FB Twitter

Clava Cottage

Clava Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Striking, contemporary and luxurious one bedroom cottage in the heart of the highlands and close to Loch Ness, yet within easy reach of Inverness and only a 30minute drive from Aviemore.

Honeymoon Bliss

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Gask on a wee honeymoon to relax after all the stress and excitement of organising our wedding and we couldn’t have picked a better place! Cottage was beautiful inside, set in a stunning location and incredibly dog friendly. Gill and Chris were fantastic hosts and were very helpful. We had a brilliant time at Gask House and were able to completely relax and unwind in front of a roaring fire which is exactly what we both needed. We’ll definitely be back.

Daniel from Hamilton stayed at Clava Cottage for 5 nights in August 2021


Gillian Fordyce replied 2 days ago
Thank you for your review of Clava Cottage. We are delighted that the cottage was the perfect place to relax after the excitement of your wedding. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Gask House again.

Clava Cottage is wonderful!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a delightful stay here. The location is fabulous with wonderful views of the surrounding valley and mountains. The cottage is beautifully presented and very well equipped with everything thought of. Clava is very spacious and offers a high degree of comfort. It was also fantastic for our dog with a safe enclosed courtyard and plenty of walks on the doorstep. Gask House is ideal for those seeking peace and tranquility but is also within easy reach of the areas many attractions.

Pippa from Irthlingborough stayed at Clava Cottage for 6 nights in September 2021


Gillian Fordyce replied 2 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind review of Clava cottage. We are delighted that you found the cottage to be spacious and comfortable and that you enjoyed exploring the local countryside.

Perfection in a great location with wonderful views

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb location and cottage. Extremely welcoming and helpful, yet unobtrusive owners on hand nearby.
Loved the decor, comfort very well equipped. A welcoming and special place to stay with wonderful views.


Helen from London stayed at Clava Cottage for 6 nights in August 2021


Gill Fordyce replied 6 days ago
Thank you for your review and feedback. This really helps us plan and tweak our marketing strategy going forward. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Clava Cottage and that you found it to be comfortable and well equipped. We hope to get another opportunity to welcome you back to Gask House.

Another great stay at Gask

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed at Gask House many times over the years. Usually in February (when the log burner is very cosy), but this time we stayed in August. As always, everything was clean, well equipped, and comfortable. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The location is also great. Being fairly central and near Inverness, it offers easy access to most of the highlands. I have no doubt we will be back.

Iain from Swindon stayed at Clava Cottage for 14 nights in July 2021


Gill Fordyce replied 21 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you and welcome you back to Gask House under its new ownership. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again soon.

The most relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to Inverness to help a family member move house but wanted to have a short break at the same time and were extremely lucky to find a few days available at Gask Farm, which we chose because we would be able to bring our dog. Our warm and friendly hosts Gill and Chris have created wonderful holiday homes here, beautifully and thoughtfully equipped, with a very peaceful and relaxing ambience. Nothing has been too much trouble and we loved the welcoming touch of the freshly laid eggs! Gask Farm is truly welcoming for dogs as there are large fenced off areas in which to exercise them and let them run free, in the midst of beautiful countryside. There is also the fascinating stone circle. We will assuredly be back for more as soon as possible.

Jennifer from Callander stayed at Clava Cottage for 5 nights in July 2021


Gillian Fordyce replied 46 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really does mean a lot to us, that guests take the time to honestly respond. We very much look forward to welcoming you back and I know for sure that our dogs will look forward to romping around again with your dog.

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved my week at Clava Cottage. Prompt responses from Gill throughout the booking process and a warm welcome on arrival.
Great location with rural views and very convenient for touring the surrounding area with easy access into Inverness and back on to the A9. So much to see and do, all with in easy reach.

Clava cottage is delightful - furnished to a high standard and so comfortable and homely - could just move in! I look forward to my next stay at Clava. Thank you for the wonderful facilities. Marie and wee Trixie (my Cairn Terrier, who has given Clava the official Paw of Approval, on her first holiday!)


Marie from Broxburn, West Lothian stayed at Clava Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Gillian Fordyce replied 54 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Clava cottage and found it to be clean, comfortable and relaxing. Trixie is such a sweet wee Cairn Terrier and well behaved too. We very much appreciated that she respected the interior furnishings and kept off the bed and furniture. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you and both back to Gask House.

All round quality, would recommend

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location all round quality furniture and fittings, very relaxing atmosphere, would recommend to anyone.

