FB Twitter

Old Drift House

Old Drift House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 73 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


" A lovely 15th century thatched cottage in the picturesque medieval village of Kersey. Sleeps 8 - ideal for family get-togethers and small reunions."

A home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage, very well stocked and equipped, cozy, great service, Jill went to great lengths to make us feel at home. Kersey is a lovely village. A home from home.

Sheila from Delft stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in December 2019


Charming cottage in delightful village location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Old Drift House with 6 friends for our pre-Christmas get-together.
The cottage was extremely comfortable and very charming and Jill & Ewan had provided everything we could possibly need.
We would love to revisit in the summer with our family to make use of the beautiful garden.


Marion from Linton stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in December 2019


Fantastic cottage; great location for exploring Suffolk

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage, with everything that you could want while on holiday. Excellent location for exploring Suffolk. The owners were very helpful with information on the area. Definitely hope to return!

Joy from Sheffield stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in October 2019


Fantastic cottage; great location for exploring Suffolk

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage, with everything that you could want while on holiday. Excellent location for exploring Suffolk. The owners were very helpful with information on the area. Definitely hope to return!

Joy from Sheffield stayed at Old Drift House for 14 nights in September 2019


Stunningly beautiful cottage and ideal location

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is stunning and beautifully maintained with everything you could possibly need for a wonderful stay. We loved the gardens which are amazing, and could sit there all day enjoying the scenery and quietness. We had a family of 5 plus several sets of grandparents staying with us over a two week period, and it was perfect - the hospitality of the owners and Chloe in making our stay a wonderful one was greatly appreciated. The local village is lovely to amble through with an excellent pub only 2 minutes from the door of the cottage. Lots to do locally and we had a wonderful holiday. We can't recommend it highly enough. Absolutely excellent - thank you. We'll be back!

Clare from Edmonton stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in August 2019


Perfect chocolate box cottage!

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Old Drift House. There were 6 of us plus a toddler and baby and there was more than enough room for all of us. The cottage is stunning and has been lovingly decorated and equipped (the beds are so comfy!)The garden is beautiful and we enjoyed a couple of afternoons playing games and using the BBQ - my toddler absolutely loved the little Wendy house! The location is great and we highly recommend the local pub (amazing pies) and Willow Tree Farm for its farm shop and farm trail for children. We cannot wait to book our next stay at Old Drift House!

Caroline from Bromley stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in July 2019


A wonderful property

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a week at The Old Drift House.
The location is stunning. A beautiful village with many local places to visit in the surrounding area and with easy access to the coastal regions for day/half day trips. Shops and stores a short drive away. Local pub less than a minutes walk.
The house itself is immaculate and very spacious with a dream of a garden.
This is by far the most well equipped house we have ever rented. Absolutely everything had been thought of and was provided. Clear instructions for use of all utilities was provided and saved a great deal of time.
The owners and their local representatives were wonderful to deal with.
I would not hesitate to return.


Catherine from Bishop’s Stortford, stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in June 2019


A treasure

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time staying at the Old Drift House; we had enjoyed our first stay a year ago, which was for one week, so much that we decided to rent for two weeks this year. We were not disappointed. The house and garden remain beautiful; the location in the tiny village of Kersey, which is lovely and and whose residents are very welcoming, made our stay as close to idyllic as it gets. 5 stars!

Eugene K. from Concord stayed at Old Drift House for 14 nights in May 2019


An exceptional property

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at The Old Drift House on several occasions over the years and it never ceases to impress. The house and garden is maintained to an exceptional standard. Everything is supplied to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

David from Sandy Bay stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in May 2019


Family Get Away

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival we were met by the lovely Sophie. Sophie told us all about the housekeeping and let us on our way. We were greeted with a bottle of wine some chocolate crisps and a pint of milk. There was tea, coffee and sugar left for us as well as a range of cooking basics.

The beds were very comfortable with crispy fresh sheets in spacious rooms. There were 5 of us that stayed, but there could have been room for more. However, I think if all the bed space was used we would have been a little crowded downstairs for seating.

Like some cottages, they can be quite cold because of the stone flooring. But the carpeted areas added extra warmth for those chilly evenings. I would like to have seen more throws to add to nippy knees, but that's a personal preference as we are a cold bunch.

The kitchen was well equipped, even down to easily finding a pair of scissors. All cutlery and crockery were stored to perfection, which was delightful.

