FB Twitter

Heron

Heron

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 72 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Heron chalet has one double bedroom and one twin room. The bathroom has a shower, washbasin, WC and a heated towel rail. Heron now has underfloor heating which makes it perfect for short breaks in winter. With wonderful views over our moorings, pier & pontoon Heron is a cosy & comfortable home-from-home for up to four people in the heart of the Argyll countryside. Private parking right outside and a lovely patio area where you can soak up the Scottish sunshine.

Another lovely holiday at Ardoran

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love it here, totally unspoilt and very relaxing. Being selfish we really do hope that it’s not discovered by too many other people!



We will be back

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heron is a perfect chalet for us and we choose to use it every time we come to Ardoran which is usually three times a year.
Ardoran is our perfect holiday destination.




Back again

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Discovered last year and stunned by the morning view. Beautiful position and now on the go back to list!
Booked for 2022.




Lovely place

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely place, kids had an absolute ball and so did the parents, We definitely will be back hopefully next year.



Stunning view

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place, fantastic scenery, love it! Pleanty for the kids to do and they enjoy it too. Always well looked after.



Lost in Nature

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This location was excellent, accompanied by the friendly staff and the facilities. If it's peace and quite you are looking for then this is the place to be. 5 minutes from the busy road you are right on the marina front, blissful.
Highly recommend this to anyone.




Beautiful and tranquil

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do I start. What a lovely place to stay. Was there for a weeks holiday and on third day I booked for next year as well. The the accomodation was clean, spacious, comfortable a home from home and even got a complementary bottle of wine. Thank you for that. I so recommend this place 100%. The views and wild life is just beautiful, cannot wait to go back.



Heron @ Ardoran

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Two excellent weeks, we are booked in for another at the end of September. We shall probably book for 2022 when we return in September.



A great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful setting.
Peace and tranquility and a brilliant view from the living room window.
Wild life almost comes up to your doorstep.
Beds are very comfortable and there is plenty of hot water at all times.
Underfloor heating was a real bonus.
Can highly recommend this accommodation.




Comfortable accommodation in a perfect setting

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heron is comfortable and well equipped. Spotlessly clean, it offers an ideal and very quiet location from which to explore this part of Argyll. Stunning views down the sea loch from both the sitting room and main bedroom.



Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual very comfortable stay. Fantastic views and excellent location for walks etc. Very helpful team at Ardoran.



Another lovely stay in Scotland

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We love it at Ardoran and return year upon year. The only thing that spoilt it is that the mattress was too soft this year resulting in some aches and pains. We wondered if this had been changed recently for a softer one as we hadn’t had problems before. However, we do hope to holiday there next year.



Great views

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great views and amazing place to take the kids and rewind from everyday life. Not far from oban Town centre.



1/2 Term Break

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great rural location & an adequate lodge set within private grounds, yet only a few minutes drive from Oban.
Would certainly recommend this property.




We are already planning on returning

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful position, beautiful views, private location. Would recommend it to anyone, very well placed as a base for enjoying the area.



A few very minor problems which were very quickly sorted out.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardoran was recommended to me by my brother who has been staying there regularly tor the past 3-4 years and it certainly lived up to our expectations. The view over the Loch from our front window is absolutely superb, the kitchen is well equipped with all the
utensils for an evening meal, the bedroom was spacious and the bed very comfortable with a view over the Loch.
The living/dining room has a lovely panoramic window taking in the whole width of the Loch which was so lovely to look out on while having our evening meal.




Good place to be. Especially for dinghy sailors.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place to spend a week. The chalet is comfortable and well-equipped. The sailing is very good.



An excellent discovery

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotlessly clean, well appointed and cosy - the lodge ticked all the boxes for us. Lovely new settee - very comfortable...and that view - picture perfect. Excellent for bird and otter spotting.



Another lovely holiday at Ardoran

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely peaceful setting, always love our holidays here. There are a few TLC issues connected with the chalet, which we discussed with the proprietor, but these will not put us off visiting Ardoran again.