Gavin from Inverness stayed at Clava Cottage for 3 nights in July 2021


Gillian Fordyce replied 58 days ago
It was pleasure to finally meet you both after you had to reschedule your holiday several times from last year due to covid. But I'm so glad you enjoyed the break and the weather was amazing too.

A comfortable cottage with everything you could need.

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet location with beautiful view from the kitchen. Still within easy reach of Inverness.
Comfortable bed, great shower and all utensils for cooking. If it's raining and you stay indoors there's a great TV, Blu-ray player and a sound bar for entertainment.
Very clean and well maintained....no concerns staying here during these uncertain times.


Karen from East Linton stayed at Clava Cottage for 3 nights in July 2021


Gillian Fordyce replied 66 days ago
Karen thank you for your review which we very much appreciate. As you say in these uncertain times we have tried hard to ensure we have adhered to the Covid guidelines so that guests can feel confident to book a holiday with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your break in this lovely part of the Highlands and hopefully we will see you both again soon.

Lovely setting

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a 3 night break at Clova cottage . The cottage had everything we needed and especially secure for the dog . Lovely walks and very friendly and helpful hosts. Would definitely recommend.

Mary from Banff stayed at Clava Cottage for 3 nights in June 2021


Gillian Fordyce replied 76 days ago
Thank you for your review which is very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your short break and found plenty of dogs walks too.

Beautiful cottage, wonderful location.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was just beautiful, everything you could possibly need and wonderful hosts in Gill and Chris.
We were lucky to have good weather and it was lovely to enjoy a glass or two on the terrace after a day exploring the area.


June from Tonbridge stayed at Clava Cottage for 7 nights in June 2021


Gillian Fordyce replied 76 days ago
Thank you for your review. It was good to meet you at last after all the disruption of lockdowns and cancelled holidays. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the good weather allowed you to see the area at its best. Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back soon.

Another Comfortable Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another very comfortable and peaceful stay at Clava Cottage. Great central location for walking and exploring the Highlands.

Guest from Preston stayed at Clava Cottage for 6 nights in May 2021


Gillian Fordyce replied 91 days ago
Thank you for your review which is much appreciated. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Gask House and for us to learn from you of other walks that we could add to the To Do List.

Lovely accommodation and location

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay here. Very clean and new feel to the building and the entire inside, set in a rural location with great views.

Darren from stayed at Clava Cottage for 29 nights in May 2021


Gillian Fordyce replied 107 days ago
Thank you we really appreciate your kind review.

Gateway to the Highlands

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is simply wonderful. The cottage and facilities are first class. The owners, Gill and Chris, provided us with some very handy local advice re. walks, hot spots etc. which ensured we maximised our holiday experience. Within the local area there are plenty of things to do for the outdoors type, alternatively you can put your feet up, load the log-burner and read a good book. It is a location that has everything and is pet friendly.



Ashley from Bristol stayed at Clava Cottage for 3 nights in April 2021


Gillian Fordyce replied 136 days ago
Ashley, thank you for your kind review and we are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay. We hope that we can welcome you back soon as we have a few more interesting places for you to explore.

Another short break

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another short break this year at the beginning of November at Gask House, this time in Clava Cottage. It was lovely and clean. Great views of the countryside. Only a short distance from Inverness and a bonus at the time was that the restaurants were not closed due to lockdown rules. Cottage well equipped. Bed very comfortable. Gill and Chris very welcoming. Highly recommend Gask House.

Guest from Cupar stayed at Clava Cottage for 4 nights in November 2020


Gillian Fordyce replied 297 days ago
Despite the restrictions due to Covid (which luckily didn't affect either of our areas this time) it was good to be able to welcome you both back to Gask House. We're glad you enjoyed the comfort of Clava Cottage and do hope to see you again in 2021.

Clava Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place, great location and excellent communication from owners. Nice to be in the countryside and close to so many attractions, walks etc.

Iain from Anstruther stayed at Clava Cottage for 3 nights in October 2020


Gill Fordyce replied 304 days ago
We're pleased that you managed to get away for a couple of days and enjoyed your stay in Clava Cottage.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage and good service from Gill. Great location, only 4miles from Inverness and short driving distance to lots of great activities/attractions. Beautiful views from the cottage. Would highly recommend it.