I personally loved reading about the history of the house and how hard it has been worked on over the years to reveal such a precious, calming, relaxing feel.

The garden was spectacular. Drinking a morning cup of tea, watching the many visitors. Blue Tits, Robins and even in the ditance a woodpecker busy with his work. The local cat even popped it's head in the window to say hello.

In the house there was so much information regarding the surrounding area's, so handy for when you don't know the area. Places to visit, to walk, to eat or shop. I especially liked the little handwritten reminders that were dotted around the house in order to keep the house maintained.

The bathrooms were great. The showers hot and fresh, we did not use the baths as it is easier for us to shower. There were plenty of choice. 2 bathrooms upstairs and a shower room / toilet downstairs.

The stairs are a little steep for some in our party, but still they managed to go up and down. I would not advise if you have difficulties with stairs as nearing the top are quite steep for sore knees and hips. However, if you are planning to go up only to sleep then you only need go up at the end of the day, which was what 2 of our party did.

My only complaint is that we had to leave.


Paula from Clacton On Sea stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in April 2019


Birthday break

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely to return ( for the third time now!)
We decided to have a short break to celebrate our daughter’s 14th birthday.Thank you to the owners for the card and birthday balloon!
Everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained. Peaceful location for anyone that wants to escape the hustle and bustle.
Popped in Hollowtree farm for some local produce. Ate dinner at The Swan at Lavenham and Le Talbooth, Dedham.
The birthday girl had some spa treatments at Hintlesham Hall followed by afternoon tea and who kindly provided a vegan cream tea and a gluten and vegan cream tea for our two
daughters who have food allergies.
Wonderful few day...



Guest from Whyteleafe stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in April 2019


Excellent weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely, the location was pretty with other places of interest and beauty within reach and to top it all the weather was excellent for the time of year (March), plus the local pub food and company was very good. An excellent weekend was had by all of us.

Peter from Great Yarmouth stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in March 2019


A Cozy Retreat on a Blustery Winters Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I am going to book this house every January! After the excitement of Christmas came to an end, my family and I decided to book a stay at the most Idyllic house in the South East! It is an amazing place. Walking through the doors of the Old Drift house is like a step back in time only with all of the modern amenities! The house was perfect, It was lovely come back to a warm and cozy house after a day cycling and walking in Kersey and the surrounding villages followed by some poo sticks in the Kersey "splash". We can't wait to return!

Kerri from Harpenden stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in January 2019


You won’t find a more beautiful house!! and set in a lovely village

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to this beautiful house, we all had a wonderful time this Christmas we were made so welcome and a lovely basket of goodies was left for us to enjoy. There is a lovely warm feeling to this house that just draws you to it. The house is set in a lovely village and the local pub serves tasty freshly prepared food. We will definitely be back for a third visit and thank you to Jill and Euan and wishing you both a very happy new year. John & Charlie

John from Hockley stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in December 2018


Perferct surroundings for a 70th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An ideal property which met all expectations for a lovely festive get together.
We all loved the tree, trimmings and 'goodies' left for our arrival.
Old Drift House will definitely be top of our list for a summer getaway.




Paula from Newmarket stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in December 2018


Beautiful cottage as base for a wedding

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful cottage full of character and well maintained throughout, an ideal base for our daughter’s wedding in Suffolk. Owner’s were very friendly and happy to answer any questions we had. They provided lots of advice on local amenities and the booking process was clear and very straightforward. Couldn’t recommend highly enough.

Lynne from Lincoln stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in November 2018


A beautiful cottage tucked away in a lovely Hamlet

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only drawback is the shared bathrooms....couples may not like. Luckily we were 6 ladies so didn't mind sharing.

Susan from Aylesbury stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in September 2018


Idyllic

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful week. The cottage is beautifully furnished with quaint items but has all the modern comforts you’ll need.
The weather was fabulous, so we made the most of the stunning private footage garden and the large bbq..
Kersey village is steeped in history and looks like a scene from The Vicar of Dibley!
Hollow tree farm farm shop is definitely worth a visit ( or two)- would recommend the gluten free chicken burgers /sausages ( for the bbq!!)
This is our second visit to The Old Drift House and can’r wait to return,very soon!
Thank you Jill and Euan xx


Savita from Whyteleafe Surrey stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in July 2018


70th birthday celebration extraordinaire!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant house and Garden in a stunning location
All amenities. Nothing to fault
Low beams mean that tall people have to remember to duck!


