FB Twitter

Courtyard Cottage

Courtyard Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Entered through the courtyard archway, this inviting cottage is a light, spacious retreat from the world. Bow windows give lovely views of the surrounding Upper Court gardens and Bredon Hill.

The most lovely, characterful place to stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We staid at Upper Court with a reunion group of university friends and their families; 24 adults, 8 children and 4 babies. This estate was a perfect place for us, and for any group I would imagine. Most of us staid in the rental houses, some in the main house, and some in the pub down the road. One of the houses has a large room which we could all eat in together.

During the booking process Bill and Diana were very helpful and accommodating of our various requests. Arriving at Upper Court our expectations were more than exceeded; the grounds are stunning with gardens which looked good even in February. There is a good children's play area with slide, swings, seesaw, climbing area. Also a trampoline which was fantastic fun for children and adults! Also a games room with ping pong table, mini football. The lake is beautiful, and sadly we didn't have time to go out in the boat on it.

The family very kindly heated the pool for us, even though they don't usually in February. While it wasn't balmy, it was warm enough for us to spend extended amounts of time in it, including the small children. We are grateful for their flexibility!

The cottages are spacious, very clean, very comfortable beds, everything you could want in the kitchens, plenty of hot water in the bathrooms and generally every practical comfort. But more than the practicalities, each of the cottages is decorated with such taste; good quality and attractive furniture, wallpaper, rugs, paintings on the walls. Such a wonderful change from the usual generic IKEA furnished holiday flats! I wish my house was half as beautiful. We all felt very comfortable there and I feel privileged to have been able to stay in such a special place.

This setup worked extremely well for our extended group. It allowed us to spend quality time together, the children free to roam around the gardens. The cottages are separate (nighttime baby noises were well contained...) but close enough to feel that we were one cohesive group.

I was very happy to meet the family as we were leaving and they couldn't have been kinder and I know would have done everything in their power to fix any problem that might have arisen.

Thank you so much and I sincerely hope to return!


Alex from stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 3 nights in February 2020


A family celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took all five Upper Court properties for a long weekend for a family celebration. There were 26 of us and Courtyard Cottage was one of them.

I can raally recommend Upper Court. The indoor and outdoor amenities plus the beautiful gardens makes it ideal for all ages whatever the weather. The owners and staff were attentive, thoughtful and helpful. Thank you all.


Peter from stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 3 nights in October 2019


Upper Court Wedding June 2019

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Diana and Bill were a delight throughout our wedding planning. They were always available to run through our wedding details and we met with them regularly in their beautiful house in the run up to our big day. They accommodated our request for our own caterer and wedding coordinator and it felt like nothing was too much to ask. The cottages were clean and suitable for our large party and the location was perfect. All our guests commented on what a stunning venue Upper Court is, and those who slept on site all enjoyed their stay. It is, however, a shame that they only deal with one marquee supplier as we found the marquee company difficult to deal with and overpriced.

Rowa from stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 2 nights in June 2019


Great family reunion

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in Courtyard Cottage so many times and our family regard it as a second home. Our daughter was married in the church and it was great to introduce her two children to Upper Court. The pool was a great boon! We’ll be back.

Douglas from Tunbridge Wells stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 7 nights in May 2019


Highly recommend

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hired 3 of the cottages with friends - they are great properties in a beautiful location.
Grounds of the house are amazing - on a lake with swans.
Pub near by.
I hope we will return next year.


Nova from stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018


Period accommodation in stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Upper Court was a perfect location for our family get together. Beautiful grounds and blissful peace.

Janet from Ramsbottom stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 3 nights in May 2018


Stag/birthday party

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages have an excellent location in the village, the grounds are fantastic and the rooms were great. Everything is provided for and you can just turn up and enjoy your stay. They answered any questions we had and were very laid back about our stay. We would strongly recommend upper court for any type of group, if it's a family holiday or a birthday party. We would all come back again

George from Great Barford stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 3 nights in February 2018


Excellent holiday cottages!

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a terrific stay a Upper Court. Diana, Auriol, Will and others were all so helpful and welcoming. The location is stunning - even better than it looks online - and the cottages are really charming. The open fireplace is a particular highlight. It’s not far from Cheltenham, but there are enough walks nearby to occupy you if you don’t want to travel, plus The Crown Inn in the village is a lovely pub w great food.

I’d unreservedly recommend staying here. We were quite a large group staying for a birthday party but I’d happily come back in a smaller group, with family, or as a couple. It’s amazing value too.

Thanks to all at Upper Court for such a great stay!


Guest from stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 2 nights in February 2018


Winter weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friend and I escaped for a two night stay with our three boys. Upper Court was the perfect location. Such a warm welcome, stunning setting and cosy rooms. We enjoyed several beautiful long walks without having to use the car. Hearty dinner at The Crown. Great facilities for the boys - Football, den building, ping pong, boating, darts.... and log fires to keep us toasty in the evenings. We will definitely return!

Isabel from stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 2 nights in January 2018


A good w/end but troubled by wasps.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We all had a good time. The property was over-all very good. The welcome and service were excellent. We were warned about the potential problem with wasps but were not too concerned. However, during Sunday night the problem was intolerable. One of our party was stung twice. In the morning the beds and the floor in the upper room were littered with dead or dying wasps.
We chose not to complain because had been alerted to the issue. In hindsight, we should have asked for a different room.


Christine from Pentraeth stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 3 nights in September 2017


Mr and Mrs Herford replied more than 1 year ago
We are so sorry we hadn't realised if had become intolerable. Had we known we would of course offered you another room. We do hope it hasn't put you off coming back to Upper Court.

