FB Twitter

St Margaret's Cottage

St Margaret's Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 76 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


St Margaret's Country cottage

St Margaret's Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cozy cottage, was nice and quiet with plenty of room and had everything we needed, some nice walks nearby too. Would certainly come back again.

Lesley from Melrose stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 4 nights in September 2020


Beautiful cosy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at this lovely cosy cottage, it is so comfortable with a lovely garden to sit out and relax in. Beautiful beach walks. Would def return.

Thanks again Malcolm


Laura from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 2 nights in September 2020


HOLIDAY

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at St Margaret's Cottage many times over the years and this year we were not sure whether we would be able to go due to the Virus.
I was concerned how we would find everything but I can honestly say once I was in the Cottage all my concerns regarding cleanliness went as everything was spotless.
To top it all we had wonderful weather and say St Abbs Coldingham at its best.


Glenis and Nigel from Coventry stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pity it rained every day .only one pub doing food .golf club Eyemouth / great food service .tenpin bowling brilliant

Jamie from Grangemouth stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


We loved St. Margaret's Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at St. Margaret's Cottage in August 2020. The house is lovely - very homely and it was immaculately clean. The location is great - a few minutes walk into the village and a beautiful sea view from the back garden. Would highly recommend.

Guest from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Fabulous family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We has a fantastic time at St Margaret’s cottage. Great location in a lovely village with lots to do nearby.

Guest from Burnley stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Peaceful and beautiful

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent communication, very accommodating and fabulous cottage. If you ever want to sell it, please let us know!

Shilpa from Edinburgh stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Cosy, comfortable and cute

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My parents and I loved our stay at the Cottage. We found it very comfortable and has everything required to make you feel “at home”. There is a lovely garden in which to sit and relax. It is a short walk to Coldingham Village and to Coldingham Bay. The Cottage is also close to some stunning coastlines and interesting walks. Good communication with Malcolm who ensured that the booking was smooth and simple. I would highly recommend the Cottage as a place to stay.

Ruth from Sheffield stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2019


Another excellent stay at this lovely cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
St Margaret’s cottage is ideally situated for exploring Berwickshire and the Scottish Borders.
It is very privately situated with a lovely secluded south facing garden.
An easy two minute stroll along an established footpath finds you in the village of Coldingham. There you have local shops and amenities.
The cottage itself is warm, cosy and very comfortable. The lounge has a super television and audio sound system.
The kitchen is modern and very well equipped. There is a good sized kitchen dining table. There is a also a large fridge and freezer. The bathroom has an excellent walk in shower and under floor heating. The central heating and hot water are controlled by a hive system - so never any problem. There is a good conservatory area. The wi fi is fine for a holidaymakers needs.
Most importantly you can have full confidence in Malcolm, the cottage owner. You know that he will be ready to spring into action if any problems arise during your stay.
Altogether this is an excellent cottage. All you need for a lovely holiday break.


Colin and Anne from Cupar stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


St Margarets

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Details as I have given to you below so no need for me to give any Review as requested
And if you want people to Review I suggest this section is not required as you are asking to tell us of your stay at St Margarets


Glenis and Nigel from Coventry stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Lovely quaint cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
St Margarets is a lovely cottage in a nice quiet location with views of the sea from the rear. We stayed there for a week with our 2 children (6 and 4). It is a great base to stay for exploring the Scottish borders and also further afield (We went to Edinburgh and Stirling). Malcolm was most helpful when booking the cottage and we found the cottage comfortable with everything we needed. The conservatory was a lovely place to sit on a nice sunny day/evening. The driveway is a little awkward and requires reversing up a winding slope but this is just a minor inconvenience as the cottage and gardens are really lovely.

Sarah from Durham stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Delightful cottage perfect for getting away from it all.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well equipped lovely cottage in a beautiful part of the world. Great place to unwind and recharge your batteries. Great local paths to explore a village that has lovely hidden gems all over the placeincluding this lovely picturesque cottage.