Lyn from Nottingham stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in July 2018


A fabulous house and garden in a lovely English Village!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Drift House is the perfect luxury holiday cottage where we enjoyed the comfort and quirks of the property. We loved the garden with so many interesting features and had superb weather to enjoy Pimms on the patio and eat outside. We went walking straight from the house and loved the villages close by and the Mill. The bedrooms were comfy and the house was well equipped for our every need. The boys enjoyed watching the World Cup while Lucy painted and I caught up with my reading. A great family holiday. Thank you!

Janet from Eastbourne stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in June 2018


Just an amazing house in a perfect village

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fourth stay at Old Drift House. It is an immaculately maintained property with everything you could need for a relaxing stay including beautifully maintained gardens.

David from Sandy Bay stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in May 2018


Incredible house in a beautiful Suffolk village

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Drift House is a beautiful, amazingly well maintained and equipped house in a picture perfect Suffolk village. The customer service received from the owners has been incredible. This along deserves 5 stars.
The house itself was perfect for my family gathering to celebrate a family birthday. The interior is lovingly filled with books, art and ornaments which give it a very homely feel. The kitchen has everything you should need and there are lots of lovely nooks to sit and relax in.
The garden is wonderful! We were lucky to have some good weather so we could spend lots of time out there. The play House in particular was great for the kids.
We would highly recommend this property to others. It is perfect for experiencing the Suffolk countryside.


Claire from Chelmsford stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in May 2018


The Old Drift House is an incredibly beautiful period home and our week there was just wonderful.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We simply loved The Old Drift House. The week went by all too quickly, but we enjoyed every minute and hope to return both to the house and Kersey itself. It was especially nice to have had the opportunity to meet Jill and Euan.

Eugene from Concord stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in May 2018


Just perfect!

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sometimes it's hard to find adequate description. Old Drift House and it's owners cannot be faulted if you're looking to relax in a beautiful olde worlde cottage in a perfect rural location. It felt homely on our first visit, and still did on this our fourth. Looking forward to next time.

Ron from Datchworth stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in March 2018


Lovely House and Area

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything more than lived up to expectations. Beautiful house which is a home rather than a 'holiday cottage' with everything that you could wish for and great attention to detail. It is set in a lovely and very friendly village with a good 'local' within staggering distance.Quite perfect and we would love to return in spring/summer to make the most of the garden. If I had to think of one(very minor) improvement it would be nice to have some more factual detail on the website- maybe a plan, info re car parking etc. Coast is within easy reach and area full of places to visit. Just book!

Jackie from Guildford stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in February 2018


Exceptional cottage with character in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Old Drift House to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday for the weekend and we couldn't have picked a nicer place (though wished we could have chosen better weather!). From the moment we walked in the door, we were 'wowed' by the charm and character of the property. Everything was laid out really well and decorated tastefully as well as being really warm and comfortable throughout the stay. The finishing touches that were left for us were exceptional, from the card and chocolates, to the biscuits and sherry - truly first class, which added to the memorable time we all had. Kersey is a really quaint, old fashioned village with ancient buildings and a ford running through it. As such, we really felt like we had escaped modern life for the weekend. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Old Drift House to anyone and are considering booking to go again in the summer to be able to make use of the stunning garden, which we were unfortunately were not able to enjoy fully due to the weather. Thank you for helping to make our weekend so special!

Daniel from Peterborough stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in January 2018


Excellent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful long weekend in Suffolk with a group of friends. Superb house with loads of character and we wanted for nothing ( other than a Bluetooth speaker ! We'll take one next time). Very well equipped, gorgeous garden, which provided lovely apples, and so much local information to browse. Highly recommended base for this beautiful area of Suffolk.

Alison from Holmfirth stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in October 2017


Lovely short stay with the family

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful short stay at the cottage with 2 families and 3 little ones. The set up of the cottage is perfect for two families as you can each take one side of the upstairs (2 bedrooms on each side). The children loved the beautiful garden and toys and dvds were provided. In fact everything you need for a short stay is provided and a lovely gift of wine, chocolate and jam which was a special touch.
Lots of things to do close to Kersey and the local pub within walking distance was fantastic catering to my food allergies well. There is a little stall opposite the pub which sells fresh fruit and veg, eggs and other treats via an honesty box which we used and was super.
On our last day, we were met by the owner of the cottage which was really nice as we got to find out a little more about the cottage. Thanks for a fantastic stay, I'm sure we will be back.