An Excellent Family Gathering Location

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at Upper Court. It was an excellent place for our large family gathering - we had 14 adults and 8 children of varying ages, so we booked The Stables, the Courtyard Cottage and the Coach House . There was no problem fitting us all in and sorting out who was sleeping where and being able to borrow cots and high chairs saved having to bring them. The children thoroughly enjoyed themselves making the most of the pool, the play area and the boating on the lake. The bonus for the adults was the large lounge/dining area where the whole party could eat and in the evening we were all able to relax together as baby alarms worked between the properties.
Some of our party were unlucky to pick up a tummy bug and the owners were most helpful and accommodating over this.
Thanks for a wonderful weekend - we are looking to repeat it again another year.


Claire from Eastleigh stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 3 nights in August 2017


NYE stay - large group of friends

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in all the holiday cottages at Upper Court over New Years eve and we had a lovely, comfortable stay. The properties are close to the village and nearby some nice walks. The Crown Inn pub is 5 minutes walk down the road and we had an excellent roast dinner there.

Some of the cottages have interesting bedroom configurations with 3 person and 4 person rooms and it was tricky to sort our group out but we got there in the end. There is a bed upstairs in the Dovecote that would only suit parents and children really, not 3 adults.

Thank you for a lovely stay.


Sophie from Stoke Newington stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 3 nights in December 2016


Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here with a group of friends for my 30th birthday. We combined courtyard cottage and the stables to accommodate us all and thought the whole place was absolutely wonderful.


It was all lovely and clean and very comfortable.We walked down to the pub on the Friday evening and then attended the races on Saturday.

The grounds were beautiful and we were very lucky with the weather. We had a very pleasant walk on the Sunday morning and found a nice lake.

We will be booking again for the next big family event in a few years for my grandma's 80th birthday as it's an ideal place for any gathering,

Loved our stay and it made my birthday very special


Emma from St Helens stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 3 nights in November 2016


Birthday Surprise

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Courtyard Cottage was used by 6 relatives who were very pleased with the accommodation, the use of the games room and boat on the lake.

Christine from stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 3 nights in November 2016


Richard and Kirstys Wedding 10th September 2016

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Upper Court celebrating our son’s wedding to the gorgeous Kirsty, a welcome addition to our family. The facilities at Upper Court were fantastic and the setting was beautiful, we couldn’t have asked more. We have many happy memories of our weekend which will stay with us for many years to come.

Kirsty from stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 3 nights in September 2016


Outstanding holiday venue

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We held a Golden Wedding anniversary weekend / week in Upper Court in the middle of August, so had 12 adults and 11 children ranging from 6 months to 13 years of age.

We rented the Courtyard Cottage, The Stables and Coachhouse. We were blessed with phenomenal weather, but also with terrific facilities.

The tennis court had been recently resurfaced and was in great condition. Opposite the court was a table tennis room, with plenty of bats and balls, some lovely old fashioned church pews for spectators (!), as well as a darts board. We also used the croquet lawn, and had brought boules as well to play in the orchard / lawn area. There was also a children's playground with a slide, trampoline and swings as well.

We ordered a couple of meals in so that there wasn't too much cooking to do, but the kitchens were well equipped for the cooking we did do. Super American size modern fridges meant there was plenty of space. We had oceans of hot water, never having a single problem with showers or baths.

We were in and out of the outdoor covered pool at a minimum of twice a day, so the hot water got put through its paces but passed with flying colours. The pool itself was surprisingly warm, so much so that we'd be in for an hour no problems. Sunloungers outside the covered pool accommodated those less swimming-inclined :)

The church was fun to visit, literally beside the property, and it was great to hear the bells chiming on Sunday a.m. as we opened our windows. We strolled several times into the village, where the main Post Office serves as the village shop as well. We bought very fresh bread and very fresh home made pies as well as Cotswolds ice cream there, and the children were delighted with a suitable selection of sweets!

For those interested in horticulture, the flowers and garden overall at Upper Court is spectacular and well tended.

The property manager, Elaine, was very accommodating e.g. fixed any light bulbs that needed replacing straight away and both Diana and Bill Herford, the owners of Upper Court, couldn't have been friendlier.

Absolutely recommend Upper Court for anyone looking for a weekend like ours: low-key, family activity based, in gorgeous English countryside, not flash mod cons or 5* luxury, but good old fashioned English home-from-home hospitality. Definitely going to visit again in the future!


David from stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Beautiful place and lovely hosts

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Stables and the Courtyard cottages last weekend for a hen weekend. The cottages and grounds are beautiful and well kept by the owners, who work around the clock to keep it all looking lovely, the gardens are simply stunning.
We swam in the covered pool and went for a surprisingly good lunch at the Crown pub, 3 minutes down the road.
The showers had good pressure! :)

The owners were super nice, approachable yet unintrusive. I wish I could have stayed longer!
It's the kind of place one can only dream of coming back to at some point.


Elite from stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 3 nights in July 2016


Quaint, Comfortable and Friendly

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Courtyard Cottage at the Upper Court was a perfect location for our group of sixtysomething hikers. The accommodations were very comfortable, nicely decorated and there was plenty of room for our group of six. We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in the living room each evening and made use of the beautiful grounds daily. Bill and Diana the owners were very friendly and helpful. The Pub in Kemerton is just a short walk away and the hiking opportunities in a half hour drive were plentiful.

John from Florida stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Brilliant

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a family reunion and booked the properties at Uppercourt,it was exactly right,whole place is fantastic, beautiful surroundings and Bill and Diana are lovely helpful people. Thank you

Melanie from stayed at Courtyard Cottage for 14 nights in April 2016