Seamus and Suzanne from Coventry stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


A Gem of Tranquillity

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
St Margaret's Cottage is an amazing charming place to stay on the edge of Coldingham. Set away from any main and minor road it immediately gives a sense of being away from hustle and bustle of every day life. The cottage has been generously renovated without losing its traditional cosy country cottage feel with all the main home comforts one needs. A fantastic heating system that warms up the entire cottage very quickly if you decide to switch it off during the day. The garden is a real suntrap and is an ideal place to read a book over a coffee whilst only the sound of birds singing. Behind the cottage the garden continues with excellent views of the sea.
My wife, baby and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay and could not recommend St Margarets Cottage more highly.


Guest from Newtongrange stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 4 nights in April 2019


Our favourite cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another enjoyable stay at this lovely cottage. It is our fourth visit and we find it very comfortable and relaxing and hopefully we will return again.

Leslie from Denny, stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 3 nights in December 2018


A very cosy and comfortable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the cottage was cosy, warm, beautifully furnished and equipped with everything we needed for the week. Malcolm was very welcoming and helpful, we would certainly recommend St Margaret's to others.

Gillian from Sutton Coldfield stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


Seamus and Suzanne from Coventry

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful cottage perfect for getting away from it all. Well equipped and nicely decorated. Very warm and cosy situated in a beautiful Borders village. A short walk to the excellent beach at Coldingham sands and a great starting point for scenic walks. Highly recommended from grateful repeat visitors!

Seamus and Suzanne from Coventry stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


A perfect place for relaxe.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is comfortable and a cosy place to have a break from the everyday life. There ist everything you need in the surrounding areas. It's a really quiet location. We loved it. It was our second time there.

Eva from München stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


A wonderful stay at St. Margaret's Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent two wonderufl weeks at this lovely cottage. It was just what we had been looking for - very British for us coming from Austria. The cottage is only a short walk to to the village's shop and butcher as well as to the beach and access to the coastal walk. The cottage is fully equipped and there is enough space for a family with 2 teenagers. There are a number of cnce walks starting at the cottage and intersting day trips by car.


Waltraud from Pitten stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 14 nights in August 2018


The place to be

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you need a rest, if you love nature and animals in the wild, this is where you need to be. You can have it all ... without missing any luxury in the house.

Koenraad from Anzegem stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Beautiful calm retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
St Margaret's cottage is a beautiful cottage with a great garden and patio to sit and relax. It's conveniently situated with the village amenities only a few minutes walk and the beach a leisurely thirty minutes. Lots to see and do in the local area but it's hard to prize yourself away from the peace and tranquility atSt Margaret's.

Claire from Accrington stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 14 nights in July 2018


A Perfect and relaxed time at St Margarets Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything was just as described on the Website. Lovely Garden to sit and dine outside. Upper terrasse with a wonderful view over the landscape and the seaside.
Rooms well sized for up to 4 persons, kitchen good equiped. Cosy and comfortable bedrooms.


Peter from Hamburg stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


A comfortable and cosy cottage in a lovely and tranquil location.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable and cosy cottage in a lovely and tranquil location.
Close to a lovely beach and coastal walks.


Vivian and Hans from Rucphen stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 21 nights in June 2018


Peace and Tranquity

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
St Margaret’s Cottage is ideally located for visits around the whole of Berwickshire. A short stroll down a traffic free lane takes you straight into the delightful village called Coldingham. A short car or local bus ride takes you to St Abbs, Eyemouth and Berwick. When not out and about there is a pretty and sheltered south facing garden for relaxing and eating outdoors.
The quiet and private location of the cottage make it an ideal holiday retreat. The cottage was immaculate on our arrival and has a well equipped kitchen. The living room is very comfortable. It is in very good decorative order and is lovingly cared for by the owner of the property.
We had a lovely holiday.