Francois from Oldham stayed at Clava Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Gill Fordyce replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving us an honest review. It is reassuring to know that we are meeting the needs and expectations of our younger guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to Gask House Holidays,

Great walking and cycling break

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage that had everything we needed for our stay. Great central location for exploring the Highlands. Very welcoming and informative hosts.

Guest from Preston stayed at Clava Cottage for 6 nights in August 2020


Gill Fordyce replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review which we very much appreciate. Your had clearly planned which cycling and hill walking routes were possible from our accommodation and it was good to see what can be achieved in a day. The Northern Highlands are a lovely part of Scotland and we are so pleased that you had a chance to explore and enjoy this area as much as we do.

Perfect stay in the Highlands

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this cottage was amazing. Perfect peaceful location. 10 minute drive from Inverness town and shops. Lots of walking/running routes both on the doorstep or nearby. The host was excellent and made us feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. We cannot wait to visit again.

Robert from Chester stayed at Clava Cottage for 4 nights in August 2020


Perfect week

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about Clava Cottage met all our expectations. We had a brilliant week and look forward to returning in the future.

Guest from Heswall stayed at Clava Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Gillian Fordyce replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed exploring the local area on foot and by bike. Thank you also for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy on your departure and I hope we get another opportunity to welcome you both back to Gask House Holidays.

Lovely accommodation in a beautiful part of the world

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The quality of the accommodation at Gask House is first class. Everything inside the cottage feels very new and clean. There was everything you could possibly want for a self-catering stay. The grounds around the cottage are well maintained and there are fields to run your dogs should you have them. Gill and Chris were very welcoming and happy to advise on local places of interest. Thoroughly recommend and hope to return.

Roger from Neath stayed at Clava Cottage for 6 nights in August 2020


Gillian Fordyce replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure welcoming you to the area and we're pleased that you all enjoyed the area, especially the safe areas for Cadno to run about in. I hope we get another opprtunity to welcome you back to Gask House.

Great cottage in ideal setting.

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to the cottage and what a fantastic get away it is. Not only was it perfectly clean and has everything you could possibly need, but it's both peaceful and close enough to Inverness to enjoy city life and a quiet retreat! Gill was the perfect host and so easy to deal with, while her two lab dogs were gorgeous and an added bonus.
There's lots of great walks nearby and of course Loch Ness and Inverness.
We can't wait to come back again and hope others enjoy this great cottage like we have.


Paul from Aberdeen stayed at Clava Cottage for 3 nights in July 2020


Gillian Fordyce replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. It is always a positive sign when guests return and we are so pleased you both enjoyed yourselves as much this time, even with the Covid restrictions. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Great short break

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from an extended stay at Clava Cottage, originally only booked 3 nights but managed to extend to 4. Accommodation was perfect for us. Very clean and had everything we needed. Great views surrounding the area. Managed a few local walks in between sunny showers! Definitely recommend and would stay here again if in the area.

Christine from Thornton stayed at Clava Cottage for 1 nights in July 2020


Gill Fordyce replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you extended it by another day. I think Mac enjoyed it too and he looked quite sad to leave. I hope we can welcome you back to Gask House Farm Holidays at some point in the future.

A Summer Staycation post lockdown!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a fantastic 3-night staycation at the wonderful Gask House Farm Cottages. Upon arrival we were greeted by Gill and shown around our cottage. She ensured that the transfer of keys and key documents was carrier our contact free and we could tell from our initial look around that the cottage was extremely clean and spotless. It was our home away from home and had all of the essentials!

Our cottage was very modern and we absolutely loved the bathroom shower, it was so relaxing after a long day exploring this beautiful part of Scotland. The views from the cottage are stunning and Gill and Chris were more than happy to show us around their land and tell us about the history of their cottages. The cottages are situated in a great location, about 15-20 minutes from Inverness town centre and close to amenities if needed.

After 4 months of being cooped up in Lockdown, this was the perfect staycation. Modern, clean and safe! Thank you to Gill and Chris for being fabulous hosts, we will be back again very soon!

Amy and Adam.


Amy from Glasgow stayed at Clava Cottage for 3 nights in July 2020


Gill Fordyce replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Amy and Adam thank you for leaving us such a glowing report. It was a pleasure having you stay with us especially when your exotic holiday had been cancelled by Covid-19. But we are glad you had a great time in Clava Cottage and enjoyed exploring the surrounding countryside. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Awaiting first review

Review submitted on Thu, 14 May 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Awaiting first review