Dawn from London stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in August 2017


Lovely weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay from start to finish, the house was just as described, very olde worlde, uneven floors and low doorways! but this just added to the charm. What a beautiful garden to sit out in the evening sun. Had a lovely meal at the local pub, the information at the property for what to do out and about was second to none. Thank you and we hope to be back one day.

Guest from Northallerton stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in August 2017


Chocolate Box

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A one week break with my wife's family from Moscow. We wanted them to see our English heritage, country side, and way of life, and could not have chosen a better house and location.
Everything we required was already there.

This was a perfect property for 7 people including three 11 year olds. The pub was ideally located, and very welcoming.

With Hadleigh just 2 miles away we were in the countryside but not isolated at all.

Would definitely recommend this house to all.

Great Job Euan and Jill.


Stuart from Peterborough stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in July 2017


The Old Drift House and myself - an affairt of the heart!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have travelled the world a lot, partly on business, partly for family reasons, and I can honestly say that I have never stayed in a more charming and beautiful house and garden.
The Old Drift House provides everything you need from iron to shoe shine items, not to mention the great washing facilities and freezer in the out-house.
The cottage and garden are kept immaculately and we were made very welcome on our arrival by Tony. On departure, it was a great pleasure to meet Euan and Jill Black.
For me a dream came true, and I shall certainly return with my family further on in life. Thank you for making this dream come true!


Carol Heather from Münchenstein stayed at Old Drift House for 14 nights in June 2017


Wonderful stay in the Old Drift House Kersey

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful opportunity to stay in a very special thatched cottage with a beautiful garden and fascinating history. The house is very well equipped with a great BBQ in the garden area. The village is so pretty and the pub is a short walk from the house. We spent two great weeks there with family from the UK. Wonderful information available about eating places and day outings. We all just feel very lucky to have had the opportunity to stay in such a beautiful cottage and garden.

Bronwen from Hamilton stayed at Old Drift House for 14 nights in June 2017


Sadler review

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house & village but a bit out of the way.for small children who really want beaches etc nearby

Guest from Berkhamsted stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in May 2017


Family weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house with everything you needed . Lovely homemade brownies and prosecco waiting for us and a vast amount of information on the local area from walks to eateries Never been anywhere before that felt like "home " within a few hours. Garden was beautiful which captured the sun from first thing in the morning. Even cooked breakfast on the big gas BBQ. A great place for family to connect and just relax.
Euan and Jill were also so approachable Will definitely return


Debra from Gillingham stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in April 2017


Comfortable and characterful property in a picturesque village

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Old Drift House is full of character and has a comfortable homely feel. It was always lovely to arrive back at the house and relax after a day out exploring the area. The garden is particularly beautiful and the owners clearly take the time to make sure that the property is clean and well-equipped. We really appreciated the attention to detail such as chocolate eggs and prosecco upon arrival, as well as the provision of things like kitchen foil, cooking oil, salt & pepper. Kersey is an idyllic little village and a great base from which to explore the area.

Cate from Barnet stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in April 2017


Suffolk Idyll

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The village, house, garden and area are beautiful and perfect for a family holiday. There are plenty of places of interest to visit and lots of local walks.

Anne from Letchworth Garden City stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in April 2017


Lovely family break

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for the week with our 2 children, baby and in laws for my mother in laws 70th birthday. How lovely were the owners leaving a birthday card for us! Welcome treats were a nice touch- prosecco chocs and jam all scrummy though I never got a look in with the homemade flapjacks as mother in law ate them all! A beautiful grade 2 listed building, quirky and interesting with tonnes of info on where to go, where to eat etc. Good children's toys/games too.
Nice to have a proper cot to put the baby in. Thank you for setting that up. We'd definitely recommend this place to friends. Thank you


Catriona from North Yorkshire stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in February 2017


Very comfortable & well equipped house

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Situated in a delightful quiet village the house is great for families and good friends. The beds are comfortable and have good quality bedlinen. Well equipped kitchen and lovely dining room. It was great to have a good pub nearby.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Guest from Bury St. Edmunds stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in November 2016


A delightful cottage in a beautiful rural location

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Drift House is a lovely spacious cottage, combining modern living facilities with old fashioned character. It is located in a beautiful little village with walks available in all directions, providing the perfect escape from 21st century living.