Colin and Anne from Cupar stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 14 nights in May 2018


Simply - The Best

Review submitted on Sat, 05 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say? Beautifully located, the cottage is so warm, comfortable and easy to relax in. Everything has been so well thought out. Together with the lovely peaceful garden and the conservatory, it really does have everything to make it the perfect chill out spot. Our whole visit was accompanied by constant birdsong - I think our feathered friends love it as much as we do! Looking forward so much to our next stay.

Sue from Edinburgh stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 4 nights in April 2018


At Margaret's cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again another great stay at our favourite cottage. The cottage is very comfortable, relaxing and immaculate.

Leslie from Denny, stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 4 nights in April 2018


Gorgeous cottage in the Scottish Borders

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location and beautiful cottage. The owners really had thought of everything to make our stay as perfect as possible. We will definitely be returning.

Vanessa from Houghton Le Spring stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in February 2018


Another stay at this beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent another relaxing few days at our favourite cottage. Beautiful day on Sunday and walked to the lighthouse and saw seals with their pups. On to St Abbs where we had tea and scones at the coffee shop at the harbour. Looking forward to another visit at the cottage next year.

Leslie from Denny, stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 3 nights in November 2017


Wonderful break

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed before and love it. Very warm and comfortable. Everything you need. Malcolm is very helpful ...good communication beforehand.....personalised not automatic info. Even arranged 4 days of sunshine!! Can walk to beach and St Abbs. Walked to Eyemouth and bus back. Lots of wildlife and saw shooting stars lying on chairs at the back.

Penny from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 4 nights in November 2017


Delightful place

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
St Margaret's is perfectly situated in the village in a quiet location, an easy walk to local Spar and pubs up a slight hill and Coldingham itself is a hidden gem. It is cosy and thoughtfully equipped, Malcolm has made every effort to make it a home from home. Malcolm is communicative and helpful with guests in our experience. The only slight problem is parking, one has to reverse 30m down the track leading to the cottage every time(i.e. no turning place in narrow lane/track). I managed this no problem but if you are not a confident reverser/parker I advise discussing this with Malcom before booking.

Jerry from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2017


Great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay in st Margaret's cottage, ideally located for short walk to the costal paths and st Abbs. Friendly village, local transport to Eyemouth and Berwick easy to get at village square.

Kenneth from Tarporley? stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2017


A special place.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful hidden gem of a cottage. We were very lucky and we had lots of sunshine so it was wonderful to sit on the patio having a cup of tea and listening to the birds and enjoying the lovely garden.There is a conservatory if the weather isn't as kind. There are lovely walks from the door and the owner provides a file with them in . The cottage is equipped with everything you could need and more, it feels like a home and not a holiday let . Coldingham bay is beautiful and it feels like you are stepping back in time from the hustle and bustle of life. We have already booked again so I think that says it all!

Clare from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


Week to Chill Out

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This was our 15th year at the Cottage so need we say anymore.

Always something new each year in the Cottage for your comfort


Glenis and Nigel from Coventry stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


St Margarets Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second year at St Margarets and even the weather was great this year. The cottage is warm and cosy and has everyting you need for the perfect holiday. Its location was perfect for the beach and for touring the local area in both Scotland and Northumberland. It was also ideal for day trips to Edinburgh.

John from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 14 nights in August 2017


Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for two weeks around our daughter's wedding. The cottage was absolutely perfect. Quiet, but within a few minutes walk from local shop. Very comfortable, fully equipped kitchen and lovely outside seating areas. We enjoyed sitting in the top area morning and evening watching the sea. Really look forward to staying again sometime.

Guest from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 14 nights in July 2017


Second visit

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our Second visit yo St Margaret's, although the weather was not as good this time we enjoyed our stay. It is a great location with easy access to the beach and lovely walks. Had a good day trip to Edinburgh, easy to get the train.

Gordon from Co.Durham stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


Delightful Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage in a secluded location but within easy walking distance of the village. Excellent base for exploring the surrounding area and clifftop walks and relatively close to one of the finest beaches in Scotland at Coldingham Sands. Well equipped and nicely decorated with beautiful gardens and conservatory. This was our second stay and no doubt we will book again and it is easily the best place we have booked in this area over many years.