Brilliant holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely, relaxing holiday with a wonderful view. We saw seals and otters. We would definitely return



Fantastic time had by all...

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotlessly clean & well-equipped/-appointed chalet, with picturesque views down tranquil loch where we spotted otters & seals (inc fluffy baby one!). Our own 4-legged friend loved it - especially being on the kayaks most days, which are free for residents to use. Owners & staff friendly & efficient (broken shower head was replaced within few hrs of reporting it). Only one regret... we didn't stay long enough!



A room with a view

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love it, all you would want in life, wildlife, land and sea scapes, peace and tranquility with friends



Pre Xmas break

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always this is the most pleasant hide-away to spend time relaxing. Underfloor heating is a bonus.



Scottish Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay as always. Warm and comfortable chalet. A real home from home. We have been going to Ardoran for 11 years now and absolutely love the peace and tranquility of it all. Thank you.



short stay

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I only stayed one night in Heron. I arrived late in the afternoon and the chalet was left unlocked for me and the key on the table. The location is very beautiful overlooking the loch and a few boats. The area was very quiet when I was there. The oven was not working and there was no information in the chalet regarding who to contact for assistance. There was a phone number for the Marine office but it was closed and went to voicemail. I also found the temperature too warm and there was no information left regarding how to control it. It seemed to be all underfloor heating which was very effective but no indication of how to adjust it. The next day, I knocked on the door of the nearest house (5-10min walk along the road) to ask if they knew who managed the chalet...turns out it was them. They were a friendly, helpful and understanding couple. It would've been helpful if some information had been left in the chalet of who the owner/manager, how to contact them, what to do if the oven doesn't work, (apparently a wall switch in the back of a lower cupboard had been turned off) and how to control the heating.



Fantastic family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I and our both boys ( 11 and 13) had an absolutely lovely stay ( 8 nights) where everything was close to perfect.
The wild nature is so beautiful over there. We were lucky with the weather so we could eat outside of the house enjoying the view of the sea. Oban is just 10 minutes drive. I was worried that my boys would be bored because of the poor wifi but we have downloaded plenty of movies for them and they were happy too. In the evenings they would go to the peer ( 2 minutes walk) and enjoy crab fishing in the evenings. My 11 y.old caught a starfish which I have never seen in my life before. We had a feel of it and let it go. We saw the wild deer and the tiny mole and the birds which I would never seen in a wild before.
The house was lovely, with lots of space and very homely. Bits and pieces of things which you would not have in any hotel. ( puzzle, music player, books, Cds, etc. A bottle of wine left in the fridge was a cherry on the top. We have never put TV on as we never felt the need to. My basset hound Lola had never had so many adventures and walks before. We were sad leaving. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!




Excellent stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Heron. Enough to do in Oban and there are short walks from the accomodation also.



Fabulous family holiday.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in Heron and definitely won't be our last. Fiona and Colin were lovely hosts. Chalet has everything you need for a comfortable home from home holiday. We were here for 2 weeks this time with a 5 and 8 year old and found plenty to do. Lovely woodland walk with a few tree swings that the boys loved, Calum the bull, froglets, deer, hedgehogs, seals, herons and so much more right out the front door. Fantastic views and great place!



lovely location for peaceful break

Review submitted on Sun, 06 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was well located with great views, thank you for providing binoculars. Quiet and peaceful yet still close to Oban if you want anything. The lodge itself was clean, well equipped kitchen and warm. My dog enjoyed the woodland walk. Over all a lovely place to stay.



Another wonderful stay at Ardoran

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have lost count on how many times we have stayed at Ardoran, definitely six, maybe more. The star rating of excellent for location should have not only excellent plus 5* as well with it comfort, condition and value for money should be excellent plus 4*. We are just planning our visits for the coming year so will be back in the summer.