For those wanting to stay at home, there's a lovely garden complete with BBQ, benches and a playhouse, and inside you can tinkle the ivories on the piano or while away an afternoon reading the large amount of information about the house itself and the surrounding area. Or you can simply sit and watch the entertainment from the bird life flying in and out of the hedges opposite - sparrows and robins are definitely not in short supply in Kersey!

The only thing that might put you off is the need to access the twin room through the master 'double' (with the en-suite bathroom being beyond the twin room), so really it's only useful for children or very good friends!

The local pub (The Bell) is staggering distance away beyond 'the splash' and serves good value tasty food......and if you've forgotten to buy fruit and vegetables you'll find an honesty box opposite the pub, with delicious home-grown produce available 24 hours a day.

I would recommend this cottage for anyone wanting a short break in an idyllic setting - I'll definitely return if I'm holidaying in Suffolk in the future.


Guest from Bognor Regis stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in October 2016


Wonderful family occasion made extra special by our stay at the cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The family was absolutely thrilled by the ambiance, facilities and history of the cottage. Thank you.

Sandra from Dumfries stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in October 2016


Attention to detail, well maintained and perfect for exploring this unspoilt part of Suffolk.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of seven enjoyed “The Old Drift House” immensely.

The house and garden was a real home to home…extremely well equipped, very clean and everything worked perfectly. We enjoyed the well stocked book shelves and our granddaughter discovered many games and DVDs…as well as paddling in the splash! The maps proved helpful for a circular walks and daughter’s jog.

Particularly impressed with Kersey….a wonderful village streetscape and setting (think we will keep it as a secret hideaway to ourselves!).

We dined and drank at the Bell twice….we enjoyed the excellent pub food and beer - all good value for money served by the friendly staff and Janet and Wendy. The other two nights we enjoyed food in the Old Drift House fabulous garden - two seating areas with large tables and plenty of chairs and comfortable covers/seats.

There is plenty of space both in the garden and the house with two dining areas and a spacious lounge with grand piano. However, this is a 400 year old house and upstairs is not a perfect layout: there are two stairs but no corridor and therefore the two "inner" bedrooms access the bathroom facilities via adjacent bedroom or go downstairs - a small inconvenience to pay for staying in such a character cottage. There are many steps and changes of floor level inside the house and access to the garden is via steps from the kitchen and then more steps to the garden: so is not ideal for the less able.

The Old Drift House is clearly loved by the owners with lots of attention to detail, well maintained and a perfect location for exploring this unspoilt part of Suffolk.


Mike from Sutton Ely stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in August 2016


Fantastic!

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just enjoyed a fantastic weekend in the beautiful Drifthouse with friends. A blissful house & location with every care & attention to detail to ensure we had the best stay possible. We will have to return.

Guest from Harpenden stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in August 2016


Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Old Drift House. From the warm welcome we received on arrival, the delicious goodies we found waiting for us, the cosy feel to the cottage and the amazing garden, we couldn't have asked for any more. The garden was a huge hit with the adults and children alike. The owners have thought of everything you could possibly need and everywhere was very clean and well maintained. There are quite a few stairs in this house to get from room to room so maybe not ideal for everyone but for us it just added to the charm. The only slight surprise when we arrived was that for the guests staying in the two main bedrooms they either have to go downstairs to the toilet in the night or walk through another bedroom to get to the bathroom. As we were all family this didn't really bother us but it may prove difficult if you are staying with friends. Kersey itself is a beautiful village and we enjoyed a nice meal at the Bell Inn on our first night. We found the Old Drift House was in the perfect location for exploring Suffolk and would definitely recommend it!

Victoria from Turners Hill stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in August 2016


Wonderful old world cottage with all mod cons set in a chocolate box village.

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't fault this cottage we had two lovely weeks here which was still not enough time to enjoy the many places of interest within easy driving distance. Very good local pub with friendly staff, good meals and beers.

Peter from Littleborough stayed at Old Drift House for 14 nights in July 2016


Perfect vacation home

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Drift House is a lovelyl old English cottage, from the thatch roof to the timber beam walls, it is the perfect mix of old style with all the modern comforts. The house is large and spacious with four bedrooms and three bath rooms so our family of eight had plenty of private space. The kitchen and dining room easily handled us, plus our guests for dinner!
The owners are very gracious they welcomed us in person when we arrived.
If you are looking for the fairy tale English house and garden then this the place for you! The quiet village and really nice pub are an added bonus.