Seamus and Suzanne from Coventry stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


lovely cottage and location

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
lovely garden ,down stairs spacious, bedrooms have angle roof so which your head if on the tall side beds comfy .bath towels on the small size .needs some T L C would definitely go back again

Mark from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


Tears when we left . . . .

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a 6+ hour drive we were dubious about what we'd find upon arrival (having had bad experiences in the past). We pulled up the driveway and ran around like children, so happy with the beautiful St Margarets. The location, the views, the really noisy wildlife!! Amazing! Everything we needed was provided; and the owners were always quick with replies if we ever needed anything. I hope future guests give this property the care and respect it deserves. We miss it and hope to return soon.

Hans from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 6 nights in May 2017


A great and relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for almost a week here and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were so pleased to have chosen St Margaret's cottage for our stay near St Abbs. We were fortunate in that the weather was sunny, though a bit breezy, and we were able to get out and walk around St Abbs, Coldingham beach and along the cliffs in both directions, as well as exploring Eyemouth.

The cottage was lovely and clean, really comfortable and everything provided that one would need. Nicely and tastefully decorated and with a charming garden and views over the village and across to the nearby sea. We were quite entranced by the nosy bluetits that kept coming to look in the windows to see what we were up to.

We enjoyed the walks around the village and along the stream - a hidden gem that is worth doing.

We didn't eat in the village. Instead we either ate in or went over to Eyemouth where there are some good eateries for the evening and excellent tea/coffee rooms in the daytime. We can recommend the fish platter at the Italian restaurant on harbour street. Great value, excellently fresh fish, well cooked and very tasty.

We had a great time and were sorry to leave.

The only adverse comment we had was the driveway is narrow and steep and great care must be taken if reversing out, due to the proximity of the waste bins on one side and the edge of the drive on the other. We were fortunate in not having a large or wide car and were able to just turn around (a five or seven point turn) so that we could drive out.

However, notwithstanding this, we can wholeheartedly and happily recommend St Margaret's cottage for a great relaxing stay in a lovely part of the Borders.


John and Ursula from Spalding stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 6 nights in April 2017


Cosy home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxed few days at St Margaret's cottage. It was warm and cosy and provided everything you could possibly need.

Linda from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 3 nights in March 2017


stay at st Margrets

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
enjoyed our stay no problems ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

June from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 3 nights in January 2017


Cosy, clean and warm

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant little cottage within easy walking distance of the village and Coldingham Bay. Relaxing rural location. Would recommend for couples looking to unwind.

Sally from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 3 nights in January 2017


Holiday at St Margarets Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 14th Visit to the Cottage as my husband was born in St Abbs its like going home each year and as the cottage is well looked after and we always feel very comfortable. The garden is lovely as there is various places to sit and listen to the stillness lovely. I think after going for so many years nothing else needs to be said.


Glenis from Coventry stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Excellent accomodation in a beautiful part of Scotland

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very cosy cottage in a beautiful part of Scotand. Coldingham beach is superb and only 5 minutes drive away. Easy to get to Edinburgh (50 minutes to Newcraighall park and ride, 10 minute train ride to city centre) Cottage well equiped with everything you need.

John from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Another lovely stay in this beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 5th time we've stayed at St. Margaret's and every stay has been great. The cottage is well looked after and very tastefully decorated and furnished, with that difficult-to-achieve balance of maintaining a traditional country cottage look at the same time as providing modern conveniences. The gardens are very pretty, well kept, totally private and peaceful. The rear garden has a seating area with views across the fields to the sea; the front one has a patio with table and chairs for alfresco dining and is surrounded by plants and trees. The nearest other houses are some distance away and the cottage is not overlooked at all, yet it's very close to the village centre (a couple of hundred yards down a secluded country path) with pubs and shop. The cottage has absolutely everything we need including a large very well equipped kitchen, freesat (I think!) / Smart tv, blu ray player, wifi etc. And to top it all, the owners - and their local contacts who clean and maintain the house and gardens - are all really nice, friendly folk.