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay with such beautiful views, thanks again and we will be back again soon,when the weather is a bit warmer. Heather



Annual Scottish Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We always enjoy our stay at Ardoran and have been customers for 9 years now. The property would benefit from a couple of clocks inside and a security light outside to light up the pathway when you go out to eat in the evenings.



A welcome return

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable stay as usual . Very comfortable with the underfloor heating - a bonus at this time of year.
Beautiful situation and scenery .
Weather mixed .




A beautiful place to stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful place to stay with such a wonderful view. Great value and a peaceful place to explore the area.



A relaxing haven overlooking the loch

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything exceeded expectation.

The whole experience was what we we wanted - quiet, beautiful, good walks but next to Oban - an ideal starting point for exploring the islands and highlands.

The cottage was clean and comfortable - cleaned to a standard well above the usual for rented accommodation.

Colin and Fiona are really professional in the way they run things - if we come back to the area we know where we will stay.




West coast ribing

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great weather great service great company. Ideal destination but do not tell too many people though.



Great stay as usual at Ardoran.

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Already booked for the autumn, says it all really, wouldn't want to go anywhere else. For us it is the ideal location, quiet, private, friendly and in a prime location.



Excellent view

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location for those who love a sea loch view and seeing yachts coming and going. Underfloor heating in the heron chalet make for a snug stay.



Week's holiday in Oban

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Always enjoy it here. Very peaceful. Plenty of room. Nice warm chalet. Good walks. Dog friendly. Good restaurants.



Exactly what we have come to expect. a great time in a great place.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have already booked again for next year . That says it all! Apparently I have to use more 'characters' to satisfy this review!!
Neville




this is the third time to these cabins very clean and private

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
loveley scenary and pleasant owners ideal base for oban and fort william very relaxing thanks for a pleasant holiday hoping to come again in the near future



Another lovely holiday at Ardoran

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The chalets at Ardoran have the best location in the Glen having spectacular views down the loch. As always Helen in the office was very helpful and efficient and the chalet was clean and warm.



Simply the best place to be on the West Coast in February.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have already booked another week in Heron later this year. What better recommendation is there than that? The underfloor heating ensures that an out of season break has all the comfort you could require.
Neville H.Khambatta




A great chalet

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Feb 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely week - the chalet is very cosy and generally well equipped.

Even though there were four of us it did not seem cramped, however the armchairs / settee could be a bit more comfortable for lounging around on a rainy afternoon with a good book.




A pretty place

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent sea loch scenary, that feels very remote but is only a short drive to the shops of Oban. We have stayed in ths chalet several times and can recomend it.



Heron Chalet

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always look forward to our stay at Ardoran and have returned for several years now. It is a lovely restful place to holiday at with great views across the loch.



Autumn stay - one week .

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable , warm cottage. Wonderful views of Loch . Very quiet and restful .
Oban within 15minutes drive , with a wide variety of shops and eating places .




Autumn break

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable as always.



HERON

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay as usual. The chalet is comfortable, well fitted out and a great view. Location is ideal being so near to Oban. We'll be back next year as usual.



Stay at the Heron

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I went here to stay at the Heron for a week in August this year.
It is a really nice setting and great to launch my boat from also.
Oban is not far away to enjoy all the seafood. They do great fish and chips there.
One area for improvement for me for safety would be, as my wife is disabled, would be to have a wooden railing on pathway leading up the side of the heron cottage. Everything else is fantastic.




HERON

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
ARDORAN IS WELL SITUATED FOR OBAN, ITS SERVICES AND THE SURROUNDING AREA. AN EXCELLENT BASE! THE LOCATION IS SCENIC AND THE WILDLIFE IS ON YOUR DOORSTEP.



Another lovely stay at Ardoran

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Heron. The location is perfect, enhanced by the boatyard facilities which were ideal for us to make the most of our sailing dinghy. The chalet provided everything we needed and expected, with one exception: the new underfloor heating advertised on the website was not working. We were told during our stay this was due to it being off for the summer! Staying in Heron previously there was a storage heater in the living room, which was sometimes needed even in summer to provide some heating for the inevitable cooler Scottish summer days. The storage heater is now gone, although there are panel heaters in the bedrooms and a halogen heater in the living room if required. But this is not the same as central heating! The absence of both the storage heater and the underfloor heating was a disappointment and the only blemish on an otherwise perfect holiday. We will be back!