Susan from Chillicothe stayed at Old Drift House for 21 nights in July 2016


Comfortable and Cozy

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A picture perfect cottage with an amazing garden in a sweet little village. Everything about the cottage was spot on . . . from the cleanliness, to the comfortable beds and white bed linen, to the cozy lounge, to the pretty garden. We could not have wanted more for our long weekend stay. The village pub is also worth visiting . . . good food, less than 5 minutes walk away. What more could you want.

Teddy from Hadley Wood stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in June 2016


Lovely countryside cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I visited the Old Drift House for a week and it was an excellent choice.

Despite the poor weather, we still managed to find plenty to do in the local area. On the one sunny day that we had, we enjoyed a BBQ on the large gas BBQ in the garden of the cottage. Speaking of which - the garden is delightful. Large enough for the children to play in but very decorative with lots of wildlife.

There was a small hiccup one morning after a rather heavy thunderstorm overnight where some water had leaked in due to the driving rain - but this was handled quickly and efficiently and to not detriment to the day (or indeed the cottage!)

I would recommend this cottage.


Claire from London stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in May 2016


Evrything was more than ok.

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our familiy (7 people) felt "home from home" - Kersey is such an unusual place; we waited for William Shakespeare coming along the Street, but - obviously - he had to work at Stratford on Avon. Seriously: We were happy - all the time.

Erhard from Mülheim An Der Ruhr stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in May 2016


Magical Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hired this house for a reunion of three families....and what a spectacular choice it was. Old Drift House is that perfect balance between beautiful old character without and compromises, and the garden is the icing on the cake.
Would recommend this place to anyone.


Nicholas from Beckenham stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in May 2016


Couldn't have been better

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

In fifteen years of staying in holiday cottages all over the country my wife and I have never stayed in a better one that the Old Drift House. In every respect it was excellent.


Keith from Sheringham stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in April 2016


Old Drift House

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the best house we have ever stayed in. We felt at home as soon as we walked in! The village is peaceful and beautiful, made all the better for the friendliness of the locals and the great pub food at The Bell. Would love to return and would thoroughly recommend.

Sara from Norwich stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in April 2016


The magnificent Old Drift House

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a treat to stay in such a lovely, historic building. The house was immaculate, beds incredibly comfortable, and stocked with all the amenities that make a week long stay very enjoyable. It is very evident that the owners of this home are proud of what they have, meticulous in its upkeep and incredibly generous by allowing the public to stay there!

Scott from London stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in March 2016


Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The old drift house in Kersey was perfect in every way. The house is absolutely beautiful and was decorated very tastefully. Our stay really put us in the Chrismas spirit. We will definitely be back!

Kerri from Harpenden stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in December 2015


Great trip

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at old drift house.
We were 3 couples and 2 toddlers. The house and village have so much character. Only negatives were thar adjoining room made it hard to share rooms, the split levels weren't tolder friendly, and the 10am check out was a bit early


Paul from London stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in December 2015


Family celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Old Drift House provided a perfect venue for our family to get together and celebrate my husband's 70 birthday. The owners were most helpful to make it a happy and memorable occasion.

Barbara from London stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in November 2015


Beautiful location, warm welcome

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we first arrived at the house my friends refused to believe me, thinking we'd arrived at a hotel. The Old Drift House is beautifully decorated to a high standard, with a well-equipped kitchen. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable and we sat out in a large and well tended garden as much as possible to take advantage of the unseasonably warm weather. We arrived to a very warm welcome and had plenty of guidance and advice to help us enjoy our weekend stay.
Many thanks to Jill and Euan.


Emma from London stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in October 2015


Beautiful!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The village of Kersey is so picturesque and the cottage is very characterful. Kersey is a quiet village but has many tourist areas within easy driving distance. The house is a real gem - comfortable, quaint, and has a fantastic garden at the back where we enjoyed meals outside or just sitting with a coffee and the paper in the morning. It was quite idyllic. You do get some people peering in the windows but with a property this attractive, it's understandable and we didn't let it bother us. I expect the house would be just as appealing in the winter as it was in the summer. There are some low doorways and ceilings, which is to be expected in a cottage, but it's a spacious property which was well cared for, had quality furniture and bedding and was very clean. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Mark from Swindon stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in August 2015


Weekend in Suffolk

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful stay at this very special property. The pre- stay information was very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would highly recommend Suffolk and this property for a relaxing and enjoyable break.