Iain from Cramlington stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Had a lovely holiday.

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very private location but only few minutes walk to the village. Lots to see and do in the area, with great walks and it was helped as we had sunshine, rare in Scotland. Hope to return next year.

Gordon from Co.Durham stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Our second visit !

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you look back through the reviews you will see we visited in May this year. No point repeating ourselves, that positvie review
is every bit as valid for this visit also, in fact the whole reason to return for this second stay.


Iain from Perth stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 4 nights in July 2016


We loved this cottage and it's wonderful location. We had a memorable stay despite the wet weather.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We found the heated floor absolute bliss. Had an absolutely wonderful time here despite the wet weather. Had a battle with the t.v. Which we lost! Everything was really comfortable and the setting idyllic. We can live without tv in a place like this!

Christine from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 5 nights in June 2016


Fantastic Cottage in secluded setting

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is absolutely fantastic. It is comfortable and cosy and has all the amenities one would require. The living area, kitchen and bedrooms were clean and well appointed. The conservatory is bright and warm and catches the sun from lunchtime to late evening. The gardens are an absolute delight.

The only thing to understand is the access can be a bit tricky as you either need to reverse into or out of the drive and short lane but is no big issue.

There is a quick 5 minute walk into the local shop, the beach is a bit further away, maybe 20 mins walk or you can drive there. The beach is very pretty with colorful beach huts, very clean and forms a bay. Lifeguards are in attendance during the high season.


Iain from Perth stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 3 nights in May 2016


Loved it......everything !

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We only stayed 3 days as we were staying in different places around southern Scotland. We live in Edinburgh so come on day visits and used to camp here when our children were little so we know the area quite well. What a lovely cottage...so warm and cosy...beautifully decorated. Beach a nice distance to walk to. Walk round St Abbs cliffs with all the birds. Great place....hope to come again.

Penny from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 3 nights in May 2016


Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week in this beautiful cottage which was warm and cosy as the weather was dry but bitterly cold and we even had snow on our last day. We did some nice walks around the area and the scenery was beautiful. Spent a day at Bamburgh Castle and walked the beautiful beach. I would definitely recommend this cottage and hopefully return for a yearly break.

Leslie from Denny, stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 4 nights in April 2016


A cosy cottage in a lovely coastal location

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great cottage which was very comfortable and cosy during our wintry mid- term break. The cottage was easily found from directions provided and although there were other properties off the same lane it was very private. The village was quiet and was located near a beautiful coastline with easy access to some lovely walks.The two local pubs were in walking distance and both provided food. This was the first time we had visited this area, we enjoyed our break and would like to return to the area and the cottage at some point in the future.

Sandra from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 3 nights in February 2016


Like sharing someone's home

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is exceptionally well equipped. We could cater for ourselves with freedom, enjoy the board games, DVDs, or TV, or
go walking in the lovely village or further along the many interesting walking tracks around. A great place to have a relaxing, healthy holiday. The local villagers were also very friendly and helpful.


Barbara from Eindhoven stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


Lovely stay in Margaret's cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week in St Margaret's cottage. It was peacefully located with a gorgeous garden. The cottage was very cosy and had everything we wanted. Thanks.

Andrew from Royston stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


What a gem

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fab cottage .... Obviously a lot of thought has gone into it and the results are excellent

A tranquil location - the perfect base to explore the Northumberland coast and the Scottish Borders


Jenny from Eastleigh stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 14 nights in September 2015


St Margerets Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 12th Visit to St Margarets so you could say we are very satisfied with the Cottage and all the new additions which the owners had done this year were great Enjoyed the new Patio and being able to sit out as the weather was very kind to us.

Glenis and Nigel from Coventry stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Summer break

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the cottage extremely comfortable and in a very peaceful and private location. There are lovely walks from the cottage itself to surrounding areas and there is loads to see out and about dying the car. The beach is wonderful too.

