Henrietta, our contact was very helpful and responding quickly to my email with questions about the property.
The location was perfect for us and we loved the quietness and tranquility of the countryside.


Benedict from stayed at Sycamore Cottage for 3 nights in May 2019


A wonderfull cottage on a beautifull estate.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can recommend this place to everyone, the cottage was clean, cosy and has everything for a perfect holiday. The house, estate and gardens are a superb bonus to this!

Gideon from Utrecht stayed at Sycamore Cottage for 6 nights in April 2019


Sycamore Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quirky cottage full of character, situated in courtyard within a lovely estate. Very accessible to the new Borders Railway line and Edinburgh, Fife, and the Lothians. Ideal for a family getaway or relaxing and chilling from the stress of modern day life in front of the log burner with a nice glass or two!

Gloria from stayed at Sycamore Cottage for 28 nights in February 2019


A little piece of heaven !! Quiet, peaceful and lots of privacy. Ticks all boxes for me.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have had a few stays at Arniston Estate and have never ever been let down.
A very special setting, that gives you privacy, quiet and lots of lovely walks. Within easy distance of the Scottish Borders, Edinburgh etc.
I have family locally, so when coming from Devon to visit, I stay at Arniston Estates. Wouldn't go anywhere else as it is so easy for me.


Fiona from stayed at Sycamore Cottage for 8 nights in December 2018


October 13 - November 8, 2018

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent value for money. Comfortable, clean and cosy. Country estate within easy reach of Edinburgh. It has been the perfect base from which to explore the Scottish Borders and beyond. The grounds provide ample scenic walks. The highlight of our stay was Bonfire Night with the impressive fireworks display. We appreciated the warm welcome and hospitality provided by Henrietta. Would definitely come back for another stay.

Marisa from Mount Hawthorn stayed at Sycamore Cottage for 26 nights in October 2018


Anne replied 254 days ago
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Arniston Estate. Unfortunately we can't supply a fireworks display for every visit but we certainly try to make each stay comfortable and give a warm welcome. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place for a short break, it was close enough to Edinburgh to allow access to all the attractions and the surrounding areas. It provided everything required for a great stay, after a busy day out it was lovely to return and be able to relax in a comfy lounge with log burner giving a lovely back ground heat. The bedrooms are a great size with easy access to the spacious bathroom. The lack of surrounding light provided a great chance to star gaze.

Gary from stayed at Sycamore Cottage for 4 nights in September 2018


Just lovely.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sycamore Cottage is becoming a regular haunt for my family of four . It's beautifully furnished and decorated, peaceful and in a fabulous spot. A walk in the lovely grounds and a very very comfortable bed makes for an excellent night's sleep. No qualms about recommending!

Guest from Devizes stayed at Sycamore Cottage for 2 nights in September 2018


My Stay at Sycamore Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sycamore Cottage is full of charm and history. I stayed here because I was attending the Edinburgh Whiskey Academy's Single Malt Scotch Whiskey Diploma course. The location (and the course) were wonderful and exceeded expectations. The owner of the Arniston House is delightful and very helpful. I enjoyed my stay and will book again when in the area. Wonderful experience

Elizabeth from Tallahassee stayed at Sycamore Cottage for 3 nights in September 2018