Hugh and Katie




A new A-star site to get away from it all.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In the last 25 years I have spent at least 100 holidays in self-catering accommodation throughout Great Britain so feel qualified to comment on 'Heron' at Ardoran. I have no reservations at all in recommending this venue for a relaxing break in a comfortable cottage-style chalet. This is a 'get away from it all' environment of course so visitors should expect to provide their own diversions, whether marine or land-based. However I am pleased to add Ardoran to my Scottish list of A-star sites which currently includes property at Fort William, Ullapool, Lairg and Banchory. I hope to return.



An excellent return visit

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Heron Lodge was excellent - there is nothing Andoran can do about Scottish lack of sunshine!! We highly recommend this site for a holiday.




Delightful, location, comfortable and well appointed chalet

Review submitted on Mon, 11 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heron chalet is the one with underfloor central heating. It is well insulated so so lovely and warm in a coldish week in early May. Its main living room is spacious for four with a splendid view over Loch Feochan. The chalet is well equipped, well appointed and well thought out. Equipment includes a small, but good quality (non HD) TV with basic Sky connection and a radio - CD player.There is plenty of cupboard space, a large shower/wash room and an excellent kitchen with an efficient modern cooker, microwave and all the necessary equipment. The only thing you need to take is towels. Everything was clean and tidy when we arrived.
Ardoran is about 10 minutes by car from Oban, with handy supermarkets on the south side (near Ardoran). We had an excellent meal at the Waterfront Fishhouse near the railway station, which I prefer to the rather more "upmarket" EEUSK fish restaurant at the north end of the harbour.
The only small problem at Heron is that the Wifi connection is rather intermittent, being at the end of a long wire from the main road. It works at an adequate speed after being re-set in the office,nearby, but then tends to lose connection. This might be a problem if you planned to use the internet a lot during your stay. But most people will probably prefer to be out of doors.

Max Wilkinson, Dedham, Essex




No better view to be had

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm and cosy chalet, even in freezing temperatures. The view is stunning.

Perfect peace and quiet and easy to get to Oban. Would recommend without hesitation




Heron Chalet in Autumn

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual, a wonderfully relaxing place to stay. Plenty of room, no hassle, warm, and all with the wonderful loch views. Again, as usual, our dogs were equally welcomed.



October holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet , relaxing , holiday location , with wonderful views.
Close proximity to shopping if required, in Oban .
Good restaurants and coffee shops in Oban.




Holiday heaven

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view from the chalet is fantastic!.As there is a lot of space between the three chalets, so it is not like being on a caravan site! Great for a get away from it all relaxing holiday and yet within easy reach of Oban.



very good

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cabin was very clean and the beds very comfortable. Weather for us was poor but still plenty to do. Used the free sit on canoes in the lock and watched the seals . Have to pay extra for electricity only cost 4.50 for the week. Postion very good for oban, there is a pub called the barn which we visited each night for a drink of highlander. Would go again.



Another Great Holiday at Ardoran Marine

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to Ardoran Marine and still we would happily return.

Located 10 minutes drive from the centre of Oban, the chalet offers seclusion for those looking to relax in peaceful surroundings, whilst still being close enough to all that Oban offers.

A 500 yard walk from the front door brings you to the shores of Loch Feochan and during the warmer months, kayaks (life-jackets and paddles from the office) are provided for the guests to explore the loch and its resident jellyfish, starfish and seal population.

The chalet itself will sleep up to six people, with a two bedrooms (one double, one twin) and a sofa-bed. For those needing to stay connected on holiday, the chalet offers free Wi-fi and Sky TV. The kitchen has a microwave, kettle, fridge-freezer, electric hob and oven - perfect for feeding a hungry family. Residents can use the washing and drying facilities in the main building so it is possible to pack light as a family!!!