Guest from Bromley stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in August 2015


Outstanding country house for a lovely midweek break. It couldn't have been better for two families!

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous break for our two families. We each had our own wing, which meant we were together yet had our own private space. Perfect! Thank you to Jill, Euan and team for thinking of everything, our evenings with red wine and board games were super fun. The weather was not kind to us but we managed to venture out. The Kentwell Hall re-enactment was extraordinary, 250 volunteers brought the Tudor times alive. Sudbury pool only 20 mins away had a water slide, wave machine and beach effect entrance so fab with little ones. We did a long walk from Aldeburgh to Thorpness and enjoyed the traditional cafe on the lake and antique emporium. Thankfully the sun shone later so we managed photos on the shell and a nice cream in Aldeburgh. Lastly we stopped at West Mersea to do some crabbing and visit the 'company shed' ('bring your own' seafood cafe) and paddled in the sea! Brilliant holiday, we'll be back for sure!

Lee from Harpenden stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in August 2015


A Great Place to Stay for the Family

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Two families sharing with young children 4 - 8 yrs. Beautiful period property in lovely, friendly hamlet. Great pre-stay customer service and very comprehensive information provision to ensure we got the most out of our time in Kersey. House and enclosed garden both in great condition and good size for our group of eight. Some of fixtures and fittings beginning to show age but no real complaints and would be happy to recommend.

Guest from Manchester stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in August 2015


Henley family

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful stay- the cottage is tastefully furnished and we were left wanting for nothing.Thank you for the wine,chocolate muffins and home-made rhubarb and ginger jam on arrival! The garden is secluded and maintains a charm without being over manicured and there is a fantastic barbecue which ensured I didn't do too much cooking but instead left it to our sons, who cooked up a storm!

The Old Drift House is tucked away within the small idyllic village of Kersey, where all you'll find breath- taking period cottages, a quaint pub and the sound of the church bells which strike on the hour.It really is like stepping back in time.The tranquillity is especially apparent at night, which guarantees a peaceful night's sleep although during the day, it's a perfect place to sit,contemplate and just recharge the batteries.

Hadleigh town is just a few minutes away where you will find a supermarket as well as specialised shops.We went to several restaurants during our stay including The Swan in Lavenham but we found The Ram in Hadleigh was by far the best,providing attentive service ,excellent food and who looked after our daughters, who have allergies and were catered for without any fuss.

Thank you so much Jill and Euan for a memorable week.


Guest from Whyteleafe stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in July 2015


a little gem in tranquillity

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jul 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely relaxing 4 night break to celebrate my 40th birthday lovely little touches presecco and and card was very kind from the owners. Gardens amazing..
So full of character.


Paula from Harston stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in July 2015


Our stary at the Old Drift House

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We all had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The two little fellas loved the place and keep bugging me on when we are going back.
The cottage is amazing well kept and has everything you need for a wonderful stay.

Many Thanks
Neil


Guest from Abbots Langley stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in June 2015


A great place

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Olde Drift House. The location was beautiful and the house surpassed expectations. We were impressed with the lovely chocolate brownies!!

Denise from Harlow stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in June 2015


perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 16 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely historical spacious place to stay. It was absolutely wonderful. Euan and Jill were great. We had lived In England and wanted to show our friends how beautiful Suffolk was....the cottage was the icing on the cake. PERFECT in every aspect .

Dale And Kay from Golden stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in May 2015


A Jewel in the Suffolk Countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In the oasis of 'The Old Drifthouse' & the village that gently sleeps amongst the rolling hills, we found the space to 'just be' for a while & reconnect with each other, reminicing,joking, laughing & celebrating a wonderful friendship and 50th Birhtday!!!
Thank you Jill & Euan for sharing The Old Drifthouse, it soothes the soul and lightens the heart.



Guest from Rochford stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in April 2015


Large family gathering at The Old Drifthouse.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As part of our celebration of my mother in law's 80th birthday we decided to stay in Suffolk for a week so that she could visit the area she grew up in. After extensive on line research we decided that The Old Drifthouse offered the best combination of location, character and size to accommodate our party of 7 while also allowing space for other members of the wider family to visit while we were there.
The online photos and reviews filled us with confidence that we had made the right choice but the reality of staying in this amazing cottage far exceeded those expectations. The cottage itself is beautiful and stands as a testament to the hard work the owners and their team put into maintaining this piece of living history. The character of the cottage was true to its ancient origins but was also warm, comfortable and filled with all of the technology needed to amuse a 21st century family.