Alison from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Delightful stay at St.Margarets, August 2015

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a delightful stay at St. Margaret's. The cottage has a unique character and is beautifully situated in a secluded location but with easy access to the surrounding area. The garden is lovely, with plenty of lovely spaces to sit and relax outside if the weather is good. The owners were very helpful in providing pre-visit information. We'd have loved to stay longer!

Guest from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 3 nights in August 2015


The best cottage in the borders?

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best cottage in the borders? We certainly think so. This is a lovely, private and completely secluded detached cottage in very pretty and good-sized grounds. It has everything you could need for a great holiday. The rooms are spacious (especially for an old cottage), and well decorated throughout, retaining that "cottagey" feel whilst being somehow modern and light at the same time. The kitchen is very well equipped and the house has freeview tv and broadband internet, so you have the things you might rely on at home and miss when away - not always the case when booking older / rural properties. All the things you expect to work, simply work....there's plenty of hot water when you need it, the shower etc. all works properly (there's even under-floor heating in the bathroom), the kitchen has a full oven, microwave, gas hob (not common in these parts I think), washer, and even a dishwasher to save you having to work whilst on holiday! It is the best-equipped cottage we've seen in the area.

The location is excellent, the cottage is tucked away on the outskirts of the village, overlooking farmers fields to the rear, and there's even a sea view from the upper patio area. The lower patio in front of the house has just been extended and has comfy new furniture; you can sit there completely hidden from anyone with a cool drink and just admire the lovely gardens. We have done this many times and marvelled at the complete peace and quiet, just the rustle of the trees, the pigeons cooing and the occasional cry from a passing seagull. The property is not overlooked from any direction and shares a little lane with only 2 other properties, both a decent distance away; yet you can walk down a quiet burnside footpath into the village (where there is a grocery shop and pubs etc.) in just a couple of minutes. The beach is only about 15 minutes further walk, or a short drive - we usually walk as it's a pleasant stroll down past the burn and along the beach path overlooking fields, but for those who prefer the easy life there is a free car park at the beach next to St Veda's (local pub/hotel and surf shop).

We have found the owners Malcolm and Sally are very friendly and helpful. They restored the cottage from basically ruins a few years ago, and did a lovely job of keeping loads of character whilst providing a good practical living space. They are based in Edinburgh so you're unlikely to see them in person except in the very unlikely event that you have an issue that needs immediate attention whilst staying at the cottage (this has only happened to us once in 4 stays - there was a wasp's nest within the grounds of the property which Malcolm kindly came and successfully treated whilst we were out enjoying the beach....so we still didn't meet in person!)

A cleaner is employed to make sure the cottage is immaculate for your arrival, and a gardener visits periodically (one day every couple of weeks I think) to keep the lawns and borders looking great. We've not met the new cleaner, but bumped in to the gardener on our most recent trip as we were leaving the house very late that day - a really nice guy who actually offered to go away and come back when we'd gone out.

The arrangement of the rooms (2 bedrooms, 1 double, 1 twin) and provision of all the facilities I described above makes the cottage a good option for couples or families with kids (we are a family of 4) with the quiet cottage and local pubs providing a relaxing time for Mum and Dad whilst proximity to the beach (and of course the internet provision!) means the kids are well catered for.

In summary, we think this is a fab cottage in a great location, and if you're looking for complete peace and quiet yet with local amenities only a short walk away, we'd think this is likely to be perfect for you. We can't stress enough how peaceful and secluded this place is. You may be surprised that such cottages still exist, and that it hasn't been surrounded by developments. It goes without saying we are looking forward to returning again.



Guest from Cramlington stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


This is what a cottage must be

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have chosen this cottage because of the nice pictures we saw on the internet, and we weren't dissapointed. The cottage is as lovely as it is on the internet - even lovelier!