The Barn Bar/Restaurant (1 mile) still offers a great menu with fresh locally produced meat and fish, while there is no shortage of restaurants in Oban, catering for all tastes. With two young children, Oban and the surrounding areas provided lots for us to do - visits to the Sea-Life Centre, Dunstaffnage Castle, Dunollie Castle, Ganavan Sands Beach for the dry days, the local Atlantis Sports Centre, Oban Pheonix Cinema and also the Oban Chocolate Shop for when the weather is not so good.

With regular ferries from Oban to Mull, and the other nearby islands, it is quite possible to plan island hopping day trips.




Great accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't be happier with the chalet or the help from Ardoran - highly recommended.

Location is lovely and the view from the chalet the best in the glen




Heron Chalet June 2014

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The chalet is set in a wonderful location and proved to be very comfortable and well equipped.
I would have to add that the WiFi connection was only useable on one day despite being reset for us twice by the staff at the office who were very friendly and helpful. The availability of WiFi was one of our reasons for choosing to book and therefore proved to be a let down.




Heron

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful place to stay while working on my boat



Review of Heron Chalet stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The stay at Heron was lovely. The location of the chalet is excellent with beautiful views over the Loch. A sighting of an otter eating its breakfast made the stay and it was a great way to stay and prepare our boat at the boatyard for the sailing season.



Easter Break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The chalet was warm, comfortable and ideal for what we wanted. The views down the loch are beautiful and difficult to beat. we will definitely be staying there again.



Working week!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jan 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Much work done on my boat. Thanks.



hogmanay

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent new underfloor heating. Some of the furniture is now a little "tired" but the aspect and location is great. I don't really have another 32 characters - oh I do now!



Autumn break at Ardoran

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 5th or 6th visit; always able to instantly relax upon arrival; plenty of space, warm, and welcoming. Found the new under-floor heating very good. Only criticism [minor] is that a 2nd external light at the top of the slabs down to where the car is parked would have been good...we managed though.



Beautiful location.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bed was really quite soft would have been much better if it was a harder mattress, other than that it was excellent! We would definitely go back.



Nice Secluded Waterfront Chalet

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time staying at the Heron Chalet. The property was in excellent condition, very comfortable and private. It is located at the end of a single-track road, right on the water. The chalet was fully furnished and very clean. Nights were quiet and the views of the stars were incredible. It was convenient having a washer and dryer available in the building next to our chalet. The staff was friendly and helpful when we needed anything. We stayed a full week and wish we could have stayed longer.



Something for everyone.

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located 10 minutes drive from the centre of Oban, the chalet offers seclusion for those looking to relax in peaceful surroundings, whilst still being close enough to all that Oban offers.

A 500 yard walk from the front door brings you to the shores of Loch Feochan and during the warmer months, kayaks (life-jackets and paddles from the office) are provided for the guests to explore the loch and its resident seal population - highly recommended.

The chalet itself will sleep up to six people, with a two bedrooms (one double, one twin) and a sofa-bed and offers free Wi-fi Sky TV and newly installed this year: underfloor heating - perfect for when the Scottish weather demands it. The kitchen has a microwave, kettle, fridge-freezer, electric hob and oven - perfect for feeding a hungry family.

The nearby Barn Bar and Restaurant (1 mile) offers a great menu with fresh locally produced meat and fish, while there is no shortage of restaurants in Oban, catering for all tastes. With two young children, Oban and the surrounding areas provided lots for us to do - visits to the Sea-Life Centre, Dunstaffnage Castle, Dunollie Castle, Ganavan Sands Beach for the dry days, the local Atlantis Sports Centre and Local cinema for when the weather is not so good. Also with regular ferries from Oban to Mull, and the other nearby islands, it is quite possible to plan island hopping day trips.

This has been our third family visit and we still look forward to going back.