The village of Kersey is also beautiful and is probably the most authentic and untouched of the Suffolk wool towns in this area. The surrounding farmland and countryside provide superb views and the opportunity for relaxing walks in the company of beautiful local wildlife. We saw many different species of birds as well as rabbits, deer and even a shrew during our visit.

We met the owners at the end of our stay and they were super friendly and a pleasure to deal with. I thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent at The Old Drifthouse and cannot wait to stay there again.


Guest from St Helens stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in April 2015


Perfect Short Break

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is absolutely charming and the help and advice we received from the owners before, during and after our visit was first class. It really is a home from home with every detail catered for, and we can thoroughly recommend it to anyone. A very comfortable cottage that is spotlessly clean and gives you a flavour of what life might have been like in medieval England. The weather did not allow us to take advantage of the many local walks, but the excellent information folders in the house allowed us to explore further afield, and we loved the village pub just down the road. We will definitely be back, preferably in the warmer weather to take advantage of the lovely garden. Ten out of ten.

Guest from Harpenden stayed at Old Drift House for 4 nights in February 2015


Beautiful house in stunning little Suffolk village of Kersey.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at the Old Drift House was an absolute pleasure. A stunning old house set in a beautiful garden, in a lovely little Suffolk Village. Every modern convenience is thought of - coffee machine, dishwasher, etc. Tea making facilities/haidryer etc in each of the quaint,comfortable bedrooms.
There is a lovely large, warm reception room to unwind in, after walks in and around surrounding towns and villages. Oh, and a great little pub with great food, a 3 minute walk away. Perfect!


Nina from Harpenden stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in January 2015


Perfect for our family

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was not our first stay at the Old Drift House, we have had such a lovely time in the past that we booked our next stay straight away. This time we brought the grandparents with us ( We have two boys 6 and 9), The set up of the house is perfect for us.. .My husband and I and stayed in what we called the "family wing" which has a double room connected to a room that sleeps 3 and is en-suite., while the grandparents stayed in the double across the hall. While we were there, we enjoyed walking around the village and having dinner at The Bell Pub. The next day we drove to Pin Mill for lunch and had a short walk along the marina, the children enjoyed making boats and racing them in water. Finally we spent the last part of our mini break exploring Deadham which is a lovely little town. We will definitely stay there again as we know we can rely on the house being sparkling clean and well equipped. My 9 year old said it is his favourite place to holiday as it is "so relaxing!"

Guest from Harpenden stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in January 2015


Christmas Break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent facilities and owners have considered everything that might be required during a stay. The location is delightful and the downstairs living accommodation is just the most perfect cottage.
Our only slight difficulty was in sleeping arrangements. Whilst we appreciated that we should need to walk through bedrooms to get to other bedrooms we would have liked the slightly larger beds to be located next to what were nearly the ensuite bathroom facilities. We should have found this a slightly easier arrangement to configure when we had members of our party of varying age. We suspect however that each set of visitors would have different requirements and that ours might well be a unique requirement. We hope this may be a useful observation.
We had an excellent week at the cottage and it met our expectations as a delightful setting for our Christmas festivities.


Guest from Minchinhampton stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in December 2014


Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Another fantastic short break in this enchanting cottage that feels just like home from home. Spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped, we really appreciated the little touches the owners had made for our arrival. We had a lovely weekend exploring this unspoilt area of south Suffolk. The village pub is very handy and we discovered a couple of excellent restaurants from the list provided. Highly recommended and we will be back!



Guest from Harpenden stayed at Old Drift House for 3 nights in November 2014


Beautiful property in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing cottage full of home comforts and well equipped. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The only advice I would give, is if you are going to be using all four bedrooms, the fact that one of the bedrooms is only accessible through the master bedroom could be awkward. We were only at full capacity for two nights so had that room empty for most of the week, so to us, was not a massive problem. It is best suited For a couple with children


Guest from Newton Abbor stayed at Old Drift House for 7 nights in October 2014


EB - Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is true that bedroom is accessible through the master bedroom and is advertised as such, but it is the bedroom with the en suite bathroom so it is perfectly private once you are there. and it is ideal for a family. Disappointed that you did not think it was full value for money. The cost for 8 people staying for 7 nights is £17.85 per person per night, and it is all-inclusive, so I think we compare very favourably with the other 5 star competition. Thank you for the other scores, much appreciated.