Hidden on the border of a nice small village, but only a very close walk to the centre of this village. The last mile driving towards the cottage is already an adventure. Then walking down the garden path towards the cottage was the most amazing thing we experienced. What a little beautiness we found here! This is a real cottage as cottages are ment to be. We had a lovely two weeks in great comfort, and even the weather was kind to us, as the place is only a few miles away from the shores and the sky tends to open very quickly.

Certainly a place to come back!


Guest from Dordrecht stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 14 nights in July 2015


This is what a cottage must be

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have chosen this cottage because of the nice pictures we saw on the internet, and we weren't dissapointed. The cottage is as lovely as it is on the internet - even lovelier!

Hidden on the border of a nice small village, but only a very close walk to the centre of this village. The last mile driving towards the cottage is already an adventure. Then walking down the garden path towards the cottage was the most amazing thing we experienced. What a little beautiness we found here! This is a real cottage as cottages are ment to be. We had a lovely two weeks in great comfort, and even the weather was kind to us, as the place is only a few miles away from the shores and the sky tends to open very quickly.

Certainly a place to come back!


Guest from Dordrecht stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 14 nights in July 2015


Fourth time

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth stay at this cottage over a period of about 14 years. We loved it the first time and loved it even more after the conservatory was added. Everything you might need is there. There is plenty of comfortable seating, inside and out. The garden is lovely and has some small changes since our last visit which make it even better. Within easy reach of lots of popular places. I.e. Bamburgh Castle, Edinburgh, Holy Island, Dunbar, Berwick on Tweed (just 10 miles). St Abbs (a pleasant and scenic walk). Lots of eating places in surrounding area. One small downside is having to reverse out of drive, if, like me, you are rubbish at reversing. But, this apart, if this is the part of Scotland you want to visit then this cottage is for you.

Guest from Blackpool stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


St margrets

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just so nice to have been there .would recommend it to family and friends .nice seating areas garden was well laid out .the field behind cottage was great to walk dogs and the lane to town was only 5mins walk or car longer

Guest from Grangemouth stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


Lovely cottage in superb location

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Apr 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
St. Margaret's cottage is a lovely little cottage in beautiful surroundings. It's tucked away in its own little pocket, but still very accessible to the shop and the village pub. It's also walking distance to the beach, and there are lovely walks to do around the area. All in all, my family and I had a wonderful time here.

Guest from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015


A beautiful cottage and location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very lucky to come across such a beautiful cottage and location. It was everything that we had read about (and more) ideally located for walking the Berwickshire Coastal Path and also for local amenties. Would definately recommend

Guest from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 3 nights in March 2015


St Margarets Coldingham

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tranquil, beautiful, very close to the beach, great walks in the area. A plethora of fab board games, cosy fire, all the mod cons one could possibly want.

Guest from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 3 nights in December 2014


Charming cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very cosy and comfortable cottage. We wanted somewhere to 'chill out' and relax- This was exactly what we wanted!
It was a great base for exploring the Borders area without having to drive too far. The village pub served super food and the local butcher deserves a mention for his first class home made produce.

We had our Golden Retriever with us and this was ideal as we could all enjoy the break together! We enjoyed daily walks to the nearby beach.

We would have no hesitation in booking St Margaret's Cottage again.


Guest from Aberdeen? stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 6 nights in November 2014


Lovely cottae by the beach

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage in a beautiful village close to the beach.
The cottage is very cosy and beautifully decorated with a gorgeous garden in front.
We loved the village and the sandy beach close by is gorgeous.
Can't wait to go back!


Guest from Manchester stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 3 nights in October 2014


Malcolm and Sally replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for your kind review. We aim to make the cottage perfect and delighted that you found it so.

Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We searched extensively to find a cottage that ticked so many requirements. It was for a special celebration and we wanted to ensure we got the right cottage.
I'm very happy to say that we did. St. Margaret's is hidden away, almost cut into the hill side. So is extremely private.
But it has all the extra's you need with a home from home. Dishwasher, washing machine, fully stocked kitchen, WIFI, TV, DVD, Freesat, Stereo, Powerful shower, with a few extra's on top, such as the small conservatory and beautiful gardens.
The cottage was extremely warm (we rented at the end of October).
The pub is a short 10 minute walk away (if that). Amenities in the village were a little limiting, but a 20 minute drive to Berwick and you have all the usual large supermarkets.
It was wonderfully quite and dark at night, giving a very peaceful and restful sleep. I've never seen so many stars as we saw stood outside the cottage.
The roads were very well maintained and pretty much empty, allowing us to tour the surrounding area at ease. Although some lovely walks can be had directly from the front door.
Oblo's in Eyemouth was a fantastic restaurant. The New Inn pub in the village had fantastic home cooked style food.


Guest from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 8 nights in October 2014


Sally and Malcolm replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your kind comments. understand that the only score less than 5 was because the conservatory had some insect webs in the roof. It can happen in autumn but we will keep an eye on it and do appreciate the feedback.

Excellent, with one reservation...

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed staying in St. Margaret's Cottage – it was one of the best properties that we have ever stayed in, particularly well equip with a lovely garden. However, when we booked the cottage we assumed that there would be a doorway between the cottage and the conservatory, but there isn't. We used the conservatory a lot in the first week when the weather was good, but the second week was cold and wet, so rather than put shoes on (as the owners have requested shoes not to be worn in the cottage) and then a coat, to go out into the heavy rain in order to get to the conservatory, we tended to stay in the cottage. Bit of a shame as that is one of the main reasons we booked the cottage. Also, although it wasn't a problem for us, you better be good at reversing.

Guest from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 14 nights in September 2014


Sally and Malcolm replied more than 1 year ago
You are right, it is a pity that there is no door from the sitting room to the conservatory. The problem is that the land slopes and so they are on different levels and there would have to be steps, either in the sitting room or within the Conservatory. Neither attractive!

Charming cottage, beautiful location.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Oct 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed two weeks on the outskirts of Coldingham in a well-equipped cottage with a beautiful garden where there was no noise of traffic whatsoever.

Guest from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 14 nights in September 2014


Review submitted on Sun, 31 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0

Our 11th Visit to St Margaret's need we say anymore. Its like home from home now.
The garden is always a pleasure as there are various places to sit to follow the sun.



Guest from Coventry stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2014


Lovely stay at St Margarets.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jun 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very enjoyable stay at this picturesque cottage. Ideally situated for a restful break. Short walk to village for shops and eating out. Garden is a delight with beautiful flowers.

Guest from Livingston stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2014


St Margarets

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jun 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
This was our 10th visit to the cottage and we always found it to be excellent but this time we had to wash all the kitchen equipment and the saucepans where left burnt inside and also there was not welcome letter or contacts numbers left.

I had to call Malcolm Windsor (the owner) as the Dish washer broke down and he arranged for a new one to be del'd and fitted and I spoke then about the state of things.

We go again at the end of August our yearly visit (11th year) so hopefully all will be sorted by then.

Other than that its a wonderful place to stay

regards Glenis Edwards


Guest from Coventry stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2014


Sally and Malcolm replied more than 1 year ago
We did have a problem that week when we had to find a new cleaner in a hurry. But happily that has now been sorted and glad to see that when you came back a few weeks later all was well.

Enjoyable break

Review submitted on Sun, 25 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great weeks break in the Borders in a picturesque cottage which was very clean and full of character. Athe only problem we encountered was a lack of hot water in the shower. This may well have been down to us not using the system properly A bird feeding station in the garden would be a great addition as already discussed with Dr Windsor. All in all we had a smashing time with lots of walks and sight seeing. The St Abbs Head Circular walk including the lighthouse is to die for.

Guest from Barnsley stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2014


The dream cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything as expected and more. A charming country cottage. It is on the edge of Coldingham a conservation village and the beach is only 15 minutes walk down a lane by a stream.

Guest from stayed at St Margaret's Cottage for 7 nights in April 2014